X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Astor Museum Inn Reviews

27 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
5244 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I enjoyed my staying in the hostel. For my opinion the room with 12 beds are better then 8 or 6 beds rooms. Very good location, great friendly staff, people from all over the world. Quiet. The kitchen is a little bit small, but in the day you can always find a moment when you can cook and eat peacefully. I like the energy of the hostel, the have little patio to smoke as well. Good luck and prosperity to all Astor hostels!

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!!! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us!!!We are a small hostel but with a great energy just as you said! Come and visit again when you want, thanks for taking some time to leave a feedback. BIG hug from AM team!!

91%

Location was perfect! Just beside the British museum and close to oxford street. It was also very close to most of the musical theaters, walking distance. Staffs were very friendly, clean up bed sheets as soon as people check out. But there was no elevators, no personal lights or plugs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!!! Thank you for your review!! We are one of the hostel with the best location indeed!Unfortunately we also have some restriction due to the position and the historical nature of our building, we cannot install elevators but our team is always working hard to give the best experience to our guests, next time give us a shout and we will help you out with your luggage. Glad you had nice stay with us!! AM Team

83%

Great hostel! Friendly staff and lively atmosphere :) The kitchen is also very well equipped. Only negative was that there was mice in the room which got into people's food, but as long as you keep it in the kitchen its fine! Very reasonable price for what you get. Would stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!! Thanks for taking the time to leave a feedback. We apologise for the little issue in the room. We hired the best pest control company to get rid of them. It takes some time unfortunately. Next time you come it will be sorted!! AM Team

91%

Brilliant.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!!! Thanks for taking some time to leave a review!!! You're welcome anytime!! AM Team

63%

Friendly staff, cheap, and a great location. It's great if your a budget traveller but as a whole the hostel was uncomfortable and seemed unclean. However you get what you pay for.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was really good except for the toilets which tend to clog way too easily. Being greeted with clogged toilets after having only peed right after waking up, really isn't very pleasing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback! We are very glad that you had a great time here with us. Sorry about the clogged toilets. We always take care of any issues as soon as they are brought to our attention. Hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

97%

What a pity the max is 35 years old ....

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback! We are very glad that you had a great time here with us. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

66%

Our heater wasn't very effective and therefore it was very cold in the room and at night.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Beware: mice infestation in the dorms.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing breakfast for only 50p so u can pretty much consider the breakfast is included. The location is perfect, in the centre close to the tube stations

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for the feedback! We are very glad that you had a great time here with us. We love the breakfast too! Hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

100%

Great base for your trip in London. Close to all the big attractions and to the underground! Friendly staff very helpful! Rooms are good beds are good! So if you are staying in London for a few days definitely go to this hostel! Stayed at the Astor Hyde park hostel 2 years ago and I could recommend that one as well! Great hostels Astor!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for the positive feedback! We are very glad that you had a great time here with us. We are very proud of all of our hostels :). Hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

94%

My friend and I stayed at the Astor Museum Inn for our first time in London last weekend. The location was perfect- all the sites we wanted to visit were walking distance away, which made exploring the city extremely enjoyable and easy! A basic breakfast is provided from 8-10am, which was a big plus. The kitchen is also available to make meals if needed with plenty of fridge space. If you are concerned about your luggage, there is under bed storage free of charge if you bring your own lock.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The location is lovely. Staffs were nice and kind. The atmosphere was comfortable too. But the bed was a little bit uncomfortable.


100%

Great central location, friendly staff, clean facility...I have no complaints!

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback! We are very glad that you had a great time here with us. Hope to see you again in the magical London, always @ Astor Victoria Hostel. Big Hug, The Astor Victoria Family!

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Very good location, cleanliness could be better.


100%

Very friendly and helpful staff! Very clean, bed was prepared. The 4 bed room was from my point of view very spacious. No queues at the toilet or showers. Very central location and affordable prices.


94%

Incredible nice hostel, located in the very center of London. The rooms are good (maybe they can provide better lockers, as a suggestion), bathrooms are fine, staff is excelent. I had a medical emergency there, and they were most helpful, for example letting me borrow a personal cellphone to make a call to the assurance. Atmosphere was good too, as they have a very nice common room. I'd return there in a heartbeat!


74%

The staff was exceptionally warm and welcoming. Need to improve on the Wifi signal coverage and speed though.


57%

location is good and rooms are decent.. but it's a rundown building and does not feel like youth hostel. lounge area is very small and nothing is going on at this place. if you're just looking to sleep there could be a good choice although a little pricey for the amenities provided.


71%

“I'm sorry for now recalling your/his name but the Staff at the Hostel from Italy with dreads that greeted us was amazingly nice to us the whole trip, and looked out for us when we were uncertain about the situation we were in at the hostel. Apart from that I would only state that the hostel staff are very tight with each other so it can be very daunting participating or trying to get to know the staff.”


(3203 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback