X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
7906 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Fantastic hostel, more of a budget hotel. Staff were so helpful, rooms were clean, lots of space, good value. Close to Kyoto station, not hard to find. A little far from some of the big sites, but not by much. Highly recommend it.

  • 8th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The location is great and the staff were super friendly, and very good at English.


74%

Staff were so helpful! Translated a few things helped with understanding transport etc. Every else was pretty average. Make sure the shower floor is dry or you probably won't get hot water. Good kitchen.


77%

Didn't like it as much K's House Tokyo as it is bigger and less personal. However, still a nice place to stay in Kyoto.


94%

Please keep the great work on. You are the best!

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I really loved the hostel. It gives this homey feeling even with the travellers, they were considerate.

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel K's house in Kyoto is definitely one of the best hostel in this lovely city. It's a ten minutes walk from the main station, and 5min walk to bus stops that leas you to the closest tourist destination. The only problem is the locks they provide come with a security deposit, and your "cubby" is under someone's bed. Also, bring/use your own flip flops in the shower. On the other hand, this hostel have a bar/cafe in the first floor! Also, great place to meet other travelers!


80%

It is a bit far from Kyoto Station if you are traveling via JR line (>15minutes walk). They doesn't provide curtain inside room so it depends if you okay with that. No good for those opt for privacy. Shower and toilet on each floor and very well maintained. Dining area are spacious enough and very comfortable. I' would take private room on ground floor. in future it was spacious and affordable


89%

Had a great stay at K's House! The atmosphere was great - really fun, lots of fun people to hang out with in the common space and talk to in the evening. The staff did a good job reigning in the noise without killing the fun. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again. My room (8 person mixed) smelled a little weird; other than that, no complaints.

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very well run hostel, extremely helpful and friendly staff and a good location. It wasn'ta party hostel but then again not sure if that many in japan are. I also rated the bar.


100%

The location was great for walking around to nearby restaurants and interesting neighborhoods. We rented bikes from the hostel for a day and it was such a great deal! We were able to see quite a bit more of the city on two wheels and found it super convenient and affordable to rent directly from the hostel. The staff were all very helpful and welcoming! We had breakfast at the café next door several times - also affordable and convenient. We would definitely stay again. Thank you!

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The twin rooms are tiny, but we'll equipped with AC and a small TV, a desk is tightly squeezed in as well. The internet is absolutely terrible here. They have speed, but everything is routed through a server which is always breaking, so pages fail to load 9/10 times. Their IT guy needs to be fired. Aside from these things, Super helpful staff and clean friendly environment. The best place I've stayed in Kyoto in 3 visits.


100%

I stayed here during my winter holidays in Japan, if i'll come back in Kyoto it will be here for few but important reasons: 1- Friendly and helpfull staff 2-Nice,clean, organized and relaxing place Thank you guys see you next time in Japan!


94%

Everything was super clean and really nice. The kitchen and washing facilities were a very welcome surprise. The atmosphere was great and very social. I loved my stay here.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean, fun.


89%

My friends and I stayed here for only two nights but were super satisfied with our stay. When we decided at the last minute to stay in Kyoto for a while longer but no longer were staying at the hostel, they still held our stuff until 5:30 pm that day we checked out. Thanks Backpacker's K! Highly will return again.

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Akahime
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff really nice, good location and very very very recommended


97%

Really great hostel. Nice bar with a good selection of Japanese whisky and very conveniently placed near the station and bus routes to temples and Gion. The staff are super friendly and helpful, and the lounges are very nice to just chill in.


100%

proper good

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great facilities and super helpful staff - almost like being in a hotel. Also the bikes for hire are very cheap and a great way to see the city


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(355 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback