X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
5349 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

thank you for your hospitality


77%

a curtain will be nice.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Single light on center of room too bright and glary but when off it becomes too dark.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome hostel - super clean, awesome location, great staff, comfortable - there really isn't anything to complain about. Can't really go wrong staying at this hostel.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Want some free hot chocolate / milk Door should be able to keep the voice Bathroom was great


97%

Helpful and friendly staff, and a great breakfast!

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Want some free hot chocolate / milk Door should be able to keep the voice Bathroom was great


100%

I stayed in K's in the beginning of April 2014 and I must say that this was one of the best hostels I stayed in Japan. The staff is amazingly helpful. The rooms, facilities and bathrooms are unbelievably clean. Location is good, just a 15 minutes by walk from the train station and just a few minutes by walk to the nearest bus stop, which can take you anywhere around Kyoto. In the hostel you can find a board with recommendations where to go, what to try to eat, etc.


100%

I really enjoyed my stay there, it's a nice hostel which is very organized. I highly commanded it!!


91%

Really liked the Hostel, very modern and with all mod-cons. Great vibe and really helpful staff. Sound does carry a bit through the wall but everyone was really considerate about not making loads of noise when it got late so it didn't cause an issue. Nice and close to Kyoto station. Nice lounge area and good bar with cheap drinks and a decent buffet breakfast.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Probably the cleanest hostel (especially the toilets and shower rooms) I've ever stayed! The staff are very friendly and provided lots of suggestions about trip planning. The location is great too - just a short walk to the station.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

the walk to the hostel quite far from Kyoto Station (around 10-15mins), but overall we enjoyed our stay in the hostel since there are so many friendly and helpful staffs, they also sell Kyoto Bus Passes in the front desk, and the room & bathrooms are very clean.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Best guest house!!


80%

Amazing facilites and excellent location. BUT, if you are looking for a more amused backpackery places, it is not this one. Boring and extremely calm, full of old people and families with little kids. Not the kind of backpacker place i look for. And they do nothing to gather people together, no pubcrawls, no walking tours, nothing. But if you just care for great facilities and security, this is your hostel. Staff should speak better english (except this guy Shin, he was great)


71%

K's House Kyoto is the best! :)


91%

Top notch hostel. Everything is very good; location, cleanliness, good staff. First hostel I've been to with a bathtub to soak in (on second floor). Plenty of showers on all the floors. Good common area. Only bad thing is it like an institutional environment, not that good for meeting people. But as far as a good place to stay for a reasonable place, very good.


89%

Things is good....

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Good place. Not as small as the one in Tokyo, which I visited before this one. People sharing the room with you is always a gamble: you never know if they'll be respectful or not, which was not the case for me this time. The staff was really nice. On the website, there was no place on my second night, so I had to book somewhere else. They wrote me back a week before to ask me why I didn't book the second night, if it was a mistake since they had room on that night. Thanks for that!


100%

Great place, not too far from the station so it's quite easy to find. The staff are really helpful. Also it's great if you want to leave your bags when you arrive in the morning, they'll store them until you check in.


91%

Great place, friendly and helpful staff.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(213 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback