X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
6211 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very clean and excelent staff

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

This is a hostel with international standard, so it has a western feeling to it. Personally I would have liked a bit more Japanese touch in the rooms and also the possibility to have Japanese breakfast (At the cafe next door they serve Westen breakfast) But this is just my personal taste, all the rest was good, helpful and friendly staff, clean, good to reach. The area itself is not too special but you get easily to Higashiyama with its temples and to the station. Very good value for money.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The location can not be better and everything here is pleasant!


100%

I found it strange that a towel does not come automatically with a room, but one has to rent it additionally. No big deal, just surprising.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Not a good Japanese feel. There wereToo many loud people


86%

Its a big hostel that does all the stuff you want it to.


97%

My experience was excellent. The facilities are well maintained and the staff is attentive and helpful.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

it would be really great to add more wall hangers! Thank you!

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent hostel. Staff all speak english and are very helpful with tours. Feels like a hotel almost! Excellent facilities. A bit pricey for a twin room, but I guess its the location (level 6) and the privacy that costs more. Highly recommended. Next door has a breakfast buffet in the morning for about 680-700yen p/p

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Hostel facilities were ok. Two-three stations away from the Gion district and other main areas for food/drinks, it's about 25 minute walk. Not much atmosphere around the hostel.


97%

Very Helful staff. Facilities are kept a high standard and the cafe next door allows for a great place to get breakfast.


83%

it is a good place

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

This was the first time my family and I stayed in a backpackers hostel. It was a nice experience and really comfortable. The hostel was well maintained and clean. I don't know this happen in Japan only or hostels in other countries are kept to that standard too. Anyway, we enjoyed the stay and will be back in near future.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

It is conveniently located so I could easily get to all my sightseeing destinations using K's as my headquarters. The cafe downstairs is also a nice touch, especially the cheap all you can eat breakfast.


83%

There are male staff members cleaning the bathroom all the time. Some younger travellers should learn to be considerate and should not just rely on the hardworking staff to clean up after them..


94%

I loved how clean the bathrooms were. Very good design. And the security cards that allow you to enter both your room and the hostel. And very intuitive of them to be able to lend umbrellas during the rainy days.


86%

The location was a bit to walk from Kyoto station and there are not many convenient stores nearby. Facilities and security are very good, and staff was helpful. Lockers for shoes, lift, numerous toilet and bath showers. Overall very good value.


80%

Nice staff, clean enivronment but need to improve the washing area. not 4 tap each floor


83%

The hostel location is about 15 min walk from Kyoto station but it close to Shichijo station which is very convenient to travel between the hostel and Gion area. The room was as small as I expected. Shared areas like bathroom was very clean but quite crowded in the morning. Staffs were excellent and helpful.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great stay, loved the cafe next door too, although I bumped my head quite hard on the unusually low bunk bed in the room which hurt a lot!!

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(253 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback