X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto Reviews

418 Nayachou, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
5772 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The TV need to be changed into a new one. And the users should be informed of what the hotel has and how to use the facilities.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This was a great hostel. The staff were extremely helpful and spoke great English, there was pertinent info posted all over the walls (it was really great to have restaurant recommendations from locals!) and the rooms were clean and thankfully air conditioned. The common areas of the hostel were also great! We went to the cultural experience night and movie night and had a lot of fun. The only thing we didn't enjoy was the breakfast, it sounded a lot better on the flyers than it actually was.


89%

Can't really complain about anything, I've stayed at other K'S before and it's always a good experience. Professional and friendly staff with perfect English, well maintained facilities, helpful with planning and other activities. Basic, comfortable rooms. It's only that the whole place is huge, full of tourists and feels like a factory - doesn't have that family atmosphere of smaller hostels/guesthouses.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

the only trouble is that the bedroom are very, very smal ! btu all other are nice !

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

This was a great hostel. our room was private and had bunk beds, which was fine, and even though the place was totally booked, there were always showers available, people were cleaning every day....the common room was comfortable, and the bar/restaurant next door was reasonably priced, tasty, and offered a sake tasting while we were there, which was cool. there weren't any bikes for rent when we got there (again, full), but just across the street is a place to rent for the same cost.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

It is moldy inside the cooking water pot at old building 1st floor.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

nice and cheap cafe/bar next door and super friendly staff!


94%

Good service. The staffs are nice

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It's an awesome hostel with clear and nice facility. The best part is the lounge, great place to meet people. The location is quite good, it takes 10 mins from Kyoto station.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall great. Stayed in a double room w shared bathroom. Does not have the typical hostel feel but more like a hotel which was good for us. Good location for travelling from Kyoto station, and a reasonable walk from downtown Kyoto w lots of shopping and restaurants!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice hostel with nice staff and facilities.


97%

it's very nice and comfortable hope to see you soon:)

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing staff. My luggage hasn't arrived on the plane and the hostel staff were so helpful, chasing it up and keeping me well informed.


89%

Very clean and modern hostel, with a very good communal space and excellent facilities. Highly recommended.


94%

Excellent place. Would highly recommend. Thank you very much.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was an incredible find. The staff were always helpful and friendly, speaking both Japanese and English, and helping direct me along the way to the my various sightseeing spots. The facility was clean and well kept. I always felt safe leaving my possessions in my room. There was even a wonderful kitchen setup that we used on multiple occasions. It was like being at home! Thank you for the lovely visit. I will come again!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

excellent hostel, good and clean rooms. Friendly staff, good amenities

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is wonderful, and the staff members are also very nice and helpful. Furthermore, without their help of providing us accommodation at the very last moment (since all the hotels and hostels in Kyoto were fully booked), we would be sleeping on the street! Thanks a lot!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We chose this hostel based on the online ratings and we were not disappointed. Nothing was overlooked here and everything was clean and easily accessible. The bar was a great opportunity to meet fellow travellers.


94%

I loved staying at the hostel


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(244 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback