Hostelworld.com

Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2062 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2062 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Feb 2017
8.6

For Los Angeles, it's great value for money and I was pleasantly surprised! The staff was fun and super friendly, there are tons of free stuffs (free shuttle, drinks, food etc.), there is a great social atmosphere and the location is really close to Hollywood bars and sights. We felt safe although it was a bit dark at night and not super lively in the immediate neighborhood. There were many storage space in our dorm. Only complain, 1 bathroom for 8 people does not seem much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
9.4

Good location, great staff. Facilities are a bit old but all good. Free breakfast of cereal and toast, plenty of nightly activities and tours/shuttles.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stacruz14
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
13th Feb 2017
10.0

excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Feb 2017
4.6

This is the worst hostel I have stayed in on the entire west coast (Vancouver BC included). The bathroom looks like it hadn't been cleaned in about 2 weeks. The rooms were filthy as well. There was no security for your stored bags, nothing gets tagged and people can just walk in and out of the room. Wifi is basically non-existent. If you're looking to plan your time in LA when you're here, forget it. I had to go to a Starbucks down the street to even book my train.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
9.1

The staff was friendly, some people around the neighborhood were kind of sketchy but I felt very safe while in the hostel. You can find sketchy people anywhere. Close to the metro, a bunch of places to get food nearby. I enjoyed the rooms, they weren't bad. It was nice having a bathroom in the room. However the beds made a lot of noise so everyone in my room was worried about waking each other up haha. However, I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

A great place for fun. Very big rooms for what we paid for and definitely better than a lot of hostels we've stayed in so far in the United States.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
2.9

No light or plugs for bed. Noise from party inconsiderate to non-partying guests. Cigarette smoke filtered into room. Pillow not a real pillow, more like small bag of fluff. Staff unable to advise on basic transport issues (told to just look at Google maps when I asked how to get to MOCA which is just a train trip away). Staff do not listen to what guests say (key stopped working and I asked for it to be fixed - they acted like I was checking out). Uncomfortable. High rating a mystery.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.7

Extremely friendly and down-to-earth staff, who have huge knowledge about Hollywood and L.A. During the three nights I stayed, there was a free dinner/drinks, and a party on the first night; free shuttle to Universal Studios Hollywood on the second day; and free breakfast all the way through. The hotel provides a very cosy environment which encourages guests to meet and greet a variety of other guests from around the U.S. and the world, especially in the hostel rooms. Extremely sociable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Good staff, good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
8.9

Friendly staff, good breakfast (even soy milk) good activities, bit of a walk to places, use Uber. Clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.