Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,005 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,005 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
Banana Bungalow Hollywood Located at 5920 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles.
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
USA
Los Angeles CA 90028 5920 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood
86% 2005
34.1013398 -118.3188271
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jan 2017
7.7

The hostel is overall nice but it has a weird set-up. It's a converted motel so all the rooms circle a central courtyard/driveway. They installed a basketball net in there, which seems like a good idea but the sound of balls banging is very loud and they don't have rules about when people can play. So basically, nice hostel but not for the light sleeper.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
8.0

Frendly staff and clean rooms. My single complaint is the noise levels late at night. Through the ventilation ducts I could hear the loud laughs of other guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
4.6

The only nice part of this hostel was Oscar, the receptionist that greeted us. Everything was okay, but there was one night where the "maintenance" guy came into our room, which we assumed he changed the paintings on the wall (even though they seemed perfectly fine) and to paint a door. There was no prior notice of maintenance and no one gave us notice afterwards either. We only found out when we came back and our room lights were on and left blue masking tape on a nightstand.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
8.0

Great place to stay - close to attractions in Hollywood, clean rooms and friendly atmosphere. Good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
8.6

Good place for the money. It is very well located, the rooms are very clean and spacious, and the people there are really nice. There were just a few things that I hoped would have been different. The breakfast was very basic, which is understandable for the price that we were paying for the rooms. One staff member was pretty rude with me, because I didn't understand his question. There were a few sketchy people there, even a homeless guy that was asking for me and my friends personal info.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.1

Stayed here as a first stop on my backpacking trip. Arrived at about 8am from LAX and they let me store my bag and have free breakfast, which was appreciated. The rooms were a good size and clean. I loved that our room had a mini kitchenette and dining table - I've never seen this before. Walking distance to the metro and is on the same street the Walk of Fame, Chinese Theater etc is on so is in a great location. Great social atmosphere if that's your thing. I'd stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.1

Overall very good place to stay. Great room and bar. Fantastic location, all staff super friendly and helpful. Only downside was that the WiFi was terrible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jan 2017
8.6

Pros: friendly staff, events, location, atmosphere Cons: there is an ongoing high-pitch sound all around (and in) the hostel that may or may not bother you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
31st Dec 2016
6.0

The location is great and the rooms are big enough. But when we arrive, they were over booked so we had to get another room, then change again the day after. They say the manager will give us a discount for that inconvenience, but it never happened: the manager was never there. The bathroom wasn't that clean. The rooms have heating, which is great during winter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
10.0

Fantastic place for international students to stay at when in LA! Great atmosphere and chill crowd. Friendly staff and good amenities!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.