Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • artiramos
  • Paraguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

I loved it! one night they gave us free drinks and food! And the breakfast is awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.7

Very good vibe hostel. Nice people and the fact each room has a small kitchen and a bathroom is really convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.1

Absolutely loved my stay here!!! The staff were friendly, everyone was so nice, and the room was great. I ended up having wonderful roommates the entire time I was there, which was lucky!! The courtyard and tiki garden were above my expectations, it was amazing. I would definitely stay here again, overall just a perfect hotel experience in my opinion.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
7.1

Very noisy stay. I used to stay there in my early twenties but not sure I would do it again now... The room was great and very clean but the karaoke night lasted well past midnight and made me feel very uncomfortable with an early day awaiting me the morning after.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • chrisdudley106111
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Apr 2017
5.4

Other than a v friendly host - dishing out wine and serving breakfast - everything else was pretty average

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.6

Nice place to stay in Hollywood. Good facilities. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
6.9

We had to change room 3 times because somehow someone checked in with my name few hours before. We also had to wait 45 minutes before leaving since an hostel van was blocking our car and the couldn't find the keys

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
9.7

I met such cool people here, when I was traveling for work. Everyone was super friendly and welcoming and that is something you need if you travel alone constantly. I made instant friends and I could have stayed there for weeks. I will definitely be back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2017
7.1

This hostel is great if you are looking for somewhere right in the centre of Hollywood. There is a great atmosphere and the majority of staff are absolutely lovely and willing to help. Points for improvement could be the cleanliness (fairly standard for a hostel of this nature). Last note one of the receptionists is essentially useless in explaining anything that you may need to know about the hostel but there are usually others around who have a bit of an idea so just look out for them :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
8.0

Overall staying at the Banana Bungalow was great. Good value for the $. You're right on Hollywood Blvd so you are not to far away in terms of walking to the Walk of Fame and Nokia and Chinese Theatre. The only problem i faced was the check in. We confirmed a check-in for 12pm but were only allowed to check in at 2pm. So instead of getting are stuff settled after coming from the airport we have to keep our bags in a holding area with other guests and kill 2hrs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.