Hostelworld.com

Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.7
Banana Bungalow Hollywood Located at 5920 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles.
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
USA
Los Angeles CA 90028 5920 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood
87% 1608
34.1013398 -118.3188271
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
3.7

I had a very bad time at this hostel. Only mixed dorms when I booked, very disrespectful guys, I had to ask to change rooms every night. Bathroom where groos, the water wouldn't keep the heat.. same as carpet. The food was good but that's it. I'll never recommend this place to a friend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
9.4

Great place. Awesome location and value for money, unfortunately there were this strange guy in our room, very unpolite and impatient like he was the owner of the room. Except that, we had a perfect time during our stay in this hostel, and in the following night, there was this awesome karaoke night. I would certainly stay in this hostel again if I come back to LA.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2016
9.7

Awesome Hostel. A lot of party and amazing people. Great property and very clean rooms and the location is very nice too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kelsey94
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th May 2016
9.1

Free breakfasts, taco dinner and free drinks for a night while we were there made it really great! Especially on a backpackers budget. A short walk from the walk of fame and the metro station. Really helpful staff 👍

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th May 2016
6.3

I had read online that it was a party hostel but I did not expect such loud music after 11.30pm, I was on the opposite side to the bar and it was still crazy loud. This happened every night I was there apart from the Saturday but instead people played basketball till really late. It's in a decent area if all you want to do is Hollywood Tourist stuff but bear in mind that even a 2 mile bus journey can take up to an hour! They did have name brand stuff for breakfast though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th May 2016
9.1

Outstanding hostel - one of the best I have stayed in. Very minor issues with cleanliness be t otherwise fine

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th May 2016
9.7

This is an excellent hostel! Everyone is super friendly and the atmosphere is great. Free breakfast every day and $5 dinners 3 times a week were good- nothing super fancy but did the job and were also a great way to meet more people. There's a pin code to get into the hostel from the street and each dorm requires a swipe card. The only security downside was that there were only 2 full-size lockers in my dorm of 6 beds (the other 4 were just big enough for the essentials) but I always felt safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th May 2016
8.9

When I stay in hostels I want to meet fun travellers. Banana Bungalow was the perfect place for doing just that. They organise events most nights (including a free shuttle to their sister hostel in West Hollywood for a free burger and beer night). The dorm room and bathroom were nothing special, but for me that didn't matter as I was too busy having fun with exploring LA by day and going out to amazing nightclubs of an evening. AMAZING CLUBS: Dirty Laundry & No Vacancy (just up the road).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel! Friendly staff, walking distance to TCL Chinese Theater, connections at the front desk to other activities and sights. It was awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
10.0

I definitely loved this place. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The middle common area is the best I was always there hanging out with people and drinking beer...meeting new people and having a great time. I highly recommend it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.