Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Banana Bungalow West Hollywood

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Aug 2017
9.7

Excellent stay from start to finish. Niall in particular was amazing. He went out of his way to make sure everyone was happy and involved in the activities. Free breakfast was a bonus. We had a late flight and they let us use the facilities during the day even though we had checked out. We really enjoyed the evening activities which were really good value for money. Overall a very laid back and well run hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
10.0

Great place to stay in LA

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2017
3.1

The building itself is really run down and seemed to come with a lot of issues - warnings on toilets, vending machines out of order and showers with no hot water and weak pressure. Cleanliness was pretty bad. It looked like the drain in the shower hadn't been cleaned in days and there were items that belonged to previous visitors still in the rooms At night they didn't have ppl on reception to help when cars were blocked in. The tow company required their authorization but no one available.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
5.4

We stayed there for three nights and were only given the code to get in the building on the second night. This is despite asking them at check in if there was a code to get in, and they simply told us someone would be at reception till 12. Front desk staff seem unenthusiastic and grumpy. No night guard on third night, didn't feel like a secure building. Close to sunset strip which is a plus for those wanting to go to the comedy clubs. Clean, cheap, nice kitchen staff no, but not a buzzing hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • phoebeselloyd5810
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
8.0

Great location and helpful staff. Free breakfast was okay. Not a lot of space to store bags in dorms but laundry was cheap :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
9.4

Parking is too small

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2017
10.0

Awesome place! Great location, nice clean rooms and great atmosphere. Staff has many events and free breakfast and the guests aren't loud or obnoxious. They also have free parking. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2017
8.6

Not a bad stay at all, the other Banana bungalow seemed like it had a slightly better atmosphere, but we chose to stay here due to the parking facilities being limited at the other hostel. All in all not a bad place to stay, great people, great vibe, and very affordable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
8.0

The staff / hostel itself is awesome. They could cut back on enabling loud drunken kids.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.7

Favourite hostel of our trip so far, the Hollywood one was a better location but we preferred the vibe of this one!! The nights organised by the hostel were really good fun, free drinks and delicious food plus great atmosphere. Niall made our stay, even if he does look more like Rafe Spall than Ryan Gosling.... 100% recommend staying here if you're in LA, absolutely loved it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.