X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Banana Bungalow West Hollywood Reviews

603 N, Fairfax Ave, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
740 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Only spent one night here due to change of plans, but the staff were very nice and accommodating. The room faced a busy street and with the windows open, it got a little loud at night, but nothing a tired traveler can't sleep through. I will stay here again if I come back to LA :)


91%

If you're a first-time visitor to Los Angeles, this is a great place to stay. The location is super central to all kinds of hotspots - esp. WeHo nightlife - and the restaurants, coffee shops and bars down Fairfax (just a few blocks from the hostel) can't be beat. Definitely a place for travelers who like to party and socialize with others in the hostel. If that's not your thing, totally fine. But it's a fun stay that's cozy and quiet enough to get a good night's rest.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

nice staff, very cool atmosphere to get in touch... ;)


97%

Great stay, great atmosphere, friendly staff, easy checking in process Will definitely recommend to others travelling to LA

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Had a great time there, the energy of the hostel was excellent. I went to the party they organize with their sister hostel and had a really great time. Breakfast could be a little better but nothing too different from other hostels. All around great place!


91%

I have stayed in Hostels all over the world and my expectations for hostels are always low, lol. However, this one was the most clean and organized I have ever stayed.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

pretty good hostel overall, good value for the money, can improve on cleanliness


89%

This place is awesome. When we stayed they put on a free BBQ, beers and a comedy show!! Ive been traveling the last two years and i have never experienced a great deal like this. It brought everyone together and ended being a funny boozy night meeting people. The staff are super friendly they were unbelievably helpful. Thanks guys you guys rock. Sorry for over indulging in the free candy at reception hahaha


80%

Great hostel cleaned daily with bathroom in all rooms. Helpful staff and great facilities. Would definitely stay again.


91%

Great hostel, great staff, great atmosphere. Our hot water didn't work in out shower but we just used another dorms shower down the hallway! Great bar outside and good they even have Nutella for breakfast!


77%

Good stay in good location; staff were helpful when giving directions, tours and ideas of where to eat etc. Free breakfast was great too. Dorm checks would have been good as people in our room were quite inconsiderate.


100%

the common areas are so big that makes difficult connect with other guests. Play some background music during breakfast


80%

Great place to stay. It's a huge building with lots of different common areas. Was kinda quiet when I stayed there but I guess it's normal for November.


77%

Please be aware that there will be a $ 5 credit card surcharge. The hostel claims that the price presented on hostelworld is the cash price, but that is not beeing mentioned anywhere. The hostel has good facilities, but still has a slight school atmosphere. There will also be a credit card inprint at check in, in case you damage any property, like they do in real hotels. There are 2 bus lines outside the hostel, though you have to change to get to most places, execpt Hollywood Boulevard.


94%

Only one night but no major complaints. First come first serve parking is a hassle for holidays though.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was great and everyone was so nice. Loved the underground parking and the location

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff was less than helpful and security was just rude. No one enjoys their job and it shows

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

My stay was great. No complaints, they made everything easy. Some nights i stayed out til 4-5am and there was usually someone at the door keeping watch. Wherever i just hung out at the hostel all day there was always plenty to do if nothing else shooting pool. Great location, plenty of things to do or see within a 10 min walk. A few sketchy characters about at night, but nothing you haven't seen before I'm sure.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I had a fun time here. The staff were helpful but depending who you got you felt like you were annoying them by asking what bus to catch... The place was very clean and very easy to settle in. I would stay here again for sure.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A very nice stay again, thank you to all the front desk staff, kitchen staff, maintenance and cleaning staff. I look forward to my next stay at Banana.


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback