X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

BaronGarden Reviews

Rua Bar�o de Guaratiba 195, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
87 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

water pressure in 1st floor could be better; a bigger closet in the "little room" would be nice; Maria and all the other guys were very nice and helpful. We would recommend this place for a sty in Rio!!


49%

Was so dirty. Bathroom was never cleaned while there. Gas leak in the bathroom made me nervous. Staff was hard to find. Bedroom was dirty, but sheets were at least clean.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The only problem with the location is that it is at the top of a very steep hill, so if you have plans to pop out of the hostel and back a few times during the day, you will certainly get your exercise. But with the steep hill comes a glorious view from the garden...


94%

The hostel has a locked gate and there was a neighborhood watch type thing at night when walking through the neighborhood. It's near the metro, but it is a long windy hike up a hill. It's still a pretty walk up and down the hill and once you're down the hill there is quite a bit of stuff nearby. The staff was loud early in the morning. Maria is very friendly, helpful and always seemed to be available. Very clean, nice restrooms for a hostel and there was hot water.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This was exactly the place we were looking for. Very friendly staff with lots of good advice. It's a peaceful place so if you're looking for more of a rowdy, hostel experience look elsewhere. It's close to the metro and lots of buses so location is good. There is a short walk up a hill to the house but as long as you are able, it's no problem.


83%

Very friendly and helpful people. House full of character. Nice small pool. Regular Flavela all-night party nearby on a Friday means very little sleep. Fans availble rather than a/c. Didn't spend a lot of time in the place, but could probably do with a refresh, looks a little tired in places. Would go back and recommend.


80%

Nice and clean simple rooms with shared bathroom and plenty of hot water! Maria, the owner, a beautiful lady, couldn't do enough to help us and very prompt in sorting out any of our queries prior to our stay by email. Location of hostel excellent as in a nice, safe area, thanks Baron Garden!

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Very central location, but because it is on a hill, quiet and secure too. I really loved the swimming pool and the quietness of this hostel. Lovely old huge house. The staff was helpful and Maria speaks good English. Easy to get anywhere! Only downside they don't want to accept card payments and with a hint of food in our bags, cockroaches are coming. Well, we were asked not to keep any food in there but wouldn't think they can smell some biscuits in closed bags and backpack. Yes, they can! :)


83%

there are not a lot of places in Rio where you have a direct view of the Corcovado. Thumbs up!


83%

Maria and her staff gave us an excellent support: we stayed one night more than it was planned, they arranged a transportation for us to the bus terminal, shared with us their lunch, and many other things.


94%

It's a wonderful place in a colonial house atop of a hill with magnificent views of the city. You feel like being part of a family. You can relax in hammock in the garden and swim in the pool. Two metro stations are within walking distance. Excellent location between downtown and Copacabana/Ipanema.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

This nice hostel is located on a hill. It's safe to walk up, but very exhausting. The hostel has WiFi and a computer that can be used at no charge. Also, you get some space in a fridge which is very helpful.

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved my stay at baron garden. It's in a great spot and walking up and down that cobbled street was very good exercise! Yassi is the hostess and fabulous, she makes sure that her guests have a comfortable stay and that you get upto date info on Rio and how to get around. I world definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a quieter stay in the city as this is aimed at more mature guests NOT party people but by that I certainly don't mean old. Its simply lovely and was my favourite.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Coming to Rio we were a bit worried about safety. Once we arrived at BaronGarden we felt very safe. The hostel is situated in a residential neighbourhood, which is nice because it gives you the opportunity to shop in real shops (rather than in those meant for tourists). The hostel is very clean and the kitchen facilities are excellent. The hostel itself is really beautiful and from the terrace you have a wonderful view of the city. 10 minute-walk (downhill - uphill on your way back) to the metro


77%

Close to the metro, nice guesthouse, excellente english spoken. Little street, so difficult to find for the taximen

  • 7th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a wonderful time at Baron Garden and in Rio. The hostel is located on a quiet hill, about 10 min walk from the action. It is also very central, giving access to most attractions via a short train or bus ride. The most important though is the family atmosphere, which makes it very homy, restful and welcoming. We liked it so much, we ended up staying one more night! Rooms are decently sized, showers are warm and the place is clean. Breakfast is nice too with ham and cheese.


66%

Baron Garden resides in a friendly, rustic colonial building. It has a small, pleasant garden and a pool (and 2 nice dogs, separated from the guests). Staff doesn't speak English (except the landlady). Location is OK, it is on a hill near Catete metro station (5-6 stations to Copacabana); with plenty of shops around Catete. Breakfast included. They have a computer with free internet. Sleeping sometimes not easy as we had a street front room. Both people and dogs tend to be noisy there.

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

All in all it was really nice, especially with the pool. You're in the middle of Rio but don't hear any noise at all. Only the staff in the kitchen unfortunately were really grumpy. But we enjoyed it a lot.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Luxembourg
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I couldn't have asked for a lovelier, more welcoming place to stay. It was exactly what I wanted - charming, quiet, welcoming but allowed for privacy, clean, safe, and the hostess and her family are wonderful. Very reasonably priced to top it all off. I will definitely be back!


97%

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Baron Garden. We arrived very late and were still given a warm and friendly welcome by the host Iaci who showed us round her beautiful hostel and was always happy to help at any time. I would recommend anyone travelling to Rio to stay here as it was a great place to use as a base to visit the city. It is a beautiful building with immaculate pool and bathrooms, great views and a lovely atmosphere. We found it hard to leave and booked to stay again!

  • 2nd Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback