X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

BaronGarden Reviews

Rua Bar�o de Guaratiba 195, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
76 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very central location, but because it is on a hill, quiet and secure too. I really loved the swimming pool and the quietness of this hostel. Lovely old huge house. The staff was helpful and Maria speaks good English. Easy to get anywhere! Only downside they don't want to accept card payments and with a hint of food in our bags, cockroaches are coming. Well, we were asked not to keep any food in there but wouldn't think they can smell some biscuits in closed bags and backpack. Yes, they can! :)


83%

there are not a lot of places in Rio where you have a direct view of the Corcovado. Thumbs up!


83%

Maria and her staff gave us an excellent support: we stayed one night more than it was planned, they arranged a transportation for us to the bus terminal, shared with us their lunch, and many other things.


94%

It's a wonderful place in a colonial house atop of a hill with magnificent views of the city. You feel like being part of a family. You can relax in hammock in the garden and swim in the pool. Two metro stations are within walking distance. Excellent location between downtown and Copacabana/Ipanema.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

This nice hostel is located on a hill. It's safe to walk up, but very exhausting. The hostel has WiFi and a computer that can be used at no charge. Also, you get some space in a fridge which is very helpful.

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

I loved my stay at baron garden. It's in a great spot and walking up and down that cobbled street was very good exercise! Yassi is the hostess and fabulous, she makes sure that her guests have a comfortable stay and that you get upto date info on Rio and how to get around. I world definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a quieter stay in the city as this is aimed at more mature guests NOT party people but by that I certainly don't mean old. Its simply lovely and was my favourite.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Coming to Rio we were a bit worried about safety. Once we arrived at BaronGarden we felt very safe. The hostel is situated in a residential neighbourhood, which is nice because it gives you the opportunity to shop in real shops (rather than in those meant for tourists). The hostel is very clean and the kitchen facilities are excellent. The hostel itself is really beautiful and from the terrace you have a wonderful view of the city. 10 minute-walk (downhill - uphill on your way back) to the metro


77%

Close to the metro, nice guesthouse, excellente english spoken. Little street, so difficult to find for the taximen

  • 7th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a wonderful time at Baron Garden and in Rio. The hostel is located on a quiet hill, about 10 min walk from the action. It is also very central, giving access to most attractions via a short train or bus ride. The most important though is the family atmosphere, which makes it very homy, restful and welcoming. We liked it so much, we ended up staying one more night! Rooms are decently sized, showers are warm and the place is clean. Breakfast is nice too with ham and cheese.


66%

Baron Garden resides in a friendly, rustic colonial building. It has a small, pleasant garden and a pool (and 2 nice dogs, separated from the guests). Staff doesn't speak English (except the landlady). Location is OK, it is on a hill near Catete metro station (5-6 stations to Copacabana); with plenty of shops around Catete. Breakfast included. They have a computer with free internet. Sleeping sometimes not easy as we had a street front room. Both people and dogs tend to be noisy there.

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

All in all it was really nice, especially with the pool. You're in the middle of Rio but don't hear any noise at all. Only the staff in the kitchen unfortunately were really grumpy. But we enjoyed it a lot.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Luxembourg
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I couldn't have asked for a lovelier, more welcoming place to stay. It was exactly what I wanted - charming, quiet, welcoming but allowed for privacy, clean, safe, and the hostess and her family are wonderful. Very reasonably priced to top it all off. I will definitely be back!


97%

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Baron Garden. We arrived very late and were still given a warm and friendly welcome by the host Iaci who showed us round her beautiful hostel and was always happy to help at any time. I would recommend anyone travelling to Rio to stay here as it was a great place to use as a base to visit the city. It is a beautiful building with immaculate pool and bathrooms, great views and a lovely atmosphere. We found it hard to leave and booked to stay again!

  • 2nd Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Un buen lugar y excelente atencion de su dueña, no me gusto que no hablara español y un poco inaccesible del transporte urbano


34%

There are lots of hostels that provide much better conditions for much less money. I never stayed in place where the breakfast was limited, everywhere you can refill your cup with juice and get another sandwich or at least a few toasts. The room where we stayed is not worth the money we payed for it.


71%

The obligation to leave the room key into a box in the hall is really inconvenient, as it turned to be. We arrived back to the hostel in the night, after all day sighseeing, and our key was not there. We couldn't go into our room. It took a long time and annoyance to all people in the hostel to find the key, which had been mistaken by one of the guests. Not to mention how easy would have been that someone had entered the room and taken whatever he/she liked.

  • 16th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This is a lovely place, with lots of charms. The host is very nice too. The area is quiet but the garden can be noisy with the dogs and the neighbourhood entertaining until late. Not much fun around but perfect if you need to relax in Rio.


66%

Our host Iaci was very helpful and her home characterful, but our room had thin mattresses and pillows, was drab and noisy (adjacent to the front door, no glass in the windows), and we were asked to leave room keys in a box, unsupervised, when we already had experience at another hostel of items being stolen from within a locked room: the expense of replacing antique keys is not a sufficient reason! Weather mostly wet, so we never got to enjoy the lovely pool and charming elevated garden - pity!

  • 14th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Sheets and towels were changed only once in 10 days and bathroom was never cleaned. Breakfast every morning was bread with processed cheese and processed meat and a piece of fruit - totally boring and meager, although coffee was great. I loved the view and the large room I was in (don't get the squashed dorm) for the value. Location is good - but beach nearby is so polluted that no one can swim in it (Flamengo Beach). Neighborhood was pretty safe and market and places to hang out are close.

  • 15th Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We enjoyed our stay very much. The place has "character" and the staff and other guests were friendly. Some things are worn (it's an old house--hence the character!), but everything is very clean, comfortable and functional. I'd recommend taking a taxi to get there with luggage--unless you like dragging your suitcase over cobblestones and up long flights of stone stairs. But the view from the hill is worth it. Subway, buses and restaurants are just a 5-10 minute walk down the (steep) hill.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback