X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base Sydney Reviews

477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
887 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Terrible place to stay, would not recommend to anyone. Only good thing is the location. Staff not very helpful, v loud at night and rooms were very dirty

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi David, Thanks for letting us know about your experience. We have had a recent turnover in Management, and are working really hard with all staff to ensure our Customer Service gets up to the high standards we expect moving forward. I am suprised about you mentioning how dirty your room was as we have a proffesional cleaning company coming in every day and we have no big complaints about this. We will spring clean the whole hostel next week though :) Kind Regards, Jeroen GS Manager

94%

Very very convenient !!!!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Orla, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Sydney. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. So, It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would hope for!! I hope you have a great trip and hope to see you next time :) Cheers, Jeroen Guest Services Manager Base Backpackers Sydney

100%

Love this place! It is really central everything you want is on your doorstep and it's really spacious and clean compared to some of the other places I've stayed in Sydney! Will definitely be back!! Thanks base crew

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stefania, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Sydney. I am so happy to hear you has a great time here at Base. With our new crew and most renovations done we hope we only get more reviews like this ;) I hope you have a great trip and to see you again when you are back in Sydney :) Cheers, Jeroen Bult Guest Services Manager Base Backpackers Sydney

86%

Very nice place, clean, friendly staff, Would go there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for the positive feedback! it is great to hear and motivates us to work even harder! Warmest Regards, BASE Crew

83%

I picked this hostel because of its location, and overall, I was very pleased. The facilities were clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. When obnoxious drunk people in the room next door woke us up, the staff member I spoke to downstairs immediately took care of the problem. If I come back to Sydney, I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alexandra, Thanks for your kind review. I am happy to hear that our staff took care of your problem!I think good customer services and competent staff is the most important part of a hostel and thats why I am pretty excited about this review :) Also great to hear that our cleaners do a good job. We have 24hrs cleaning on site and you understand probably that with 400+ beds its quite a challenge :) I hope you have a great trip! Cheers, Jeroen Guest Ser Manager Base Sydney

74%

I am lucky to get a larger 10-bed room compared to others. Hope they can prepare a small prayer room in the future.

  • 10th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we do have a lot of space in our 10 bed dorms, and they are not overly cramped. Compared to other hostels in the area we are super proud of how much space we are able to offer our guests! we hope to welcome you back next time you visit Sydney, Warm Regards & Safe travels, BASE Crew

86%

Enjoyed my week at Base Sydney. Great location (right next to Scary Canary ;) and lovely staff. 24 hour reception which I really liked felt very safe. Rooms were clean nice big kitchen and more than enough washing machines. Great deals for touristy stuff, we got almost half price on the aquarium Was quite loud at night and thin walls but that's something to expect in hostels right, it's also where the OzIntro kids go so might be a bit more noisy than some...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback! the Oz Intro Kids can be a bit of a handful sometimes, but they are generally great kids, and we always strictly put them into their own dorms so they dont get on the nerves of all of our other great guests :), We hope to welcome you back here at BASE Sydney sometime very very soon! Warm Regards and Safe Travels, BASE Crew

74%

Booked through hostelworld (HW) but my plans changed so I rang Base direct to edit my booking.I asked the member of staff if I could use the deposit already paid to HW against new booking,which was less days,and he confirmed I could.However upon arriving at Base, at the rescheduled time, they would not accept the deposit as a part payment as was a different booking! I realise I changed my plans but it would be good if HW and the hostels could work together a bit better with amended bookings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable on-line feedback! there was obviously a crappy breakdown in communication here, and we are really sorry about that! shoot me a line directly and next time you come by Sydney we will make sure you get a 1/2 priced bed or some other freebies, just let me know what you would prefer! Warm Regards, Raph, General Manager BASE Sydney

66%

The hostel is no doubt in an amazing location in the city, however as it is directly above Scary Canarys if you get the wrong room (I did) then you will not be able to sleep until 3am when the music stops. The hostel is clean and moderne which is great but the atmosphere wasn't great, there's no real area to socialise and I found people didn't talk to each other unless you were already part of the cliques… I haven't had this problem anywhere else.


77%

I have stayed in this hostel before, it is in a great location, both times i've been quite lucky with room mates and have managed to get a decent amount of sleep. Beds are comfy, the free trip to the beach on Thursday's is lots of fun.

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving us your feedback about your two stays here with us! Our free Beach Day BBQ is an awesome excursion, where we put on a free bus to take everyone down to the beach and throw a free BBQ to boot! we also put on an awesome City Tour / Scavenger hunt day which is a fantastic way to meet other travellers and get involved! we do hope that if you come back to Sydney, you come visit us again! Warm Regards, BASE Crew

60%

The people in general weren't friendly at all which I found was very unsettling, especially as it was the first hostel of my travels. The staff weren't helpful at all and couldn't wait to leave!

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for letting us know about your experience here, We have had a recent turnover in Management, and are working really hard with all staff (old and new) to ensure our Customer Service gets up to the high standards we expect moving forward, Should you come back to Sydney we do hope that you give us another opportunity at exceeding your expectations, and sorry that in our initial instance we did fail you! Kind Regards and safe travels, BASE Crew

74%

The Scary Canary music was blasting into our private room all night long and the smokers ouside the club and Xbase where loud as well. If you are the type to get up in the mornings, don't stay in Room# 122.

  • 16th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable online feedback! our private rooms do have Queen Size Beds with flat screen TV's and private ensuites. There is a Bar next door however and sometimes there is some noise associated with that, that is out of our control, we do hope if you come back to stay with us you give us another shot at exceeding your expectations, Kind Regards, BASE Crew

69%

Staff wasn't very friendly. They give a vibe that they weren't very helpful, a take it or leave it attitude. It gets worst once we checkout. We weren't allowed to use the toilet facility and additional charges required to store our luggage for a couple of hours before we fly off. I have used a number of backpackers and they are usually very kind with their facilities to customers. I am disappointed with how we were treated but I guess in your view beggars can't be choosers,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback! I am sorry that in this instance our customer service was not up too scratch, but we have had significant staff and management turnover since your last visit. Just as an FYI, all guests at checkout are allowed to use toilet and shower facilities, though there is a nominal baggage charge at check out should you wish to leave bags here in storage when you are no longer a guest(usually a couple of dollars) Warm Regards, BASE Crew

63%

Very good location, but poor service attitude from the staff.

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving your feedback with us! We have been working really hard with our staff of late to ensure our customer service levels get to where they need be, and should you come back and give us another shot, I am sure we will exceed your expectations! Kind Regards, BASE Management

80%

Chose this hostel for my last 12 days in Oz cos of CBD location, standard Base quality and under bed lockers. Our 8 bed dorm was spacious, right next to the bathrooms, and people in my room were more than friendly. The showers were awesome, great pressure. Kitchen I only used for breakfast, so can only say it was well equipped, clean and hassle-free for my needs. Was afraid the Scary Canary was gonna keep me up since our window was to the street, but wasn't bothered at all. A/C worked great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time for leaving us your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us here at BASE Sydney! our Kitchen is huge and well equipped, our locations is seriously amazing and standard for Beds / Linen / Lockers etc is top notch! we do hope if you come back to Sydney, you allow us to be your home Base again! Kind Regards, BASE Crew

80%

Great hostel, amazing location. A it noisy On the first floor as right above scary canary nightclub and can hear all the music through the floor untill3am. Apart from that great hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, it is great to see that enjoyed our great location and clean communal areas! we do have the Scary Canary Bar underneath us, and it has become one of Sydney's iconic nightspots for a reason! hopefully next time you are here you get a chance to get in and experience the fun! Warm regards, and safe travels! BASE Crew

77%

The base is in a good central location, everything is with in walking distance. The base has a good travel desk and is professionally run, however lacks atmospere and feels more like a hotel than a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, I see from your review that you thought the atmosphere wasnt up too scratch, but just wanted to let you know that since you last stayed here we have had a massive lobby and reception overhaul with the entire downstairs area now being decked out in awesome leather couches and sofas. The atmosphere at the moment is amazing, and we do hope that you get a chance to come back and visit sometime soon! Warm Regards, BASE Crew

80%

Good place to stay in sydney! Close to everywhere and easy to get there! Nice workers and hosts. Clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for leaving your amazing feedback with us here! we work hard making sure it is all smiles with the staff, and making certain that the entire environment is its absolute cleanest it can be for our guests, we hope to welcome you back next time you visit Sydney! Warm regards, BASE Crew



View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback