X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Beary Best! by a beary good hostel Reviews

16 Upper Cross Street, Chinatown, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
462 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

This is an OK hostel at a great location in Chinatown and across from the Chinatown BTS Station. Breakfast is the usual cereal and toast. Small common area with tall chairs or basically cushions. Secure keycard entry to the room floors and each room. Small locker at each bunk, big enough for carry-on, but not a pack or large luggage. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Room smelled strongly of mildew and disinfectant. I will avoid this place in the future because of the mildew/disinfectant smell.


86%

Cool place!😄

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome place in a great location.. excellent value for money and kind friendly staff.. I had a great stay there. Thanks guys ^_^


49%

We chose this place 'cause of the good reviews instead of the cheaper alternatives. We expected a double bed but we got a VERY small room with bunk bed. You could feel the springs in your back. Paint was coming off the wall and overall not too clean. In the shared mixed bathroom only one of the wc's had functioning lock. Showers were ok. The ac didn't work. Had to tell the staff 3 times before fixing. Also they talked about custommers laughingly in the reception. Breakfast was poorly planned

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It was fun! The place is chill where you can relax from the heat of the sun in singapore. Super near the mrt so its easy to access every corner of Singapore. :) the bears kinda smell but its all good.


89%

Location is superb. Staff was great, really helpful and accomodating. Had an overall pleasant and hassle free stay.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Pretty good hostel overall. The beds aren't the greatest and they have nowhere to lock things up before you're checked in. Otherwise a good place to spend a night.


77%

Nice staff

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice cozy place to stay, really colorful so very kid friendly. Staff was nice and helpful. Nice location, across the street from the mall and MRT stop. Also just around the corner from Chinatown and 3 different street food markets. Everything went smoothly beside the lingering smell of mole. notice the ceiling and wall of our room had mole.


83%

The hostel is located perfect and the entrance to the Chinatown MRT station is just across the road. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The hostel is also very clean. I still rated "poor" for cleanliness because the dormroom was so damp that there was black mold on the wall. I can understand that the aircon is switched off at some times to save energy but this must not happen on cost of health of the people that stay in the hostel.


60%

The location was great but it is not so clean as we expected.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

the location is very good.near from chinatown market n foodcourt, oposite chinatown south bridge rd mrt station.but For the room service who pick up the basket of garbages in the our room little careless not lock the door again.Thank God.no goods are missing.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place! Staff is the best ever!!! Only this thing I didn't like was the humidity in the room. It smelled mold


100%

I very enjoyed to stay there. Felt so homey, just hope that there re some 24 hours minimarkets or maybe beer stalls next door? Lols! However, I recommend this hostel and sure will stay there next time!


97%

Beary Best!

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

High marks on security due to card access for both front door and female dorm. Unlike hostels using a code (eg 8362) that doesn't change often. Or those whose rooms don't lock automatically when the door closes. The lockers are also in the room not out in the hall and can actually hold a backpack not just a small money pouch. Those with oversized luggage have room on the floor to store it. Could feel the bed springs. ;-( Skip their breakfast and go to the foodhall a few blocks away.


71%

Nice location and good staff. They sold cheap bottled water which is a plus. Bed was not nice at all- you can feel the springs on your back. The sheets and blanket provided were not much help since they were too thin. Showers could be cleaner; had a problem with the 3rd floor sink. They ran out of milk during breakfast.


86%

เดินทางสะดวก ใกล้mrt หาไม่ยาก มีที่ช้อปปิ้ง, ได้พักห้องสำหรับ3คน เป็นเตียงเดี่ยว3เตียง โอเคเลย ห้องอยู่ชั้น 3 แต่ต้องลงมาเข้าห้องน้ำ มาอาบน้ำชั้น 2 ห้องน้ำมีแยกหญิงชาย เป็นผู้หญิงมาพัก3คน โดยรวมถือว่าปลอดภัย

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to stay! Very clean and friendly staff. Also a few steps away to a MRT station.


86%

Really nice hostel. Friendly staff. Good communal areas. Had an issue with a snorer in my room so changed to an empty room which was really good. Would stay again if I had the opportunity.


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback