X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Beary Best! by a beary good hostel Reviews

16 Upper Cross Street, Chinatown, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
489 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Central, good atmosphere, helpful staff, huge movie collection, breakfast + coffie/tea all day and ice cold rooms.. Definitively recommend this hostel!


77%

It s a good place to stay because it s very close to the train station. It s clean and the staff are friendly.


83%

Beary hostel was a good hostel for my short trip in SG , we cant put highly expectation it because this is hostel .

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Fantastic location, right across from the MRT and near the cheap food & beer in Chinatown. Staff were very accommodating and knowledgeable. Facilities were exceptional, AC, good bathrooms, each bed with little curtain, light and plug. Nice breakfast (a little fruit wouldn't go amiss) in the morning and tea/coffee/hot chocolate all day. Slight negatives: limited space in bedroom, had to carry heavy luggage up steps. Anyway, fantastic hostel, will 100% stay here again in the future.


89%

All around nice people, place and accommodation. I sleep well during my stay, staffs are kind too.


86%

I'll be beary sure to visit again!

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is very nice and clean. You can enjoy your stay and share experiences with your friend.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

staff is very humble


97%

One facinating stay over Singapore, Freindly, I love here. good communication by Bus and MRT. great Nation. Great city. Fun state. Material prices are Metropolitan level and higher than Taipei about 30~40%,meal and food, but Not the lodging fair.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff especially the front desk staff on our 1st day of stay is so awesome! She is very helpful and charming that makes clients be comfortable :)

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, staff were extremely helpful. Not the cleanest, the room smelt quite musty.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Everything was good except my locker was broken and I didn't really like having to go barefoot.


89%

(+): quickest commute from Changi (MRT to Bugis, then any bus passing Upper Cross), bus stop just 10mtrs. away, close enough to Chinatown food/shops/vibe, far enough from Chinatown beer-carousing/crowds, Idayu is a great hostess, 16-ft. ceilings, patio on 2nd floor, 15sq. mtr kitchen [two sinks!], just 9bunks in a 45sq. mtr. room. (-): crowded shoe closets at entry, just one sink in the bathroom :( bedside lamp didn't work, bedside shelf (13cm x 30cm) too small for stuff, dusty under beds(!)


100%

great base in the middle of the city to allow you get around, close to metro and bay front and very easy to get to from airport due to metro in Singapore, didn't meet to many people but the staff were awesome and very helpful


89%

This is an OK hostel at a great location in Chinatown and across from the Chinatown BTS Station. Breakfast is the usual cereal and toast. Small common area with tall chairs or basically cushions. Secure keycard entry to the room floors and each room. Small locker at each bunk, big enough for carry-on, but not a pack or large luggage. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Room smelled strongly of mildew and disinfectant. I will avoid this place in the future because of the mildew/disinfectant smell.


86%

Cool place!😄

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome place in a great location.. excellent value for money and kind friendly staff.. I had a great stay there. Thanks guys ^_^


49%

We chose this place 'cause of the good reviews instead of the cheaper alternatives. We expected a double bed but we got a VERY small room with bunk bed. You could feel the springs in your back. Paint was coming off the wall and overall not too clean. In the shared mixed bathroom only one of the wc's had functioning lock. Showers were ok. The ac didn't work. Had to tell the staff 3 times before fixing. Also they talked about custommers laughingly in the reception. Breakfast was poorly planned

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It was fun! The place is chill where you can relax from the heat of the sun in singapore. Super near the mrt so its easy to access every corner of Singapore. :) the bears kinda smell but its all good.


89%

Location is superb. Staff was great, really helpful and accomodating. Had an overall pleasant and hassle free stay.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback