X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Beary Best! by a beary good hostel Reviews

16 Upper Cross Street, Chinatown, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
433 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Beary Best!

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

High marks on security due to card access for both front door and female dorm. Unlike hostels using a code (eg 8362) that doesn't change often. Or those whose rooms don't lock automatically when the door closes. The lockers are also in the room not out in the hall and can actually hold a backpack not just a small money pouch. Those with oversized luggage have room on the floor to store it. Could feel the bed springs. ;-( Skip their breakfast and go to the foodhall a few blocks away.


71%

Nice location and good staff. They sold cheap bottled water which is a plus. Bed was not nice at all- you can feel the springs on your back. The sheets and blanket provided were not much help since they were too thin. Showers could be cleaner; had a problem with the 3rd floor sink. They ran out of milk during breakfast.


86%

เดินทางสะดวก ใกล้mrt หาไม่ยาก มีที่ช้อปปิ้ง, ได้พักห้องสำหรับ3คน เป็นเตียงเดี่ยว3เตียง โอเคเลย ห้องอยู่ชั้น 3 แต่ต้องลงมาเข้าห้องน้ำ มาอาบน้ำชั้น 2 ห้องน้ำมีแยกหญิงชาย เป็นผู้หญิงมาพัก3คน โดยรวมถือว่าปลอดภัย

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to stay! Very clean and friendly staff. Also a few steps away to a MRT station.


71%

No current 2times in the mid night

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I honestly could not recommend this place more. The location is PERFECT!! Right next to the MRT and in Chinatown which is so central. The staff were awesome- our airline lost our luggage and they kept phoning the airport even when we went out for the day. The hostel was clean and beds were comfy! Great common area with a comfy sofa and if you want to be lazy, a TV that has endless tv shows and movies on it! Stay here!


100%

Good stay experience.


77%

i liked the showers, staff was helpful, towelservice 1$ ok, balcony for drying clothes is convenient. Only springs in bed matress came through.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

I gave the Atmosphere a "good" rating because I just wasn't able to talk to the other customers as much as I would like to due to language barriers. However, I'd give an excellent rating overall. I've heard that if I come back to the hostel later on for another booking, it'd be on a discount?? Cos there's no doubt I would be coming back to Singapore and would still stay at your hostel. Cheerios!

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Accomodating staff, clean and very easy to find.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Thanks for an amazing stay! The staff were very friendly, the atmosphere was great and facilities clean.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The toilet in the girls dorm room is very disgusting, suggest to repaint the wall or put on tiles. Same to shower screen, looks very dirty. The WiFi in the hostel is extremely slow. Apart from that, the rest is fine.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Location was great and good security. Room for 3 people dorm was bit smelly and stuffy.Very simple breakfast provided.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel - clean and in a great location. Some rude/loud people staying in the hostel with us, but overall I'd recommend this place if you just need a bed for a night or two.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice Hostel. The staff was very nice and helpfull. Very clean and perfectly located in Chinatown, close to the subway. I would definitly go back there.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice place, and strategies place Cause near from mrt, chinatown, foodstreet...

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Stayed at all 3 now and it,s the BEST. Good positon near MRT & BUS STOP. Staff great & helpful , Just hope they keep their GOOD cleaner 2 keep it that way...@_@


91%

Staff were fantastic. Helped us to organise our travel for our next destination. Very good hostel.


80%

Not bad, but not very good either. The closeness to the MRT and the prize makes it quite ok.


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback