X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Beary Best! by a beary good hostel Reviews

16 Upper Cross Street, Chinatown, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
508 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The rooms and washrooms are nice and clean. Soap wasn't always available. The 'lobby' could be made neater a little.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The rooms were not very clean expecially not the bathroom which smelt very bad. The pipes were blocked which caused a very bad smell. The beds were horrible and you could feel the mattress springs in your back when you were lying down.


66%

Female bathroom needs renovation. Not enough space in the common area during breakfast. Generally our stay is ok, room is small but clean.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The location was great. The bathrooms could have been cleaner and there were few things that needed mending.


66%

The toilet's doors lock are broken. The sink is not well drained. Moreover, my key card door is not work so anyone can come in to my room.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff were great and very friendly :) Had problems with the wifi when i was there with no service on the 2nd and 3rd floors which took almost five days to fix But other than that the place is great good tv room very comfy, great location! I will definitely be staying there again

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Central, good atmosphere, helpful staff, huge movie collection, breakfast + coffie/tea all day and ice cold rooms.. Definitively recommend this hostel!


77%

well located but the rooms are REALLY small


77%

It s a good place to stay because it s very close to the train station. It s clean and the staff are friendly.


83%

Beary hostel was a good hostel for my short trip in SG , we cant put highly expectation it because this is hostel .

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Fantastic location, right across from the MRT and near the cheap food & beer in Chinatown. Staff were very accommodating and knowledgeable. Facilities were exceptional, AC, good bathrooms, each bed with little curtain, light and plug. Nice breakfast (a little fruit wouldn't go amiss) in the morning and tea/coffee/hot chocolate all day. Slight negatives: limited space in bedroom, had to carry heavy luggage up steps. Anyway, fantastic hostel, will 100% stay here again in the future.


89%

All around nice people, place and accommodation. I sleep well during my stay, staffs are kind too.


86%

I'll be beary sure to visit again!

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is very nice and clean. You can enjoy your stay and share experiences with your friend.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

staff is very humble


97%

One facinating stay over Singapore, Freindly, I love here. good communication by Bus and MRT. great Nation. Great city. Fun state. Material prices are Metropolitan level and higher than Taipei about 30~40%,meal and food, but Not the lodging fair.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff especially the front desk staff on our 1st day of stay is so awesome! She is very helpful and charming that makes clients be comfortable :)

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, staff were extremely helpful. Not the cleanest, the room smelt quite musty.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Everything was good except my locker was broken and I didn't really like having to go barefoot.


89%

(+): quickest commute from Changi (MRT to Bugis, then any bus passing Upper Cross), bus stop just 10mtrs. away, close enough to Chinatown food/shops/vibe, far enough from Chinatown beer-carousing/crowds, Idayu is a great hostess, 16-ft. ceilings, patio on 2nd floor, 15sq. mtr kitchen [two sinks!], just 9bunks in a 45sq. mtr. room. (-): crowded shoe closets at entry, just one sink in the bathroom :( bedside lamp didn't work, bedside shelf (13cm x 30cm) too small for stuff, dusty under beds(!)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback