X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Beary Best! by a beary good hostel Reviews

16 Upper Cross Street, Chinatown, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
380 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Good relation quality-price. The facilities are good, the staff is in the average


77%

Pro: Air Con in the room was Super Cold. Iron facilities is good. Con: The shoes rack should be increased. Mattress and blanket could be a little better.


100%

nice view and very good service.. will be there again soon if i in Singapore in future..Gred A ...

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

you should tell in your website which floor for each room i dont know my room will be in 4th floor, and its a minus because i came with my parents, and they have some difficulties to take that many stairs...and its so narrow stairs and they have to be more careful I think you should provide sandals for each guests for walking inside because sometimes it get slippery in the stairs...but the sandal itself should not be use for public use but for single guest only and not for next guest...

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

you get what you paid for. nice friendly staff. although the laptops are very slow. good breakfast. clean CR. near MRT chinatown. bus stop in front. near cheap restaurants and store. you can get discounted tickets for USS, SG Zoo at the reception. They also sell noodles and drinks. Hot water and bidet working fine. no need to bring adaptor. bring own lock. all in all the hostel is very good. will recommend to anyone who wants to save money yet wants good accomodation in singapore. beary best!!😊

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The air con was not cold during my stay


69%

Poor maintenance : shower room door lock out of order (many rooms)

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Best location I've ever had in Singapore. Chinatown MRT Station is just across the hostel. Mosque is about 3 mins walk. You can find halal food near the mosque. I found "pancake durian" at Pepole's Park Complex (5 mins walk), it's so delicious and only SGD 2. Do you want t visit IKEA Alexander ? Take the bus no. 33 in front of the hostel. The room & bathroom was clean. The staffs are nice. You must book private room if you bring your children.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice place, recommend to stay here.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

There will be staff on duty 24 hourly. Even I left at 5:30am they can still check out for me and let me take the breakfast.


91%

i love this hostel like seriously! :D if i go to singapore again, i will stay there again. no doubt!

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The overall of my experience is okay, just found that the toilet is very small, difficult to hang up stuffs in the bath tab area. Also, the toilet is not bright enough. But value for money.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

recommended for those who are looking for a strategic location


77%

I like staying there,will coming back soon to stay there

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I booked a five-bedded room but the staff tried to stuff five or more people in my room. Otherwise, this is a nice hostel to stay in.


80%

It's a beary good place (see what I did there) if you're looking for a cheap but excellent quality hostel. Staff is very helpful. Room & toilet were clean. Only issue for me was my room's door, it was sort of jammed so you have to, like, push hard to open, which was a pain in the butt when you tried to open it at night. The door I'm talking about was of the "daydreams" room on the 3rd floor. Also, only 1 of the 3 showers on the 3rd floor that has hot water functioning, might wanna check that out

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Worth the amount. But i would really like to have a locker space that can be locked and not be open by others.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

My stay at Beary Best was good, location was perfect as its close to MRT Chinatown(across the road) and within walking distance to places like Clarke Quay and Skypark. Facilities were good also, showers were awesome but dorms were a lil crambed(had to leave my bag at the end of my bed as i had nowhere else to put it). Staff were really friendly and helpful. The only downside was alot of 30+ people staying and even a baby, no atmosphere and not ideal for solo travelers looking to meet new people.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The girl at reception (I didn't catch her name) was very friendly and accommodating. The bathrooms are a little rustic and the bunk beds a little firm, but this is a nice hostel to stay in and is in a perfect location (basically on top of Chinatown station).


77%

actually a very nice place. was just not many guests at the time of my stay, good to share a 6 bed dorm just with one other. Just the beds are terrible. worst mattress i ever slept on. you can feel every singel spring. bur the staff was very friendly and helpfull! ...except that toilet paper wasn't filled up for 2 days in the only working toilet on that floor.


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback