Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Betel Box Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th May 2017
8.9

Hostel is a bit out of the city centre but the neighbourhood has lots of shops, restaurants, etc It was clean and had lockers available. The only issue I had was that the A/C wasn't working in the female dorm on my second night, which made it very hot and uncomfortable. Staff were very helpful. There's tours available and the common area means it's quite social, if not a party place. Though they seem to have a few long-term guests which makes for a slightly different atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • razreen59
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
9.1

Nice hostel in a quiet area. I dealt a lot with Zer Hien, and he was very helpful in planning my journey around Singapore. Keep up the good work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fionamccoss8883
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.9

Great hostel! Super friendly manager and great vibes

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Great vibes begets great vibes! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you here again next time:) Happy travels, Desiree

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
1st Apr 2017
8.9

Staff are nice and welcoming. Good security code system on the front door. Free coffee. Nifty smoking area. Pool table available. Singapore is a great city anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are happy to hear that you found the staff to be nice and welcoming:) Singapore is a great city (!) and we hope to welcome you back here again in future! Happy travels, Desiree

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2017
7.4

Located quite remote from downtown and MRT station but lots of good food around, bus stop available within 200 m from the place takes you straight to Bugis. Room condition is expected for the price, yet it lacks in hygiene. But fellow backpackers are super friendly, easy to blend with people staying in the hostel. Friendly staff as well. Stayed in all female dorm which has no door lock so it's quite scary. Lockers available on $20 deposit (for the locker itself and the lock).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for writing us a review! We are located about 20-30mins from the city centre but it is easy to get to with the nearest MRT station being a 15-20min walk away and buses just a 3-5 minute walk away. We are sorry to hear that you felt that the dorm lacked in cleanliness and will inform our housekeeping of your feedback. The Female dorm does actually have a lock and all guests staying in that dorm are issued with a dorm key. The lockers available are free to use and we only collect a S$10 deposit for the padlock which we rent out if guests do not have their own. We thank you again for your feedback and hope to welcome you here again in future:) Happy travels, Desiree

  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
9.4

I stayed at the female dorm, it is highly recommended! Comfy bed, really helpful staffs, good breakfast Best value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you here again next time:) Happy travels, Desiree

  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
9.7

Love this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review! We are glad you loved the hostel! We hope to welcome you here again next time:) Happy travels, Desiree

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Mar 2017
9.1

BEST A/C EVER !! I slept like a baby for 2 nights! Toilet/shower room was clean but it'd be better if they could provide us with some shower gel at the very least. Bed was comfy, breakfast was pretty basic but good enough, they had good music in the common room and one of the staffs, Desiree (?) was friendly & very accommodating. The only drawback is the wi-fi, which is available only in the common room. Apart from that, everything's great, I'd stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for writing us a review! The WIFI is only available in the common room to encourage guests to hang out and get to know each other:) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you here again next time! Happy travels, Desiree

  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
5.1

Great staff very nice & friendly. Nice fresh fruits for breakfast. Lobby is hot. Smoking area located between the lobby floor and mix dorm floor so smell not good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast spread. The common staircase landings can get hot sometimes in the day but we have aircon in our common room 24/7 for the comfort of our guests:) The common room is also a nice area for guests to hang out and relax. There is free WIFI, a pool table, games and plenty of books and other facilities to make our guests feel at home. The smoking area is located beside a window to ensure the air is circulated as best possible but sometimes the smell of smoke does linger for a bit. We will try our best to prevent this and thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you at Betel Box again next time! Happy travels, Desiree

6th Mar 2017
8.6

Nice staff, worth the value, the only drawback is the location which is a bit far from downtown if you want to walk. However is well connected by buses. Wifi doesn't work in the dorms but is pretty fast when you go to the common area. All in all, is a nice place and I would stay again. Thanks guys

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review! Our hostel is indeed a bit of a distance from downtown but as rightly stated, we are well connected by many buses that are within 2-6mins walk from the hostel:) We are also located 15 - 20 minutes walk away from the train station. The WIFI is strongest in our common area to encourage guests to hang out and meet other travellers. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you here again in future!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.