Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Betel Box Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,039 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,039 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel Located at 200 Joo Chiat Road, , Singapore.
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 200 Joo Chiat Road
87% 1039
1.3122364 103.9002370
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Great hostel relatively close to the airport but farther away from the attractions of Singapore. Staff were great and the vibe is nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
9.1

great place to stay, will come back if needed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay and look forward to hosting you again!

31st Dec 2016
9.1

Honestly my fav. place in 20 day singapore. Location is a bit away, and in a weird place BUT... Rooms are opens , and airy. good ac starts at 7 pm till late morning. Great breakfast of fruit and breads. allday coffee/tea/ staff are very helpful, come with gym membership. kitchen /lounge has good ac, facilities . only complaint was wifi was spotty the whole time there. If you dont mind walking a bit i would recommend the 8 bed mixed dorm! good food nearby. nice mattress.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are located in a truly local neighbourhood with pockets of the diverse cultures in Singapore. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the free perks such as access to a professional gym, continental breakfast, and unlimited coffee/tea. There is high-speed and stable wifi in the common room area. We apologise regarding the spotty wifi during your stay and will look into the matter. Hope you had a great time in Singapore and hope to see you again at Betel Box!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
9.4

Everything is superb..the receptionist is very friendly...have an adorable cat name whiskey...and of course its value for money ..the location a bit far from MRT station..unless take a bus (155 or 154) and stop at the joo chit cmplx...it will take 10 minute to go there from the bus stop..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We agree that our location is a little far from the MRT station (15-20mins walk). Apart from bus 154 and 155, there is also bus 33 which is just 2 minutes walk away which takes you to various MRT stations as well as the city centre. All our staff including Whisky say hi and look forward to hosting you again!

27th Dec 2016
8.3

Perfect for a night stay if you are waiting for a flight!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Dec 2016
9.4

Hostel is out of town. Ideal for airport. Only a few minutes from bus stop into town with regular buses. Place is clean, beds comfortable. Staff friendly. Chilled out common area with good wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are located outside the city centre, but as you mentioned, there are many buses nearby with direct connections to the city. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and had a great time chilling out in the common room. We look forward to having you back at Betel Box!

  • saundmark1958
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.6

Great location, close to buses and train! Large common round which creates a fantastic atmosphere to meet new people! Staff are so friendly and helpful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed hanging out in our social common room. We look forward to hosting you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Dec 2016
6.3

It is far from the hi light zone and MRT. However, it is near the airport. If your flight is late night, it is the good choice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are located a little bit far from the touristy areas, but it a great way to explore a truly local neighbourhood and have a feel of the real Singapore. We are 15 - 20 minutes walk away from the MRT station, but there are plenty of buses within 2 - 6 minutes walk away with connections to all parts of Singapore. Hope to see you again at Betel Box!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2016
10.0

My wife and I stayed a total of 10 days, in a 6-bed dorm room. We were made very welcome from the start. We had lived in Singapore over 30 years ago, over a 6 year period, and thusly we are in a good position to judge the qualities of the Betal Box hostel in regards to how comfortable we felt there. We felt not only more than welcome, but once the staff knew our background, they were very interested in our opinions of Singapore after so long a time away. I highly recommend staying there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. It was really interesting to learn about your lives in Singapore 30 years ago. It helps us appreciate the heritage and culture here even more. We loved having you both here at Betel Box and look forward to your next visit. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Dec 2016
8.6

The staff are fantastic here, so helpful in every/any way they can be. Common room is a great space, filled with so much information, you're guaranteed a great stay in Singapore. They also offer discounted attraction tickets which was great! Hostel is in a nice area, only sandwiched between 2 karaoke bars so a little noisy at times. Basic dorms and bathrooms but value for money in expensive Singapore. Amazing array of condiments at breakfast made for a tasty start to the day!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are very happy to hear your positive feedback and our staff are always excited to share about our neighbourhood and Singapore. We are glad you enjoyed hanging out in our cozy common room and the free Continental breakfast. We like to think that the karaoke bar adds a little bit more life to the streets, and they close by midnight so the noise is definitely gone after that time. Hope to see you again at Betel Box!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.