Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Betel Box Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.0

Nice area and easy enough to get to town from. Extremely friendly staff, thanks for all your advice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.9

Kitchen, free toast and coffee and tea, Door key coded, location not the best but can get bus to all locations, good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • joshbuxton8981
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jul 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Gym is free and very well equipped. You have to bus and train everywhere but it's like that pretty much all over. Staff are top notch. Tom is very helpful. Good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Avijitsharma
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jun 2017
8.6

I stayed here for 2 nights, The hostel is awesome and the staff is really helpful. The facilities are good and the environment is warm and friendly. Its a great value for money considering that it is the cheapest option available at SG. Slightly far from touristy destinations, but is conveniently connected through buses (33 to chinatown) and MRT is a 20 min walk. Wifi wont work in the dorm and the bath facilities are slightly less than adequate. Would stay again !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review! The hostel is located out of the touristy areas of Singapore but we are indeed conveniently connected to them with plenty of buses a few minutes walk away. The MRT, as rightly stated, is also a 15-20minutes walk away. WIFI is only available in the common area to encourage guests to hang out and get to know each other:) Thank you for your feedback on our bath facilities, we will work toward improving them. We are happy that you would stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you here next time:) Happy travels, Desiree

24th Jun 2017
9.1

Great hostel definitely recommend for a short stay, no hassle in getting to and from places with buses and metros within reasonable walking distance to get to wherever u want to go and loads of helpful hints and staff to help you out to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review! We glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back here again in future:) Happy travels, Desiree

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jun 2017
8.3

Nice hostel, The Staff was really helpfull and attentionate to our needs. It's located on a street full of good and cheap restaurants. Not a party hostel, The commun area is nice, couches, tables, boardgames, TV... But if you are travelling alone, peuple seems not to really tall to each other. If you are in group, gran a game and play, fun night for sure

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th May 2017
10.0

Such a great place to stay. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful it was a pleasure to be around them. Easy commute to the city, my partner and I walked it one day down the coast which was a nice easy walk. If walkings not your thing then the train station is a 10 minute walk and gets you to the city in no time. Breakfast was nice with toast, spreads and really fresh fruit. Very relaxed atmosphere would've like to have stayed longer however it was time to move on. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for writing us a review. We're glad that you found your commute to the city to be easy.. the train station is indeed a 10-15 minute walk away but there are also plenty of buses a 3-5 minute walk away that can take travellers to various parts of Singapore. The staff are always happy to help with how to get around:) We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to welcome you back here again in future! Thank you again for your review:) Happy travels, Desiree

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
8.3

The staff was extremely helpful. I mainly dealt with Desiree, who was very useful in helping us plan a day full of free stuff to do (Singapore is expensive!) and helped us navigate the city using the buses and MRT. I also dealt with Amelia and Mr. Tong who also helped us on our way out of the city and did a lot of searching for the bus schedules to get to Johor Bahru. Free breakfast (simple bread and spread with coffee or tea) was included in the stay which helped cut down on costs. Great place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for writing us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were able to help with your travels in Singapore and beyond:) It was a pleasure having you boys stay with us and we would be happy to welcome you here again in future! Happy travels, Desiree

  • ambr0sia
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st May 2017
6.6

Potential to offer a good atmosphere, but still failed in doing so. I probably was just unlucky at the time with the other travelers as most of them did not like to talk at all. still, this hostel offers you everything you need and it's one of the cheapest around Singapore. It's a little bit off locationwise, but still doable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for writing us a review. Perhaps you could advise on where we failed in offering a good atmosphere? Guest feedback is important to us so we would love to hear from you on what we could improve on. We are sorry to hear that you weren't able to interact with the other travellers as you hoped. We've set up the hostel such that there is a nice common area for our guests to mingle with other guests but it is hard for us to make sure this happens because it is ultimately up to our guests to do the socialising. We're happy to hear that you found the hostel to have everything one would need:) Our location is out of the city centre and the usual tourist areas but it allows travellers to experience living in a truly local neighbourhood. We hope to welcome you here again in future and perhaps you'll have a more pleasant experience next time around. Thank you again for your review! Happy travels, Desiree

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th May 2017
8.9

Hostel is a bit out of the city centre but the neighbourhood has lots of shops, restaurants, etc It was clean and had lockers available. The only issue I had was that the A/C wasn't working in the female dorm on my second night, which made it very hot and uncomfortable. Staff were very helpful. There's tours available and the common area means it's quite social, if not a party place. Though they seem to have a few long-term guests which makes for a slightly different atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for writing us a review! Firstly, we would like to apologize for the issue you had with the AC on your second night. It seems one of the guests may have accidentally changed the mode on the AC but this was rectified immediately the next day. We are sorry you had to deal with that during your stay with us. We are indeed located a bit out of the city centre and it takes about 20-30mins to get there by public transport. The nearest MRT station is a 15-20mins walk away but we also have plenty of buses a 3-5mins walk away that can take you to various parts of Singapore. The hostel is located in Singapore's first heritage town and being away from the city centre and the usual tourist areas allows guests to experience living in a truly local neighbourhood in Singapore. We are sorry once again for your experience with the AC and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us nonetheless. We hope to welcome you here again in future! Happy travels, Desiree

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.