Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Betel Box Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
5.1

Great staff very nice & friendly. Nice fresh fruits for breakfast. Lobby is hot. Smoking area located between the lobby floor and mix dorm floor so smell not good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast spread. The common staircase landings can get hot sometimes in the day but we have aircon in our common room 24/7 for the comfort of our guests:) The common room is also a nice area for guests to hang out and relax. There is free WIFI, a pool table, games and plenty of books and other facilities to make our guests feel at home. The smoking area is located beside a window to ensure the air is circulated as best possible but sometimes the smell of smoke does linger for a bit. We will try our best to prevent this and thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you at Betel Box again next time! Happy travels, Desiree

6th Mar 2017
8.6

Nice staff, worth the value, the only drawback is the location which is a bit far from downtown if you want to walk. However is well connected by buses. Wifi doesn't work in the dorms but is pretty fast when you go to the common area. All in all, is a nice place and I would stay again. Thanks guys

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review! Our hostel is indeed a bit of a distance from downtown but as rightly stated, we are well connected by many buses that are within 2-6mins walk from the hostel:) We are also located 15 - 20 minutes walk away from the train station. The WIFI is strongest in our common area to encourage guests to hang out and meet other travellers. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you here again in future!

  • jogieepogiee
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Feb 2017
8.9

Amazing place. Just a walking distance to halal food, mini market and bus stop. Ask the staff and they'll point you the direction (and friendly too). Toilet is clean but limited. Big locker size available. Bring ur own padlock. Bed - comfortable (double decker). But pillow is too soft. They have common room with tv, pc, pool table, n lots of books. Nice place to hang around n meet people. Wifi only in common room. But I would definitely come here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review:) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Toilets are available on every floor and we are pleased to know that you are satisfied with its cleanliness. Padlocks are actually available for rent at a deposit of $10 so guests can use the lockers for free:) WIFI is provided in the common room to encourage guests to hang out here and socialise and we are glad to know that you like the common room for that reason and more! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you here next time!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Feb 2017
7.1

This hostel is nice. Its hard to escape the heat with the restrictions on the AC during the day (but we get it). Singapore is overall more expensive and the Betel Box is in line with that, we have stayed at nicer hostels for cheaper. There is only wifi in the common area so people tend to be on there phones and not interacting as much as you might see in other hostels. That being said we enjoyed our stay and had no issues and will likely return for a night or two.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. AC in the dorms are switched on between 7pm - 11am as part of our effort to be environmentally friendly, however AC in the common room is always on so you can hangout here during the day time. Wifi is only available in the common room to encourage socialisation, however we have taken note of your feedback and will look into the matter. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back anytime!

10th Feb 2017
7.4

My room. Has no WiFi. So I have to go down to lounge to get online. Not the best cleanliness in the bathrooms and shower stalls. You get what u pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. Wifi is only available in our common room to encourage guests to hangout and socialise. Our toilets/showers are cleaned daily and we have taken your feedback to our housekeeping team. We hope you had a good time in Singapore and look forward to hosting you again.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

Great value hotel. Great helpful and cheerful staff. Cant get better value then this.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad that you had a great stay at Betel Box and welcome you back on your next trip to Singapore.

1st Feb 2017
5.7

A dirty place that attracts odd guests. Bad AC

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. Our hostel is cleaned daily and toilets are checked multiple times a day to ensure that cleanliness is up to standard. We apologise for your experience and will work with our housekeeping team to address the issue. We understand that people have different preferences over the AC temperature. Our friendly staff are always more than happy to adjust the AC temperature or issue extra blankets when requested by any guests. Once again, we thank you for your feedback and will continue working to improve our hostel.

24th Jan 2017
7.4

We stayed for three nights in Singapore. It was a nice place. The distance to the metro was 20+ min walking, but the neighborhood surrounding did have good food. We opted for a private room for two and were given a room with three beds. Not a complaint, just odd to have so many beds for a two person room. The staff helped us find our destinations in town and offered booking for attractions at a reasonable rate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
9.1

its bit far away from airport, but clean and nice place, just quite hard to find the hotel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. It takes about 45 - 50 minutes to our hostel by public transport from the airport. A taxi or the airport shuttle will get you to our doorstep in 20 - 30 minutes. We are happy to hear that you found the hostel clean and had a nice stay. We look forward to hosting you here again!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Great hostel relatively close to the airport but farther away from the attractions of Singapore. Staff were great and the vibe is nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We agree that our location is further away from the attractions in the city. However, we are well connected by buses and MRT, which means you can get to the city area within 30 minutes. Our staff are always happy to help with directions. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the hostel and look forward to hosting you again.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.