Hostelworld.com

Betel Box Backpacker Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 988 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 988 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel Located at 200 Joo Chiat Road, , Singapore.
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 200 Joo Chiat Road
84% 988
1.3122364 103.9002370
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2016
5.4

After reading the reviews I had expected a lot more. They recommend taking the subway but with a 12kg bag a 25+ minute walk isn't ideal. I stayed in the 20 person dorm which had A/C turn on at 7pm but you could barely tell, the room was right above the night club downstairs so you listened to Karaoke until the crack of dawn. They have a temporary cat hanging out which would've been nice for the heads up. Bathrooms aren't very clean, but the rest wasn't bad. I would not stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your honest feedback. We apologise that the walk took a toll on you. Our check showed that there was no conversation between you and us regarding recommendation of transportation. Therefore we assume you must have followed the basic direction on our website or Hostelworld site. We could have given you alternative directions should you have emailed us with the concern of your massive luggage. All the bars in our neighbourhood are licensed to run only until 1.00AM, not the crack of dawn. As for our cat, that we have now officially adopted, we definitely did put her away during your stay here because we understand that not everybody is a fan of cute little animals. Now that she is a permanent fixture here, all our online sites will very soon have mentions of her. Our bathrooms are checked at least twice a day, more often on a less busy day. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we honestly appreciate it. :) -Tini

2nd Jun 2016
9.4

It's a nice hostel: the staff is very helpful and kind, there are all the facilities you need and even some more (a gym: I had never been in a hostel with a gym before).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We are very happy to know that you had a fabulous time with us while in Singapore. Also, we are glad that the complimentary professional gym use that we provide for all our guests has been a pleasant surprise for many. It would be awesome to have you here again. :) -Tini

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th May 2016
9.4

Don't stay anywhere else. I've been to quite a few hostels in Singapore and let me tell you, this is the only one that is worth the money. Extremely Clean. Bathroom was washed regularly, good place, great staff, very helpful & accomodating. Now that is hard to find in other hostels in Singapore. The only downside is that it is a 15 minute walk from the nearest subway station, but bus stops are much closer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your generous review. It sure is a joy to know that you have been very satisfied with our hostel. We do our best to keep Betel Box spick and span despite the fact that we usually run on a single manpower. As for that 15-minute walk, we wished we could do something about that but for now, we will just take comfort in knowing that most part of the walk is filled with interesting things to check out. And, yes, we also do have various bus services passing through this eccentric neighbourhood of ours. Come back soon! :) -Tini

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
10.0

Great place. The atmosphere was really chill and the man working the front seat was the most helpful hostel worker I've ever met!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the time taken to write this review. We are lucky to have been chosen as your place of rest. If "the man working the front seat" was Uncle Tong, he says "Hi!!" to you. :) -Tini

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Apr 2016
7.7

Friendly & helpful staff. Close to a bus stop, shops & about 15 minutes walk from Paya Lebar MRT. Surroundings a bit dodgy when the colorful nightlife next door starts up. Mattresses were well used, but the sheets provided were clean. Stayed in the 20-bed dorm where things can get a bit musty with the piles of unwashed personal clothing piled up here & there. Basic toilet & showers -- clean & no long queue for either. Big common area where a/c is on all day. WiFi okay. Good budget dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. There is little concern for the interesting nightlife that springs to life at night here as every trade business here respects one another and ensures the safety of all. Mattresses are in the process of being replaced with brand new ones and we are just waiting for confirmation from the supplier. All guests, regardless of stay duration, are advised to display basic/common courtesy towards one another without having to be prompted. True blue seasoned travellers should already know the basic backpacking ethics, but we do our best to encourage the practice of personal hygiene. We are glad that you had an overall pleasant stay with us. :) -Tini

  • asgeirpet9136
  • Iceland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
9.1

Very nice, helpful staff. Basic breakfast and the cat was nice. There is Netflix and chill every night. Good location but far from "downtown".

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking time to drop us this nice review. It is a pure joy knowing that our complimentary unlimited breakfast is appreciated. We hope our nightly "Netflix & Chill" sessions have kept you entertained while you were relaxing here. As for our location, a bit off the beaten track, but definitely unique with its own eccentric local charm and that is why we decided on this neighbourhood fourteen years ago. Our furry bundle of joy, Whisky the cat, says "Meow!!". :) -Tini

14th Apr 2016
8.9

Solo traveler in the 20-person dorm - Pros: Great staff especially the guy working the night shifts on weekdays, very informative and enthusiastic about everything Singapore. Cute cat, easy to meet people over free breakfast. Close to some really good Chinese restaurants on East Road. Cons: The location is 15-20 min walk from the nearest MRT. Not the most comfortable of beds but for the money it's good. Don't expect personal outlets or lights. Wifi can be really spotty. Overall would rec.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are glad that Uncle Tong has been very helpful during your stay here. Our spacious Common Room is exactly where we want all our guests to congregate and meet fellow travellers, as well as Whisky the cat. There is definitely abundant affordable food places of all sorts of cuisines to be tried in our neighbourhood. We are approximately 15 minutes away from the nearest MRT station but there are various bus services here to take you pretty much everywhere. New mattresses should be on the way, just waiting for the suppliers to confirm everything. We are not too keen on personal outlets or lights in the dorms as we would prefer all modern technology activities to be done in the Common Room to ensure proper rest for those who really want to sleep without disruption from other beds, but we may consider them in the future. WiFi connection does get a little spotty every now and then when we have individuals streaming/downloading movies or playing online games or using multiple gadgets simultaneously. Whenever this happens, we will get everybody's consensus before we reset the WiFi modem. Whisky and the rest of the hostel team really hope to see you here again. :) -Tini

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
9.7

GREAT STAY. Great neighborhood, great food just blocks away. Good AC. Good Wifi (common area only). Good breakfast with 3 different kinds of bread for toast (white, wheat, and green) and many spreads (butter, pb, strawberry, blueberry, coconut jam, orange marmalade, coco hazelnut, and marmite) AND a variety of fruit. Free gym access - awesome. Nice helpful staff. People hang out in the common area, nice. After switching areas to explore more, we realized how good it really was.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Mar 2016
7.7

The hostel is nice, the athmosphere is good. Breakfast very basic but with fruit, so not too bad. Internet connection has had lots of issues, probably due to too many users. Staff is generally very helpful but one particular person seems to like playing some strange games (like telling you there are no availabilities while online there are - probably depends on whether he likes you or not). Really annoying is that they turn aircon off between 11am and 7pm, dont expect good sleep in that time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Mar 2016
9.7

Great hostel, the staff is very friendly and helpfull. There is a livingroom with pooltable,games and couches which make it a perfect place to relex. Definitly enjoyed my time here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.