Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Betel Box Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Sep 2017
6.9

A bit far from the city center, but it's close to the bus that goes directly to the airport, so not a bad place to crash before a flight!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2017
6.3

I stayed at Betel Box for one night as I had a very long layover. The staff was nice and very helpful but it wasn't very clean. I saw multiple cockroaches, the air conditioning being on only at night just didn't make it cool enough to sleep. Wifi is only available in the reception/ common area. I was in the 6 bed female dorm, nowhere to keep Your stuff if you're in the top bunk, limited outlets, and could hear the music from The club up the street all night, which kept me awake.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Aug 2017
7.1

Cheap but not really clean or modern place. There are better spots in the city center I think. Overall it was ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.4

Thank you for accommodating me :D I'd love to recommend this Hostel to my relatives :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.0

Nice area and easy enough to get to town from. Extremely friendly staff, thanks for all your advice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2017
8.0

Helpful staff. Adequate for one night. Near the airport

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.9

Kitchen, free toast and coffee and tea, Door key coded, location not the best but can get bus to all locations, good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • joshbuxton8981
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Jul 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Gym is free and very well equipped. You have to bus and train everywhere but it's like that pretty much all over. Staff are top notch. Tom is very helpful. Good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
7.4

This was the cheapest place we could find in Singapore so we were happy with it. The big dorm is pretty smelly, one bathroom for about 20 people but rarely had to wait, beds aren't the nicest or cleanest but fine for a short stay. The common area is nice and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Decent location, 10 minute walk to the subway station which gets you everywhere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Avijitsharma
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Jun 2017
8.6

I stayed here for 2 nights, The hostel is awesome and the staff is really helpful. The facilities are good and the environment is warm and friendly. Its a great value for money considering that it is the cheapest option available at SG. Slightly far from touristy destinations, but is conveniently connected through buses (33 to chinatown) and MRT is a 20 min walk. Wifi wont work in the dorm and the bath facilities are slightly less than adequate. Would stay again !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review! The hostel is located out of the touristy areas of Singapore but we are indeed conveniently connected to them with plenty of buses a few minutes walk away. The MRT, as rightly stated, is also a 15-20minutes walk away. WIFI is only available in the common area to encourage guests to hang out and get to know each other:) Thank you for your feedback on our bath facilities, we will work toward improving them. We are happy that you would stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you here next time:) Happy travels, Desiree

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×