Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Betel Box Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 996 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 996 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel Located at 200 Joo Chiat Road, , Singapore.
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 200 Joo Chiat Road
86% 996
1.3122364 103.9002370
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Aug 2016
7.1

No real atmosphere, but location close to the bus station which goes to downtown and airport. Lockers available, a lot of tourist information as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
10.0

Our stay at Betel Box was great! The staff was so friendly and amazing!! Hey were incredibly accommodating and helpful. They had overheard that my friend was allergic to cats and went out of their way to try to keep the cat located in one area away from the main common space, but thankfully the cat didn't even affect her allergies and could roam freely. The space was very clean. We met loads of great people (staff and guests) and highly recommend Betel Box to travelers!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us this lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the lively and friendly atmosphere in our hostel. We had great fun playing heads up with you girls, and we look forward to having you here again!

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
9.1

A good place to hang out while seeing some sights in Singapore, good value for money, entirely self-sufficient, and really cheap, they even offer for breakfasts! Highly recommended for backpackers that want good quality stay and affordable too. The staff were really helpful and is very cheery.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Betel Box, and warmly welcome you back to stay here the next time you visit Singapore.

21st Jul 2016
9.1

Betel Box was a great place for us for one night. The staff there was very knowledgeable of the area and made it a priority to assist us. The facilities were fine enough, and the beds were very comfortable. The only knock on location is that it's a little bit of a walk from the closest train station, but I liked the area it was in because it was true Singapore. Not a long train ride from either Marina Bay or the airport. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are always more than happy to share our knowledge of Singapore with travellers. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in our comfy hostel and being immersed in a truly local neighbourhood. Besides the train station, we are also just a 1-minute walk away from a bus that takes you to Kampong Glam, Little India, Clarke Quay and Chinatown. There is also another bus stop 6 – 8 minutes’ walk away with direct connections to other parts of the city such as Sentosa, Orchard Road and the Botanic Gardens. We look forward to hosting you here again!

13th Jul 2016
8.0

Excellent staff and facilities. The staff knew all about the city and offered great advice about where to go and what to do. Down fall: the wifi was shotty. Only available in the common room, and not friendly towards iPhones.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We like to think that we know the ins and outs of Singapore and we are glad that you feel the same way. Wifi is only available in the common room to encourage more guests to hangout and meet fellow travellers. Our wifi connection occasionally gets a little bit spotty, but whenever guests face problems connecting to the wifi network, we will reset the router to reboot the entire system. We also do an internet speed test for our network after restarting it to ensure that it is up to speed. Sometimes iPhone have problems connecting to the network but restarting the phone usually solves the problem. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next time.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2016
5.4

After reading the reviews I had expected a lot more. They recommend taking the subway but with a 12kg bag a 25+ minute walk isn't ideal. I stayed in the 20 person dorm which had A/C turn on at 7pm but you could barely tell, the room was right above the night club downstairs so you listened to Karaoke until the crack of dawn. They have a temporary cat hanging out which would've been nice for the heads up. Bathrooms aren't very clean, but the rest wasn't bad. I would not stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your honest feedback. We apologise that the walk took a toll on you. Our check showed that there was no conversation between you and us regarding recommendation of transportation. Therefore we assume you must have followed the basic direction on our website or Hostelworld site. We could have given you alternative directions should you have emailed us with the concern of your massive luggage. All the bars in our neighbourhood are licensed to run only until 1.00AM, not the crack of dawn. As for our cat, that we have now officially adopted, we definitely did put her away during your stay here because we understand that not everybody is a fan of cute little animals. Now that she is a permanent fixture here, all our online sites will very soon have mentions of her. Our bathrooms are checked at least twice a day, more often on a less busy day. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we honestly appreciate it. :) -Tini

2nd Jun 2016
9.4

It's a nice hostel: the staff is very helpful and kind, there are all the facilities you need and even some more (a gym: I had never been in a hostel with a gym before).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We are very happy to know that you had a fabulous time with us while in Singapore. Also, we are glad that the complimentary professional gym use that we provide for all our guests has been a pleasant surprise for many. It would be awesome to have you here again. :) -Tini

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th May 2016
9.4

Don't stay anywhere else. I've been to quite a few hostels in Singapore and let me tell you, this is the only one that is worth the money. Extremely Clean. Bathroom was washed regularly, good place, great staff, very helpful & accomodating. Now that is hard to find in other hostels in Singapore. The only downside is that it is a 15 minute walk from the nearest subway station, but bus stops are much closer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your generous review. It sure is a joy to know that you have been very satisfied with our hostel. We do our best to keep Betel Box spick and span despite the fact that we usually run on a single manpower. As for that 15-minute walk, we wished we could do something about that but for now, we will just take comfort in knowing that most part of the walk is filled with interesting things to check out. And, yes, we also do have various bus services passing through this eccentric neighbourhood of ours. Come back soon! :) -Tini

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
10.0

Great place. The atmosphere was really chill and the man working the front seat was the most helpful hostel worker I've ever met!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the time taken to write this review. We are lucky to have been chosen as your place of rest. If "the man working the front seat" was Uncle Tong, he says "Hi!!" to you. :) -Tini

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Apr 2016
7.7

Friendly & helpful staff. Close to a bus stop, shops & about 15 minutes walk from Paya Lebar MRT. Surroundings a bit dodgy when the colorful nightlife next door starts up. Mattresses were well used, but the sheets provided were clean. Stayed in the 20-bed dorm where things can get a bit musty with the piles of unwashed personal clothing piled up here & there. Basic toilet & showers -- clean & no long queue for either. Big common area where a/c is on all day. WiFi okay. Good budget dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. There is little concern for the interesting nightlife that springs to life at night here as every trade business here respects one another and ensures the safety of all. Mattresses are in the process of being replaced with brand new ones and we are just waiting for confirmation from the supplier. All guests, regardless of stay duration, are advised to display basic/common courtesy towards one another without having to be prompted. True blue seasoned travellers should already know the basic backpacking ethics, but we do our best to encourage the practice of personal hygiene. We are glad that you had an overall pleasant stay with us. :) -Tini

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.