Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Betel Box Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,003 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,003 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel Located at 200 Joo Chiat Road, , Singapore.
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 200 Joo Chiat Road
86% 1003
1.3122364 103.9002370
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • amrice
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.9

Great location. Walk to the MRT is roughly 20min if you don't mind the walk all esle is good. It's also near East Coast Park so if you want to cycle around it's great location for it. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2016
7.1

No real atmosphere, but location close to the bus station which goes to downtown and airport. Lockers available, a lot of tourist information as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Aug 2016
8.6

Nice hostel with friendly staff. Lots of planned trips there and leaflets to help you find your way around Singapore. Communal area meant it was easy to meet new people and free toast with a variety of spreads for breakfast is always a bonus. My only complaint would be the temperature of our 6 bed mixed dorm. It was almost unbareable as the air conditioning only spread as far as the first bed. The bathroom had the washing machine in it making it too hot to use comfortabley and it stunk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
10.0

Our stay at Betel Box was great! The staff was so friendly and amazing!! Hey were incredibly accommodating and helpful. They had overheard that my friend was allergic to cats and went out of their way to try to keep the cat located in one area away from the main common space, but thankfully the cat didn't even affect her allergies and could roam freely. The space was very clean. We met loads of great people (staff and guests) and highly recommend Betel Box to travelers!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us this lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the lively and friendly atmosphere in our hostel. We had great fun playing heads up with you girls, and we look forward to having you here again!

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2016
9.1

A good place to hang out while seeing some sights in Singapore, good value for money, entirely self-sufficient, and really cheap, they even offer for breakfasts! Highly recommended for backpackers that want good quality stay and affordable too. The staff were really helpful and is very cheery.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Betel Box, and warmly welcome you back to stay here the next time you visit Singapore.

21st Jul 2016
9.1

Betel Box was a great place for us for one night. The staff there was very knowledgeable of the area and made it a priority to assist us. The facilities were fine enough, and the beds were very comfortable. The only knock on location is that it's a little bit of a walk from the closest train station, but I liked the area it was in because it was true Singapore. Not a long train ride from either Marina Bay or the airport. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are always more than happy to share our knowledge of Singapore with travellers. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in our comfy hostel and being immersed in a truly local neighbourhood. Besides the train station, we are also just a 1-minute walk away from a bus that takes you to Kampong Glam, Little India, Clarke Quay and Chinatown. There is also another bus stop 6 – 8 minutes’ walk away with direct connections to other parts of the city such as Sentosa, Orchard Road and the Botanic Gardens. We look forward to hosting you here again!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jul 2016
6.9

Beetelbox is a bit out of the way from town, but Singapore's public transport system is pretty freaking incredible. I got stuck in the city for a week for Visa issues and the staff were super helpful and they have a cat! Talk about win win. Joo Chiat is an interesting area, with some interesting character, but allround it was a good place to crash while you explore the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
8.0

Excellent staff and facilities. The staff knew all about the city and offered great advice about where to go and what to do. Down fall: the wifi was shotty. Only available in the common room, and not friendly towards iPhones.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We like to think that we know the ins and outs of Singapore and we are glad that you feel the same way. Wifi is only available in the common room to encourage more guests to hangout and meet fellow travellers. Our wifi connection occasionally gets a little bit spotty, but whenever guests face problems connecting to the wifi network, we will reset the router to reboot the entire system. We also do an internet speed test for our network after restarting it to ensure that it is up to speed. Sometimes iPhone have problems connecting to the network but restarting the phone usually solves the problem. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next time.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2016
5.4

After reading the reviews I had expected a lot more. They recommend taking the subway but with a 12kg bag a 25+ minute walk isn't ideal. I stayed in the 20 person dorm which had A/C turn on at 7pm but you could barely tell, the room was right above the night club downstairs so you listened to Karaoke until the crack of dawn. They have a temporary cat hanging out which would've been nice for the heads up. Bathrooms aren't very clean, but the rest wasn't bad. I would not stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your honest feedback. We apologise that the walk took a toll on you. Our check showed that there was no conversation between you and us regarding recommendation of transportation. Therefore we assume you must have followed the basic direction on our website or Hostelworld site. We could have given you alternative directions should you have emailed us with the concern of your massive luggage. All the bars in our neighbourhood are licensed to run only until 1.00AM, not the crack of dawn. As for our cat, that we have now officially adopted, we definitely did put her away during your stay here because we understand that not everybody is a fan of cute little animals. Now that she is a permanent fixture here, all our online sites will very soon have mentions of her. Our bathrooms are checked at least twice a day, more often on a less busy day. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we honestly appreciate it. :) -Tini

2nd Jun 2016
9.4

It's a nice hostel: the staff is very helpful and kind, there are all the facilities you need and even some more (a gym: I had never been in a hostel with a gym before).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We are very happy to know that you had a fabulous time with us while in Singapore. Also, we are glad that the complimentary professional gym use that we provide for all our guests has been a pleasant surprise for many. It would be awesome to have you here again. :) -Tini

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.