Hostelworld.com

Betel Box Backpacker Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1051 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1051 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Feb 2017
7.4

My room. Has no WiFi. So I have to go down to lounge to get online. Not the best cleanliness in the bathrooms and shower stalls. You get what u pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

Great value hotel. Great helpful and cheerful staff. Cant get better value then this.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad that you had a great stay at Betel Box and welcome you back on your next trip to Singapore.

1st Feb 2017
5.7

A dirty place that attracts odd guests. Bad AC

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. Our hostel is cleaned daily and toilets are checked multiple times a day to ensure that cleanliness is up to standard. We apologise for your experience and will work with our housekeeping team to address the issue. We understand that people have different preferences over the AC temperature. Our friendly staff are always more than happy to adjust the AC temperature or issue extra blankets when requested by any guests. Once again, we thank you for your feedback and will continue working to improve our hostel.

24th Jan 2017
7.4

We stayed for three nights in Singapore. It was a nice place. The distance to the metro was 20+ min walking, but the neighborhood surrounding did have good food. We opted for a private room for two and were given a room with three beds. Not a complaint, just odd to have so many beds for a two person room. The staff helped us find our destinations in town and offered booking for attractions at a reasonable rate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
9.1

its bit far away from airport, but clean and nice place, just quite hard to find the hotel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. It takes about 45 - 50 minutes to our hostel by public transport from the airport. A taxi or the airport shuttle will get you to our doorstep in 20 - 30 minutes. We are happy to hear that you found the hostel clean and had a nice stay. We look forward to hosting you here again!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Great hostel relatively close to the airport but farther away from the attractions of Singapore. Staff were great and the vibe is nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We agree that our location is further away from the attractions in the city. However, we are well connected by buses and MRT, which means you can get to the city area within 30 minutes. Our staff are always happy to help with directions. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the hostel and look forward to hosting you again.

3rd Jan 2017
9.1

great place to stay, will come back if needed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay and look forward to hosting you again!

31st Dec 2016
9.1

Honestly my fav. place in 20 day singapore. Location is a bit away, and in a weird place BUT... Rooms are opens , and airy. good ac starts at 7 pm till late morning. Great breakfast of fruit and breads. allday coffee/tea/ staff are very helpful, come with gym membership. kitchen /lounge has good ac, facilities . only complaint was wifi was spotty the whole time there. If you dont mind walking a bit i would recommend the 8 bed mixed dorm! good food nearby. nice mattress.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are located in a truly local neighbourhood with pockets of the diverse cultures in Singapore. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the free perks such as access to a professional gym, continental breakfast, and unlimited coffee/tea. There is high-speed and stable wifi in the common room area. We apologise regarding the spotty wifi during your stay and will look into the matter. Hope you had a great time in Singapore and hope to see you again at Betel Box!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
9.4

Everything is superb..the receptionist is very friendly...have an adorable cat name whiskey...and of course its value for money ..the location a bit far from MRT station..unless take a bus (155 or 154) and stop at the joo chit cmplx...it will take 10 minute to go there from the bus stop..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We agree that our location is a little far from the MRT station (15-20mins walk). Apart from bus 154 and 155, there is also bus 33 which is just 2 minutes walk away which takes you to various MRT stations as well as the city centre. All our staff including Whisky say hi and look forward to hosting you again!

27th Dec 2016
8.3

Perfect for a night stay if you are waiting for a flight!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.