Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Betel Box Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel Located at 200 Joo Chiat Road, , Singapore.
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 200 Joo Chiat Road
87% 1024
1.3122364 103.9002370
Betel Box Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Nov 2016
9.7

if only the place got an MRT access..then it would be perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2016
10.0

I really love this place. met a few great guy and had a couple of talk. when i check out, i have a odd feeling of not wanting to leave this amazing hostel. one thing i hope they can improve is maybe tv can be use like 2pm onwards。

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the social atmosphere at our hostel. We will certainly take your feedback about the TV time into consideration. Hope to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.6

Excellent location with friendly atmosphere and a very helpful staff with good sightseeing tips.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad you enjoyed the social environment here and had a good time staying with us. We look forward to hosting you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
11th Oct 2016
7.7

Security was amazing there was a security door at entrance and free lockers. Atmosphere was dead however I only recommend for those who don't want to meet people and happy just relax or you're not travelling solo. Staff were the best I've had helping me organise my days. Cleanliness was pretty good. Rooms were ok, during the day they were stinking hot but at night they were good, there were also old local dudes living in the dorms and they would just fart all night which was disgusting!!!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We pride ourselves in knowing about all things to do in Singapore, and are always happy to share that with our guests. You stayed with us during a bit of a low season, which is why the hostel was quieter than usual. However, we hope you still enjoyed relaxing in our cozy common room. Air conditioning runs all day in the common room, but in the dorms they run between 7pm - 11am as part of our effort to be environmentally friendly. Unfortunately, we cannot prevent guests from farting at night, but we do sell cheap earplugs which might help! We hope you had a great time in Singapore and we look forward to hosting you here again.

8th Oct 2016
8.6

Needed a few nights in Singapore and this was a cool cheap place to sleep. Staff were great and the hostel was very clean and safe. Location was a bus ride away from the main city. Not really any atmosphere but this was as expected for Singapore. Only allowed 30 minutes a day on the computer which was annoying.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
7.7

It was good, comfortable, a little far a way from the main attractions but close to a bus stop. The liners and blanket were clean but very old. The showers are very small, your clothes can get wet inside. And In our room there was a wear guy that said he's been there for 10 months and he introduce himself like five times and was moving my stuff because he didn't like where I had it, that was ok until one night he arrived like at 4am getting in&out the room, talking alone, he was kind creepy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We delighted that you found our hostel comfortable and enjoyed your stay here. We agree that some of the linens are getting old and we will look into purchasing new ones. We apologise for your bad experience with the other guest. We can confirm that the guest you referred to has only stayed with us for one week (but has been in the country for 10 months). It has been brought to our attention that he is unruly and inconsiderate to fellow backpackers. For the comfort as safety of our guests, we have already removed and banned him from our hostel. Hope you had a great time in Singapore and Betel Box Hostel!

6th Oct 2016
8.9

Really helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Sep 2016
7.4

The common room was awesome, great atmosphere - breakfast was great and staff were pleasant and helpful. However, stayed in the 20 bed dorm which only had one bathroom for all of us, the atmosphere in the dorm was weird as well because it seemed to have lodgers staying there. Location is great as close to bus stops and MRT and good/cheap food places nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. We are happy that you had a great time in our hostel and enjoyed the lively atmosphere in our common room. The 20 bed dorm has 2 showers and 1 bathroom, however all guests are also welcome to use our common toilets and showers on every floor of the hostel. We are glad that you enjoyed our neighbourhood and got around town easily with the buses and MRT. We hope to host you again at Betel Box!

  • amrice
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Sep 2016
8.9

Great location. Walk to the MRT is roughly 20min if you don't mind the walk all esle is good. It's also near East Coast Park so if you want to cycle around it's great location for it. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us a review. The MRT station can be a little bit of a walk, but there are plenty of buses to the city just 5-minutes walking distance away from us. The bus also passes through some interesting neighbourhoods along the way as opposed to the MRT which goes underground after a few stops. We are glad that you enjoyed exploring the nearby East Coast Park, which connects you to Marina Bay in about 30-40 minutes by bicycle. We welcome you to stay with us again on your next visit!

18th Aug 2016
7.1

No real atmosphere, but location close to the bus station which goes to downtown and airport. Lockers available, a lot of tourist information as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are located slightly outside the main city centre, but getting around town is convenient and easy with public transport. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and the wealth of information available here. We look forward to hosting you again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.