Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Borneo Global Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 5.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 5.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.9
Borneo Global Backpackers Located at Ground & 1st Floor, Lot No.29 Karamunsing Godown, , Kota Kinabalu.
Borneo Global Backpackers
Malaysia
Kota Kinabalu Sabah Sabah / 88000 Ground & 1st Floor, Lot No.29 Karamunsing Godown
69% 308
5.9660417 116.0713773
Borneo Global Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Sep 2016
4.0

This place does not supply toilet roll for guests

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2016
5.1

You get what you pay for. Staf is really friendly and helpfull. Beds are run down. Could geel the iron through the matress. Matresses need an update. Bathrooms were semi clean. Very little water came out of shower and sink in the bathroom was clogged up. Its just a place to stay overnight when you are passing through not for longer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • sengman
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
5.7

Staff was really nice and helpful! And this is a hostel you get what you pay for. The hostel was almost empty with only a few other people. One of the rooms had bedbug infestation and staff was helpful with changing rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
9.1

The staff were friendly and helpful for the price of the hostel it's really good value but you do get what you pay for as the dorms had no air con and the shower was just a dribble of water but saying that we did enjoy our stay here. The hostel is a close walk to the shopping centre and markets and you can book tours/ airport transfer with the hostel their selves.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Aug 2016
7.4

Stayed 1 week in 12bed dorm (fan). Cheaper online (12MYR) than in cash (15MYR). Spacy room, beds squeaky and wobbly, mattress thin & uncomfortable, but OK. Restroom run down, but no major sanitary concerns. Location slightly far from town (30 min walk, or 1MYR bus) Good value for price if you stay put and ask for nothing, but everything is a cost (towel 2MYR, blanket 2MYR, toilet paper 1MYR, laundry 15MYR). Average wifi, staff is super friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
4.6

I have mixed feelings about this place. On one hand, the staff was pretty friendly, it was a really laid-back environment, and it was so cheap (I paid $3). On the other hand.... It's really dirty. They don't wash the sheets between people. The bathrooms were disgusting, and even the clean plates in the kitchen were dirty. You don't get a top sheet. One outlet between 6 beds. No lockers. The people were nice, but I wouldn't stay here again unless I was really broke.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're always constant upgrade our facilities also with affordable price with compliment wifi and breakfast, not easy to please overall guest request however we will take note. We find not necessary your comment unless i was really broke, such a not nice thing to say perhaps we should had welcome you unless you're broke :)

17th Jun 2016
9.7

There are two unique things about this place ; first the price ( impossible to find a better one ) and second the space with the difffent big common areas . Then you add the good location , the youthful and friendly staff who can help you organizing any tour you want , the good location , the wifi which works well and the nice breakfast in the morning . So, I am staying here for almost three months ! This is home . Thank you so much, guys .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2016
6.6

Arrived on a boiling hot day and all of the power had been switched off because it was too hot. In turn, this meant that the fans in the room were also off which intensified the heat even more! Even when the power came back on the room was so hot it was hard to sleep. The beds are broken so you have pieces of metal sticking into you all night and the mattresses are thin. The location is down a dark road which I didn't feel too safe walking down. No toilet roll in the loos either.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

we rectified our beds and cleanliness was our top priority, maybe so happen guest kept it dirty, our hostel policy is common sharing We require guest cooperation :) in term of sharing basis

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jun 2016
7.4

You get what you pay for. I would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks you.. cheap and cheerful for our guest

21st May 2016
6.0

Can't complain much when it is so cheap but the large dorm was a bit of a wreck when I was there. All the beds seemed in a bad way, my mattress was sinking through the frame and looked grim. Really hot in the room and no security for the room either (door and wall hatch always open). Didn't meet any other travellers here so don't expect atmosphere. Perks are the helpful staff, free wifi and basic breakfast of toast and jam. Also the location map on hostelworld is incorrect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.