X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Borneo Global Backpackers Reviews

Ground & 1st Floor, Lot No.29 Karamunsing Godown, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
221 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 56%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Located at the industrial end of town in a converted warehouse. Bed was comfy. Wifi didn't work at the beginning but once it did it was fast and remained that way all night. TV obviously had taken some damage and was pretty unwatchable. Breakfast was basic, as is to be expected from hostels. It is 20RM taxi from town to Hostel and I think you would be better putting that money towards a better location.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel was fine, it is just far from the city centre. The private room was adequate. Annoying that we couldn't control the air conditioner in the room. They offer a lot of tours and day trips from the reception so it can be helpful if you want to organize through them.


49%

1) you MUST bring your own toilet paper OR buy one from hostel 2) mattress is so bad that I have to take them off the bed and put on floor with extra mattress 3) Internet doesn't work real well on 2nd floor, thus I have go down to use Internet 4) Staff is not trained well to be courtesy or helpful. 5) Lockers are PAID by rent and is NOT secure because I can be able to open another locker below mine with same key 6) They have lame excuse when saying its HOSTEL but I am happy wiht new hostel now

Owner Comment (Hide)
We provide a shooter hose which common used in Asia, we do not force guest to buy toilet paper. Our mattress is a standard quality and not the 5 stars hotel mattress. Our internet its a free WIFI and due to our building size, there's bound to be a obstacle, any wifi spot depend on the wifi router position. Our staff well trained to be courtesy and helpful probably you're more demanding or have a very high expectation. Please do no mock our establishment, We're a hostel.



View all Kota Kinabalu Hostels

Please give us your feedback