X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Borneo Global Backpackers Reviews

Ground & 1st Floor, Lot No.29 Karamunsing Godown, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
235 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 58%Security
  • 50%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

This place is an annoying, not quite walkable distance from the town, located in the middle of an automobile repair area by the side of the motorway. I would reccomend it if you are very low on cash and need somewhere to stay on short notice. I cannot complain, the place was functional and exactly what you'd expect for the price paid. If you are looking for somewhere fun, characterful and homely, do not come here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our accommodation is a basic accommodation of sharing basis. please do mock us saying.. If you are looking for somewhere fun, characterful and homely, do not come here. Very inconsiderate of you saying that which you mentioned clearly I cannot complain, the place was functional and exactly what you'd expect for the price paid.

94%

We had a better stay for 2 nights! I will recommend this to my friends. Keep it up! Very nice and accommodating staff!

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Did not stay here as there was a window next to our bed which you were unable to close, meaning the room was not secure and therefore not safe. Discussed this with the hotel and after around 15 mins of arguing agreed that they would keep the deposit, we would not pay for the room and that we would find somewhere else to stay. Also took us around 40 minutes to find as none of the maps are correct. Wouldn't recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
you should opt for staying 5 stars hotel.. this is a backpackers

63%

Helpful staff, cheap stay. Recommend that you head for the top bunk in the fan rooms as no air movement for the bottom one. We were lucky, only had 4 in a room with 6 bunks- would have been pretty full on with 12!!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

A bit off!

Owner Comment (Hide)
This guest taking off his cloth with a foul body odor, clearly written house rules, no taking off shirt at the communal area



View all Kota Kinabalu Hostels

Please give us your feedback