X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Borneo Global Backpackers Reviews

Ground & 1st Floor, Lot No.29 Karamunsing Godown, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
285 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Perfect for the money. Even a small breakfast is included.


37%

Pros: cheap Cons: dirty, dark, musty, mattresses were thin foam so we felt the bunk metal underneath. No top sheet. Only bottom one which smelled as if it hadn't been changed in a while. No toilet paper. Was told to clean up the "Asian way." Messy. Disorganized. Beer cans left around. Overall nasty experience. Only stayed because delay in flight caused us to miss connection so we wanted a cheap alternative to airport. We should have stayed at airport.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Noted your reviewed, we do not provide blanket for ceiling fan because theres no need becaue in our country is humid and warm. Our concept is a backpackers sharing basis, we never instruct out guest to clean up probably you misunderstood. Our beer can dispose into the recycle bin however you book for RM12.00 per night, you should have opt for Hotel with star

63%

Stayed in the fan dorm. This was more than enough, since the weather gets cooler in the evening (I'd wake up in the middle of the night for a blanket). It was super cheap at only 12rm per night, but it's really far from kk center. I have no problem with walking from place to place, but it's about a 20-30min walk from anywhere near main kk center (think gaya street and surroundings). Not too fun to come from gaya street at night then think about the long walk home (or taking a taxi at 15rm).

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I think the staff is nice and kind. The location is good if your goal is to be close to the airport. It is safe and the price for my stay was good. Maybe they can just sweep the floor inside because even though no one is allowed to go inside with shoes, the floor is still dirty.


89%

The location is not the best in town, but the staff and the price make you forget about it. you can't ask for a better place for this type of money, especially with the very nice poeple who come there as guest and as worker. Special cheers to Eddy, so you soon.


86%

This hostel is awesome! Really cheap and the staff is always ready to help you! Awesome experience in KK

Owner Comment (Hide)
grazie grazie Thank you so much for the nice word All the best :)

100%

This hostel is the best hostel to a backpacker. It's cheap and nice, and 10 minutes of walking from the city centre. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They will even go out partying with you! This is a no-brainer! Shoutout to Eddy!

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey bro Thanks for the positive comment mate All the best!

69%

This hostel is very very cheap but its also quite nice. Bathroom is okay and dorm without aircon is still bearable because of the fans. Its a bit out of the city centre but walkable about half an hour and there's many places to eat nearby.




View all Kota Kinabalu Hostels

Please give us your feedback