X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Brisbane City Backpackers Reviews

380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1143 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Nice location with swimming pool at the rooftop and great view over the city. Cleanness was okay and not far away from the Bus Terminal

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Lovely place

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a great week at the brisbane city backpackers. The rooms, showers and toiletts were very clean. The view is great and you can meet awesome travellers ;)) I will come back!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Bring your own towel or be prepared to buy one for $10. No sign of lockers in the room or elsewhere despite the Hostelworld listing (this one was reason I chose this hostel). Also no secure luggage storage room. Great views of the city and a pool which was great to be able to use in the heat too. On site pub and cafe which can also be very handy. 20 minute walk to both city and West end. Overall a very reasonable stay and fairly good hostel.


60%

Very strange smell

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It's fine. I stayed in the 14-bed dorm and it can get pretty noisy being right next to the bar and all, but it always quiets down around midnight. Rooms are comfortable (and air conditioned!), wifi is pretty slow and only works in one (very hot) part of the building, but there's an internet cafe just a few meters down the street. Staff seems uninterested. The bar and events are kind of cheesy. Weird number of signs warning you not to break the rules.


91%

The only problem with the hostel is the $10 deposit for cutlery, plates and bowls. Apart from this the view from the balcony and pool is great and it is easy to walk to wherever you are looking to go

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Room wasnt cleaned when we arrived. Bed had been slept in and not changed. Good to have an ensuite but still not the best.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Quality place, they should definitely give a more vibrant description of the hostel as I think they would draw more people. Quality place to stay, will definitely go back for sure.


63%

Always a smell in room. Poor shower in private room. Very very very poor wifi. Hard to connect, if u can, low speed. Large laundry machine 15mins walk to a large train station: Roma street


71%

If you rent a set of dishes, make sure you keep them in your room as they WILL get stolen from the kitchen by other guests. Reception throws up their hands and "well they were your responsibility" and you will lose your deposit. WiFi is slow (when there's a lot of users) but free(!) so it evens out. There is only 1 ethernet cord and often in use. Showers are hot, but could use an update. Everything is cleaned frequently and well. Bar is quiet after 10pm (!!!) and there is also a cafe available.


43%

Strange smell in the room which according to the staff came from the aircon. After having to tell the staff twice about it someone came to eventually clean the aircon but the smell returned. No paper towels etc in the bathroom to clean your hands, soap dispenser didn´t work Second card to access the room didn´t work, after resetting it the first card didn´t work anymore so eventually two people only had one card. Ants in the basin Drunk and not very friendly staff


77%

Wasn't at the hostel too long but had no complaints. Nicely located close to Roma Street. Had a double bed and a single in a twin room which was a nice surprise. Rooms air-conditioned too which is crucial when it's hot. Bar seems lively and toilets/showers were clean. Would recommend.


91%

The view was amazing! I loved the kitchen and that it was close to a grocery store! Kept up very well! Would recommend to others :)

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is a bit bigger than I was used to but the staff was friendly and the location not bad. The wifi works in common areas and can kick you off when lot's of people are trying to use it. But otherwise it's a pretty cool place for a long or short stay. Definitely seems like a party place because of the bar they have.


94%

Clean. Nice staff. Good aircon. Free wifi. And a pool and a bar inside the hostel. One of the best hostels I have been so far this year.


83%

I really liked the atmosphere at this hostel, there were a lot of different areas with seating for the opportunity to meet new people. Everyone was very friendly. The rooms were a comfortable temperature and the sheets were soft for once. They have inexpensive food at their little restaurant and bar. Best part: the view!


51%

Stayed in a 6-bed female dorm. Room was very dirty and smelled horible. It's a 15 minute walk from Roma station, to far for me.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Very very annoying having to take a $10 deposit for the pots every time you want to cook something, I understand why they do it, but it's extremely frustrating and inconvenient. Wifi in the bedrooms would be better than just communal areas


66%

When we stayed there was a lot of long term stayers. Our room was beside the main entrance to our building and the door was slamming all the time with people coming in and out at all hours of the day and night. The door has a heavy spring so it slams hard and actually shook the wall/bed. Hard to get a good sleep in as they have a room check knocking on your door at 10am and then a cleaner at 11am. You could have a decent stay here if you get a room away from the noise.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback