X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Brisbane City Backpackers Reviews

380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1162 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Wouldn't stay there again. Kitchen and bathrooms quite filthy.


49%

Our room was very small and didn't live up to the expectations. There was trash and clothes everywhere and it smelled horrible - an overall very unpleasent place. The wifi didn't really work as well and the staff wasn't to much help either. But the bar was cheap which was nice.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We booked a 8 bed female dorm on hostel world and ended up in a 14 bed share after we arrived being told the hostel was full and there was nothing they could do about the room mistake. The receptionist was moderately helpful in resoliving the issue but we ended up paying more for a lesser room. HOWEVER! The hostel itself is great though, perfect location and the rooftop and terraces are awesome.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect location, helpful and friendly staff, the best one along upper roma st.


97%

Loved my stay here! Only thing was there were only two outlets for 6 girls in the first dorm room I stayed in. Staff is very friendly and helpful!


77%

The hostel was fine. A little noisy which was to be expected. It is close to the train station which was very useful and there are bars and restaurants nearby. The staff were helpful whenever I asked for information or had an issue. There are nice views from the pool and eating areas. One thing I didn't like was that staff would knock once then come into the room uninvited. This happened twice during our stay and we were in a private room not a dorm.Overall the hostel was fine and as advertised


97%

Good stay, extremely friendly staff. bit of a hike to Roma street and the city, but nothing to complain about. Had a minor problem with no power going to the power points, went to the reception and it was sorted out very promptly by the staff members.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

absolutely loved our stay .. our room was terrific, the staff were fantastic and the atmosphere was wonderful. we wont stay anywhere else in Brisbane now, and we visit that city every year. one downside was not access to boiling water for a cuppa after 11 pm. but we survived! 10 out of 10 Brisbane City Back Packers!!


83%

A cheap very good hostel at a good location. Very nice people, you are integrated very fast. I would come back, when I am the next time in Brisbane.


80%

Nice location with swimming pool at the rooftop and great view over the city. Cleanness was okay and not far away from the Bus Terminal


94%

Great hostel with really good atmosphere and a great bar. The place is very big. I think it would be more 'fun' to come in a group of people when it's such a big place. And even though the facilities were good, FORGET about going online! The wifi does really not work at all. And our room smelled disgusting.. That was the only two things we weren't pleased with. Besides from that great hostel, super friendly staff and very cool with 'movie theatre' too!!


69%

Been there for one night, didn't like at all that there wasn't any access to some cups, plates etc... And that you have to pay 10$ for the complete kit.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Lovely place

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a great week at the brisbane city backpackers. The rooms, showers and toiletts were very clean. The view is great and you can meet awesome travellers ;)) I will come back!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Bring your own towel or be prepared to buy one for $10. No sign of lockers in the room or elsewhere despite the Hostelworld listing (this one was reason I chose this hostel). Also no secure luggage storage room. Great views of the city and a pool which was great to be able to use in the heat too. On site pub and cafe which can also be very handy. 20 minute walk to both city and West end. Overall a very reasonable stay and fairly good hostel.


60%

Very strange smell

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It's fine. I stayed in the 14-bed dorm and it can get pretty noisy being right next to the bar and all, but it always quiets down around midnight. Rooms are comfortable (and air conditioned!), wifi is pretty slow and only works in one (very hot) part of the building, but there's an internet cafe just a few meters down the street. Staff seems uninterested. The bar and events are kind of cheesy. Weird number of signs warning you not to break the rules.


91%

The only problem with the hostel is the $10 deposit for cutlery, plates and bowls. Apart from this the view from the balcony and pool is great and it is easy to walk to wherever you are looking to go

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Room wasnt cleaned when we arrived. Bed had been slept in and not changed. Good to have an ensuite but still not the best.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Quality place, they should definitely give a more vibrant description of the hostel as I think they would draw more people. Quality place to stay, will definitely go back for sure.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback