Hostelworld.com

Brisbane City Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
Brisbane City Backpackers Located at 380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000, Brisbane.
Brisbane City Backpackers
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000
76% 1499
-27.4668010 153.0132820
Brisbane City Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Apr 2016
8.3

A very good hostel.One gripe which as to do with booking through hostelworld(i was told by the guy on the desk) i keep getting upgraded.Sometimes this is fine and nice but as a a quite often single traveller when i book say a large dorm room i don't want upgraded to a much smaller one as i want to meet people as much as possible.Brissie city backpackers has a good bar so it helps to meet people here.If this continues as a patern then i will consider booking through other sites or book direct.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
10.0

Three British girls staying in th e hostels, originally planned on staying for a few days decided on several occasions to extend our stay. Upgraded our room when we arrived, and we have been able to stay in our room. Great hostels, with loads of really great things - cleaned really well, great kitchen with loads of space. Great pub which offers loads of cool things to do, great sitting area. Staff are great, really helpful and friendly. Great location with a Coles only a five minute walk away. x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
5.7

Probably the worst hostel we've stayed in during 4 months of travelling so far. The location is great and the bar is OK but other than that not much going for it. Main problem was the loud obnoxious people staying there partying loudly until 5am which the staff did nothing about despite apparently having a night patrol. No lockers and given the other guests I wasn't too confident my stuff would stay where I left it. Showers were small, nowhere to hang anything, not particularly clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
10.0

This hostel was great, I had originally booked for a 20 person room but got upgraded to a 6 person dorm, which was incredibly nice. I don't think I would have enjoyed my stay as much had I been in the 20 room however. The location was great, next to a supermarket, right by the city center, and the South Bank. The kitchen was very large and spacious and everyone was very kind and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
7.7

I was lucky to get my room upgraded. Friendly staff, and good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Apr 2016
7.4

The staff were very helpful here they gave us money off vouchers at the bar/ restaurant and also one for the zoo, this is a good hostel if you are using the greyhound as its only a short walk to and from the station stop and also not far from local restaurants and supermarket

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
7.7

Overall perfect, but don't expect a great night at the bar, blaring music in a tiny place which is pointless for trying to meet people, so you think to yourself 'hey lets go outside with my drink where it's quiet & I can take in the view of the city from the balcony & meet new friends!' Wrong. You get shouted at for having your drinks out there past 10pm on a Saturday night. Go somewhere else to drink is my advice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Stayed a few weeks and will never forget the great time I had. More a party hostel but lots of people working as well. Nice bar (jugs for $9, free pool table). Great view, kitchen gets cleaned twice a day, every Friday there are topless waitresses. All in all a beautiful place to stay and definitely worth the money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2016
9.7

Had a great time at city backpackers, the guy in reception was really friendly and let us know some good things to do around Brisbane and how to get around cheaply/ for free. Would definitely return when i'm next in Brisbane.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
9.4

No security lockers but nothing missing. Stayed in a 6 bed room. Lots of people and good vibe. Clean kitchen, lots of space and pots/pans. Clean toilets. Can't bring own drinks. A/C controlled from outside the room so needed a blanket for a few nights lol.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.