Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brisbane City Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,633 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.4
Brisbane City Backpackers Located at 380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000, Brisbane.
Brisbane City Backpackers
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000
77% 1633
-27.4668010 153.0132820
Brisbane City Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
2.9

Rudest staff I've ever encountered. Definitely would not recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
8.0

Front desk and clean staff ok. Other personnel maybe manager, absolutely rude, uninformed of booking status and unfair. He was discriminatory with my age, that is totally unacceptable. They can not take my money and confirm me the service, and next day being abusive and refusing the service because age. I had been using hostels in different cities in queensland, south australia and New South Wales, never a problem because my age.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.6

Reception and cleaner were very kind and helpful. Even people ask a lot of questions, they answered specially. Wine was 2 for $5 in the bar and clean pool. Tourists are mostly young people so few people was screaming with fun but music was stopped at midnight so still could sleep well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Nov 2016
8.3

Job club was awesome because it found me work in less than 24 hours. But they are mostly labouring jobs and you get taken advantage of and are underpaid and overworked. I carried tons of bricks around all day in the sun and was paid $16 an hour. That's Illegal! Just plain wrong taking advantage of backpackers that really need money. The actual hostel was good, however the deposit for cutlery sucks, please stop doing that

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st Oct 2016
7.1

Nice big hostel, rooftop pool, inexpensive burger bar, pub etc. Friendly staff, close to the bus and train station, a bit of a walk from town. Decent size kitchen and bedrooms weren't overpopulated. Might stay here again but wouldn't rush back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
9.1

Good hostel 20mins away from the city centre. Clean with a good atmosphere that's got plenty going on without being a total party hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Oct 2016
5.7

Very good location, but very noisy at night because of the bar. The staff is ok, and the kitchen is dirty. Too much food in the fridge so it was hard to find your own food because people move things all the time. Not a very social atmosphere and bad internet. The bathroom was very dirty and old.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Sep 2016
8.3

Really enjoyed staying at this hostel. The staff were really friendly, rooms were large and spacious and the bathrooms were decent. There weren't any lockers in the rooms but I think there were some at reception. The bar is great and really social! I'd definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.6

Great location in Brisbane for Suncorp and for Southbank. No lockers in rooms but didn't have any problems. A little difficult to find if you're driving as the slip road is really easy to miss and then you get stuck in a one way system. Fun bar to drink at before nights out that isn't overly expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Aug 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel, the vibe down at the bar is quality. Staff are friendly and helpful, big kitchen with plenty of hobs, pots and pans. Secure car parking for free if you need it. When I next end up in Brisbane I'll definitely be going back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.