X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Brisbane City Backpackers Reviews

380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1090 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great stay, staff are friendly, make you feel welcome and get you involved. The only thing not great was the wifi connection.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Bar staff excellent, food average at best but overall would stay again if in the area. Supermarket just across the road which was handy.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

I dont recommend this hostel despite the nice terrace. The facilities are really dirty and seems like nobody cares. The location is not bad but there are other gosteks much better in the area. The status of bedrooms and bathroom were really discusting

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I had major problems with ventilation. There were 6 people in the same room, one insisted on closed windows and curtains. There was a air conditioner which was room reconciling only, but switched off. it is extremely important to have fresh air when resting and sleeping. Since room was fully closed 24/7 it became unbearable for me and i had requested a different room. On last night I retired first, but was able to open window later until daybreak when window was again interfered with.


71%

Again the table tennis paddle stayed locked away due to lack of table. An encounter with a long staying resident of the hostel resulted in a awkward situation after she offered to share her bed with me, which could never happen as I'm surprised she fitted in the bed herself. One plus our roommate who although had a boyfriend staying in the room, was not shy in taking her clothes off infront us which was a big 👍 (Thumbs Up) from me.


80%

you get what you pay for here - 2 plug sockets in a 6 bed dorm, no lockers and the free internet doesn't work downstairs in the dorms. they do have an internet lounge with plenty of plug sockets but you couldn't leave something there - this is where the wifi works best though. staff were really friendly and helpful and it was cheap.


83%

Really enjoyed my stay. Would definitely stay again if in brisbane.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel, good atmosphere but not too noisy and it's clean. Convenient that it's close to the train station/Greyhound stop and close to the center. The view from the rooftop is great!


83%

We were upgraded to a 6 person dorm instead of the 14 people dorm, they asked us if it was okay and were very friendly (and of course upgrades are always good). The roof pool looked lovely. However the internet did not really work. We had to check out at 4 AM, it was no problem, there was staff there and called us a taxi etc. Would stay there again.


74%

Reception staff were awesome. Cafe staff were rude (reception staff apologised for behaviour of cafe staff). Food prices were cheap, quality questionable but as you'd expect for $7. Facilities were awesome - pool and movie room. Rooms were OK. Good security card system. It's a very young, loud, let's get drunk hostel which is great if that's what you're looking for. If not, maybe check out their partner hostel, Chill backpackers for a more laid back vibe.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place and cheap hostel. could do with lockers but other than it is a great place to be


89%

We totally likes our stay in BCB. The pool is awesome and the people are nice too. one bad thing was that 1 washing machine was broken and you couldn't see it before. We got free powder but we really had to "force" them to do so. That was a bit strange. But normally everything is alright here :)

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

need lockers in the rooms!


86%

Good location and nice staffs!!


80%

Got upgraded to a 6-bed dorm and that was awesome, as I booked the 14-bed dorm. It's near enough to the bus station and easy to find; and it's also easy to walk to the city from the hostel. I liked the security of the place, though it would be great if we had lockers. The rooftop view is really cool! As others have said though, if you want to sleep, it might be a little difficult depending on where your dorm is cos of the bar but overall, it was good for a night!


100%

Very good hostel has everything to offer close to city 5 min walk and staff very helpful any questions there happy to help!


74%

The rooms had a hotel feel but the showers where a bit behind on the up keep most of the showers had something wrong with them! There is a pub in the hostel which means it's strictly no byo but the pub is fairly cheap! However the night we stayed it got really nosey and it seemed that there was a fight outside our window. But it was a pretty good hostel apart from this! Good for a couple of nights !


60%

Pros- decent size room, across the street from a supermarket, 15 min walk to Queen Street Mall Cons- they have a bar inside hostel-always drunk people around at night, theme nights in bar are demoralizing, wifi works some of the time or not at all, no heat in rooms but they do provide blankets if you ask for one


46%

We had originally booked this hostel for 3 nights but only ended up staying one. Staff wasn't very helpful and it didn't seem like they cared about us checking out 2 nights earlier. The room (4 bed female dorm) was ok, but our roommates were very disrespectful as were many others who stayed at the hostel (getting a good sleep on the weekend is almost impossible). the wifi did not work properly and neither did the provided computers. The atmosphere was unwelcoming. Can't recommend this hostel!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good hostel, well located but expensive We had fine stay and the staff was nice.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback