Hostelworld.com

Brisbane City Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1695 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1695 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Feb 2017
8.0

Decent place and they were doing a lot of improvements to the outside area which was starting to look really good. Cheap bar but was closed on Sunday - don't know if that's every week. You don't have to be a guest at the bar to use it. There are lots of other hostels on this street so you can still make use of the cheap bar if you prefer somewhere else for other reasons. The burgers also looked good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
5.4

Really nice location with only ten min to central Brisbane! Awesome pool with a view and a nice bar with great music. Unfortunately We experienced some of the staff totally careless, our room that We paid 27 dollars (!!) for was a 100 degrees only equiped with one fan?! The wi-FI was awful. Really disapointed at what We got for paying so much per light... Shoutout to the girls and boys that cleaned the rooms/toilet/kitchen every day though!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jan 2017
6.3

Don't go to this hostel unless you like a clique and drinking vibe. Also only wifi in one area of the hostel and it's not good anyway. We paid for premium which didn't even work and they wouldn't give us our money back! Beds were super uncomfortable and the bathrooms weren't that nice. Lots of permanent residence and some staff lovely some staff horrible. Movie requests good. Air con is amazing but it was so cold we had to ask for a blanket. Felt as if the hostel just didn't trust you.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.0

Certain staff lovely - some appear to have an attitude problem but overall okay. A good hostel to stay in and party but if you are looking for a quiet night in.. think again! Cheap bar and decent kitchen facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andrewlochrie
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Jan 2017
5.1

Stayed here for 1 night and I'm glad that's all it was. The place is pretty noisy and I would say should be classed as a party hostel. The place is in need of an update throughout. Management was a rude, obnoxious and impatient when trying to get our car out of a very poorly designed car park. He gave no explanation while opening a gate and moving a car that had blocked us in. Instead he ranted and made gestures while driving the car in and out at fast speeds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
8.3

Good location and staff. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Pool could be cleaner. Only real complaint is that the wifi was out all three days I was there (thunderstorm the night before knocked it out). But I do recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jan 2017
5.4

This hostel doesn't seem like it's been touched since 2001. The rooms are very worn, with stained carpets and no lockers. Kitchen is average and untidy. The whole place is just very tired. All this would be okay but this was one of the more expensive hostels we have stayed in, so I expected better.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.1

Overall a really good hostels, great facilities and atmosphere. Only bad points were the mattresses were terrible and the showers weren't great but expected for a cheap night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.7

Nice place to stay in terms of location and value for money. The car parking was frustrating however, the gate doesn't open by itself, I'm not sure how other people get in and out but every time we wanted to leave we had to ring reception and ask them to open the gate. There's also no signs from the car park to the rooms so we spent awhile trying to figure out how to get to our rooms. The bar set up is very cool however we're sold out of a lot of food when we tried to order.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Dec 2016
6.0

I booked a 14 bed room because I wanted it to be busy with lots of people over Christmas and New Years, but I got moved to a 4 bed as an 'upgrade'. The 4 bed wasn't even full, the hostel was dead. They did absolutely nothing on Christmas Day apart from some bacon sandwiches for $5 in the morning. They wouldn't even put Christmas films on in the cinema. I checked out 10 days early, couldn't stay there any longer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.