X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Brisbane City Backpackers Reviews

380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
1109 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Strange smell in the room which according to the staff came from the aircon. After having to tell the staff twice about it someone came to eventually clean the aircon but the smell returned. No paper towels etc in the bathroom to clean your hands, soap dispenser didn´t work Second card to access the room didn´t work, after resetting it the first card didn´t work anymore so eventually two people only had one card. Ants in the basin Drunk and not very friendly staff


91%

The view was amazing! I loved the kitchen and that it was close to a grocery store! Kept up very well! Would recommend to others :)

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is a bit bigger than I was used to but the staff was friendly and the location not bad. The wifi works in common areas and can kick you off when lot's of people are trying to use it. But otherwise it's a pretty cool place for a long or short stay. Definitely seems like a party place because of the bar they have.


94%

Clean. Nice staff. Good aircon. Free wifi. And a pool and a bar inside the hostel. One of the best hostels I have been so far this year.


83%

I really liked the atmosphere at this hostel, there were a lot of different areas with seating for the opportunity to meet new people. Everyone was very friendly. The rooms were a comfortable temperature and the sheets were soft for once. They have inexpensive food at their little restaurant and bar. Best part: the view!


51%

Stayed in a 6-bed female dorm. Room was very dirty and smelled horible. It's a 15 minute walk from Roma station, to far for me.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Very very annoying having to take a $10 deposit for the pots every time you want to cook something, I understand why they do it, but it's extremely frustrating and inconvenient. Wifi in the bedrooms would be better than just communal areas


66%

When we stayed there was a lot of long term stayers. Our room was beside the main entrance to our building and the door was slamming all the time with people coming in and out at all hours of the day and night. The door has a heavy spring so it slams hard and actually shook the wall/bed. Hard to get a good sleep in as they have a room check knocking on your door at 10am and then a cleaner at 11am. You could have a decent stay here if you get a room away from the noise.


60%

Weird smell in the room, everything is pretty old , need a bit if maintenance work . Location good, close to bike hire stations and Coles !

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Has a pool and bar and if you book on the Internet it's cheaper than just showing up. Good location too.


51%

No towels in the kitchen Kitchen was dirty

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

This hostel is all about the roof. The amount of space up there is fantastic and the movie theater is a great perk, but the kitchen isn't the best with supplies. The wifi sort of works in the room by the kitchen only. My room was cramped and freezing. The location is great if you arrive and leave by bus, it's an easy walk from the station, but if you want to be in the city center it's a bit further, still not a bad walk though.


97%

Great stay, staff are friendly, make you feel welcome and get you involved. The only thing not great was the wifi connection.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Bar staff excellent, food average at best but overall would stay again if in the area. Supermarket just across the road which was handy.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

I dont recommend this hostel despite the nice terrace. The facilities are really dirty and seems like nobody cares. The location is not bad but there are other gosteks much better in the area. The status of bedrooms and bathroom were really discusting

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! that's a little harsh. You arrived late and left early. We do care very much how clean our hostel is at all times of the day and night. Bedrooms are cleaned daily and all other areas twice daily. If you are not happy about something in a hostel you should report it to a manager so it can be fixed, not just complain on the internet. After all, most hostel managers do want you to have a good time.

77%

I had major problems with ventilation. There were 6 people in the same room, one insisted on closed windows and curtains. There was a air conditioner which was room reconciling only, but switched off. it is extremely important to have fresh air when resting and sleeping. Since room was fully closed 24/7 it became unbearable for me and i had requested a different room. On last night I retired first, but was able to open window later until daybreak when window was again interfered with.


71%

Again the table tennis paddle stayed locked away due to lack of table. An encounter with a long staying resident of the hostel resulted in a awkward situation after she offered to share her bed with me, which could never happen as I'm surprised she fitted in the bed herself. One plus our roommate who although had a boyfriend staying in the room, was not shy in taking her clothes off infront us which was a big 👍 (Thumbs Up) from me.


80%

you get what you pay for here - 2 plug sockets in a 6 bed dorm, no lockers and the free internet doesn't work downstairs in the dorms. they do have an internet lounge with plenty of plug sockets but you couldn't leave something there - this is where the wifi works best though. staff were really friendly and helpful and it was cheap.


83%

Really enjoyed my stay. Would definitely stay again if in brisbane.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel, good atmosphere but not too noisy and it's clean. Convenient that it's close to the train station/Greyhound stop and close to the center. The view from the rooftop is great!


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback