Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brisbane City Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,678 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,678 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.4
Brisbane City Backpackers Located at 380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000, Brisbane.
Brisbane City Backpackers
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000
75% 1678
-27.4668010 153.0132820
Brisbane City Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
8.3

Good location and staff. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Pool could be cleaner. Only real complaint is that the wifi was out all three days I was there (thunderstorm the night before knocked it out). But I do recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jan 2017
5.4

This hostel doesn't seem like it's been touched since 2001. The rooms are very worn, with stained carpets and no lockers. Kitchen is average and untidy. The whole place is just very tired. All this would be okay but this was one of the more expensive hostels we have stayed in, so I expected better.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.1

Overall a really good hostels, great facilities and atmosphere. Only bad points were the mattresses were terrible and the showers weren't great but expected for a cheap night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.7

Nice place to stay in terms of location and value for money. The car parking was frustrating however, the gate doesn't open by itself, I'm not sure how other people get in and out but every time we wanted to leave we had to ring reception and ask them to open the gate. There's also no signs from the car park to the rooms so we spent awhile trying to figure out how to get to our rooms. The bar set up is very cool however we're sold out of a lot of food when we tried to order.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Dec 2016
6.0

I booked a 14 bed room because I wanted it to be busy with lots of people over Christmas and New Years, but I got moved to a 4 bed as an 'upgrade'. The 4 bed wasn't even full, the hostel was dead. They did absolutely nothing on Christmas Day apart from some bacon sandwiches for $5 in the morning. They wouldn't even put Christmas films on in the cinema. I checked out 10 days early, couldn't stay there any longer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Dec 2016
10.0

Great hostel. We stayed in a double with ensuite and it was very clean and spacious. Incredible value for money. Helpful and friendly staff and great bar with very cheap drinks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
8.9

Very fun, great views, rooms and kitchen were very big.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
7.7

The hostel is a little way out of the main city centre. But very convenient for the train and coach terminals. Really close to Coles and some good bars too. Nice swimming pool area and okay kitchen, you have to pay a $10 deposit for cutlery and plates which is a bit annoying. Free wifi and a pretty solid movie room. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Dec 2016
3.1

No cutlery or anything in the kitchen. Rude staff. Disgusting bathroom. Our room wasn't cleaned at all and had dirty mattresses. Worst hostel we ever visited.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2016
4.9

I stayed in an ensuite room and i do not rate this place for the money i paid. There was no cutlery, glasses, mugs, coffee, sugar, kettle, toaster or soap as an ensuite room should have. When i asked for cutlery, i was told i had to pay a $10 deposit to get some lmfao. I found hairs on the sheets as if they hadnt been changed from the previous people. The shower was terrible also. It was like sleeping in a jail cell. The only upside was the view from the bar and thats it. Do not recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.