Hostelworld.com

Brisbane City Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
Brisbane City Backpackers Located at 380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000, Brisbane.
Brisbane City Backpackers
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000
77% 1516
-27.4668010 153.0132820
Brisbane City Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th May 2016
10.0

Pretty cool hostel. Nice pool, rooftop deck, cinema, kitchen, parking, and a fun environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
9.1

Brisbane City Backers was a fantastic hostel! The staff was very friendly and even upgraded us to a smaller room. This hostel has a bar which sells cheap drinks and you can sit and relax with a few beers out on the amazing patio with some friends. Not to mention the lookout point on the roof where you have a 360 degree view. Brisbane City Backpackers is about a 10-15 minute walk to the bars/clubs, but it was well worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2016
10.0

Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Spotless, really well kept, safe to store valuables and friendly staff. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
7.1

This hostel seems to want to become a party place, though it all seems a bit forced - that said the rooftop bar had some pretty nice views. On arrival we got upgraded which was great. Main criticism is that it's extremely crowded here and the kitchen is ridiculously small for the number of people - also the wifi barely worked. The room was cleanish though linen a bit stained. Good location for transport hub but otherwise a walk to city or shops over very busy roads.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
8.3

A very good hostel.One gripe which as to do with booking through hostelworld(i was told by the guy on the desk) i keep getting upgraded.Sometimes this is fine and nice but as a a quite often single traveller when i book say a large dorm room i don't want upgraded to a much smaller one as i want to meet people as much as possible.Brissie city backpackers has a good bar so it helps to meet people here.If this continues as a patern then i will consider booking through other sites or book direct.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
10.0

Three British girls staying in th e hostels, originally planned on staying for a few days decided on several occasions to extend our stay. Upgraded our room when we arrived, and we have been able to stay in our room. Great hostels, with loads of really great things - cleaned really well, great kitchen with loads of space. Great pub which offers loads of cool things to do, great sitting area. Staff are great, really helpful and friendly. Great location with a Coles only a five minute walk away. x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
5.7

Probably the worst hostel we've stayed in during 4 months of travelling so far. The location is great and the bar is OK but other than that not much going for it. Main problem was the loud obnoxious people staying there partying loudly until 5am which the staff did nothing about despite apparently having a night patrol. No lockers and given the other guests I wasn't too confident my stuff would stay where I left it. Showers were small, nowhere to hang anything, not particularly clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
10.0

This hostel was great, I had originally booked for a 20 person room but got upgraded to a 6 person dorm, which was incredibly nice. I don't think I would have enjoyed my stay as much had I been in the 20 room however. The location was great, next to a supermarket, right by the city center, and the South Bank. The kitchen was very large and spacious and everyone was very kind and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
7.7

I was lucky to get my room upgraded. Friendly staff, and good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Apr 2016
7.4

The staff were very helpful here they gave us money off vouchers at the bar/ restaurant and also one for the zoo, this is a good hostel if you are using the greyhound as its only a short walk to and from the station stop and also not far from local restaurants and supermarket

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.