Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brisbane City Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1,567 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1,567 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
Brisbane City Backpackers Located at 380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000, Brisbane.
Brisbane City Backpackers
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 380 Upper Roma Street, Qld 4000
78% 1567
-27.4668010 153.0132820
Brisbane City Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Aug 2016
6.3

Stayed here because it was a bit cheaper. Should have probably spent the extra few dollars! The rooms and facilities were basic. My room was between the bar and the shower so there was constantly music and noise. The hostel didn't really have a great atmosphere and I was travelling alone so it wasn't great! The kitchen was a complete mess. There are also signs everyone talking about fines for things. They did random room checks as well where they knocked shouted room check and came in

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
8.3

It's a very nice place... worth for price and location... staffs were just necessary the kitchen is great to cook :)) there's a comfortable common area... :)) nice to stay :))

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Aug 2016
5.7

Really not the best value for money hostels in Brisbane! The dorms are too small, and the bathrooms are dirty (hairs on the ground, sticky soil..). We did not have toilet paper for 24h despite having told the reception. The kitchen is closed at night. The staff is quite unfriendly. However it has a really nice terrace overlooking the city and the river, that's a big positive point ! The bar is pretty cool, with music that is thought to vacation, that too is good, but noisy in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
8.3

Its clean, there is space in the room for the bag, the only thing is the wifi that is only available on one area! I recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
9.1

Very friendly and helpful staff and good location; facilities slightly basic and dated but good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
8.0

Really good location, just a short walk and you're right in the city centre. Big hostel rooms and hostel. Nice bar which looked onto Brisbane. Drinks at the bar were cheap with activities every night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bribbo88
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
25th Jul 2016
6.0

It was cheap and rooms were crowded and no fresh air. No where to lock my things and my go pro camera got stolen from my handbag. Very upset as I lost all my photos.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.3

staff not overly friendly but the place was really good, the rooms nicely spaced out so wasn't too noisy, heaps of facilities and great location. Lots of info on surrounding areas. The room was bigger than I thought and well supplied. I would def stay again and recommend it, only down side was some of the other guests were rude and immature and don't look out for other people's stuff- but that could happen anywhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.0

The bathrooms of the girls corridors were quite bad as they are very small and don't even have hooks on the shower doors which makes using them difficult, there is a bar in the hostel so there is some noise be aware before you stay, however other than that a good stay, and great views from the roof.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • LEMcGrath908245
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
6.9

The music plays till late at night and starts again really early in the morning. This is great if you are at the bar but if you are in your room trying to sleep you can hear everything. I actually left with a headache after staying here because of the constant noise. The staff are very good and the hostel was clean and in a good location. The hostel layout itself is a bit confusing but I figured it out in the end.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.