Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brisbane City YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 907 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 907 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
Brisbane City YHA Located at 392 Upper Roma Street, Brisbane QLD 4000, Brisbane.
Brisbane City YHA
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4000 392 Upper Roma Street, Brisbane QLD 4000
84% 907
-27.4667362 153.0128037
Brisbane City YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
9.4

I had a fantastic stay at Brisbane YHA. Staff were very friendly and helpful, was only a short walk from the train station and I had a fabulous view from my private room, which was upgraded to a room with en suite upon arrival. There were secure lockers for me to leave my bag from check out til my 9 pm flight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
4.9

The staff weren't overly helpful or friendly. The place is clean with an impressive kitchen and deck with a pool and city view. Close to the bus station which is good but not much in the area as far as food and shopping. The rooms were so tiny. 6 people per room (bunk) that I was in and we could barely get by each other. Quite uncomfortable in that sense. Overall its clean and safe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Sep 2016
7.4

This hostel is located on a small hill along side four or five other hostels. From the outside this one clearly appears to be the best and the price naturally reflects that. It has very good security, with you needing a card to not only get into your room but also into the second building where I was staying, and it also has large lockers in the rooms. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. I only wish that the en-suite bathroom had been cleaned more regularly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • vwareham
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
7.1

Place was very clean and secure. Staff were really nice! Unfortunately WORST location. Literally right on top of the railway. Trains go by every 10-20 minites depending on time of day. Don't count on sleeping through the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Aug 2016
9.7

Really good Hostel. Very secure and clean. The rooftop pool is amazing, with excellent views over the city. Each night they have something on too. When I stayed it was a burger night where they had camel and kangaroo burgers for only $6. Sean on reception was very helpful when checking us in and out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th May 2016
6.0

Staff were friendly but didn't know much and weren't able to help me with things to do in Brisbane. Pretty far away from the centre, 15min uphill walk from the bus stop. Showers had no water pressure at all, made showers difficult and long...on the subject of showers they were dirty and generally in need of an update. Rooms were clean and housekeeping staff were lovely.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
9.1

Excellent overall. Close to amenities and activities. Car park option a bonus. A little noisy late at night for oldies but understand its a youth facility! Double bed extremely comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
6.9

On arrival we were too early for check in and there was a lack of secure areas to keep our luggage and then once in our room the lockers were not secure.Hostel had really good facilities such as the tv and games rooms and plenty of activities organised. Location isn't great as it is quite far from the city centre, however it is situated alongside all the other hostels. Staff weren't as friendly or helpful as other hostels we have stayed in while in Australia. Not bad, will go elsewhere next time

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.9

Clean and tidy, nice facilities. Location was perfectly near to train, but a few minute walk from Queen St. & South Bank.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th Mar 2016
6.0

Walking on my way from the Roma train station, I noticed that there were several hostels that were closer to the CBD area, and close to half of the price of this hostel. Although I was only here one day, I was not particularly impressed. There were good activities set up in the hostel, but it seemed like a very casual atmosphere and not the best for meeting other travelers. The room I was in felt stuffy and moldy, but I did like the private bathroom/shower.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.