Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 347 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 347 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2017
9.4

Having stayed at Casa Kiwi a few times before this past year I can only speak highly of the property, location, and the staff. Booking through hostel world locks u in with little chance of refund of natural disasters such as hurricane Irma. Not likely will book through them again. Deal with hostels directly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2017
8.0

Great hostel with lots of local Chill out areas, rooftop bar & pool & great location. Staff were really nice as well & the cleaning ladies were the sweetest! It is more expensive than other places but it was very nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
9.1

Excellent location in the middle of el pablado, very safe area. Rooms were okay and their were a few wifi problems when we were their which seemed to be resolved now.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Best hostel experience I've had in an extremely long time: spent a week there. - The staff were amazing. All so friendly, fun and helpful (spoke great English!) - All things you look for a hostel are there: cleanliness, good beds etc. even included towels! (I would definitely say this is a mid range dorm hostel in terms of price, approx £10 a night but so worth it) -20 mins from metro station and right next to great party spots - the communal areas are what make it though-so good to meet ppl!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Panama, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.1

Excellent hostel. Friendly staff, great facilities, and the location near El Poblado is also a big plus. One negative thing was a roach problem in the bathroom, but I informed the staff, so hopefully that gets taken care of.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th May 2017
5.1

It started, that when we arrived at 5 p.m. Our room was not even cleaned, so we had to wait. Our room and the hostel as itself were really nice. But there's no chance to sleep without earplugs.. there was loud music till 5.30 a.m. Each night, and no one there who woul have done something against it. An other thing was, that they didn't even empty our bathroom-basket once in the whole time we've staid there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
27th Apr 2017
6.0

this property has a great location for bars, cafes and restaurants, but it is a big walk to the Poblado station if you want to venture from your bubble. Black Sheep Hostel is better located. Other than the one male staff member, the ladies at the front desk weren't very polite or helpful. On check in, there was no advice from them on where to visit, what to do and what to see in Medellin. The front desk staff need to up their game because the staff at Black Sheep Hostel are considerably better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Ben, thank's for the feedback, and I'm sorry you didn't get better assistance from our staff. Thanks to your comment we've fired them all! No that's not true. ;) But we have started a campaign to better inform our guests upon arrival about our services and what to do around town etcetra. Hopefully we'll have you back with us one day.

  • mishaberry23062
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
8.0

Upon checkout the staff was rude and tried to overcharge us telling us the hostelworld prices were wrong and that we had to pay higher prices after we had already paid for our stay upon check in. He delayed us for a flight we had to catch! Think carefully before staying here and make sure they don't try to overcharge you. Other than that the hostel itself was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola! Misha, the problem was that you had booked for 2 guests, and then had 3 people in your room, that's why the price was higher, since 3 guests pay more than 2, right?? :) I would also like to mention that we had a different experience about who was rude at check-out. I'm not going to mention any names, but the rude one's name starts with M and ends with Isha. :)

12th Apr 2017
6.3

Not sure why people rave about this hostel. It had a completely dead atmosphere while I was there and some of the most unhelpful staff I've come across. The only plus is the location, it's right where you want to be. I stayed at garden of blues and partied at happy Buddha which were both way better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola Alex, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the hostel much while you were with us. March and April can sometimes be somewhat of a low season, so maybe that was a factor, although fortunately we manage to stay pretty full most of the time. Maybe you caught us on an off day. Regarding the staff, we're always working to improve our standards of customer service, so thanks for the feedback. Hopefully you'll give us another chance some day!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.6

Good new facilities. Bit expensive for a hostel. Staff were good. Atmosphere is a bit lacking, found it hard to meet people as there are so many spaces to hang out. I think there are other places that are better value for your money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×