Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Charley Johng's Dune Guesthouse

  • Dunhuang Mingsha Shan Sha Sheng Zhi Wu Yuan, Yuequan Shan Zhuang, Dunhuang, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Aug 2017
4.9

We were the only guests at the place and you could definitely tell why: nobody has cleaned anything at the guesthouse in a very long time. Bathrooms are worse than the average chinese (which is already bad) and everything is covered either in dust or plaster. The guesthouse is close to the dunes but far from everything else. The owner is often not even in the guesthouse! The only plus is that he speaks english and is very helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
6.9

I found the dorms to be pretty clean (relative to China), adequate washing machine and drying areas. My biggest complaint is the owner, getting information from him was like pulling teeth and when he set me up with the camping he refused to let me be driven to the campsite instead of camels (which would save 300 RMB) because he was "too busy that night". Let me know point out that I was literally the only person staying in the hostel at that time. It was rude. Location is far from city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
8.9

Kinda felt like a very simple beach house but the atmosphere is great.. very chill, right on the dunes, nice porch. Charley is really helpful and set us up on a really awesome overnight camel trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
8.9

Great location a 5 minute walk from the dunes, staff is very helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hollyjoy_9380
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jul 2017
8.9

Charley Johngs, at the foot of the sand dunes, is a relaxing no-fuss retreat. We stayed in a private double with bathroom. The boss was super helpful our whole stay, he can organize tours for you and answer quests, the central courtyard Is a great spot to read and hang out. The hostel can provide towels and there is an old school washing machine for you to use. Good coffee too!! I'd definitely stay here again and I'd definitely recommend to others. Ps: do the overnight camel trip it is sublime.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
9.1

Great place to stay when in Dunhuang! Very close to the park itself and has a nearby public bus stop to get into town. Owner speaks English and was very accommodating to my friend and I. He helped organize an overnight camping excursion for us which was very helpful. Bathroom was a little on the rough side but otherwise it was a pleasant place to stay for a few days! Great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
10.0

We were here in what seemed like the very end of the off-season, but it seems like it would be a lively and interesting place to stay in the summertime (facilities looked in need of some TLC). Charlie was generous with his time and help, and he arranged a night in the desert for us. The location is excellent, just at the foot of the dunes. There is a nice courtyard in the middle of the hostel where people can congregate, but at the time, we were the only ones there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Jun 2017
2.6

I stayed here for 1 night before moving because I was so unhappy here. The place is so dirty, not only covered in sand from the dune but it looks like it's never been cleaned. It's really far out from the town and hard not to be ripped off by taxi drivers taking you back at night. I felt unsafe as a single female traveler having to leave the town to stay in this guesthouse late at night. The man working here couldn't speak any English and as helpful as he was, there was no one else in the house.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
6.9

Slightly dirty. Very basic facilities. Ok Internet. But right next to the dunes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
9.7

Charley's place was perfect for our Dunhuang stay! We had a nice five-person room with actually comfortable beds (a rare find in China) and we liked the location right next to the Crescent Lake for playing on the dune (the bus into town is 2 kuai and easy to use). We also organized a camping night on the dunes with Charley, and he was cheaper than everyone else and gave us a great night. Charley also owns a wonderful cafe in town that's worth a visit, esp. if you are craving french toast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.