X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chelsea International Hostel Reviews

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3464 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I stayed here for 1 night, just needed somewhere to stay after a late flight into NY. It did the job - walking distance to penn station, quiet, comfortable bed, well heated, a decent free breakfast and fairly cheap. I'd stay there again for a similar purpose. Didn't seem great on the social side, it was very quiet and the common room closes at about 11pm, but not sure it's that type of hostel.


91%

Actually perfect place for short staying on Manhattan


40%

Pagamos 100 dolares para a diária com banheiro compartilhado, sabíamos que seria simples, mas o mau humor dos funcionários e a precariedade do hostel nos impressionou, estávamos no terceiro andar, tivemos que descer malas de 30kg sozinhos pela escada, o quarto era tão pequeno que mal conseguíamos nos movimentar, e o banheiro, além de ser 2x2, tinha um aquecimento exagerado o que nos fazia suar mesmo tomando banho. Wi-fi apenas na área compartilhada. Não nos hospedaríamos novamente.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice location! What I didn't like was the plastic plated etc used in kitchen.


51%

the good thing from my visited was the location.


69%

Location is very Good.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Please fix the heating system. We slept with our jackets and socks on, luckily we stayed only two nights

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Location was great. easy access to two subway lines. Great food within walking distance in all directions.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Fue una muy buena experiencia, si lo que buscas es descansar en la noche tras haber recorrido la ciudad durante todo el dia, es el lugar indicado. gran parte del personal habla español lo que facilita la estancia ahi, esta ubicado en una zona muy centrica por lo que llegar a las distintas atracciones de la ciudad se hace muy facil. si lo que buscas es conocer gente y pasear en grupo por la ciudad este no es el lugar, pero para alguien que busca aventurarse solo en la ciudad es perfecto.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful neighborhood to stay in and such a great staff! I would definitely stay there again!

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We thought the Hostel-Staff was nice and very helpful. There is Wifi in the kitchen area, not in the rooms. Good breakfast to stay put till lunch. The rooms are pretty small and we had some kind of heating pipe going through our room so the room was always a bit too warm. The shared bathrooms were small but clean. It has a very good location in the city, Metro just 3 blocks away (5 min). I would stay there again =).

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

La atención No es la mejor, las indicaciones que dan para ir a los aeropuertos son deficientes, me dijeron que para ir a La Guardia Airport sólo podía en bus con un recorrido de casi 2h o taxi con 45usd y hay una opción más económica de 14 usd que finalmente tomé pero no gracias a ellos. El personal que trabaja allí no es muy amable.

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Es war im Zimmer nicht sauber, zu kalt und außerdem noch viel zu laut. Die Geräusche kamen, zumindest vermutet ich es, von der "Heizung". Das Frühstück war gut, jedoch herrschte eine unangenehme Atmosphäre in dem Aufenthaltsraum.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Es ist wirklich kein Genuss dort zu übernachten. Gab einen sehr ekligen Modergeruch aus meinem Waschbecken. Das schließfach war aus so dünnem blech, und daher die Stelle mit dem Schloss so verbogen, dass man es mit nur einem Handgriff knacken konnte, ohne das man das schloss selbst auf machen musste. Die Lage ist natürlich unschlagbar gut, aber ansonsten ist es wirklich nur eine Notunterkunft, keine Freude, dort zu übernachten.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I had a good experience there. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. The only problem i had was that i found the 11pm close time for the common area was too late. My room was right outside the common and I struggled with the noise from the other guests. But apart from that, i was happy with my stay.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

was a good place! good location, near to the subway and you can find attractions like empire state so close! they give a good breakfast!

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

A lot of sound from the pipes in our room during the night was quite annoying.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very nice hostel, good for the price and in a relatively good location. The room and bathroom were very clean. I had no problem staying there.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location. Bang in the middle inbetween downtown and uptown. Really quiet too and subway station a stones throw away. The staff know what they are talking about and are very helpful. My only complaint was the wifi. It works in none of the dormrooms at all, or the commonroom/tv room. It only works in kitchen/dining room, another router would not cost a lot and in the modern world we live in things like wifi are necessary.


71%

Room gor one person i got was okay, clean, but radiator was too hot and too noisy, lockers inroom doesnt seem too workand if there wss an air condition I couldnt find it. Breakfast was okax, one bagel, fruit, anf ceareals as much you want. And wedensday there is free pizza. Location is central


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(221 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback