X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chelsea International Hostel Reviews

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3322 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

It was a great location for us since we were taking a tour starting at Chelsea Pier. Beds were firm but comfortable. They didn't supply soap, so bring your own. Located a short walk away from a Rite Aid. Breakfast is just a bagel and a piece of fruit.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Вed bugs!!! It's disgusting! Taking into account previous reviews, where guests also wrote about bugs - it's irresponsible that management of this hostel doesn't doing anything to improve the situation. Definitely would not recommend Chelsea hostel to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have not had problems with bed bugs in many years. We had a professional revise your room top to bottom and nothing was found. We pay special attention to cleanliness and the entire property is exterminated once a month by a professional exterminator.

63%

The WiFi was very bud, specially in the 3rd floor, there was no signal.


46%

Schon beim Einchecken habe ich genau das erlebt, was andere Gäste in ihren Bewertungen geschrieben haben: die Leute am Empfang sind unglaublich unfreundlich! Die Zimmer sind klein und extrem überheizt (Heizung nicht regulierbar). Die Matratzen sind völlig durchgelegen, man spürt jede einzelne Feder. Das Hostel hat insgesamt das wirklich schlechteste Preis-Leistungsverhältnis, das ich jemals erlebt habe. Hier wird sich einfach auf der guten Lage und den wenigen Alternativen ausgeruht - zu unrecht

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Zimmer waren sehr stark aufgeheizt durch die Rohre. Selbst im Winter musste man bei offenem Fenster schlafen da es einfach zu heiß war. Keine Ablage in der Dusche. Keine Aufhängemöglichket im Zimmer , außer über!! dem Bett. Lieblos gestaltet. Spint im Zimmer zu klein, könnte man weglassen da Regal vorhanden.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

There Double bed was too small and blanket felt not so clean enough. Othes were good.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

location is good, but the place is cheap. stayed in a single, which had a bed and nothing else in it. wifi only in one room, breakfast an apple and one bagel....for the price no value


71%

The best thing about this hostel was the location. the subway was just a few blocks away, also, there's plenty of things to do in chelsea as well. this is a pretty impersonal hostel, so if you want to meet people, it's not the right place. i had a single room and i did have wifi in it, but be careful, because not every room has it. the hostel was clean, simple, but it's perfect location vise and if you're just looking for a place to sleep, not hang out.


69%

It'd be naive to expect anything better from such a cheap hostel located where this one is. The room was quite clean, breakfasts were substandard but, on the plus sidd, they were included at all. Wifi router's DNS wasn't working, had to fix the problem to be able to use it. If you're short on money and want to stay in Manhattan, this is absolutely the place to go, imo. You won't get any fancy features, but you'll get a decent non-rotten sleeping place.


91%

Usato solo per poggiare la valigia e riposare un paio di ore in attesa del volo ma ho avuto modo di constare che l'ambiente è funzionale e la posizione è ottima. Ha anche un servizio deposito bagagli automatico a soli 4$. Purtroppo i costi a NY sono alti ovunque.


80%

I thought the location of the Hostel was amazing because it was not too far from the heart of the city. The staff were friendly and the people were friendly. The only thing that I would recommend, would be more variety of food for breakfast. Thank You!

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Honduras
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Soggiorno pessimo,pulizia molto scarsa.Vergognoso che in 10 giorni nessuno sia entrato nella mia camera almeno a fare un minimo di pulizia.Ed e' altrettanto vergognoso che si debbano tenere gli stessi asciugamani per dieci giorni senza che nessuno pensi che gli italiani si lavano ed hanno bisogno della biancheria pulita.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

really great location! friendly staff and good breakfast bagel


71%

Buena calidad/precio Baños viejos que dan aspecto de sucios. Toallas y ropa de cama mejorable. Camas comodas. El hecho de que solo haya wifi en las zonas comunes, crea una atmósfera poco sociable, ya que cada persona se mete en el mundo de su movil/tablet y hace perder la esencia de lo que es un hostel. La zona muy buena y cómoda para desplazarse. La calefacción una delicia para los días de invierno. Desayuno bueno y suficiente, pero sin variedad (si estas varios dias te acaba cansando

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Sehr einfache Zimmereinrichtung (4 Bett Zimmer mit WC/Dusche) Im Bad leider keine Ablagefläche auch im ganzen Zimmer keine Hacken um Tücher etc. aufzuhängen

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Nie wieder!!!!!!!!

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excelente lugar si van a pasar varios dias en NYC. Cómodo, bien ubicado y el personal sumamente atento! Muchas gracias por su atención!


100%

Great place, lovely and warm for a winter break, excellent location for walking everywhere in Manhattan, shower was excellent, staff were friendly, cheaper than anywhere else I found, great mix of nationalities. Would recommend.


97%

I think is important they help the host to move the packages and make some improves with the pillows

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

While I was there, we stayed in the twin ensuite room and it was comfortable. Enough space for our gear, bathroom was clean (for a hostel) and the mattresses were quite comfortable. Pillows were a bit bad (as per usual for a hostel) and the towels were a bit gross, so we brought our own. Didn't really get involved with the social aspect of the hostel so I can't comment there. Building was secure with 2 keys needed to get to your room. Location was great, near several tube stations.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(274 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback