X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Chelsea International Hostel Reviews

251 West 20th Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
3396 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Superb location, great value for money. Booked a 2-bed female room, was upgraded to a single room for a total of under 40 dollars - impossible to beat. The facilities are cramped, as can be expected in a central NYC location. Wifi is only available in the common area, not in bedrooms. The atmosphere is nothing special, but if you are looking for a centrally located, clean, quiet room to go home to after a busy day in the city, this is the place to go.


63%

Overall clean, but amenities and rooms are old and shabby. No hand soap, paper towels or mirrors in bathrooms. Included breakfast is good. Bagel, fruit, butter and jam with unlimited milk and cereal. Kitchen lacks many utensils. Wi-Fi is ONLY in common rooms. Charge for storing luggage. Pricey, but by NYC standards it would be considered cheap. Given the range of hostels in NYC, I would probably try my luck somewhere else next time.


69%

The staff are essentially helpful and responsive, but I am not very happy about the frequency of changing our bed sheets, cleaning the shared bathroom and emptying the rubbish basket in our room. I wish the cleaning would have done for us every day.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Location was really central. It was pretty dated, but however very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. It says there is WIFI, but note that it is only in common area, not in the actual room! Do not chose this hostel if you are a light sleeper, it is extremely noizy!!


77%

Good access to subway and airport WIFI should be made hostel wide as the common area gets to packed in winter as u just can't sit outside Now my biggest problem is noise ! There is no carpet at all in the hostel and the walls are paper thin and the outside door slams and every time I jumped out of my skin ! And every stomp up the stairs is herd every conversation u can contribute to. The cleaners come at around 8 every morning and bang there mop around hitting every possible surface

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

there is no internet after 10pm and nowhere to sit. if you stay in dorm its a really big problem. and night staff is usually very rude. there were different people at the front desk in different nights and they all found a reason to snap at me it wasnt an argument they just seemed really bothered when someone asked questions at night and if you ask anything about hostel they yell at you for not knowing. people at the front desk in daytime are nice. so expensive and its only beds no real lounge

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel is perfect if you aren't planning on spending much time inside, or mingling with people. Granted, we came in January 2015 so it was cold and probably a slow time. The room was small, and to access the common areas you had to go outside. Breakfast was an apple and a bagel with one pad of butter. But for the $ and LOCATION, this place was EXCELLENT. 15 minutes to everywhere we wanted to go. Easy access to subways, and plenty of shops/food around the hostel. Old building but clean.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice staff but facilities were a bit lacking. The room was pretty bare bones and the breakfast was a plane bagel with an apple. However the location was great and the rooms were clean. Also there was no internet in the rooms. There was a nice courtyard that would be great in the summer but we were there in winter.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Overall clean, but amenities and rooms are old and shabby. No hand soap, paper towels or mirrors in bathrooms. Included breakfast is good. Bagel, fruit, butter and jam with unlimited milk and cereal. Kitchen lacks many utensils. Wi-Fi is ONLY in common rooms. Charge for storing luggage. Pricey, but by NYC standards it would be considered cheap. Given the range of hostels in NYC, I would probably try my luck somewhere else next time.


77%

I liked the location, it was just 5 minutes from the underground to Time Square, the staff in the kitchen are not very nice though, having a pocker face all the time is not the atittude the would show.


89%

Das Hostel hat leider recht viele schlechten Bewertungen, die mir auch am Anfang Sorge bereitet haben. Einige Kritikpunkte treffen zwar tatsächlich zu, sind aber nicht so schlimm wie sie dargestellt werden (Sicherheit, langweiliges Essen, heruntergekommene Zimmer)wenn man den niedrigen Preis beachtet und seine Ansprüche nicht zu hoch setzt. Andere Kritikpunkte konnte ich nicht sehen (Sauberkeit top, Staff top). Ich würde immer wieder hingehen, für den kleinen Geldbeutel ist es ein ideales Hostel


94%

Vooral het sanitair vond ik wonderbaarlijk schoon. Het is simpel maar werd (denk ik) meerdere keren per dag gecontroleerd en schoongemaakt. Het is een ideaal low budget logeer adres in Manhatten. Mijn volgende bezoek aan New York logeer ik er graag weer. Bedankt Chelsea Hostel!


74%

Central Location and clean, best value for Money. In Otter Hotels You have to Pay More than the Double and they are also Not better

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location, very cheap and my belongings were very secure. Also, great wifi! The atmosphere at the hostel is almost non existent, the kitchen lacks basic utensils (you are only provided with plastic forks and spoons) and the toilets do not even have soap to wash your hands! Great if you are always out and about in New York and if you generally eat out rather than cook. They have a pizza night on Wednesday but there are no actual organised activities.


74%

It is a little sad that the kitchen and the common area already close at 11 p.m. The security standards were very good and the location is awesome!


66%

An ordinary hostel in central New York. A lot of noice from the pipes, so I didn´t have a good sleep at all the one night I stayed there.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Es un lugar que queda bien ubicado para visitar el sur y el norte de las isla. En cuanto al lugar es tranquilo y acogedor, su personal es muy amable. Sugerencia llevar laptop para acceso a wifi ya que sino debes pagar 2 dolares por 20 minutos.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

It was cold in the room, but the whole stay was great. Perfect value for money.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Decent sized room for what you'd expect in New York, we dealt with one very lovely man at reception. Downside was that there was a lot of noise particularly at night, there was a lot of banging.


69%

Staffs are not kind.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(259 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback