X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Citadel Youth Hostel Reviews

Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1411 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

I ended up getting the top bunk in a 13 person room. No problem right? It would have been fine were it not for the fact that this hostel doesn't believe in safety rails. I spent the entire night turning very carefully so I wouldn't fall off the damn thing. Not to mention the fact there's no AC, and it was sweltering hot. Also, some bell or screaming will wake you up every damn hour of the night. Don't reccommend it.


69%

The location is great and the manager welcomed me with kindness and all the information I needed. However, the 5 beds room was certainly not worthy the money that I spent. The room is at the ground level, with no window and extremely humid. The five beds are squeezed in two tiny rooms, a few centimeters one to the other. I imagine that the other rooms are much better, but certainly more expensive.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Very, very small kitchen and even smaller bathrooms. Internet only in the Lobby. Good location and very friendly staff though.


97%

The only thing that was odd was that they don't offer toilet paper because it clogs the pipe so instead they installed washers. It's a great place to stay but buy baby wipes!


69%

Cosy hostel situated in Jerusalems old city just five minutes from the Western Wall and the Dome of the Rock. The Staff is very helpfull and speak perfect english. However, bathrooms and showers are extremly tiny so using them can be somewhat of a mission. Also, be warned: There are no toiletpaper avalible anywhere, instead the hostel have installed flushers on the toilets...

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

the girls dorm is windowless, hot and stuffy. the roof is packed with people. it is a great atmospheric building and friendly place but really very cramped and hot in the summer. I would not recommend the girls' dorm at all and especially in summer but some of the private rooms looked nice. there is no toilet paper and it really feels like the service is being provided absolutely as cheaply as possible

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

It is a small hostel with a familiy-like atmosphere. The roof top has a great view over the old city of Jerusalem. The staff was very kind and have good ideas for restaurants and pubs when you asked.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Location great, in the heart of the city, where life is, just pass every day the market. Staff was really helpfull, thx for it, guys. It was nice time spent there, definitely.


89%

Met some really great people here, also loved the architecture of the place. Very old building, stone walls, great place to stay. View from the roof was phenomenal! Wifi was spotty (sometimes my phone couldn't connect), but you can always use the computer in the lobby if need be.


83%

great location and very helpful stuff. internet could work better ;)


71%

Everyone fighting for wif fi signal (only available at reception)- poor atmosphere as a result


94%

This is a brilliant hostel in a fantastic place. I recommend it to everyone.


74%

Nice but is not really good to stay on the roof. It's really cold and they just don't specify it when you make the reservation. If you stay on the roof you will sleep in the cold, with sleeping bags and at 4 in the morning an damn bell will ring and as you are outside, for sure it will wake u up. The room is good. And the location is excellent!


71%

Excellent location and attentive staff. The place can be better with a more secured storage area for 'Left Luggage' instead of them simply left on floor where there's a regular traffic. Also, kitchen plus dining facilities are not sufficient. 2 small benches on a mini table and 2 useable gas burners are just not enough.


83%

This was for a mattress on the roof. There was no tent provided, even though the hostelworld site promises a tent. The person who stayed there says, "It's a great hostel, but on the pricey side but you get what you pay for, you really do."


66%

While the location was excellent and most of the staff quite friendly and helpful a good scrub wouldn't hurt the citadel hostel. The thick stone walls add to the atmosphere but I can't recommend anyone to share a dorm as the rooms are very small and with only small windows. Doesn't seem to be a nice place to sleep. We had a double room which was okay and quite. I can recommend the Falafel place at the corner of St.Marks street! :-)

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Barely any lockers and the lockers they had where very small, wifi was only in the lobby area which is small and cramped with not a good connection. Also thought i was staying in a tent not on a roof freezing cold.


69%

We had a very pleasant stay at your hostel. But u guys need to do something about the means of ventialtion, especially in the doorm on ground level!


31%

bathrooms and kitchen were VERY DIRTY, also the common areas. they are NO TENTS on the roof even they advertise them and we paid for them! be prepare that they dont fix it for you. the receptionist told us in case of rain we will get wet. so nice attitude, isnt? .( The old guy sitting on the reception is disaster for the hostel! stupid jokes and the worst service ever! I visited a lot of hostels and this one was the most dirtiest and unfriendly one!

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • sanbanana
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
According to our records, the client did not arrive as per her reservation instead she arrived the next day. We have the liberty to charge her the full amount instead and in good will, we charged her the same amount as in her reservation.The old guy immediately explained to her that there is no tent and in the event of rain there are other arrangements at no extra cost. Cleaners work around the clock. 2 of them are residents and work 24 hours and we had no complaints from any client whatsoever.

31%

Smelly rooms, rude staff, overpriced, over-hyped, stay here if you absolutely don't have any other choice. Upon arrival we changed our mind to even check in after seeing the "room" they offered.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear : you never stayed at the hostel ,you canceled last minute for one night,we charged you for it like any business world,you booked a "single" room then surprised us with a companion because you didn't want to pay extra, we wanted to upgrade you but you didn't wanna pay extra then you yelled at the girl and were so rude to her because she charged you for the 1 day you didn't want to stay and our staff was the rude one? ,anyway thank you for the review and for being honest.

(62 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback