X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Citadel Youth Hostel Reviews

Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1543 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Our double room was very cold and difficult to heat which is not that comfortable in the winter. Stove in the kitchen does not work, so you cant really prepare warm food. Outside of our room there was a horrible sound coming from the neighbours watersystem honking and disturbing all night and day. At the reception the did not take this very seriously. In the two days we stayed there was never really any hot water. The hostel itsself is beautifully set and the staff is friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really happy you decided to choose our hostel for your stay in the holy land and we do apologize for any problems that occurred while staying here ,as you may know its over 500 year old building but we will do our best to fix those problems for the future .

69%

The rooms are quite cold (beginning of March).

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thus is my FAVORITE place to stay in Jerusalem. Ive been coming here for five years and I have always had a great experience. The staff is incresibly helpful, the view from the roof is stunning, the location is maximally convenient, but the real draw is building itself. You are staying in a castle. Get the triple deluxe if you can swing it. Best room in Jerusalem.


77%

Good location like 2 blocks from Jaffa gate, in old city. Israel is expensive in general, so for the price of the dorm they don't give you breakfast (doesn't has any food, just water) or towel. I went in winter and the room was quite cold. They have tour information, computer free, wifi just in common areas.


86%

even if we just booked for the dorm they upgraded us for free into a three persons room really nice! The atmosphere and the people where really nice as well

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really good and quiet hostel. The tarrace on the rooftop is amazing

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The old guy was awesome! The room was very cold! No WiFi upstairs. Good location if u want to be in the cold city! Not a party hostel


71%

Good hostel with a good panoramic view of the city on the roof. The showers are not good but they have hot water. No heater on the room, had the coldest night I've ever had. I felt bad for Ester, one of the staff members, she seemed like a nice lady but looked always sad, I think the boss demands too much of her and is always criticizing her, the time I was there she was working all day cleaning the hostel and other things and at night she got the night shift on the reception, was up all night:(


89%

Great location, nice and quiet, very easy place to stay.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

While overall a nice hostel, I cannot recommend the 13 bed room, little space, you need to go over the rooftop (so outside!) to enter, after it rained they were kind enough to show us a different (a little more convenient route) which annoyed me a little bit, since I explicitly asked if there was a different way and was told there was not. It was also pretty cold during the night Also they seem to have troubles with the sewage system, therefore it smells quite a bit, quite often.


89%

Great value for Jerusalem, plus great atmosphere and roof terrace. Only one negative: It really smells bad all the time on the second floor from the shared bathrooms.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Nowhere to put your stuff, just under the bed (and I don't know how often it's swept under there). Would be nice to have some hooks or shelves on the walls near our beds. And quite often, no toilet paper in the bathrooms. Hot water issue needs to be fixed (runs cold a lot during your shower). Fantastic views over Jerusalem from the roof, decent kitchen to use.


60%

Everything about the hostel is just a little bit awkward. If you plan to stay in the dorms, do NOT choose the 8 bed; it's basically a tiny cave with beds and bunk beds crammed together, room for nothing. There is no hot water in most bathrooms, except the ones by the kitchen, and even then, just barely. Everything smells old and dirty like a port-o-potty. You have to duck everywhere you go or you'll crack your cranium. It's difficult to find plugs. The views from the roof are pretty great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You stayed in a large 13 bed dorm with several bathrooms. All bathrooms are equipped with toilet papers and 3 rounds are made daily on the bathrooms to make them clean and provide toilet paper. Hot showers are available 24 hours and are heated by solar power then at night by electricity. Electrical inlets are abundant in the hostel and in all rooms and lobbies.

80%

I liked the cold showers very much. It is good for your health and energizes the body. Thank you for everything. Very friendly stuff. Axel

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Bring your own toilet paper, there is none at the end of the day. Too noisy, if you are staying on the first floor, expect to have to listen to people (and staff) speaking by the reception desk until midnight. The water is always cold for showers in the mornings and DO NOT take a single room because you will have to go up two floor and won 3 floors to get there (and if you complain, they will give you a room closer for much higher prices). The staff are not polite, they just tolerate guests

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the review ,but i do not understand how you got a room for much higher price ,you had a single room that you complained about and our staff was kind enough to switch you to a quad room and only charge you 20NIS($5) extra per night on top of your original reservation,hows that over charging you ,i remember vividly how our staff treated you with respect and politeness but i guess our staff gets the 82% because they are rude ,we appreciate your business and (Honesty) . Adam

1 2 Next » last »
(35 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback