X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Citadel Youth Hostel Reviews

Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1422 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

While the location was excellent and most of the staff quite friendly and helpful a good scrub wouldn't hurt the citadel hostel. The thick stone walls add to the atmosphere but I can't recommend anyone to share a dorm as the rooms are very small and with only small windows. Doesn't seem to be a nice place to sleep. We had a double room which was okay and quite. I can recommend the Falafel place at the corner of St.Marks street! :-)

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Barely any lockers and the lockers they had where very small, wifi was only in the lobby area which is small and cramped with not a good connection. Also thought i was staying in a tent not on a roof freezing cold.


69%

We had a very pleasant stay at your hostel. But u guys need to do something about the means of ventialtion, especially in the doorm on ground level!


31%

bathrooms and kitchen were VERY DIRTY, also the common areas. they are NO TENTS on the roof even they advertise them and we paid for them! be prepare that they dont fix it for you. the receptionist told us in case of rain we will get wet. so nice attitude, isnt? .( The old guy sitting on the reception is disaster for the hostel! stupid jokes and the worst service ever! I visited a lot of hostels and this one was the most dirtiest and unfriendly one!

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • sanbanana
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
According to our records, the client did not arrive as per her reservation instead she arrived the next day. We have the liberty to charge her the full amount instead and in good will, we charged her the same amount as in her reservation.The old guy immediately explained to her that there is no tent and in the event of rain there are other arrangements at no extra cost. Cleaners work around the clock. 2 of them are residents and work 24 hours and we had no complaints from any client whatsoever.

31%

Smelly rooms, rude staff, overpriced, over-hyped, stay here if you absolutely don't have any other choice. Upon arrival we changed our mind to even check in after seeing the "room" they offered.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear : you never stayed at the hostel ,you canceled last minute for one night,we charged you for it like any business world,you booked a "single" room then surprised us with a companion because you didn't want to pay extra, we wanted to upgrade you but you didn't wanna pay extra then you yelled at the girl and were so rude to her because she charged you for the 1 day you didn't want to stay and our staff was the rude one? ,anyway thank you for the review and for being honest.

80%

I think that for being a hostel situated in an old palestinian house in The Old City of Jerusalem, they have done the most out of it. Because it is a low price offer, there were people from all over the world and especially young people. That was very positive!

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Who ever wanted to know, how industrial farming feels like, should stay in this place when it's raining. The house was fully booked (even the roof - without canopy!). One day it started raining and everybody came inside the building - sleeping in the small kitchen, in front of the bathrooms, in the floors... Our room was too small for even a shelf with window to the floor. No fresh air, no air condition at 32 degree. Most of the bathrooms don't have windows. view from the roof is breathtaking.


100%

Very nice people, client oriented, always helping everybody.


77%

On-roof dorm is amazing because of scenery but cold! Very windy up there. Bathrooms are a bit too basic, showers neef to be held, dont hang, very hard to wash ur hair. Building and location are very cool!


69%

We were given the complete wrong information from the staff, were told the mini bus to border ran all day and that we Did not have to pay departure tax.. WRONG- mini bus stops at 1, had to hire a private taxi for 300 sheckles then found out at border we had to pay 182 sheckles to leave- staff was not knowledgable or helpful at all, rooms way over priced, wish we stayed on Jaffa street

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry about what happened ,but i really don't get why would the staff tell you this knowing fully well that all 3 boarders to Jordan don't open all day ,but in the end of the day the staff does their best to help and it is your responsibility to search and plan your trip better before blaming the staff and everyone else .the staff in this hostel has one of the highest marks here so if things didn't go as you planned then hope you can learn from this and do more research.

60%

I stayed in a female dorm (9 beds) and it was very badly ventilated. There was no window, the room was dusty. The toilets had water leakage, so the floor was often inundated. However, the location was very good.


57%

disappointing, not clean and showers and toilets in poor condition


77%

The roof top tent dorm is a joke. There is no tent because the city told them to take it down. What's left is a bunch of dirty matresses on a roof that is not covered from wind and rain and it can be cold at night in Jerusalem. I was not so happy with the excuse that Hostelworld is not providing a category for this case so they decided to choose "tent"... I would call that cheating... btw: the "normal" dorms inside the building are nice and clean and the guys at the reception are friendly...


57%

fridge door was off when I got up. Many people's food was exposed. They bought new fridge in a few days. No wifi in room. Horrible to have to walk downstairs to sit, when you pay to stay in room. Rooms are not like photos. Passover is not the time to come. Trains and Buses are down. Stranded. I would never stay there again. Get your roof view free at Austria hospice. Overcrowded and wasted money on a taxi cab because I was told buses ran. Saved money washing clothes in bathroom. Win in the end.


83%

Sleeping on the roof is quite an experience in terms of really inhaling the vibes of this city. You should bring an extra sweater just to make sure that you do not freeze on a windy night.


71%

The best thing about the hostel is the location, right smack in the center of the old city. and everything important is 5 min walking distance. Other point, if you book the cheapest option, it is not a tent, but sleeping on the roof, under and on old used (prob never washed) blankets and mattresses. But you do have an amazing view of the old city, and wake up to sunlight and church bells. It is adventure, but you should be an adventurous person to like it. and for 14 Euro a night, it is worth it


43%

The manager is a very nice and helpful guy. Unfortunately thats it. The facilities are not at all. The dorms were dirty and dusty and the showers were not nice at all. We would not recommend this place.


77%

Really nice place to stay! The athmopsphere is nice sleeping in a room with high ceiling and old walls. The 13 person dorm was absolutely fine. It was kind of crowded because all the rooms were booked out plus a few people have slept on the rooftop outside. Book in advance!!!


54%

They have tried to squeeze every last inch out of this place which makes it horrible. There are no towels, the rooms have about 2 sockets to go around everyone, lockers are at extra cost, wifi is in the downstairs communal area (tiny and uncomfortable). The showers are over the toilets and felt dirty. Overall it was generally clean but it needs a massive refurb. Having said all of the above this is apparently one of the best hostels in Jerusalem. I guess some might call it character but its like being in a


80%

Very very helpful staf. No wifi exept the loby


1 2 3 Next » last »
(60 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback