X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Citadel Youth Hostel Reviews

Jerusalem Old city Jaffa gate, 20 st Marks road, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1439 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Location great, in the heart of the city, where life is, just pass every day the market. Staff was really helpfull, thx for it, guys. It was nice time spent there, definitely.


89%

Met some really great people here, also loved the architecture of the place. Very old building, stone walls, great place to stay. View from the roof was phenomenal! Wifi was spotty (sometimes my phone couldn't connect), but you can always use the computer in the lobby if need be.


83%

great location and very helpful stuff. internet could work better ;)


71%

Everyone fighting for wif fi signal (only available at reception)- poor atmosphere as a result


94%

This is a brilliant hostel in a fantastic place. I recommend it to everyone.


89%

Really well located, and a charming place to sleep, under the rocks, nice rooftop view!


74%

Nice but is not really good to stay on the roof. It's really cold and they just don't specify it when you make the reservation. If you stay on the roof you will sleep in the cold, with sleeping bags and at 4 in the morning an damn bell will ring and as you are outside, for sure it will wake u up. The room is good. And the location is excellent!


71%

Excellent location and attentive staff. The place can be better with a more secured storage area for 'Left Luggage' instead of them simply left on floor where there's a regular traffic. Also, kitchen plus dining facilities are not sufficient. 2 small benches on a mini table and 2 useable gas burners are just not enough.


83%

This was for a mattress on the roof. There was no tent provided, even though the hostelworld site promises a tent. The person who stayed there says, "It's a great hostel, but on the pricey side but you get what you pay for, you really do."


66%

While the location was excellent and most of the staff quite friendly and helpful a good scrub wouldn't hurt the citadel hostel. The thick stone walls add to the atmosphere but I can't recommend anyone to share a dorm as the rooms are very small and with only small windows. Doesn't seem to be a nice place to sleep. We had a double room which was okay and quite. I can recommend the Falafel place at the corner of St.Marks street! :-)

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Barely any lockers and the lockers they had where very small, wifi was only in the lobby area which is small and cramped with not a good connection. Also thought i was staying in a tent not on a roof freezing cold.


69%

We had a very pleasant stay at your hostel. But u guys need to do something about the means of ventialtion, especially in the doorm on ground level!


31%

bathrooms and kitchen were VERY DIRTY, also the common areas. they are NO TENTS on the roof even they advertise them and we paid for them! be prepare that they dont fix it for you. the receptionist told us in case of rain we will get wet. so nice attitude, isnt? .( The old guy sitting on the reception is disaster for the hostel! stupid jokes and the worst service ever! I visited a lot of hostels and this one was the most dirtiest and unfriendly one!

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • sanbanana
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
According to our records, the client did not arrive as per her reservation instead she arrived the next day. We have the liberty to charge her the full amount instead and in good will, we charged her the same amount as in her reservation.The old guy immediately explained to her that there is no tent and in the event of rain there are other arrangements at no extra cost. Cleaners work around the clock. 2 of them are residents and work 24 hours and we had no complaints from any client whatsoever.

31%

Smelly rooms, rude staff, overpriced, over-hyped, stay here if you absolutely don't have any other choice. Upon arrival we changed our mind to even check in after seeing the "room" they offered.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear : you never stayed at the hostel ,you canceled last minute for one night,we charged you for it like any business world,you booked a "single" room then surprised us with a companion because you didn't want to pay extra, we wanted to upgrade you but you didn't wanna pay extra then you yelled at the girl and were so rude to her because she charged you for the 1 day you didn't want to stay and our staff was the rude one? ,anyway thank you for the review and for being honest.

80%

I think that for being a hostel situated in an old palestinian house in The Old City of Jerusalem, they have done the most out of it. Because it is a low price offer, there were people from all over the world and especially young people. That was very positive!

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Who ever wanted to know, how industrial farming feels like, should stay in this place when it's raining. The house was fully booked (even the roof - without canopy!). One day it started raining and everybody came inside the building - sleeping in the small kitchen, in front of the bathrooms, in the floors... Our room was too small for even a shelf with window to the floor. No fresh air, no air condition at 32 degree. Most of the bathrooms don't have windows. view from the roof is breathtaking.


100%

Very nice people, client oriented, always helping everybody.


77%

On-roof dorm is amazing because of scenery but cold! Very windy up there. Bathrooms are a bit too basic, showers neef to be held, dont hang, very hard to wash ur hair. Building and location are very cool!


69%

We were given the complete wrong information from the staff, were told the mini bus to border ran all day and that we Did not have to pay departure tax.. WRONG- mini bus stops at 1, had to hire a private taxi for 300 sheckles then found out at border we had to pay 182 sheckles to leave- staff was not knowledgable or helpful at all, rooms way over priced, wish we stayed on Jaffa street

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry about what happened ,but i really don't get why would the staff tell you this knowing fully well that all 3 boarders to Jordan don't open all day ,but in the end of the day the staff does their best to help and it is your responsibility to search and plan your trip better before blaming the staff and everyone else .the staff in this hostel has one of the highest marks here so if things didn't go as you planned then hope you can learn from this and do more research.

60%

I stayed in a female dorm (9 beds) and it was very badly ventilated. There was no window, the room was dusty. The toilets had water leakage, so the floor was often inundated. However, the location was very good.


1 2 3 Next » last »
(60 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback