Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1090 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1090 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ewoutsirks1543
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Sep 2017
9.4

Best value for money hostel that I have had in Australia! Very clean hostel, friendly staff, great facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gemmahazel
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Sep 2017
8.9

Very clean, no cheap corner cutting, great building with comfy beds and tons of nice outdoor areas and the staff are all super helpful and friendly. I even got picked up from the greyhound terminal at a different time from their usual shuttles - and now I'm staying longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2017
10.0

Great people, very helpful . The owner set me up with a job.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Aug 2017
9.1

really nice staff, pick ups were good. facilities in the kitchen were the best we've had in Aus so far - it had an oven!! nice and clean. not too far walk away from shops. comfortable nights sleep, not a party atmosphere but still able to chat to other guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2017
10.0

Excellent there. Clean and spacious.Very nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Aug 2017
9.7

Not a party hostel but if your looking for a nice place stay and a goodnight sleep then this is your hostel ... only stayed for one night but would defo go back for longer next time. Townsville is a lovely place to stroll around.on downside is the wifi is only in certain areas

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Aug 2017
8.6

Very good hostel in mission beach. There are no lockers in the room and there weren't a lot of people. The kitchen is big but not so tidy. The staff is friendly and I extend my stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
7.7

Really nice hostel, the lady who owns/works there is superb. The pickup was over 20 minutes late though so that pulls the rating down a bit. The wifi is fantastic! Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • chantelledumbell951461
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
5.7

The rooms are far too small, having only 3 in a room rather than 8 in other hostels I've been in would have been a luxury however the room was minuscule and cramped. Although budget I've paid the same in numerous places and got much more. Amenities shower bathroom etc were fantastic however.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
8.6

The staff are amazingly helpful and go out of their way to make sure you feel comfortable. Their bus service to and from the boats to magnetic island are super :) thank you

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×