Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 953 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel Located at 262 Walker St, , Townsville.
Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel
Australia
Townsville Queensland QLD 4810 262 Walker St
89% 953
-19.2611982 146.8131136
Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • silversurfer97
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Großartiges Hostel, super sauber, sehr schnelles WLAN, ordentliche Küche. Zimmer sind schön, Kühlschrank und Klimaanlage vorhanden. Shuttle fährt regelmäßig, sehr nette Mitarbeiter. Eins der besten Hostels in Australien, vor allem bei nur 20$ pro Nacht

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
10.0

great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels I stayed at during my time in Australia. Friendly staff, clean rooms, all the facilities you need, some fun spaces to chill out and all that at inexpensive rates. Wifi only in the common room close to reception. It's a block away from the CBD, including a Woolworths and about a 15 min walk to both the Ferry and bus terminal and the beach. It's also a 5 min walk to walking tracks to Castle Hill. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Dec 2016
5.1

Very old hostel with below average facilities. Water didn't turn on when we tried to shower. Towel had stains and WiFi only worked in common area.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • TravellingWelshman
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.6

Just what you want from a hostel really, got all the basic necessities you'd want. The only thing missing for me was any lockers (there were cupboards with a latch too small for my padlock) and if you want to be picky the wi-fi only worked right next to the reception. Otherwise (particularly considering price) it was great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Dec 2016
7.1

Thought it was the best hostel we stayed in terms of facilities. We had a fridge in our room and the kitchen was well-equipped with bits and bobs you need to cook. Staff were extremely friendly. Only downside was the cleanliness of the bathrooms, despite being gender specific, members of the opposite gender would still use the facilities. The bathroom on the floor we stayed should be refurbished, as it is grotty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.1

Would definitely stay here again. The hostel has good facilities. Wifi is only available in certain areas but luckily our room was next to this so it was available in the room, Well stocked kitchen area and towels in bathrooms. Little atmosphere however as it's a quiet hostel but this suited us well as we didn't want to party. Staff were helpful and it's nice that the hostel have a shuttle to the pier a couple of times a day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Dec 2016
10.0

Good facitlies i.e big bathrooms and nice showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Dec 2016
9.7

So great we came back for another night after our stay at magnetic island.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
7.4

Civic guest house is a really lovely hostel, it had a really homey feel and just what we needed for a 2 day break. But they have a serious problem with security, we had a bag of food worth nearly $20 taken from the fridge with no trace and so did other people. In one of the rooms on our last night 3 people had their phones taken, one girl also had her wallet and passport taken, it was in a locker but it was so flimsy the thief just broke in. Such a shame as this hostel could be really lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.