Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 855 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 855 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel Located at 262 Walker St, , Townsville.
Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel
Australia
Townsville Queensland QLD 4810 262 Walker St
88% 855
-19.2611982 146.8131136
Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
9.1

This hotel is really good for backpackers who want to improve their English by talking people because the receptionist is really friendly person and she creates good atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • demelza93
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2016
8.0

Really lovely place to stay, very chilled out and free wifi 🙂

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
9.7

I loved this place and was sad to have only stayed here one night! It was one of the few hostels I've stayed in that had a really homely feel to it. Very reasonably priced too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
6.3

Dont know what the hypeis about this place. Kitchen shuts at 930 Wifi doesnt work in rooms or back of hostel The staff are friendly like all other hostel staff The rooms are clean and decently spacious But reef hostel down the road is alot nicer. Maybe I was just teh extra $1 debit card charge and 9.30 am checkout though :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, If you're going to look for a fault you'll find it. Anywhere. We charge a $1-00 card fee, compared to the $20-00 cash security deposit charged by the Reef. We close our kitchen at 9:30, for the same reason, so that we don't have to charge a $20- security deposit from you Seeing that you so freely advertised the Reef at my expense, I would like to clear up a few things. 1. We do provide a free shuttle to and from The Greyhound Terminal as well as the Sealink/Fantasea Ferry Terminal and railway station All free of charge.. 2. We do provide FREE luggage storage to our guests, for an hour, one day or even if they are travelling to Bali, or just going to Magnetic Island for the day, we can even store, Oversize Jumbo cases, free of charge. 3. Our guesthouse is not situated in the City Centre, which is an advantage to our guests, as we are not being bombarded by music and the noise from the night clubs down the street. 4. Like us, the Reef's Wi-Fi is also only available in designated common areas. Fair enough, check-out is at 9:30am for our dorms and 10-00am for my private rooms, but, then on the other hand, our guests are welcome to stay and use the free wi-fi , the kitchen and all the other facilities at the guesthouse until they are ready to go, even if they have to catch a late flight, we do not expect of our guests “to be out of the hostel at any specific time”, unlike the guesthouse you advertised, on the review you gave us. The reviews that we have received from our guests, were not done by us, so if you perceived the good reviews as a “hype” then so be it, did you maybe stop to think, that the guests that gave us the hyped up reviews, felt the same way about us, as you do the Reef? We have bought this guesthouse and we have invested blood sweat and tears everything we have in it, not to become rich, but to share our passion and serve young people that are the same age as our children. I guess everyone is entitled to their own opinion., we are in competition with no one, we have no desire to play the game of being better than any of the other backpackers, we are trying to deliver a better service than what we did yesterday, so we do take constructive criticism as serious and we try and improve on that.

8th Jul 2016
9.1

Very homely hostel. Had a brilliant time here. The beds are so comfy and the BBQ saved us plenty of money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
8.9

Really great staff, cleanliness amenities and position my only small complaint no hot water in the morning when i went for a shower at 8.30 and my window wouldnt lock so a bit of a concern for me

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jun 2016
8.6

Really friendly staff there with all the facilities you need. Wi-Fi only works in the reception area, which was a little annoying. A nice hostel that I would recommend. Good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • JClark14
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jun 2016
8.9

My girlfriend and I stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. The staff were very friendly and willing to help you with everything. We booked a trip to the billabong sanctuary which was awesome. The kitchen was good had everything you needed. We did pay for a 6 bed room and got put in a 8 bed but wasn't really a issue as there was plenty of room. Overall a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
8.9

I couldn't go wrong with this place. The staff were very friendly and helpful and they made you feel welcome there. I had a bit of a problem with a fellow roommate who came in drunk and just caused problems in the room. But the staff were aware and took action. Appart from that everything was OK. Free shuttle was very convenient and well timed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st May 2016
8.6

The staff where all lovely, they have a really nice communal area. There are lockable cabinets in each room though for a dorm of 4 there where only two. A little tricky if you travel solos. Everything was very clean and the kitchen was great. I would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.