Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 975 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 975 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.9

Really nice hostel - we arrived late, and even though reception was closed they accommodated ;-) we also had to catch the ferry, where they provided a free shuttle bus ;-) really friendly and helpful staff and lovely cool rooms ;-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.6

good: Nice little Hostel! Very good kitchen facilities! Pick up from greyhound! bad: no shuttle to greyhound in the morning - can't switch the light on in the lounge on your own in the morning to go to the bus...rooms without aircon and fan - but was able to change!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.1

Really enjoyed our stay here, staff were so friendly and the hostel was very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.6

A really lovely guesthouse with friendly staff and a chilled out vibe. There was good wifi in the common areas and the kitchen was spacious with everything you would need. Everywhere was kept clean and the shuttles to the ferry/ bus were useful! Would definately stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Every one was friendly. Everything was clean and it was close to everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
28th Jan 2017
9.1

We stayed here two nights either side of a trip to Magnetic island. The hostel is super chilled out, just what we needed! Double rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the kitchen is clean, though the cookers could be a bit better. Free, fast wifi which works - a rarity for Australian hostels!! The staff here are excellent - incredibly helpful and friendly. Particular thanks to Amore who was a star! They run a shuttle service to the ferry. Check bookme for deals on ferry tickets!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jan 2017
9.1

I loved this hostel! Only negative is it is far away from the Greyhound terminal and the Strand, but very close to Castle Hill though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
6.9

I was given a friendly tour of the place but other than that the experience was pretty mediocre. When I was shown to my room I could visibly tell no beds were open and the employee said "someone will clear out just give it a couple hours". The staff could not believe they had double booked me and could also not find me another room. Took ages to figure it out at 11pm. I was lucky someone was at the front desk.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • silversurfer97
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Großartiges Hostel, super sauber, sehr schnelles WLAN, ordentliche Küche. Zimmer sind schön, Kühlschrank und Klimaanlage vorhanden. Shuttle fährt regelmäßig, sehr nette Mitarbeiter. Eins der besten Hostels in Australien, vor allem bei nur 20$ pro Nacht

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
10.0

great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.