X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel Reviews

Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
4241 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Super friendly, cheap, and nice atmosphere.


94%

Great hostel! Bar downstairs is awesome. Great environment to meet people and beer isn't too expensive. Happy hour is a good deal. Ignore the reviews about rooms being loud, it's not that bad at all. There is construction going on but they don't start till after check out. Best hostel to stay at in Copenhagen!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, thank you so much! We really happy the read your comments. Underbar (our downstairs most recent bar) where you can find the best party in weekends, popular among travelers and locals, so perfect place to meet some danes. We also have the best deals to set up the social atmosphere that makes this place unique. Glad to hear you have a good night of sleep and a fantastic time. When is your next visit? Let us know! Cheers from Downtown Team

91%

I had a great time at the hostel--perfect location and great environment for travelers. I wish that the bathrooms had been a little cleaner (the floors were often wet since the showers were in the same space as the toilet) and my friend who was with me was a little nervous about leaving her bag in the storage closet after we checked out but before we left. Overall, I loved the hostel staff and would definitely recommend to a friend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really appreciate your positive feedback about our hostel. We do take pride in taking care of our guests' needs the best way we can, very happy to hear you loved our staff :). If you're traveling to our area gain soon, let us know! Cheers from Downtown Team

100%

The hostel was very clean, and all of the dinners/breakfasts really encouraged everyone to get to know each other and chat. It was really nice.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We know the best things in a trip are all the friends and memories you will carry along to your next city, so we are very keen on creating the right vibe and the social environment to ensure it ;). I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Have a safe trip, cheers from Downtown Team

97%

One of the best hostels I've ever visited. A warm welcome for me & my friends, a bar with discounts for guests and an amazing atmosphere, open untill 5AM. Also good security with multiple card checks to reach the rooms (+ large lockers). Free city tours started at the hostel, which led to a nice pub crawl. Clean sanitary facilities and a super location to top it all off. If I go to CPH again, I'll definitely stay there again. RECOMMENDED!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Happy Guest. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire bar staff enjoyed helping you as much as you enjoyed your stay. Security is a must in our place and the location is simply unbeatable. We can't wait for your next time here, take care! Cheers from Downtown Team

100%

It was a very nice stay !! I will recommand it to my friends and i would like to return !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for a perfect rating! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to a friend. We hope to welcome you back to our place soon. Cheers from Downtown Team

91%

I would definitely recommend this hostel and I will definitely be staying again! The atmosphere is amazing. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the bar set up is perfect for meeting other travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your words and your trust in us. We are very happy to hear that our staff and vibe met your expectations. We can't wait to see you again :) Travel Safe and cheers from Downtown Team

97%

Excellent service enjoyed my one night stay

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We are so happy to hear you had such a great time and our staff make such a good impression even if it was just for one night. We cannot wait to see you again, hopefully for more than one night :). Travel safe and regards from Downtown Team

86%

It was a lovely hostel with a great atmosphere. Even though we went during off season in January there were still loads of people staying there. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was also central.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel was lovely and clean. Great value and fantastic location in the middle of the city! Could have used more toilets and showers but made do :)

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. Our locations is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hostel. Regarding our toilets and showers we are currently in process of building some extra ones. Hope you can check it yourself next time around. let us know so we will be ready to provide you with the best service you you can have the 100% experience that we are so keen on providing to our guests. Kind regards from Downtown Team

83%

It was pretty noisey, windows aren't doubled glazed. Music and noise from pub went on till 5 !

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you had issues with the noise. We are changing all the windows in the building for double glazed to improve the sound isolation :) This won't be an issue next time you come around. Cheers and regards from Downtown Team.

91%

Undergoing renovations at the moment, but I absolutely loved this hostel. There is a breakfast buffet, free dinner, and happy hour downstairs in the bar downstairs. Moreover, free walking tours visit twice a day, and they have live music every week. The atmosphere is amazing; it's a great place to meet new people. Not to mention it's in a great spot in downtown Copenhagen (not too far from main sights + central station). I can't say enough good things about this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for this wonderful feedback! We know we have top location and we hope that help you to enjoy all the must see in Copenhagen. We know how important is creating a social environment that allows travelers to meat each other cause at the end of the day that's what traveling is all about :) We cannot wait for you to come back! Take care and regards from Downtown Team

89%

The evening vibe was terrific and the staff was great!! They worked so hard to keep things clean. Constantly picking up after everyone. I will definitely come back! Downfalls: people were really loud, even after "curfew". The toilets has some issues flushing. The baggage room didn't feel as secure as I was hoping.


100%

Great hostel and great staff.....the only thing I would change is I would make happy hour for 2 hours...7-9. It would help add to a social environment


83%

Good hostel, great location, friendly staff. Breakfast a bit of a rip off though. While the bar is great for meeting people if you're on the lower floors it can be very loud at night. Also a lot of loud construction work going on. Weird older guy in my room which was a tad disconcerting but otherwise good.


20%

dirty rooms, dirty bathrooms, rooms in a different building from the reception, work in progress in the floor with a lot of noise in the early morning, no towels, wifi damaged, disaster hostel...i travelled in europe and Australia...worst hostel ever visited

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback, it is of great value to us to hear what our guest think. We are at the process of rebuilding all our dorms to make them better and more customer friendly. We apologize if this was cause some noise during your stay, we try to keep this to a minimum. The Rooms are in the same building, however we do have a separate entrance that guests can use. We do provide towels in all ensuite rooms and also rent them for 10DKK in reception, and our WIFI has just been upgraded. We are deeply sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience and we hope that you would come back and again in the future so we can provide a better experience for you. Regards, Downtown team

66%

The hostel seemed nice enough, and the price was okay for Scandinavia. My experience was a bit tainted however with an incredibly rude woman on reception at the time of check in. She may have been having a bad day, but it put me off the hostel the rest of the time. Also, the breakfast is ridiculously expensive - surrounding cafes have much better deals.


54%

The rooms of the hostel where ok! The same the bathrooms! I didnt like the attidude of the woman with black hair at the reception. She was pretty rude and unhelpful. Also there is not a single place to sit and relax quietly. Practically there is no living room only tables of a restaurant and in order to meet someone you have to wait in the bar and drink. Not really fasinated by the atmoshere of this hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We are deeply sorry to hear if you experience rudeness from our staff since it is pretty unusual for us. Mind that our check in time is at 14:00 and when arriving before time we cannot guarantee access to the room, we dot mean to be unhelpful. Regarding the space, we do have a lounge area with a bed to chill, dinning room area, bar area and a whole floor downstairs with tables, sofas and benches, did you check it out? Let us know if you come back, we would love to make our best for you to have a great time here. Cheers from Downtown Team

40%

The hostel has no heat and the water and building is freezing. There is no common area for anyone to hang out in, only a bar. While that sounds fine, you are forced to buy from their alcohol if you want to drink and they do not let you drink your own alcohol anywhere else in the hostel. What hostel prevents you from bringing in your own alcohol and makes you purchase their own overpriced booze? They also yell at you if you bring your own food there so THERE IS NO PLACE TO EAT!!


63%

its ok if you need it for one and only one night. metro station was kinda far. dude inside the room smoking. staff were helpful and nice tho.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(301 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback