Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 6113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 6113 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.1

I really enjoyed my four night stay at the Copenhagen Downtown Hostel. I stayed in a six person mixed room which I liked. I was surprised by how much alcohol was in there when I entered the room at first. The hostel is very close to the central square and other main sights. It's also a short walk from the metro station. This hostel has a bar which is great especially since the bartender gave my group of new friends two free liters of beer as we were playing a drinking game! Great place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.6

I absolutely loved this hostel! The staff were helpful, the bar made it easy to meet fellow travellers and the food and drinks were pretty good! The only thing I disliked about the hostel were the showers. In the mornings the water would be burning hot (no way you could stand under that), at night it would be ice cold and they were dirty.. Furthermore there would be music playing till at least 3 o'clock, which for me wasn't a problem - yay to earplugs! - but it may be something to keep in mind.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, we appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hostel. We are so happy the staff made your stay as enjoyable as possible and that you enjoyed excellent atmosphere in our bar. Regarding the hot water in the morning, we usually take care of those matters immediately, and we apologize if you had bad experience because of it. We look forward to your return. Best wishes, Downtown team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Feb 2017
7.7

Semi-decent hostel on top of a kicking bar/club area. Very dirty. Showers were vile! Great location though. Very easy to meet people, drinks tad overpriced. Loud.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to describe your stay with us. We're sorry you weren't completely satisfied with the cleanliness of our hotel. We'll pass on your feedback to our housekeeping staff. We have great offers at our bar for the guests staying with us, and we are sorry you found it a bit pricey. We hope to have you back here soon. Best regards, Downtown team!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Feb 2017
8.0

Great bar, super helpful staff, and walking distance to most places including the train station. Not the cleanest hostel ever but that's really the only downside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your great review, especially for your kind words about our staff :) As for the cleanliness, we are sorry to hear that, I will forward your comments to our housekeeping team. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again soon :) Regards, Martina

13th Feb 2017
8.6

The hostel was mostly fine - friendly and helpful staff, perfect location. However, I think more attention should be given to maintenance: my locker was broken, so was the power outlet by my bed. However, the staff kindly let me move to another room. In this one, the lights by the desk were not working and when we turned the heater on, water started running in the pipes, making terrible noise. It did not stop even if we turned the heater off, so it was very difficult to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.4

First receptionist in 5 hostel to ask us if we had a godd stay! And on top of that it was indeed a really nice stay. Definitively recommand to anyone for copenhagen. We stayed in generator as well but there is no comparison, downtown is way better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to see you soon again. Cheers from Downtown team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Feb 2017
7.4

This is located very centrally. Staff pleasant, rooms spartan. The whole ground floor is a bar and it is open until 5am with loud music booming. Bear this in mind if you wish to get any sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you so much for your review! It is nice to hear that you liked our location and staff and that your overall stay with us was positive. We feel the bar is a good place to meet fellow travelers as well as locals, but we appreciate that it is not seen as such by every one, and we will take your feedback on board going forward. Best regards, Downtown team!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
9.4

The hostel and staff were great but the bathrooms would've needed more cleaning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We have forwarded this feedback on to our housekeeping department. Happy to hear though you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Hope to see you back! Happy future travels. Kind Regards, Martina

  • liushishang5250
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.0

Very good location as it states in the name. Cleanliness is ok. You would love this hostel if you like to have several drinks at night because it also owns a bar, on the other hand, it will be very noisy if you wang to sleep early...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your positive review! Great to see you appreciated our location so much! We understand that being in this area and having a bar, it can get a bit noisy at times, and we're sorry about that. If you decided to stay with us again you can always ask for a pair of ear plugs from our reception if you need it. Cheers from Downtown team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
10.0

It was an amazing trip and the staff are really nice (special mention to Justin).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay here. We hope that for the next trip here you will stay with us as well. Best wishes, Downtown team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.