X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel Reviews

Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2229 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It's one of the best hostels in which I stayed so far.


100%

Excellent hostel, charming staff and precisely what we wanted for a weekend away in Copenhagen. Take advantage of the free dinner every night from 6:30 pm onwards - my advice is save your seats even before 6 if you don't want to miss out. It saved us a lot of money. The hostel also had bike hire (75 DKK for 12hrs) which was easier and cheaper than finding one around the city. The bunk beds were super comfy - the pillows like clouds. Toilets and showers always clean and the hostel felt secure!

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place to stay!

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This is the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. The nicest too with a really great location and so many bathrooms and showers. Highly recommended!


86%

Staff were friendly and helpful. The bar/cafe/lounge area had a really nice atmosphere and it was easy to meet people. The heating was on way too hot though.


74%

The directions on how to get to the hostel don't make any sense, staff was okay and so were rooms and bathroom. Not enough showers/toilets per floor. They should include mirrors either at the bathrooms or rooms. Breakfast was expensive, but still a good value. I'd definitely stay again because of the atmosphere and the bar. Free diner was great too!


74%

No lockers in rooms. Rooms are practically bunks in an otherwise empty room. Pretty basic. Facilities are OK, but shared between genders. Kitchen was too small and dirty most of the time. Also, don't be fooled by the 'free dinner' - it's only for 3 tables (Aprox. 20-30 people). Still offers OK value for money.


83%

Great hostel, amazing staff. The vibe that one gets from the hostel is outstanding. Would recommend this place to anyone. It is worth it. Furthermore, I appreciate the bike rental, being in a city such as Copenhagen, it is a great asset from the hostel.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

good central location, good facilities and great atmosphere in the bar. the kitchen is a plus!It's not cheap but hei, there is no cheap in scandinavia...probably the best value for money in Copenhagen


91%

couldn't find a better place to enjoy copenhagen! Lovely atmosphere and very nice people. Great buffet for breakfast (that you have to pay but it's cheap for the city and it's really worth it!) and free dinner :) I strongly recommend it!

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very helpful front desk, nice atmosphere. Nice beds clean room and bathrooms. Worth the money


86%

Nice hostel within walking distance to nightlife and many nice bars & nightclubs. Reception can be packed during rush hours, but then you can wait outside or in a near bye cafe.


86%

Pretty cool hostel overall. I got a free drink as a couple of my roommates were ill (I was out partying that night so didn't notice anyway). I didn't like the bathroom design as post anyone having a shower, the whole floor would be covered in yucky water and dirty footprints


97%

Really enjoyed the stay! Catered for all our needs and was in a great location.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The location was excellent, but there was a horrible stinky smell when we arrived and it lasted for two days. Or even longer if we just got used to it. A lot of young people stay there so reserve some earplugs with you if you are a sensitive sleeper. Great atmosphere at the lobby and free dinner was cool!

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

If you are going to Copenhagen whether for a short or a long stay, that's definitively the best hostel you can find. Close to the city center, very clean and with a great vibe. The common area/pub downstair it's the best for meeting lots of new friends every day and drinking beers during happy hour. The STAFF is just AWESOME. Thank you guys for the great time spent together :) Luca


91%

Staff was very helpful, friendly and communication in English was excellent.

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The kitchen was a little small, but the lounge and bar where great and the staff where quite knowledgeable.


54%

Nice if you wanna go out in Copenhaguen, otherwise it is noisy, not very clean and expensive

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

i got a private room with my girlfriend, and we got bunkbeds. this was offcourse a dissapointment but besides that this was the best hostel i have ever been in

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(98 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback