X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel Reviews

Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2515 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Overall, very positive. My only complaints are that the free dinners are limited which means you have to be the table an hour ahead to reserve your spot. Second, there is a bell that rings in the early hours which can wake you up if you're a light sleeper. I recommend telling the staff that you want a quiet room so you are away from the noise.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Relatively a standard basic hostel with fun interior design at the lobby. The down side will be be lack of toilet and showering place as there is only 4 showering/toilet at each floor.


97%

Very popular place and there is always crowd. I can complain only about door on room where I stay. It was very hard to open it and with big noise. So every time when somebody come back (that night I have 4 travelers with me in this room) from city or from toilet it sound like braking in the room. Everything else was very, very nice....perfect location, clean place, reasonable price, lot of people with interesting stories..... Finally, my experience with this hostel is positive!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a great time, very easy to meet people as a solo traveler partly bc of their bar/lounge downstairs. Expensive breakfast, but worth it. Hard to find at first from the metro station, but then you get the hang of it. Would definitely go again. Good beds, overall quite comfortable. Not exclusively very young travelers, which was nice.


91%

Stayed only for one night but the atmosphere was great and the place was really gorgeous! Showers were a bit small but clean and the staff was really helpful.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great spot to explore copenhagen. Bit noisy due to bar downstairs. Dorms extremely hot in summer


94%

We should have stay longer...really nice place to stay.


91%

Enjoyed my stay at Copenhagen downtown, really cool layout and decor. Actually wish I could of stayed a bit longer than one night. Staff where really helpful and hiring a bike is cheap and easy. Rooms where spacey and bathrooms where nice. Got myself some merchandise in the form of a hat which i've rocking while travelling in the states. I have a list of my favourite hostels around the world and Copenhagen Downtown is now added, cheers Pete from Australia :)


77%

the atmosphere is really nice and the hotel has a lot of international visitors which makes the stay way more interesting.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel was in a good location and the bar/lounge had an excellent atmosphere. Loved the free dinner, although it was quite busy and we had to get there an hour early just to guarantee a spot. Met a lot of great people there and shared some memorable nights. The kitchen was too small for the amount of people using it, but we made it work. If you are looking for a place with energy and atmosphere, I definitely recommend this place. If you want something quiet, I would go elsewhere.


86%

Great hostel, fun people (also the staff) and a great bar with cheap beer to hang out.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A vibrant and lively atmosphere to be had here! Hostel is located a short distance from the central train station, main shopping street and other major attractions. Breakfast was a reasonably priced buffet and offered a wide selection. Free dinner in the evening; every evening was a great opportunity to meet new people. Bedrooms and shower facilities were decent - not the best but more than adequate. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Recommended.


91%

Great place ideal location awesome facilities and extras love the free dinner idea staff are super nice and helpful. Highly recommend I want to go back!


94%

Yeah this place is pretty cool! its a bit mainstream tho! fight you way through the 18 year old american "backpackers". id still go back there tho


97%

Great hostel, great atmosphere. Only complaint is that in the morning you have to often wait in line for a bit for the bathroom/shower.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great Hostel. I stayed in the 10 bed dorm for 5 nights on 2 different occassions during my trip, the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The free dinners were a fantastic touch in expensive Copenhagen, plus they were a great way to meet people and socialise. The bar was also fantastic, especially with happy hour! As a solo traveller I loved this hostel as it was so easy to meet new people.


97%

Excellent staff members, so helpful and friendly. Also very good atmosphere in the place, excellent clean rooms, cooking area is more than adequate also. However the promise of a 'free dinner' was not for filled on several occasions due too not all seats receiving food, which is not mentioned on the board nor by staff members. Also breakfast was a little pricey, Other than that this is a great place to see and experience everything Copenhagen has to offer! Would stay here again no problem!

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great vibe here at the bar. They also offer free dinner every night! Great way to meet people! Walking distance to everything you would want to see in Copenhagen.


77%

This place was bumpin! Lots of people hanging out and drinking in the bar area. It is expensive to stay here, but what isn't expensive in Copenhagen. The bathrooms were a little gross, and there was nowhere to do laundry nearby, but overall this place was great and I would stay here again!


89%

Copenhagen is an amazing city and this is a great hostel. Has a nice bar and the room was clean with lockers provided. Free meal is good but you need to get their early as it has limited availability. Great hostel would recommend to anyone!

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(179 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback