X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel Reviews

Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
3148 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Nice location, the room was compact and the bathroom tiny. Denmark is very expensive and i live in London. Lots of building work going on in hostel with building materials everywhere. Wifi was awful. Drunk guests managed to get into our room even when locked at 5am. Outside lots of noise at night, window didnt close fully, stained linen, terrible pillows. Expensive at £57 a night but location was great. Better for young travellers rather than couples but most hostels are the same

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a wonderful time at this hostel. Good energy and atmosphere. Had a musician in one night. Lots of games to play and having the bar right there is awesome. I didn't get the breakfast but it looked good. Good deals on drinks at the bar for Copenhagen prices. I probably wouldn't stay anywhere else in Copenhagen.


66%

Bed sheets were with holes Information about the free dinner have to be given more precisely (showing the tables where it'll be served)

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great stay in CPH! Really close to everything & staff are friendly & helpful;0)


97%

Excellent hostel. As a solo traveller it is very easy to meet people at the bar downstairs which is excellent. The staff are quite friendly and willing to help you plan out how to get to surrounding cities. The only minor inconvenience is that there are not many bathrooms and showers, although you can work around this quite easily.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Spent 5 nights here last week and enjoyed it very much.found all staff very helpful especially Tula from Hungery who even lent me a hat and glove when I hired a bike for the day which was one of many highlights.As I travelled alone it was fantastic to get together with others every evening for a meal in the hostel and enjoy the happy hour!


97%

Hostel has a really nice downstairs area, and especially for solo travellers as there is a free evening meal so thats good to get to meet people (although the food isnt great). the room is a decent size, the annoying this is in the mornings there is a queue for the showers. the hostel is in the middle of everything which is good, id recommend to anyone staying in copenhagen but would get a ensuite room next time


89%

Lots of construction going on in the dorms. Very cool hostel though, clean and centrally located!


89%

Great hostel with a fun environment. It's quite big so you will get a mix of people but the bar area was always fun. Wonderful location / close to most attractions. Only negative is that they had no lockers in the rooms so someone could take your stuff.


89%

Absolutely loved staying here. Staff were very nice, location was convenient, and the atmosphere was really laid back and friendly. The only real problem I had was that while I was there, they were doing renovations to the bathrooms on my floor, which led to a lot of building material all over the place and it was quite noisy.


94%

great hostel, definitely recommend. i definitely got stuck in the smallest room, with two of the smelliest guests. but I also saw other rooms, and can say that the others were a decent size and didn't smell so bad.


97%

We loved staying here! Thank you for everything. Would definitely recommend to others!


66%

long cues at the receptions slow and incompetent staff

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Waited almost 40 minutes to get checked in at reception. There was a line of about 7 of us, but somehow it took forever. The reception is located right next to the bar, so we all awkwardly lined up with all of our stuff

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is great in terms on location and atmosphere. The staff were so nice, specially the bar manager Luca. The service is good, as the hostels, and it is open 24 hours. Nevertheless, two friends were stole in their own room during the weekend, and I couldn't see the hostel really worried about it. On Saturday night someone stuck the toilet, that was really disgusting, and the cleaning is more worried about brushing the floor and leaving everything apparently "nice". No towels included.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff was great in recommending things to do. The common areas were great in fostering a welcoming environment. I met new people each night during dinner and happy hour that became the people I went out with. Absolutely recommend this to first time travelers and seasoned travelers alike.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff didn't know what was happening, kept giving the same beds away, bunks were broken and very squeaky, not enough bathrooms, there was a line in the morning to use the toilets and showers


66%

Bad: Bathrms could definitely do w some ventilation. A spritz of air freshener every hr doesn't really count as cleaning & definitely need separate toilets in the AM when people want showers. Staff smoking at the entrance is very unpleasant when you walk out the door also Good: Owner v friendly & helpful & trying to improve the facilities. Free dinner a great way to meet people & the chef is very sweet & does such a good job to feed 40 people on time every nt (even when some aren't from hostel)


89%

This hostel was very well maintained and very clean. The bar downstairs was excellent and had a good atmosphere. The staff were helpful and friendly. The location is excellent, within walking distance of most of central Copenhagen. However, the rooms were quite small and there seemed to be a lack of shared bathrooms available compared to the number of rooms. There were no lockers in the rooms either.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect location and a really good environment to meet new people


(195 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback