X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel Reviews

Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3406 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very nice hostel. Traveling alone, it was very easy to meet people at breakfast, dinner, and at the bar.


86%

A trendy hostel with nice staff in a good location. It was extremely noisy at night though, to the point where I could not sleep. I think the noise was in the street rather than the hostel itself, but it didn't stop until around 4.30am, and this was on a Thursday. Bring some earplugs...

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Really good location and atmosphere. Nice bar to relax. Would stay again.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for you nice words. Our place is indeed very central and we try to spread the good vibes for people having a great time, happy to know you have fun. Cheers from Copenhagen Downtown Team

91%

A great hostel with a good atmosphere, ideally located with a short walk to many of the places to visit

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your nice comment! We have a fantastic location that you can enjoy just by sitting in the lounge. Our Staff works hard to create nice vibes and make the place personal despite being a big hostel. Happy to hear you had fun :) Cheers Copenhagen Downtown Team

77%

My group of friends had a 6 person dorm room and it was a bit tight for us. We were on the 6th floor and some sort of sewage smell was constantly wafting in our windows. The elevator is very small. Also for 20+ people on the floor there was 3 toilets and 2 showers which meant there was always a line at peak times. However this is manageable because the hostel has a great bar. There's also a basement with bands that play. The train station is 10-15min walk so rent bikes!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks for your feedback. We know that the morining are busy and sometimes you have to wait to use the bathroom that's why you can access all the bathrooms of the hostel between 7am and 10am. Cool that you were able to enjoy the happy hour in the bar and enjoy our Downunder music events :) Hope you get the time to visit us again. Cheers from Copenhagen Downtown Team

69%

Very noisy till almost 5:00 am. Breakfast was a good value.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks a lot for taking the time and leave as a comment. We are located right in the middle of the city and we know sometimes it can be noisy, we apologise for that. Remember our staff in 24 hours available if you need anything and, nevertheless we have free earplugs at the reception. Regards from Copenhagen Downtown Team

94%

Best hostel I've been to yet. Perfect location, fantastic atmosphere, pool table and good bands downstairs, what else do you need.


80%

Everything was really good, but the bathroom facilities need improvements. Too few bathrooms per floor and pretty dirty along the day.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks a lot for reviewing us. Our reception is open 24 hours and you are always welcome if you find any inconvenience. We are improving and rebuilding our bathrooms, hope you come back and check it yourself :) Cheers from Copenhagen Downtown Team

97%

Great place to stay we met some awesome people at the hostel. Yes this is a party hostel so at time it was a bit noisy but that's hostel living! The only down side was the Aussie screaming "Aussie Aussie Aussie " at 4 am lol dude your giving us Aussies a bad name!! Thanks for the great stay we will be back again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thanks a lot for your nice feedback. Cool to know you really have a nice time with us :)! Hope you come back soon, we still love aussies. Cheers from Copenhagen Downtown Team

86%

very good would stay again


89%

We had a problem with our shower that took a couple days to fix, but otherwise everything was great! I really liked the atmosphere at the bar downstairs, but I wish there could have been some kind of rule for (super) late night noise (i.e. 4 nights in a row of people singing and chanting from 3-5:30 in the morning). Having a room with a window that was over the bar made sleeping kind of tough.


69%

We'd made a group booking but when we arrived to the hostel we were informed that we had been split up in 3 rooms instead of one 4 bed and 6 bed room which we'd booked. The receptionist blamed us for making the wrong kind of booking and kept saying that it wasn't their fault and and that they left no guarantees of groups staying together.Later they sent us our confirmation where it clearly stated that it was a group booking. Everyone makes mistakes, what sets people apart is how they handle them

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Need more WC's in bar area.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

In general, the atmosphere in the hostal CPH was very good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a very good way to start the day :-) The only recommendation is that will be nice if they try to have the showers and toilets cleaner


40%

Not sure why this place rates so highly. It's really noisy with music going on till 3-4 am. The bathrooms are insufficient and has to be shared by too many people on each floor and is even worse when one or more is taken out by someone who throws up all over the shower area ( which is what happened) . The mixed dorm which i had booked into was essentially a boys dorm and it stunk. After my second day I had to leave and find alternative accommodation at quite a significant cost.


89%

Good hostel in a great location

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The location was good. The rooms had no lockers however they had a separate lockers which you can buy during your stay. overall a nice place to stay.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great vibe! Hostel is really cool, great socially. Rooms are clean, staff are friendly and helpful. There could probably be more showers considering how many people staying here, and the breakfast is pricey (but so is everything in Copenhagen...) but other than that this hostel is really cool, would recommend!


51%

We booked a twin private room at slightly higher cost than we were looking for. We were on the fourth floor of the hostel, and unfortunately there was an enormous amount of noise coming from the corridor. I asked at reception if they could keep the noise down but nothing was done. I know that this is not necessarily the fault of the hotel but we only managed an hour or so sleeping. I have been to many hostels and I have rarely found such a noisy atmosphere!


74%

The vibe of this hostel was great and I loved how active it was and easy to meet others. My only negative comment would be that we booked a 4-person room and they put 5 people in our room. It was so packed that there was no place to even step. Also, the bathrooms smelled bad and they didn't have any counter space to set anything.


(263 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback