X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel Reviews

Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2229 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

We booked a private room for two persons with bathroom, what we get. The room was relative clean but much too small. The bathroom was that little, that I wasn't able to sit on the toilet without touching any other things in the bathroom with my shoulders or so. The shower was hanging down from the ceiling and taking a shower wasn't very nice. All in all the room wasn't comfortable. The atmosphere was ok.

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi J. Thanks for your comments! Our bathrooms they have a very danish style. You are the "king". What you pay for its the location, the free dinner, vibes, cheap prices, and so on!!! Cheers and have look!! CPH Downtown

83%

Nice stay, good hostel, but the Wi-fi does not work sometimes and bathroom is a little bit dirty.


71%

Great location - walking distance from train station and centre of Copenhagen. Very busy when I stayed so lounge and bar area very crowded and noisy with no real place just to chill and relax quietly. 8 bed dorm was crowded and beds were average and squeaky. No space to put bags in room and paying for lockers is a bit steep. Staff were ok, not great on local knowledge but seemed friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi C. Thanks for your comments. It's very busy and nice, that's what creates our atmosphere. Moreover our Dinner, Happy Hour, music and events! Our large dorms are pretty average to hostel standards, come to reception to let us know if beds squeak and we can sort that out. Staff ratings are way above other hostels and they are all Danish so surprise they don't have the knowledge you were looking for. Happy you had a great experience overall! CPH Downtown Staff

83%

Awesome common area. No wifi in the rooms which is a good idea to draw people down to the common area but then everyone is just on their phones in the common area not socialising as much as they could be. Amazing location and good sized rooms. Despite the lack of bathrooms in comparison to the amount of beds on one floor I would stay here again because it was great.


80%

The bathrooms were not so good, far from the bedroom and always dirt

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi L Thanks for your comments. Such a pity you have found it dirty all the time but we've found a way to keep it clean all the time. Next time you will find a nice surprise and happy that you've had a great time!! CPH Downtown Staff

91%

I love Copenhagen and this place made it even better! The atmosphere is incredible- free dinner to encourage mingling as well as having to come down stairs for wifi! Genius idea!!! I'm all for encouraging the interaction. The staff were lovely and went above and beyond! The hostel is in an amazing location for everything meaning I couldn't speak highly enough of the place! Definetly going back!

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Kitchen, WiFi, free dinners, fun atmosphere! It was all here! Had an amazing time, meet great people. Only complaint is the toilet/bathroom combos where the whole floor gets soaked causing wet feet which is irritating. But everything else is so great it hardly even make that an issue.


80%

You have to pay for everything: lockers, WiFi, etc. There is even no locker in your room to protect your personal stuff...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi R. Sorry for the misunderstood but the WIFI is free everywhere. There is plenty of lockers but maybe you haven't seen it. Hope to see you another time and happy that overall you had a great time. CPH Downtown Staff

100%

Great situation. Even the locals come in and enjoy the atmosphere and from all my travels around the world, i haven't seen that before. I couldn't imagine staying in another hostel in copenhagen. Free food first come first served basis was great too at 18:30. :))

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff were great, lovely atmosphere, would definitely stay there again!

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location. Very easy to get to the central station and all attractions. Staff were super friendly also.


86%

the hotel has a good location and is verry clean and the staff is friendly. What did not like was that there was no backpacker atmosphere, it was harder to meet people than in other hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi J. Thanks for your comments but I quiet disagree in a couple of things. We are a hostel, not a hotel. Our ratings clearly head toward a very social and backpacker connection! Our lounge is famous for its atmosphere and how easy is to meet other backpackers. I see you had a great time! Cheers, CPH Downtown Staff

94%

Great atmosphere and an easy place to meet people with their social bar area

  • 2nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place. The dinner is great.I think it will be better if they have lockers to put our things.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi A. Thanks for your comments. We have lockers in the basement and some of the rooms. Hope you will find them next time ;-) Cheers, CPH Downtown Staff

86%

The location is good. Nice lounge and pleasant atmosphere. Wifi in lounge is also well operated but if you want to use wifi in a room, you should pay for it or just click like on its facebook page then you can get 24h free wifi in a room. Staffs are very kind. Clean room and clean bed sheet. Everything was nice except the light on my bed was not worked. Nice hostel and i'd recommend it.


97%

everything was perfect, but staff and location was super.


97%

I've been to hostels in other Scandinavian countries and this is my favorite by far! The atmosphere cannot be matched.

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The stairs were left wet without warning sign. I fell off the stair because of the lack of light in the stairwell. However, ALL members of staff have been extremely helpful and gone out of their ways in helping me, for that I am really grateful.


100%

Great! Highly recommend this hostel!


89%

Enjoyed a 2 day stay here, great location, nice walk through the centre to Christiania, nice vibe around the hostel, (squeaky clean too) recommend happy hour and would definitely visit again


(99 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback