X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel Reviews

Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2238 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great atmosphere and an easy place to meet people with their social bar area

  • 2nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place. The dinner is great.I think it will be better if they have lockers to put our things.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi A. Thanks for your comments. We have lockers in the basement and some of the rooms. Hope you will find them next time ;-) Cheers, CPH Downtown Staff

86%

The location is good. Nice lounge and pleasant atmosphere. Wifi in lounge is also well operated but if you want to use wifi in a room, you should pay for it or just click like on its facebook page then you can get 24h free wifi in a room. Staffs are very kind. Clean room and clean bed sheet. Everything was nice except the light on my bed was not worked. Nice hostel and i'd recommend it.


97%

everything was perfect, but staff and location was super.


97%

I've been to hostels in other Scandinavian countries and this is my favorite by far! The atmosphere cannot be matched.

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The stairs were left wet without warning sign. I fell off the stair because of the lack of light in the stairwell. However, ALL members of staff have been extremely helpful and gone out of their ways in helping me, for that I am really grateful.


100%

Great! Highly recommend this hostel!


89%

Enjoyed a 2 day stay here, great location, nice walk through the centre to Christiania, nice vibe around the hostel, (squeaky clean too) recommend happy hour and would definitely visit again


89%

Lovely clean, comfortable rooms- soft duvets, proper pillows etc Very close to town hall, Tivoli etc No noise overnight Have to get there very early for free dinner- need a better system to ensure it's fair to all


77%

Good location, friendly staff but toilets are sometimes dirty


91%

A very good large hostel, Copenhagen Downtown offered large rooms with plenty of room to stretch out. The bar area at reception is also very nice. Accessing the rooms is a bit unusual, however,as you must exit the building from reception and take another entrance to gain access to the steps. In all, it was a great place to stay and offered great value in one of the world's most expensive cities.


100%

Absolutely fantastic! Perfect location in the city centre - literally next to the Stroget and Tivoli Gardens - a very lovely staff, accommodation in clean and quiet rooms. They also offer a free dinner at 6.30pm every night (first come, first served!), wifi is free and functioning in the common room (and - differently from what happens in several hostels - it actually works, and it is very fast!) A really positive experience, I totally recommend this hostel - looking forward to coming back!

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Hostel was ace for everything apart from sleeping - precarious beds and music til 6 from a nearby club.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi P. Thank you for your feedback. We are very good located and there is a lot of people during the weekends. Part of being part of the action! Cheers, Copenhagen Downtown Staff

94%

Best place to stay in Copenhagen. The location is perfectly situated. The staff was very helpful and the free dinner was a good plus. The atmosphere was very welcoming.


86%

Great location and staff. Comfortable beds and good laundry fasciities. Only gripe is that the 6th floor doesn't have enough shower/toilet ratio to those staying on the floor so there are queues. Easily fixed by going else where. Also I'm not the biggest fan of open showers with toilets in the same room. Besides that - great stay!


89%

Great location, walking distance to all attractions and places of interest but in a quiet lane so there was no disturbance from the hustle and bustle of the city. Room was small but sufficient for just a few nights stay. Counter staff was patient and friendly. Overall, a good experience.


100%

Great place in an excellent location! ~1 km from central station. This is a big 7-floor hostel but doesn't feel that way. Super clean. Well-equipped kitchen. I'd stay here again. Notes: Wifi free in the lobby, but bogs down in evening. Better wifi, including in rooms, costs 70 DKK for your stay. Bike rental 70 DKK/day. Credit card can be used for everything, so I spent 2 days here with no DKK cash at all.


94%

One of the best hostels i had the pleasure to stay.


83%

Perfect place to meet people. Very helpful and kind staff. The lockers in the hostel cost 30kr which is for your whole stay. You can even have it after you check out, just tell the staff when you gonna pick up your luggage. It does help a lot for someone carry two big suitcases like me. The room and the shower room were not fancy but you can still have a good rest. I didn't get any cold water in the shower during my stay, which I consider it as the most important thing of it.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi L. Thank you for your comments. You seemed to have a great time overall!! Fantastic! Kind regards, CPH Downtown Staff

86%

Plus: Staff were totally friendly. Minus: you need to pay 20 or 30 DKK in order to get the key for the locker AND to leave your ID card to the reception, apparently without reasons, because than you're not refunded with your money when you give the key back. No possibilities to use a personal locker!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi M. I think there is a little confusion here. You rent a locker and we request an ID as a deposit. That's all! All lockers are Personal, of course... I don't understand that part. Cheers and glad you had fun! CPH Downtown Staff

(105 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback