X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Copenhagen Downtown Hostel Reviews

Vandkunsten 5, Copenhagen, Denmark

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2662 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great Hostel simply the best hostel in Copenhagen I woluld know I've almost all of them. Great location just a stones throw from the main "walking street" Ströget. They offer a free dinner as well but be sure to be there early to get a seat.


86%

Kopenhagen is a great city to travel to by yourself. You'll meet a lot of new people in these kind of hostels from all over the world. If you're looking for a place to sleep in Kopenhagen this is the place to be.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I would say the Hostel stands out for its great bar, which is modern and cool. It is the heart of the place and in my picture the Hostel is a "sidedish": I had big problems with the description how to get there, very little Information is given. So I called four times to get help, noone answered the phone. When I arrived I got it: in a bar with loud music you won't hear it. I suggest to change that since it is not fun running around during the night and no help is given.


74%

Nice hostel. Superb location! Reception was very slow though. This needs fixing.


100%

Staff were super friendly! All you can eat breakfast was delicious. You can rent bikes and go on walking tours all from the hostel. Recommended!!

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Rooms were comfortable and the bar was a great common area. Free dinner was good but you do need to get there an hour earlier! Locker room was awkward to get to with big bags but good to have as an option.


77%

Packed with young people, good music and overall quality. But no individual lockers for the guests, too few shared toilets/ showers, and breakfast not included. For lots of money one can buy an average buffet meal. Sometimes they offer an OK free hot meal in the evening for those who register early.


100%

Honestly, dont look anywhere else. Ive been travelling for a while, and this is most likely the best hostel I have ever stayed in.


94%

An amazing hostel. The atmosphere was so welcoming, and it was so easy to sit down beside anyone and become friends with them. I've never been to a hostel with such a fun bar!

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall, very positive. My only complaints are that the free dinners are limited which means you have to be the table an hour ahead to reserve your spot. Second, there is a bell that rings in the early hours which can wake you up if you're a light sleeper. I recommend telling the staff that you want a quiet room so you are away from the noise.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

A large modern hostel. Runs like a hotel with keycards and the like. Staff is friendly and helpful for the most part. However, the reception desk doubles as a bar so it can be hard to get a receptionist's attention when they are busy dispensing booze. Kitchen was nice to have, especially since large hostels like this often don't have one. Free dinners were good as well, and were a great way to meet folks. It was a bit pricey but hey, it's Denmark.


74%

Relatively a standard basic hostel with fun interior design at the lobby. The down side will be be lack of toilet and showering place as there is only 4 showering/toilet at each floor.


97%

Very popular place and there is always crowd. I can complain only about door on room where I stay. It was very hard to open it and with big noise. So every time when somebody come back (that night I have 4 travelers with me in this room) from city or from toilet it sound like braking in the room. Everything else was very, very nice....perfect location, clean place, reasonable price, lot of people with interesting stories..... Finally, my experience with this hostel is positive!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a great time, very easy to meet people as a solo traveler partly bc of their bar/lounge downstairs. Expensive breakfast, but worth it. Hard to find at first from the metro station, but then you get the hang of it. Would definitely go again. Good beds, overall quite comfortable. Not exclusively very young travelers, which was nice.


91%

Stayed only for one night but the atmosphere was great and the place was really gorgeous! Showers were a bit small but clean and the staff was really helpful.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent hostel. Free evening meal is a great size and a good place to meet people and stay for drinks after it. The free walking tour is also very informative. Would definitely stay again.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great spot to explore copenhagen. Bit noisy due to bar downstairs. Dorms extremely hot in summer


94%

We should have stay longer...really nice place to stay.


91%

Enjoyed my stay at Copenhagen downtown, really cool layout and decor. Actually wish I could of stayed a bit longer than one night. Staff where really helpful and hiring a bike is cheap and easy. Rooms where spacey and bathrooms where nice. Got myself some merchandise in the form of a hat which i've rocking while travelling in the states. I have a list of my favourite hostels around the world and Copenhagen Downtown is now added, cheers Pete from Australia :)


77%

the atmosphere is really nice and the hotel has a lot of international visitors which makes the stay way more interesting.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(234 results)


View all Copenhagen Hostels

Please give us your feedback