Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Dillenia Guest House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 486 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 486 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2017
10.0

This was honestly by far one of the nicest places we stayed at! Mrs.Lee is an absolute angel, so so helpful with recommendations and organising trips through the driver Joesph. On our last day she gave us cakes!! The hostel itself is really nice, has a TV with a lots of DVD's and the rooms are basic but very clean. Definitely the place to stay in Miri!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • travelingteacher20016529
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
9.7

Very well run guest house. Mrs Lee sets the atmosphere of it being a wecoming place..clean and friendly. Met some interesting people there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
25th Feb 2017
10.0

Mrs Lee was very kind and helpful. She gave alot of useful information about Miri, and the attractions nearby including Niah Cave, Mulu national park. She will also try to arrange for backpackers to share the cab to the airport if possible at RM20. Regular price RM25. Guesthouse is clean and tidy. Most importantly, it's quiet at night as there are bars ard. There are fresh fruits in the fridge (if you did not realised) and bananas every morning as compared to the regular toast breakfast! Great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

There are very few budget options in Miri, but even if there were this Hostel would still be worth staying in. I rarely use the 'home for home' expression but Dillenia really has that feel. The wonderful Mrs Lee, is not only warm, welcoming and friendly but a fount of knowledge for anything to do with planning you visit to Borneo. If you are going to Brunei take the door-to-door car service. It is so easy and will cost you no more and maybe less than the bus when you add on the taxi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
8.6

Nice guesthouse. Mrs Lee was helpful, full of good info. Only problem is with location. Kind of a noisy bar below. And a nearby building had an annoying alarm that went off multiple times. I would certainly consider staying there although not much reason to come back to Miri

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
9.7

Mrs. Lee is the best. She has all the information of what to do around Miri and Sarawak and created a comfy, home environment to relax in after long trips around Miri. The best hot shower in all of Borneo. Comfortable bed but a bit squeaky, good A/C in the room, small common area but it's enough to meet others, and stocked fridge with great priced water/beer! Only downside is some people's shoes keep getting stolen (out of her control), so bring them inside at night. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Alonewithadrone
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jan 2017
8.6

Very friendly and organised.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.6

Mrs Lee was very helpful in sorting out transfers and lifts from the airport and to Brunei. Hostel was clean and did the job. Free mini bananas and bread for breakfast is always good. Upon our return to Miri from Brunei Mrs Lee had predicted our return and had a note and beds waiting for us, so that was nice. There are reasonably long periods of time where the desk is unmanned, but there are contact numbers for those times

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
10.0

Mrs Lee is a fantastic host and happily welcomed our family to Dillenia Guesthouse and offered some wonderful advice on what to do & where to go in Miri for a family. Mrs Lee also without hesitation organised required transport for us. No task was too big for Mrs Lee to handle. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Dec 2016
9.4

Thank you, Mrs. Lee for your great hospitality. You've been most warm and helpful since I booked the room and emailed you for confirmation! I hope more guests will drop by Dillenia and experience the best hostel in Miri!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.