Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Downtown Siem Reap Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1076 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1076 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
10.0

O e pf the best hostels I've been in SE Asia, the atmosphere is just incredible and the stuff is the best. I've you're interested in party it's the place to go, all the stuff frank with us! Would come back right now if I could

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
4.9

Our experience at this hostel was overwhelmingly bad. Firstly, the hostel played horrible wannabe club music starting early in the morning and many people stayed at the bar all day, drinking. There was a pool, but you had no inclination to hang out there, due to the music and bar people. They overcharged for small things, i.e. $40 for a cup of hot water ramen. They keep your passport or a $100 deposit. There's incredible pressure to buy (overpriced) things from them: drinks, food, tuk tuk tours.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Jun 2017
10.0

We loved our stay at Downtown! After travelling for so long it was like going back home to the UK for a little while! We had a private fan only room, and if you're afraid of a little heat I'd advise booking an aircon room because it was a little hot! Our bathroom was clean and spacious, shower worked well. Communal pool area was always clean and tidy with lots of atmosphere. The owner was fab and gave us lots of tips on what to do in Siem Reap- thank you! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2017
7.4

The facilities in the hostel were really good, with beds that were comfortable enough, and a really nice swimming pool and bar area. Kareem was really nice and made me feel welcome. There was however no atmosphere. This was put down to it being 'low season' however, I had to stay another night in seim reap unexpectedly, and checked into another hostel which was really busy with a great vibe. Overall, a nice hostel for a good price, but no atmosphere, not helped by constant grime music.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
4.9

Honestly this was one of my more unpleasant experiences at a hostel and I have stayed in very budget hostels. The first night the water in the room did not work. the second day the water was fixed but the AC quit working and there was not even a fan in the room so it became hot to the point that I was drenched in sweat. in both cases the staff would not even come up to the room to look at the problem. The proprietor seemed generally unpleasant and the rest of the staff barely spoke English.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Apr 2017
6.0

The hostel charges vacancies 10%" tax" on your bill, while they are honest about this they are the only hostel doing it, combined with guests all having a bar tab the system seems rigged. Pool wasn't open when i was there in peak season. Staff sometimes couldn't do basic addition or speak meaningful English. they require a passport or 50$ deposit which seems far too much: and when i checked out staff took 20m to find my passport It's clean and friendly though, the bar area is nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Lucymansell8389
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
6.0

The pool was green and stagnant. Tv in our room was broken and on our second night the aircon broke. When reported to reception was just told we had only paid for a fan room. Advised I would happily pay extra for it but they didnt seem bothered and it never got fixed. Works on a tab system and 10% is added onto all of your food, drink, excursions and room at the end - be careful as some of our $0.75 beers were charged at $1.75 until I pointed this out. Never offered discount for pool not working

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Brilliant place 10/10, staff, food, location, services!! Much love to Karim, soho and Connor

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
10.0

I only booked 2 nights at first, ended up with staying there for 8 nights. Perfect beach bar, nice pool with beanbags around, perfect location, just few minutes walk to all the restaurants and pubs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2017
5.1

Pool was green and full of algae so couldn't go in, bathrooms pretty grotty. Most of the staff were lovely but there were two western members of staff that had a physical fight just outside my room one night. Organised my Angkor Wat trip for sunrise etc and the tuk tuk drivers they use are really nice. Probably wouldn't stay here again but if you're on a really tight budget it will do.. Get what you pay for!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.