X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Downtown Siem Reap Hostel Reviews

#0369 Wat Damnak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
557 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

One of the best social environments I have ever encountered at a hostel. Great facilities for Cambodia. Tab system is quick and convenient for paying. Would highly recommend. Just note that laundry given in the morning can be returned as late as check out time the next day before you send it in and you plan to leave earlier than 12pm.


100%

Great hostel, they have everything you need, staff are awesome, good food, cool bar, proper swimming pool.... Will be back! Thug life!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Private Rooms were good, but the plumbing in the bathrooms was a bit dodgy - in our first room the toilet leaked which made water gush through all night very loudly and on the second the shower leaked constantly. Otherwise though a very nice hostel!

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff at the downtown are excellent, helpful and full of energy! Location is great, close to Pub street! Definitely recommend this hostel! :)


91%

A social hostel, very easy to meet people by the pool area. Beds and showers were nice. Loud music plays until about 12pm, so if you like to sleep early, maybe no the place for you, but i really enjoyed this hostel!


63%

Pool was nice, but no lockers in the rooms and the bathrooms outside the rooms with a shower were quite bad. Every shower should have somewhere to put your towel and clothes other than on the toilet. Pretty basic stuff could improve this place a lot. However, the staff were great, the food was good and you can drink for pretty cheap here. Also it's a nice place to hang out during the day by the pool and meet people. Overall it was good.


97%

Fantastic hostel with fantastic staff and an awesome atmosphere!! We had trouble with a tuk tuk driver who was trying to rip us off and eventually became a bit aggressive towards us and the staff helped us sort the situation out, we are very grateful! Massive beds, decent bathrooms. Decent party atmosphere as well, the staff will take you out on a pub crawl that leads to pub stree. Drinks are reasonably priced as well, and they usually have specials! Get around it!!

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Not a place to sleep....! Very noisy and staff unable to give any information...! Good location though!

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
In terms of noise, we are advertised as a party hostel, although the music is turned down late at night. In terms of staff not being able to give any information, could you be more specific as we have numerous Western staff who have been with us a while and know the area and activities (including one who speaks French) and a number of Khmer staff with good English. Please contact me as I am interested in your feedback to help improve our services. Kind regards, Duncan Manager

89%

Friendly and helpful staff! Great for partying and meeting people. Would definetly recommend staying here if you want a good time and party a lot. The hostel will help you with everything e.g. organize tours. Would definetly stay here if I come again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we could help you with the trips and activities that you wanted. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Many thanks, Duncan Manager Downtown Siem Reap Hostel

63%

The staff where nice and friendly but with some long term staying foks it was hard to make it in to their group. So l went to bed instead and changed hostel. Too much of "cool dudes" för me.


74%

The private room had a very bad damp smell which was not very nice. After the key broke in the door the staff showed how they could easily open the door with a ruler or knife which didn't really seem very secure to me. A good hostel If you want a party hostel.


83%

Our stay was quite good! Every night was a different vibe, chilled out and also very party. Easy to make friends and the organised events like the barbeques and pub crawls are great. The pool makes the place though! Some of the staff were nice, although they seemed like they were just there to party. And other staff were really rude to us, when wanting to ask a question at reception we were left waiting for a long time with no acknowledgement. Other than that we had a really good stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your valued feedback. We're pleased that you generally had a good stay here and the feedback regarding the organised events is welcome. Regarding the staff, we've recently had some new starters and have worked to address the some of the problems you mentioned. I hope that this didn't detract too much from your stay with us. Many thanks, Duncan Manager Downtown Siem Reap Hostel

94%

Great hostel if you're keen to meet people and party. Staff are amazingly helpful and friendly, bar crawls nightly are super fun. Rooms neat, beds comfy, air con worked. Would stay here again, excellent hostel.


86%

The pool and the great staff make this place!


89%

The hostel has a really nice vibe, the staff are really friendly and helpful, the pool is great, really nice chill out area. The bathrooms could have been better and a bit cleaner, but that's about it. The rest was great!


63%

This hostel held my passport when I stayed there. It is terrible when someone holds your personal stuff. In my opinion, it was very old fashion. Also, they do not provide towel at all(free or rent). Staff was quite rude. In dorm type, there was only two electricity outlet so you have to fight for your battery However, It is cheap. If the rate was your main idea, it was your target. Location was good, very centre combine with many local restuarants.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We allow all our guests staying at the hostel to run up a tab against their bed/room for food, drink, tours, laundry etc. On that basis we hold passports as a guarantee. Guests are also given the option of leaving a $50 deposit. The vast majority of our guests enjoy the tab system. We also allow guests to pay as they go if they wish. We have now started renting towels as a number of our guests fed this back to us. Many thanks for your feedback. Duncan Manager Downtown

86%

Staff we're great. Lisa is a babe. The pool was lovely but no lockers or the ones that were there were full

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your valued feedback. Regarding the lockers, this was a problem that we have now addressed, with new lockers in most of the dorms and enough at reception to cover the remainder. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments regarding the staff. Duncan Manager Downtown Siem Reap Hostel

97%

This place is awesome! Super great staff and resturant and bar and music and pool and chairs around the pool. Spent New Years here and loved it! Only wee thing is there's no wifi in the rooms but it got everyone to socialize out by the pool so who cares. And the wifi is fast. We will be back!!


100%

I was very impressed with the accomodation as well as the staff at this hostel. It's a beautiful property, and I really felt welcome and befriended.


74%

Not a bad hostel, did expect more of a party vibe then it was though. We stayed here over Christmas and thought they'd be more festivity however they'd organised a pretty basic BBQ during the night and nothing really during the day which was a shame. Food and drinks aren't bad. I got bed bugs though.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Siem Reap Hostels

Please give us your feedback