X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Driftwood Country Hostel Reviews

Dromig, skibbereen, Skibbereen, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
49 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Excellent hostel. Bit remote up a poor road but when you get there its worth it. Clean, efficient and friendly, especially the cat


100%

This was absolutely perfect ! You should only change the shower certain by a shower screen :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bon Jout to france We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Driftwood, hope you had a good holiday in Ireland.

100%

We really loved our stay in this beautiful country hostel. Loved the gardens and hot tub! We felt very welcome and looked after and hope to revisit sometime soon!

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is very nice and it's in a wonderful location! There are hills all around and it's peaceful but it's not far from Skibbereen! The bedrooms are nice and clean too! I really enjoyed it! It's perfect for a weekend!


91%

Very nice cottage with a nice kitchen. Rooms are big and the bathroom although shared, is jjust shared between 2 rooms and is big, clean and nice. The owner Des is very nice and friendly. The location is abit far from the city but the area is nice and would not be a problem if you got a car.


100%

The Driftwood Hostel is one of the most beautiful private Hostels we joined on our 2-weeks-Tour through Ireland. The Atmosphere is great, the rooms are big and modern. It's all new. There's also a garden with a whirlpool to use. The "Holders" are really really friendly and helpful. Driftwood is a place to stay... more than one night!

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We would be very happy to see you again some time, maybe for a longer visit, when you can enjoy our hot tub and garden

57%

Area very good. Hostel not easy to find an few miles on poor tracks. Accommodation modern/refurbed but attic roof slopes so steeply can't sit up in bed and frequently bang head going to loo etc. Attic accessed by unsuitable narrow circular stairway - though building external access. Only enough crockery for few people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry that the attic room was not suitable, but we did offer the downstairs bedroom to you, also we are currently creating an external enterance. We would have been happy to provide you with extra crockery if it was needed. We were present most of the time and would have been happy to accommodate you with anything you needed.

54%

Drove around for over an hour to find this place, even with help from locals we couldn't find it. More then one local never heard of the place either. There are no signs anywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am really sorry you did not find us and didn't stay at our hostel, but there are clear directions on the booking site, also contact numbers to get in touch if there is a problem. We have offered people to collect them in Skibbereen if there was any issue about finding us.

94%

Excellent value for money! Very nice, clean, large house with large bedrooms in the backcountry, near Skibbereen. Hosts are more than friendly. I really enjoyed my stay there, although it was short.


94%

Excellent place, just a bit hard to find.

  • 13th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I hope you had an enjoyable onward trip. We welcome any suggestions that would help make it easier to find us . Heidi & Des

100%

We loved this hostel. The quiet countryside location is fabulous. The owners are lovely.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the peace and quiet

97%

We had a wonderful time staying here! It was a lovely, clean, comfortable home with great facilities. It was just a little difficult to find, and you must have a car in order to get there. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to know you had a good time, hope to see you again some time. Des & Heidi



View all Skibbereen Hostels

Please give us your feedback