X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ecohostel Andromeda Reviews

Bargiekaai 35, Gent, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
792 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Really, really cool hostel on a houseboat. We had a fantastic stay there. There are only few rooms, so showers and toilets are plenty (and clean and spacious)!

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

L'eco-atmosfera dell'ostello e' incantevole.....senza contare che non avevo mai dormito su una barca! Il personale e' gentilissimo, mi hanno aiutato molto soprattutto per muovermi con gli autobus in belgio. Inoltre le marmellate Bio erano buonissime!!!


94%

El hostel es muy lindo, es fantástico estar en un bote, lo único malo es en las noches de viento que se mueve un poco. El desayuno era completo (cereales, frutas, mermeladas, café te y chocolate). La ubicación no es céntrica pero estas a 15 minutos caminando del centro. Siempre me bañe con agua caliente.


89%

Nice idea, a hostel on a boat!

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely hostel and great spirit and philosophy behind it. The facilities were exceptional and way better than any other hostel on land I've ever visited! It was also surprisingly (and pleasantly) warm in the room, considering we were in a boat. It's basically like being in a shared house rather than a hostel :)


100%

Ecohostel Andromeda was definitely one of the highlights of my Belgian route trip. Great idea, great location, this place is not only rocking, it's also floating :) Internet connection was not working during my stay but hey, let's be honest. Who needs to online all the time. Anyway, owner are working on it.


97%

very nice boat, enjoied a lot my stay nice breakfast


40%

Stinky duvet, no WIFI (even though they said they provide wifi), unkind staff.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
luckily it's always staff that's unkind, never ever the guests arriving! I would say happy travels, but probably they are not so happy by the look of it... anyhow try to enjoy!

91%

Ontzettend leuk hostel! Heerlijke huiskamersfeer waardoor iedereen lekker open met elkaar om gaat.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Personeel was weinig van klap gedroeg zich vrij onverschillig. Het toilet papier mocht niet in het WC maar je moest de papiertjes met kak in een emmertje gooien. Ontbijt kon pas vanaf 8.30 uur de zak met brood kwam pas aan om 8.25 was zeer onduidelijk.

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

船上的hostel很可爱,位置离景点所在的区域大概2000米。 我们是十一月末去的,走廊和卫生间有些冷,浴室不出水,无线网也连接不上。 不过价格和位置都还可以。

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The barge feels like home. Lots of personal touches,feels warm and cosy. Can only host about 18 people. Dont be put off by distance from the centre,its only 15 minutes walk. It is serviced by a nearby tram.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The idea is fantastic! The Eco friendly nature of the place is brilliant, love the recycling concept, really hygienic conditions to live in, great way to meet people, friendly staff, so hospitable, will recommend to anyone travelling to Ghent!


80%

Very cool and unique experience! Small hostel that provides everything that you need when visiting Ghent. A little out of town, but takes about 15-20 min to walk.


80%

Thought I had booked all female dorm but ended up with two men in the room. No issues though. Owner lovely people we met were friendly. Boat is so sweet and k would recommend a stay there. Easy to get into the main area just a short walk and Ghent is a fabulous place to visit. Thanks x

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We only have mixed dorms, sorry that wasn't clear when you made the reservation! We hope to see you back in the future though!! Enjoy your travels...

100%

This was my favorite hostel on my 1 month trip. It is quirky and taken care of with love. Clean rooms n bathroom, hot showers and the comfiest bed. If you stay in gent this is the place to stay


94%

Es hat uns sehr gut gefallen. Ein schöner Ort zu verweilen mit netten und freundlichen Personal.


91%

What a joy to stumble across this hostel. An ECO hostelboat. Situated about 10/15 mins walk from central Ghent. Run by a lovely hippy couple who were happy to answer questions about the Ecoboat and Ghent. The boat was tidy and well kept, had all the requirements of a "traditional" hostel, without the rowdiness. I loved it. The only downside was the wifi didn't seem to reach the very last dorm room (our one), but apart from that, it was almost perfect. Highly, Highly recommended.


83%

Estuvimos muy muy bien!!!! Es una experiencia dormir en un barco en el canal, nos encantó!!!! :)

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice hostel. On a boat, which is very interesting, close to the city center and has a thought for the environment at every point in the place.


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Gent Hostels

Please give us your feedback