Hostelworld.com

Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel

  • 1F, No.6, Alley 4, Lane 48, JinJiang St., ShiDa,Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1,242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1,242 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel Located at 1F, No.6, Alley 4, Lane 48, JinJiang St., ShiDa,Taipei, Taipei.
Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel
Taiwan
Taipei 1F, No.6, Alley 4, Lane 48, JinJiang St., ShiDa,Taipei
92% 1242
25.0237550 121.5225380
Eight Elephants & Dreaming Dragon Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
9.1

Staff was friendly and I made friends with other people staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
10.0

It was my first stay in a hostel, I booked the private room at Dreaming Dragons because I was travelling alone. It was a super experience! The staff was really nice and helpful, the location was very convenient an the atmosphere was great! I have met some nice people and together we explored Taipei and the nightmarkets together. Wouldn't want to miss it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
9.4

Loved my time spent here and was sad to have to continue my journey. The entire staff spoke English extremely well and were incredibly fun to hang out with. They are 2 blocks away from an MRT station and are adjacent to a food street; Shida night market was only a 10 minute walk. The only downside is if you are traveling with big luggage, be sure to bring your own lock as the lockers they rent are rather small. I would recommend EE&DD to anybody!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Apr 2016
9.4

Everything was great except for the bed, the mattresses really need to be changed. The staff were excellent and always around to help. The kitchen is fully equipped great for those who want to make something to eat. One of the nicest places I have stayed at

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay at Eight Elephants! Great location, great staff... just overall a great place! I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2016
9.1

8 Elephants (8E) is a small hostel located in the university area (Shida) near the Guting Metro station (nice). This area has a neighborhood vibe of small streets. The 8E web site has good directions, and most vital, a photo of the front door. If you have a GPS app on your phone, or a GPS, the UTM coordinates for 8E are 51R 0350976 2768397. Loud talking at 0345 and 0400 was handled by wax earplugs. Friendly folks, most seemed long timers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2016
9.4

Generally an excellent place to stay, though the neighbors turned on their TV extremely loudly at around 7AM on Sunday, which made sleeping (at least in the upstairs rooms) quite difficult.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gohogogo
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2016
6.0

nothing special

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2016
8.0

Nice staff that accommodated my late arrival (after their closing hours). Got a good nights sleep and some tips from the staff on where to go sightseeing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Feb 2016
10.0

I actually stayed here after being recommended by someone who had stayed here in the past. I loved the atmosphere at the hostel. A lot of the time, I had difficulty distinguishing the staff from guests because everyone seemed to be having a great time. The hostel is a bit hard to find the first few times, but it's totally worth it. People just have a tendency to congregate together and just hang out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.