Hostelworld.com

El Gualicho Hostel - HI

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jan 2017
8.9

As good a hostel as I've stayed in for cleanliness and facilities, more like hotel standard to be honest. But also more like a hotel in terms of size, the place is huge, which does mean the service feels less personal and the atmosphere isn't the best for meeting people I felt. Maybe it was just while I was staying there but it seemed to be mainly groups of people and a lot of families rather than solo travellers. Great hostel depending on what you are looking for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
9.1

Had a nice visit at El Gualicho's. Very short walk from main bus station and beach. Staff very friendly. Place very clean, showers and bathrooms some of the cleanest I've seen in hostels (although the walls in the room can do with a little cleaning). The kitchen was nice and spacious but very under supplied. I had to wait in a line for a fry pan as there were only 2! Pots need to be replaced. Bigger and "stale" atmosphere but met some nice people. Would go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
9.4

This is a very nice hostel. We really enjoyed our stay here. The hostel is very clean. The rooms have lots of space and lockers for your bag. The kitchen is really good but the pots and pans are not great and there is only one sharp knife. Some investment in kitchen utensils would go a long way. Having said that we cooked most days in the hostel it can become a problem at peak time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Nov 2016
9.7

Awesome place!!! :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
10.0

Very much enjoyed my stay at El Gualicho Hostel. Clean, spacious, wifi in the rooms and the staff was extremely helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
10th Nov 2016
7.7

good location, nice stuff and enough space to hang out downstairs. it was quite loud in the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Oct 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay here. Really nice hostel with a lot of different spaces to spend time. The kitchen was well equipt and very spaciois. The rooms were nice clean and roomy. The breakfast was also very good. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
9.1

Probably the cleanest hostel we have stayed in in South America. Very large kitchen with several hobs however it seemed to lack equipment. Staff helpful to plan tours and onward travel. 10 minute walk from the bus station. Dorm rooms spacious with en suites and lockers. Breakfast was basic.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Oct 2016
9.1

Great kitchen, really clean, spacious, comfy beds. Staff were friendly and helpful but we felt mis sold on the Punto Tombo penguin tour as it has lots of 'optional extras' on the day trip so although you are out for 11 hours you only have 1.5 hours with penguins (2 if you bargain like we did). If you do all the extras you spend over 2000 pesos per person. Peninsula Valdes tour was much better but still extortionate for what you get. Would recommend hostel but shop around for day trips

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.3

Really nice hostel, very clean, good breakfast spead and great staff .. definitely recommend it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.