Hostelworld.com

El Gualicho Hostel - HI

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.5
El Gualicho Hostel - HI Located at Marcos A. Zar 480, , Puerto Madryn.
El Gualicho Hostel - HI
Argentina
Puerto Madryn Marcos A. Zar 480
93% 270
-42.7696989 -65.0357151
El Gualicho Hostel - HI
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
31st Mar 2016
8.9

I was sick when I arrived in Puerto Madryn and the staff were helpful in getting me a private room after I'd booked a dorm. Staff were very friendly and helpful in all my dealings. The shared bathrooms were always spotless, the common areas were large and comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked and it was a decent breakfast. Hostel lacked atmosphere, but it was heading into low season and not many guests so not really their fault.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
10.0

Great place! Staff was extremely helpful and spoke English and Spanish, letting me know about different tours, activities, and places in the area. Guests were also friendly, even during low season (end of March/April). Facilities were very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Mar 2016
9.4

This hostel is clean, the staff are very helpful & friendly, they printed off our bus tickets free of charge. The kitchen is large & spacious and we noticed they changed the teatowel daily and the sponge which not all hostels do. The atmosphere was lacking, guests generally kept themselves to themselves this may be because most people are on long day trips Good wifi. We also were in low season so it was quieter. Only issue was the nearby nightclub booming til 6am so got no sleep on fri night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2016
7.4

Bedrooms, bathrooms and communal spaces were all really clean. The hostel was well located to the beach, town and bus station. The atmosphere was slightly lacking as there were small children running around screaming. Also fruit juice or fruit would have been a nice addition to breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • janellemkenny
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jan 2016
9.7

My boyfriend and I stayed here for several nights in a private room. The staff was very friendly with all of our questions and gave great recommendations for dining. The fridge was jam packed and full of uncovered food, but overall the kitchen was fine. The courtyard was nice to relax in - especially the hammocks, and an added bonus was the apricot tree was in season while we were there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • patrickheslin6802
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Dec 2015
8.9

But expensive but great location staff are helpful, very clean with great facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2015
10.0

Quite simply one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Certainly the cleanest. Great facilities and huge comfortable common areas, including an outside garden with hammocks. Even sold locally made craft beer! Great location, helpful staff, a real comfortable time here! Muchos gracias amigos!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pariginetta
  • France, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Nov 2015
9.7

The rooms are large and clean, the hostel offers activities (whale watching peninsula Valdes etc…). There is a pool table and a nice little garden with hammocks. The kitchen is wide. The staff is really nice and helpful. The hostel is at 10mn walk from the bus station and from the sea.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Nov 2015
10.0

Beautiful and spacious hostel, offering both indoor and outdoor areas to relax. The hostel staff were incredibly helpful and conversational. When you check out they hold your luggage and provide both use of bathroom AND shower! Great location near downtown where all the best food is.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2015
9.4

Very good location and the staff is excellent. Breakfast is very limited, would be nice to have some fruit, eggs or medialunas etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.