X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

El Guembe Hostel House Reviews

Avenida Guarani/Esquina Gobernador Lanuse, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
300 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

This place is literally just a bed for the night and needs some improvement. The room we sayed in had no windows and I was left with funky red lumps on my skin after staying here. Bed bugs? Very basic kitchen, below average facilities for exmple there are no bowls only plates to eat from. #Dontmakesoup. After eating a poor breakfast we watched a mouse do some exploring around the kitchen too. staff arent freindly and look at you asif you are an annoyance. My advice is dont stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
ALL THAT SAYS THIS PERSON IS LYING! Towels hostel took without paying! Not staying in ANOTHER HOSTEL...

80%

Does the job for the night to see argentinian side of falls. Wouldn't recommend for more than a night


66%

Decent enough hostel, though rooms and bathrooms were a bit shabby. Was very close to the bus station at least


89%

Definitely worth the money!


57%

There was no English speaker at the front fesk and it took time to check in. There is no security locker and no key for room. Free breakfast is not as good as other hostels. There were lots of mosquitos in my room so I couldn't sleep well...


80%

We only stayed one night. It's very close to the bus station. They even let us stay all day in the lobby and shower after check-out.


46%

The good thing about this place - is only a location. Our room: I saw blond hair EVERYWHERE on our bed (my color is brown!!!). Floor seemed to be not cleaned for ages. Shower worked from time to time. And the most disgusting thing - after this hostel we begin ITCHING !!!!! For instance, I'm a doctor, and that was for certain LICHEN. Avoid this place, please.

Owner Comment (Hide)
LIE ALL YOU SAY, THE GIRLS ARE ALL DAY CLEANING THE HOSTEL!

100%

Perfect place, located close to the bus terminal, even has a pool, perfect choice fore that money. Very nice.


69%

generally it was okay. atmosphere was nice, but toilets are not good enough. good kitchen faciities. and good breakfast. value for money


57%

The reservation we had in El Guembe Hostel House went south, so we ended up in El Guembe Suites (same owner). The review above is meant for that hostel. Why the not so high rating? - They say there is a bar: there is none - Shared bathrooms without a lock, why do they exist? - Personel hardly spoke English In short: The accomodation had a lot of potention, but a lot of things need the finishing touch. It can be a great hostel, once several small things are taken care of.


66%

There weren´t that many bathrooms. And the bathroom that was used the most, waskind of dirty and smelled bad.


77%

Hostel clean, in the centre and very nice staff. Bedrooms


63%

The staff didn't speak English. Breakfast is very simple with no cheese or ham or fruit, there was only cake, bread, and spreads. There is no microwave but there is an over so a very simple kitchen. Swimming pool and garden area live up to its name. There are a lot better hostels in the area. I wouldn't stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'll never understand to stay more nights of ORIGINAL BOOKING if not like the hostel!!!!! 4 NIGHTS WAS HOSTED HERE, THANKS FOR BEING WITH U.S.!

80%

Good location, not far from main station, friendly helpful staff


89%

Apart from the wifi which refused to work (though they had a computer in the lobby which you could use), everything else was great value-for-money. We had 5 people in a 5-bed dorm (60 pesos per pax per night) which had air-conditioning, we could lock up the room, we were able to fully utilize the kitchen and parrilla, the pool was tempting but too cold, they let us leave our bags and use the lockers even after we checked out, and the location (2 blocks from the bus station) was perfect.




View all Puerto Iguazu Hostels

Please give us your feedback