Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Euro Hostel Newcastle

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Euro Hostel Newcastle Located at 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne, Newcastle upon Tyne.
Euro Hostel Newcastle
England
Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne
79% 546
54.9731802 -1.6079521
Euro Hostel Newcastle
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jul 2016
7.1

An adequate hostel. Was quite handy having an ensuite in the room instead of sharing like most hostels. Being buried deep in the basement, the kitchen wasn't the most inviting space to cook/eat. All facilities were clean though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
8.6

Not bad, but it has no common area other than the bar so good luck BYOB

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
3.7

The entire place stinks of urine. Key card system wasnt explained. I was in the shower and someone took their key card and left me standing in the dark - You cant go in the kitchen to cook your own breakfast until 10 a.m. so you have to buy from the hostel - which is a total rip off! Rooms are pokey and small. DOORS SLAM ALL NIGHT LONG AS THEY ARE SET TO DO SO. In short, the pace is designed for people to get drunk in - and thats it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.6

Overall stay very good. The decor is dismal but facilities are good and staff helpful. Bed very comfortable and linen very clean. The bar is very good and reasonably priced for food and drink. However, I would have expected the residents' kitchen to be cleaner and friendlier. Also guests require staff to give them access to the kitchen between 10pm and 10am, which is not very practical for those who need to make their own breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
9.1

8-man dorm room is really small and cramped with alomst no place for backpacks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
5.1

The hostel doesn't have a sign or something to find it. The staff was not very friendly especially one old lady. Else the cleanliness was good and other staff were fine.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
5.7

Not too happy with this hostel. The staff were nice and friendly but the rooms were cramped, the bed squeaky and uncomfortable, no common room that you can bring drinks or food into with the exception on a kitchen that looks like a dungeon and has three chairs in it. The bedroom carpets look like they have never been cleaned and the bar was expensive. All in all it would work for a night or two, but for longer stays I would avoid.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2016
8.9

The hostel itself was fantastic! It was in a great location just a ten minute walk from the city centre. It was very clean and there was lots of space in the room. However, the staff at the reception on arrival were not very friendly. In the confirmation email we received it said we could check in from 11am. We arrived at 12 and were told we were wrong and that check in was not until 3. We then had to pay £2 per bag for left luggage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
9.4

Very freindly maybe to far from town personally but i enjoyed my stay i even acidently slept in on my leave day and staff were polite and understood good facilitys i didnt get to use many but the oven but well worth putting cookable good in your pack for easy cheep food

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th May 2016
8.6

We booked a room for 3 and they gave us a much bigger room. So we had plenty of space which is great. The room have 2 toilets and a flat screen TV which is much better equipped than other hostels I stayed. Great value!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.