X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt Reviews

Moselstr 40, Frankfurt/Main, Frankfurt, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
3174 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Hostel itself was good, breakfast was plentiful . Staff could work on being a little more approachable and interactive when checking in but were pleasant enough. 1 staff member with a beard was unnecessarily rude


89%

Other than the fact that this hostel was in the red light district, it was a really nice hostel. Very centrally located and easy to get around the city. We felt very safe and secure here and the staff was really friendly and helpful. The rooms were really clean as well as the bathrooms and showers. I would recommend this place to everyone.


86%

So here is the deal... This is an awesome hostel with an awesome staff and overall atmosphere. Not the cheapest but not the priciest. It's worth the money though for sure. The staff works hard to make you feel welcome, bathrooms are nice, breakfast is standard stuff yet good and plentiful, etc... Just realize that it is in the red light district (which is particularly seedy in Frankfurt even in broad daylight) and if this will upset you in any way don't bother booking. But I loved it.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Guess what?! The elevator was during my stay. A great hostel.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The stay was pleasant. Great Staff, fun atmosphere and a lively place overall. Would be better if Frankfurt was a better city to go to though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
: ) Thanks for the raring... Frankfurt is a very interesting place to visit. If you need any help, ask our receptionists for intereting places to visit and we highly recomment the walking turs of "insider tours". There is a normal Sightseeing tour but also tours of different interest, like architecture, world war 2, christmas markets and so on!!

71%

The elevator wasn't working for some days and not even a free drink can compensate the extra effort you need to carry things to the fifth floor. The kitchen was poorly equipped but the common room hada good atmosphere and the hosts were surprinsingly friendly. Excellent location very near thecity centre 3 minutes walking distance from train and bus station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
: ) Im happy to inform all future guests, that our elevator has a whole new machine and is working fine again. This sure was a very tough time for all of us, guests, staff and lets not forget the cleaning staff... Again we are very sorry for the incovenience and hope it wont happen ever again!!! Enjoy the elevator ride!!!!

77%

I like how open they are about their location. Once you get there, it's a great place!

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really cool hostel. Great vibe and facilities. Past night was awesome! I didn't mind the location but was grateful for their warnings. Arrived at night, alone, and obviously wasn't super comfortable but also not uncomfortable. All in all great place, I'd definitely go back


83%

The strutcture and cleaning of the hostel was really good.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Had a very nice staying.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I really enjoyed the atmosphere at this hostel was amazing! The rooms are clean, there is plenty of locker space, and the showers are amazing. I stayed at the 5 Elements twice, the first room I was in didn't have any hangers (that i noticed, I may be wrong), but the second room did and It was good. I like the common area, it is a great environment to meet new people!

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It is a great place to stay! Cool staff and comfort environment. The breakfast was pretty good! It is near to the Train Central Station, quite near to the Zeil Shopping Center and Historic Center.


74%

Although they advertised no smoking people smoked in the rooms and bathrooms. I had naked guests slam the bathroom door in my face while they smoked and did "stuff" leaving me locked out. The red light district was not the best but it was in walking distance to a lot of places and close to train station. Be prepared to see lots of people smoking crack in the neighborhood.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh, not a pleasant incident. Unfortunately in a hostel guests sometimes dont behave like guests and do whatever they like... Please let our receptionists know in case you feel offended or uncomfortable in any way. They will surely try their best to help. Also we are a non smoking hostel and we are definately not pleased if guests just decide to smoke inside anyway. In case they do, fines occur.

86%

Welcoming staff, amazing common room space, cheap beer and great atmosphere.


83%

Hostel was pretty basic. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The plus is they do provide a free breakfast each morning. The location is a little questionable it is 1 block over from a pretty sketchy street etc. I was travelling with one other guy so we felt fine but i wold not recommend heading out of the hostel at night for a girl or groups of girls.


94%

I had good time. very good location from train station.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

It is in the middle of the red light district but that doesn't mean it's not safe. Might be strange at first but nothing's going to happen. The staff was really helpful and the people in the hostel were awesome.


100%

The BEST hostel I've ever stayed in. The BBQ is great and so is the free breakfast!! What's even greater is the incredible atmosphere and social staff!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

great hostel, wish I had more time to spend here. the atmosphere made it great for meeting people, especially as a solo traveller. staff were very nice and accommodating


100%

Love this hostel. Friendly staff make you feel like a family by the end. fun activities, pub crawl is a must, the bbq and free walk walking tour. very clean and comfy rooms and bath/shower. very chill common/bar area, great way to meat other travelers. They also have a nice back patio to smoke and drink, they also allow you to bring your own alcohol into the hostel and drink. free breakfast is basic but still enough to fill you up till lunch/dinner. i will make it point to come back next time.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(152 results)


View all Frankfurt Hostels

Please give us your feedback