X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Four Canoes Hostel and Bar Reviews

273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
46 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

One of the best back packers I have ever stayed in Rotorua :) It was a great experience.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The Four Canoes Hostel and Bar is a real credit to you ,the staff are very friendly and eager to help and nothing is to hard for them. You put a lot of hotels and motels who charge much more than you do to change. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

After reading some positive reviews, I thought this hostel would be a lot better than it was. From outside, it is tired, motel style and not very inviting. Inside is not much better. When we walked in to check in, the staff behind the desk seemed surprised anyone was there. The hostel had no atomosphere. I like a quiet place to sleep but this was something else. Tv in our room didn't work. Wifi didn't work. Shower built for someone under 4 foot and was cold in the evening. Go somewhere else

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thanks very much for your feedback. We have taken what you have set onboard and are doing everything we can to rectify this. Once again we appreciate your feedback. Safe travels :) Regards Four Canoes Management

71%

Loved the stay just a few things we could have been offered would of been nice Like free coffee and tea hot drinks.. Soap as the hand dispenser didnt have anything in it....... The thermal pool was dirty one was not working at all Our room had missing light shades on the lamps, no alarm clock and no radio or tv in the rooms for $100per night you would of expected more...

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here for Raggamuffin! What made it such a great stay was how lovely and helpful the staff were, from the moment we walked in the door. Very clean beds, and amazing kitchen, great pool and very good wifi. Will stay here again in a heart beat. Thanks to the great staff for making my stay so perfect

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Rotorua Hostels

Please give us your feedback