X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Four Canoes Hostel and Bar Reviews

273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
44 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

After reading some positive reviews, I thought this hostel would be a lot better than it was. From outside, it is tired, motel style and not very inviting. Inside is not much better. When we walked in to check in, the staff behind the desk seemed surprised anyone was there. The hostel had no atomosphere. I like a quiet place to sleep but this was something else. Tv in our room didn't work. Wifi didn't work. Shower built for someone under 4 foot and was cold in the evening. Go somewhere else

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thanks very much for your feedback. We have taken what you have set onboard and are doing everything we can to rectify this. Once again we appreciate your feedback. Safe travels :) Regards Four Canoes Management

71%

Loved the stay just a few things we could have been offered would of been nice Like free coffee and tea hot drinks.. Soap as the hand dispenser didnt have anything in it....... The thermal pool was dirty one was not working at all Our room had missing light shades on the lamps, no alarm clock and no radio or tv in the rooms for $100per night you would of expected more...

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here for Raggamuffin! What made it such a great stay was how lovely and helpful the staff were, from the moment we walked in the door. Very clean beds, and amazing kitchen, great pool and very good wifi. Will stay here again in a heart beat. Thanks to the great staff for making my stay so perfect

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very firendly staff and room was comfortable. We enjoyed our stay here, was few minutes walk to the town center and plenty of parking in the hostel. If we plan a return trip will stay at the four canoes.


100%

The staff were very helpful, they were able to make great suggestions and took care of organising and transportation.


100%

This is a great hostel. Spacious kitchen and tv area. Free wifi was amazing, so hard to get in nz!!


71%

Stayed here for 3 nights + 1 Friendly and helpful staff 2 Excellent kitchen 3 Clean, decent facilities [pool, lounge] 4 Tie-ups with several local tours/adventures for lower-than-market-prices - 1 They overbooked and I didn't have a room by the time I arrived. While this is partly Hostelworld's fault and the staff did arrange for alternate, the smelly room was under construction and I was still charged a full price! 2 No bar! 3 Far away from the downtown area 4 Bad WiFi 5 Pricey

  • 4th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Quite a Way from the city.


91%

My boyfriend and I spent a great weekend at Four Canoes. We have both travelled the world quite a bit and both remarked that this is one of the best hostel's we've stayed at and that it didn't feel like a hostel. We will definitely be going back to Rotorua and will be booking Four Canoe's again. The lounge and TV were huge and so was our private room. The service was also excellent and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful when we asked for guidance.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The room was nice and clean and the kitchen was nice and big and plenty and room to cook and plenty of dish and cookware. There was no bar - so that was misleading and disappointing.There were 2 nice cafes next door and a liquor store down the street. It was a good mile to downtown and bus stop. The walk downtown was nice, it was just hard when we arrived at 1am to have to walk to the hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful They had good deals on tours and the booked everything for us

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent hostel in the middle of Rotorua. Double rooms good value and very nice




View all Rotorua Hostels

Please give us your feedback