X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Four Canoes Hostel and Bar Reviews

273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
110 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

I was quiet dissappointed upon arrival because the que in the reception is long and they only have one receptionist/attendant.Answering phone at the same time attending the guest. The bathroom was not clean no floor rag no towels...There is no enough fridge for food keeping.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

This place is good enough for budget concsious family vacation. When we arrived for check in, reception was busy on the phone and she kept us waiting for about 15 minutes or more. Overall, the place is average.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Brilliant in the fact it was not bunk beds and that the room was spacious and the ensuite superb. Location was just right not too far from centre butbfar enough not to be disturbed. Sadly my headphones were taken during my stay here but the staff were sympathetic and searched the tv lounge and lost property in the hope to locate them but sadly to no avail. The staff were ALL friendly and helpful and made my stay as a solo travellor so good and for that i would highly recommend for solo acts.


77%

Staff was great. No pools not great.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is close to the shop but I cant find any heating system in our room. Also our room was dim and dont have adequate lighting. The kitchen is good though..

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly personal at the reception. The room was tidy and it was nice that it had a private bathroom. There was music playing in the hallway which you could hear inside the room. This was a negative point. Luckily the music was out later on the evening. Also, I missed free tea or coffee.

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is cheap so you get what you pay for. Bathroom was pretty gross, old pubes in bathtub,and there is no actual 'bar' on site. It's a 15 min walk from the Tourist Office and the wifi only works in reception. However, staff were lovely and really helpful and kitchen was good.


86%

Great location, good value for money, friendly and helpful staff. Great common room to chill and watch dvd's in. Comfortable beds and large rooms , highly recommend .


83%

Great value for money. A little bit far away from the center. No food. Besides, good place to stay...


86%

A bit of confusion with booking on our arrival but staff sorted straight away and from there on in, everything else went smoothly and staff were helpful, friendly & accomodating towards our group. For NZD26 per night, accomodation was worth it.

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Our stay was awesome, except for a couple of things; basketball teams that were there already were noisy, loud after hours and that noise could be heard downstairs into our other booked rooms were the couple made a choice to move into another hotel, other than that our stay was awesome.

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cook Islands
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Rotorua Hostels

Please give us your feedback