Hostelworld.com

Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 265 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 265 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2
Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty Located at Rua Orlando Carpinelli, 5, , Paraty.
Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty
Brazil
Paraty 23970-000 Rua Orlando Carpinelli, 5
77% 265
-23.2150880 -44.7120534
Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • benediktkoe7167
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
8.6

Positive: + Nice Location directly at the beach, including breakfast at the beach and one free Caipirinha every night + The room was cleaned daily, but the common areas incl. toilets could have been cleaner + Very friendly and chilled people Negative: - Very liberal key policy - There was nearly no water coming out of the pipes - After my reservation they asked for an additional prepayment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • danahawkins
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
21st Mar 2016
9.4

We stayed in a private room in the new section and it was amazing. Unfortunately the aircon was broken on the first night, but they managed to get it fixed for us on the second night (would have taken two weeks in Australia). Really super friendly staff, perfect location just off the beach and an awesome spot for breakfast as well. Really great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2016
5.1

This place was seriously so disgusting. I don't think they cleaned the bathrooms the entire time we were there. 12 people - 1 bathroom. When I asked reception if there was another bathroom to use throughout the facility i was told no.. You have to use the one allocated in your room. I'm well into grubbing it up whilst backpacking but for 20 aussie dollars a night this place was really not worth it. The beach bar at the front was cool - but you don't need to stay at this place to enjoy that!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2016
6.6

Very dirty hostel. Dont stay in the 12 bed drom no room even for your bags.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2016
7.7

The Hostel is good on general but it was very hot in the room as the AC was not working well and the fan was very noisy. Very good location, good breakfast on the beach

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
9th Feb 2016
5.7

We stayed over the end of the carnaval period so understandably the prices were much higher than normal but the hostel clearly couldn't cope with this many guests. The room was very cramped, our sheets weren't ready until midnight. The wifi was more or less non-existent. The staff were mostly incompetent and unhelpful. The showers were blocked and flooded. The lockers were on the other side of the hostel and not enough for everyone. Breakfast and bar on the beach was great and excellent location

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2016
7.7

Overall it was an amazing place if you wish to be close to the beach with a bar, but prepared to pay extra for this not luxury. We paid extra for a private room, the air con spat water which in turn made the bed damp. The linen smelt damp which didn't make for a pleasant sleep. Besides this the facilities were great, the staff were friendly but they required multiple prompts to book our transfer which was a service they offer. In the end it was booked and we loved Paraty!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2016
5.1

Wi-fi barely works + Internet on the computer for guests was terrible (couldn't even load to book a flight). When we told the staff they just shrugged and continued to scroll through Facebook on the perfectly working Internet on the staff computer. Aircon in room was broken and it was incredibly hot and uncomfortable to sleep. There was also construction going on within the hostel with a ladder right outside our door. We were not advised in advance and if we had been we wouldn't have stayed here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
28th Dec 2015
8.6

Good breakfast, beautiful at the beach. We only stayed one night. Staff was helpful with organising a transfer to ilha grande. There is a computer you can use for internet. Lockers are at different location than the dorm. Simple wooden bunkbeds, not super clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2015
9.4

Right on the beach! Perfect. Aircon seemed to do nothing. Apart from that would highly reccomend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.