Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th May 2017
8.0

Wifi was terrible, did not work at all. No soap in any of the bathrooms and didn't have any locks for the lockers. We brought some and they were too big for the lockers they had.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • cindymendes_7
  • Brazil, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.4

Great value hostel. Right by the beach, with a 15 min walk to the hostoric centre. Staff were super helpful and friendly, even let us check in way earlier than their time. Would recommend other breakfast variaties, as we had the same thing every single day. Other than that, cannot complain. Will def be back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
8.6

Had a great time at the hostel, good vibe and great location! The staff was excellent and Carla was one of the friendliest, funniest and best receptionist ive ever encountered. I will recomend this hostel to other travelers going to Paraty

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel! Right on the beach, and walking distance to downtown. Bus station is a long walk, but still walkable. Hostel bar has a great atmosphere and it's easy to meet people just by hanging out there. The hostel also has books of tours and activities to choose from. We went to a day-long waterfall-hopping jeep tour that took us to three different waterfalls! Staff are great! Calu was really friendly and helpful. She had great advice and knew all about the city and the different tours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Mar 2017
10.0

Hostel and staff were awesome. The three of us got moved into a private 4 bed dorm for free when there were not enough lockers in the dorm we booked. The vibe was awesome and the breakfast / bar area was right on the beach and a perfect place to relax! Would definitely stay here again if we were back in Paraty

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
7.7

It's an all right, average hostel. Great breakfast by the beach and a social bar in the evening. Wifi only in the lobby, which for me was very inconvenient. The kitchen looks unfinished, doesn't have enough pots and the pans and such, and the drawers smell moldy. The beds are squeaky but comfortable. I think the tours they offer are more expensive than elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.9

Staff are the best thing about this hostel. Showed us a wicked time and went well out of the way to look after us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.0

Perfect location right on the beach, also walking distance to another beach, the historic centre and the bus station. Good value for money but not many plugs in the rooms, some bunk beds were 3 high (I was at the top which as a 5'0 girl was not the best), and the kitchen was small and not very well equipped. Definitely worth it for the location, just be prepared for the rest!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Nov 2016
10.0

Incredible place!! Very nice and polite staff, comfortable and clean rooms, delicious breakfast and excellent location! I highly recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.