Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 298 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty Located at Rua Orlando Carpinelli, 5, , Paraty.
Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty
Brazil
Paraty 23970-000 Rua Orlando Carpinelli, 5
89% 298
-23.2150880 -44.7120534
Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Serviço ótimo e o melhor café da manhã!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
10.0

overall a great time! the hostel and bar staff ar both very friendly and helpful, great location, particuarly Agustina is very helpful with which beaches to visit and how to get there via bus or walk :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
4.0

Unfortunately, my friends and I had a very bad time at the Geko hostel and we are all experienced hostel travelers. We stayed in the 12 bed mixed dorm and it was really dirty and smelled so bad that we had to keep the door open all night. When we arrived, the staff was friendly but they had run out of pillows so we had to sleep on our clothes. That same night another traveler slept in our room and vomited all over the bathroom and in the room as well so we got almost no sleep. DONT STAY AT GEKO

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
10.0

I had a really good experience at Geko hostel, the location is perfect, breakfast was very generous and yum! Agustina was super helpful, nothing was too much trouble. I highly recommend this place if you go to Paraty!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service. Sincerely, Guadalupe. Manager – Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty.

  • feike8322
  • Belgium, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th May 2016
6.6

First night we stayed at a room with 9 people. There were bunk beds with 3 beds above each other. The room was so small, no place to put our backpacks. No place to stand in the room with 2 people. Only one bathroom with toilet ensuite to use for 9 people. After a bad night cramped in a tiny room with 9 people we changed to a room with 6 beds wich was thankfully a bit bigger. Not much security as everybody could walk in. Staff was okay. breakfast was okay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • benediktkoe7167
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
8.6

Positive: + Nice Location directly at the beach, including breakfast at the beach and one free Caipirinha every night + The room was cleaned daily, but the common areas incl. toilets could have been cleaner + Very friendly and chilled people Negative: - Very liberal key policy - There was nearly no water coming out of the pipes - After my reservation they asked for an additional prepayment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service. Sincerely, Guadalupe. Manager – Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty.

  • danahawkins
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
21st Mar 2016
9.4

We stayed in a private room in the new section and it was amazing. Unfortunately the aircon was broken on the first night, but they managed to get it fixed for us on the second night (would have taken two weeks in Australia). Really super friendly staff, perfect location just off the beach and an awesome spot for breakfast as well. Really great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service. Sincerely, Guadalupe. Manager – Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2016
5.1

This place was seriously so disgusting. I don't think they cleaned the bathrooms the entire time we were there. 12 people - 1 bathroom. When I asked reception if there was another bathroom to use throughout the facility i was told no.. You have to use the one allocated in your room. I'm well into grubbing it up whilst backpacking but for 20 aussie dollars a night this place was really not worth it. The beach bar at the front was cool - but you don't need to stay at this place to enjoy that!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

If I were in your shoes, I’d feel just as you do. I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced. On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please know, this is not the experience neither the hostel nor I want to deliver to our guests. We are very concerned and we want to assure you that we take this matters very seriously. This missed opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by. To ensure that this will never happen again, we are working hard improving our internal organization in order to offer the best travelers experience we can. We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers. Sorry to have caused you this inconvenience. If there is any possibility, we would offer the opportunity to return on another occasion. If you want to accept the proposed offer for you and your companions a compensation of R$ 200 (Brazilian Reais) will be discounted from your next stay at the Chill Inn Hostel. Please count on our cooperation and understanding, and please accept our sincere apologies. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided. Once again, apologizing for what happened in the provision and continuing. Sincerely, Guadalupe. Manager – Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2016
6.6

Very dirty hostel. Dont stay in the 12 bed drom no room even for your bags.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

If I were in your shoes, I’d feel just as you do. I’m sorry for the frustration you have experienced. On behalf of our Hostel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Upon reflection, we realize that some things should’ve been handled differently. Please know, this is not the experience neither the hostel nor I want to deliver to our guests. We are very concerned and we want to assure you that we take this matters very seriously. This missed opportunity to give you an enjoyable experience with us is something that we could never abide by. To ensure that this will never happen again, we are working hard improving our internal organization in order to offer the best travelers experience we can. We know that there were gaps and we have them identified. We are trying to develop new training methods for all employees, so that this problem is avoided to the maximum. We are also working on regulations and procedures for improvement in our services for Travelers. Sorry to have caused you this inconvenience. If there is any possibility, we would offer the opportunity to return on another occasion. If you want to accept the proposed offer for you and your companions a compensation of R$ 200 (Brazilian Reais) will be discounted from your next stay at the Chill Inn Hostel. Please count on our cooperation and understanding, and please accept our sincere apologies. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure that all guests remain 100% satisfied with the services provided. Once again, apologizing for what happened in the provision and continuing. Sincerely, Guadalupe. Manager – Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2016
7.7

The Hostel is good on general but it was very hot in the room as the AC was not working well and the fan was very noisy. Very good location, good breakfast on the beach

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really glad and grateful of receiving you evaluation. We treasure you contact because it’s a valuable source of data about our pros and cons of our work. Our job it’s always headed to 100% cutomer satisfaction. In an environment of increasing competition and higher demands, we only want to improve ourselves to offer you better service. Once again, thank you for helping us in our hard work of offering our customers a better service. Sincerely, Guadalupe. Manager – Geko Hostel & Pousada Paraty.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.