X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Girassol Hostel Reviews

Rua Purpurina 199 F, Vila Madalena., Sao Paulo, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
189 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

This hostel has the smallest rooms of any hostel I have stayed in plus no windows in some of the rooms. The linen was dirty. The hostel is dirty, especially the kitchen area which is cramped and no very limited equipment plus no work surface to prepare food. There is nowhere to eat apart from one sofa in the kitchen and a couple of benches outside. The website states multiple facilities which do not exist including bar, cafe, supermarket, city maps, airport transfers, travel desk and common room


86%

Great staff and location! The people that come through this hostel are great people and I had a lot of great times staying here in Sao Paulo!

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff were really friendly and helpful and it had a really relaxed, warm atmosphere.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

The Hostel smells badly due to the unwashed plates. The room and especially the upstairs bathroom were really dirty. The double bed is really old and uncomfortable. For the same price you get in RJ a much nicer hostel with better rooms, service, and food. (We just came from there so we had a direct comparison.)

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Cozy hostel! This is probably one of the smallest hostels I have been to! Very nice atmosphere, good breakfast with eggs, cakes and good coffee! There are nice graffiti around the walls and a grocery store across the street. The location is very good, quick walk to the subway station Vila Madalena. Room was clean and shower as well. Internet quite fast and very safe area!

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I ended up staying 8 nights in this hostel. It´s very familiar and peaceful. Staff were very nice and helpful. Loved the terrace and mainly the paintings on the walls. Location is great!

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

After 4 months of travelling in latin america this hostel is on my top 5 list. It is a small hostel, only 20 beds. It is a good place to rest and meet people. Although there is no bar they do sell beer & wine. The food offerings is amazing, you are offered all the time popcorn, cookies, coffee and anything they might be cooking...Thank you!!

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Cozy place. Ended up staying 2 more nights. Location is the best. Across the road there is a market. There are also 24 hs services within a walking distance plus the subway. Vila Madalena is probably the best area to stay in San Paulo.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel was filthy. Another where you had to put toilet paper in a bin. We stayed for 3 nights, nobody cleaned our bin once! We had a bin full of sh*t. Our double room (ensuite) had no windows and still had old razors and shampoo bottles in the bathroom. Worse still, some guests knocked on our door at 8am wanting to use our shower! The Staff were helpful though....the Brazillian girl was magnificent in telling us what to do and see in Vila Madalena. Breakfast was non existant.


100%

Cozy hostel with a nice terrace painted with graffiti. Very good location in Vila Madalena and very taste cakes in the morning! Thanks Lucas, Laura, Karin


80%

The hostel is really well located, in front of a supermarket, close to restaurants, bakery, 10 min walk from the subway. The room was a bit tight, if you have a big luggage that will be a problem. The common areas were clean, including the bathroom.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed in one of their private rooms and though extremely small, it was very cheap and had everything I needed. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help if you need anything (they all speak english and most of them speak spanish as well). Very laid back atmosphere in a great neighborhood. Plus, Lucas bakes pretty awesome cakes for everyone. I can definitely recommend it.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is really cramped like the reviews said, I didn't care about it when I booked, the staff were helpful and kind, the showers are very good and warm, didn't have the chance to use the internet and breakfast. It's a well located hostel to the neighborhood bars and metro station.


97%

Wonderful hostel. It's like a small house, very friendly, in the center of Vila Madalena, there are nice places to hang and the staff is awesome.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel, the people that work here are great and have a nice deck with a good view of Vila Madalena.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Girassol Hostel will be a supernice hostel soon. The staff is already excellent, especially Lucas is a friendly and sympathetic manager. When we were there though the hostel was still under construction, which means it was impossible to get a nap within the day because of the noise. The dorms were totally fine, but the tiny private room had no windows and the closets were full of stuff. I would not recommend staying in this room.


83%

The location (Vila Madalena) is nice and there is some street art close. The staff is also nice. The 'breakfast' is nearly eggs only.


69%

The location was great and staff really friendly. However, the place is very cramped. We had a double room which felt like it had been converted from a cupboard. The common area was small and kitchen sink overflowing with dirty dishes.


71%

Girassol Hostel is located in the alternative area of Villa Madelena which is easy accessible (metro station 10mins away) and seemed safe to me. The hostel is small so that the atmosphere is family-like. Our private room had one double bed and closet in it. The staff is friendly, helpful and speaks good English. On top of the very good Wifi there are two computers you can freely use. In the morning you can help yourself to a breakfast with toast, jam and eggs. Overall, I def. recommend it.


51%

As other comments have mentioned, only positive about this place is the staff. Came here on lasagna night because the amazing hostel I was staying at nearby (Cafe hostel) was full. And what a way to highlight Cafe hostel. Stayed in a 12 bed dorm here too, and it was TINY, no room for large packs. There were no ladders to the top of the bunk bed, which meant I had to channel my inner long jumper when getting to my top bunk. Imagine how fun that was when you had to pee in the middle of the night.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Sao Paulo Hostels

Please give us your feedback