X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Girassol Hostel Reviews

Rua Purpurina 199 F, Vila Madalena., Sao Paulo, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
211 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Breakfast included was bread and butter. The 8 bed dorm was so small, you couldn't move around.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

It is very small so you dont have anywhere to stay as a comun room for everyone its cheap so you can expect what you pay dont think that is 5 stars The staff is ok but one of the brazilean girls is very mean and doestn speak another language it is well located close to many bares in a good area and the supermarket is on front


40%

Staff didn't seem to sure what was going on. hostel was tiny and dark with very few, tiny, windows. social are was so small it felt hard to meet people. The space between the beds was so small only one person could walk between them at a time.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The staff is really nice. The private room does not have any windows.


37%

Worst hostel I've ever stayed in by a long Way, checked out after 1 night, no window in room and very cramped in room and shared spaces. When it rains the hostel floods, ridiculously overpriced

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Good location and a very safe area, friendly helpful staff!


86%

I like this place is really just a shame that it is so small and feels really cramped, and bathroom facilities are a little inadequate.


43%

Looking for claustrophobic dormitories with dirty bed sheets? Breakfast consisting of 1 cookie? Unexperienced staff composed of ever-changing voluntaries with no tourism experience whatsoever? Then this is your place. The staff here has no idea how to interact with customers; they treat you as if you were a guest at their home. When I told my bedsheet was dirty they forgot to change it. The last day we had to move to a more crowded dormitory despite our reservation. We changed hostels. Avoid


46%

This hostel has the smallest rooms of any hostel I have stayed in plus no windows in some of the rooms. The linen was dirty. The hostel is dirty, especially the kitchen area which is cramped and no very limited equipment plus no work surface to prepare food. There is nowhere to eat apart from one sofa in the kitchen and a couple of benches outside.


86%

Great staff and location! The people that come through this hostel are great people and I had a lot of great times staying here in Sao Paulo!

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff were really friendly and helpful and it had a really relaxed, warm atmosphere.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

The Hostel smells badly due to the unwashed plates. The room and especially the upstairs bathroom were really dirty. The double bed is really old and uncomfortable. For the same price you get in RJ a much nicer hostel with better rooms, service, and food. (We just came from there so we had a direct comparison.)

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Cozy hostel! This is probably one of the smallest hostels I have been to! Very nice atmosphere, good breakfast with eggs, cakes and good coffee! There are nice graffiti around the walls and a grocery store across the street. The location is very good, quick walk to the subway station Vila Madalena. Room was clean and shower as well. Internet quite fast and very safe area!

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I ended up staying 8 nights in this hostel. It´s very familiar and peaceful. Staff were very nice and helpful. Loved the terrace and mainly the paintings on the walls. Location is great!

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

After 4 months of travelling in latin america this hostel is on my top 5 list. It is a small hostel, only 20 beds. It is a good place to rest and meet people. Although there is no bar they do sell beer & wine. The food offerings is amazing, you are offered all the time popcorn, cookies, coffee and anything they might be cooking...Thank you!!

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Cozy place. Ended up staying 2 more nights. Location is the best. Across the road there is a market. There are also 24 hs services within a walking distance plus the subway. Vila Madalena is probably the best area to stay in San Paulo.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel was filthy. Another where you had to put toilet paper in a bin. We stayed for 3 nights, nobody cleaned our bin once! We had a bin full of sh*t. Our double room (ensuite) had no windows and still had old razors and shampoo bottles in the bathroom. Worse still, some guests knocked on our door at 8am wanting to use our shower! The Staff were helpful though....the Brazillian girl was magnificent in telling us what to do and see in Vila Madalena. Breakfast was non existant.


100%

Cozy hostel with a nice terrace painted with graffiti. Very good location in Vila Madalena and very taste cakes in the morning! Thanks Lucas, Laura, Karin


80%

The hostel is really well located, in front of a supermarket, close to restaurants, bakery, 10 min walk from the subway. The room was a bit tight, if you have a big luggage that will be a problem. The common areas were clean, including the bathroom.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Sao Paulo Hostels

Please give us your feedback