X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Gîte d'Etape - Youth Hostel Jacques Brel Reviews

Rue de la Sablonnière 30, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1530 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The location of the Hostel is excellent. The persons in the front are very kindly and solved any issue I can have. The breakfast was also very good. I was travelling by myself, looking for a single room with private bathroom. The options I got were: a) pay as if two persons were staying in the room, b) share the room. To save some money, I shared the room. It was not that bad, but not as relaxed as I expected. So, more options of private rooms for one persons will be nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
g'day thanks for your feedback and remarks. we're glad you enjoyed our organic breakfast ! thinking about earplugs could be a solution for noisy room mates best of all within the HI community cheers, phil

89%

Pros: clean, safe, quiet, close to city center. Not a party hostel. Fantastic breakfast. Really nice staff. Free walking tour pick up from hostel. Cons: not that easy to meet other travelers. Internet only available on main floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely comment! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see u again in Brussels. Cheers, Virginie

77%

I stayed for two nights over a weekend. The rooms are basic, without bedside powerpoints/usb, with small lockers, and a run-down albeit functioning shower attached. The staff were helpful and the hostel felt safe. The hostel is around 5 minutes from the city/busy area by foot, but the area seemed safe. Breakfast was simple but plentiful. I unfortunately had an irritable, nocturnal guest in my dorm which made for an unhappy time. I'm not sure that i'd stay there again.


94%

We were very glad that there was a free breakfast and a free tour

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thank you very much for your comments and good notes !! organic breakfast and bedsheets are included you can rent towels: cost 3.00€ or you could also bring your own Hope to see you again! regards phil

80%

4 floors up and upon arrival 20th lift out of action When I left on 23rd still no lift

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for the comment. It is always important to have some feedback form our guests, in order to get better and better. We are renovating our lift to give a better service to our guests and also because it needs it for security laws. Hope we will see you again! Cheers, Mattia

94%

Second time I stayed here, great hostel! Quite big, but it has all the facilities you could possibly be looking for. Staff is very friendly. Hostel is clean and has a nice atmosphere in the common areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks so much for the beautiful comment you wrote us. It is always so good to discover we are doing the things in the right way! Thanks so much for everything and hope to see you again here! Cheers, Mattia

86%

I enjoyed my stay at the Jacques Brel hostel in Brussels! Though we arrived about 7 hours earlier than check in, they were able to hold our luggage so that we could still explore the city without worrying about our bags. The hostel also provides free walking tours, free breakfast, and free wifi (though it only works in the lobby). The staff were friendly and very helpful and gave us recommendations on things to do. The only issue was its location- a long 20 minute walk outside the city.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day thanks for your energizing remarks and comments ! we are most happy you had a great stay at the brel hostel you've said it all , i must add we're 15 minutes walk from downtown city center bon voyage regards phil

74%

The hostel felt kind of industrial. The rooms were nice, there was breakfast (although not that extensive). The common area is kind of pathetic, but all in all it was a pretty good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Maybe you found our common area a bit spare, cause we have just finished doing radical renovations and so we had to remove all the decorations we had before, now we are thinking and buy brand new decorations... but little by little... Hope you will come again to see our common area with new decorations. Cheers Mattia

83%

it is a good place for staying. The location is excellent...

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks so much for the pretty comment, we are really proud when we know you enjoy your stay in our hostel! Hope to see you again, Cheers, Mattia

54%

I didn't find the staff to be helpful or friendly. When asked for suggestions for places to eat or visit the answers I got were uncaring. I was also extremely upset to find that the charge for the towels ( 3 euro) was so high and not a security deposit. In all the hostels that I have stayed in, the money has always been a security deposit. On top of that, the internet was very crappy. Every 10 minutes you were kicked off, and it was so slow you couldn't load google in 10 minutes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
gday, thanks for your comments and remarks we are so sorry you didn't enjoyed your stay at the hostel Brel we'll always do our best to welcome guests from all over the world in the best possible way. wifi is free of charge but as you said it could get slow sometime depending of the number of connections guest could either rent towels 3.00€ or bring their own we wish you the best within the hi community regards phil

91%

Good atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast. It takes a 10-12 minute walk to the centre, but it's a good location if you want to stay next to the centre but without all that crowded noisy atmosphere.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
g'day thanks a lot for leaving a comment you've said it all ! we'd hope to see you again within the hi community regards phil

77%

We took the private room with two beds. The room was good and we could connect to wifi from our room. However, though the shower room and toilet were only for us, they were located outside of our room. And the shower didn't work well. It was so weak that my friend didn't even take a shower for two nights lol. If only the shower was fine, it would have been excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, you had the room 23 with the ensuite shower and sink just in front of your room door, it is the only room like that. We apologize for the weak water in the shower, probably the water pressure wasn't enough, did you ask for a solution at the reception? Maybe the may fix that. Hope we can see you again in our hostel! Cheers, Mattia

83%

Very nice facilities and rooms. The only downside was that we were there on a Friday night and unfortunately the place was not happening at all despite them having ample facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thanks for leaving a comment about your stay sorry to hear it didn't happen on friday night In that kind of situation,you could always go dowtown to the city center, where you can find the "grand-place " ( 15 minutes walk ) we'd appreciate your good feedback regards phil

74%

This is a very big hostel, so you don't really get a very hostel-ish vibe. Nevertheless, it was pretty good. The facilities are very clean and everything is efficient. The free breakfast is good and there is a big selection. They also have a bar which I was not able to check out. Location was fine, it's an easy walk to the city center. My only main complaint is the wifi - it does not reach the rooms (at least on the 3rd floor where I was).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sofia, Thank you for your comment. Glad to hear you enjoyed our organic breakfast. Our bar is a nice place to connect with the others guests (and we have a large selection of belgian beers :) We are working on a new WIFI system to connect all the hostel. It will be available in June. See you soon on the HI network. Cheers, Virginie

86%

Our bathroom didn't smell very good at all. That is my only complaint. Other than that it was a wonderful stay, great location and the staff was quite friendly (complimented me on my Quebecois accent and all). It is of course low season, so it was not too busy. But it must be an amazing and exciting place to stay in the summer when it is packed with people!

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thanks for your comments and sorry for the bad smell, it has already been fixed we'll be happy to welcome you again sometime in summer so we could have a chance to show you how busy it gets ! bon voyage within the hi circle regards phil

83%

The staff in the front desk were very helpful and always smiley. I was there in 2008 and I could notice renovations, specially in the bathrooms, wich makes it look nicer. The only wierd thing was with the bar tender, I don't know why he was shouting to one of the customers and as I could appreciate the moment, there was no need to shout and say unnecesary unpolite things. The WiFi is not available in the 4th floor. the rest of the experience was good.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Paulina , Thank you for your nice comment . We renoved also the lobby , you have to see this ! The hostel is brand new :) I'm very sad to read that there was a confusion with the bartender , we will talk to him to see and manage what happen . Hope to see you again soon in our youth hostel !

77%

Good breakfast, comfortable rooms , well located and a very good free walking tour available!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
g'day thanks for your message we're glad you enjoyed your stay among us and we wish you the best within the hi community regards phil

91%

The hostel is amazing, really clean and comfortable. We had a room with bathroom and it was big and clean. The staff is really smart and kind . Mattia is a great guy and was very helpful. The location is nice and closer to the botanical garden, so pretty central. We had a great time and i really recommend this place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
g'day thanks a lot your good comments the hostel staff do his best to welcome guests in the best possible manner bon voyage within the HI hostels on your way regards phil

71%

Nice hostel, little bit of a walk from the main attractions. Staff were very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thanks for leaving a comment about your stay we're 15 minutes walk from dowtown city center, where you can find the "grand-place " we'd appreciate your good feedback regards phil



View all Brussels Hostels

Please give us your feedback