X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Gîte d'Etape - Youth Hostel Jacques Brel Reviews

Rue de la Sablonnière 30, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1400 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

During our stay a school group was there and right outside our room was a patio. We didnt get in until 11 pm and about 20 people were on the patio with music blaring and loud singing. We just wanted to sleep. We informed the front desk of the noise but we were disappointed that the 10 pm quiet time wasn't enforced better. The group moved to the courtyard and continued their party there.


49%

When booking the hostel, I didn't realise there was ongoing construction work set to continue until the 15th of October. As a result, the general facilities were pretty dusty and it was hard to move around with the luggage. The luggage storage room was also underground and it was difficult to carry two heavy suitcases down the stairs. The internet only works near the reception and therefore there was no wi-fi in the bedroom.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're really sorry for the inconvenience our renovation-works caused you. It should be finished in december. Our cleaning team is doing its best to keep the hostel as clean as possible. Wifi is working on ground-floor. We hope you'll have great moment in HI hostels. Best regards, Agathe

69%

I'm sure once they complete the renovations it will be a very nice place to stay. A bit messy through all the construction going on while I stayed. Also a bit of a walk to the main areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thansk for your comment ! We're xaiting for the end of our renovation works :) You're welcome to come once our brand new hostel is done ! We're 15 minutes walk from the city center and 2 minutes walk from the metro station. We wish the best within the HI community. Agathe

40%

Having stayed in many hostels on my trip, this was by far the worst! The room was run down and covered in graffiti, the shower leaked, flooding the bathroom every shower. The worst bit was the building work being done, starting at 8 every morning, everything was covered in dust, cement mixers, drills and workmen everywhere. Our room didnt have a toilet so we were told to use one the other side of the hostel in a half built room, in the middle of a building site. Very disappointing!!!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're really sorry you didin't liked your stay in our hostel. It's true that this special week wasn't the best for our guest. All our team is doing is best to welcome guests in the best condition possible and keep the hostel clean. We hope you'll live beautiful moment during your travel ! Best regards, Agathe

74%

Great room. Great staff. Great bar. Great location. Only downside (hence the 2/5 cleanliness rating) was that the hotel was still under going renovations. When that is down, this hostel would be great as a bad to explore Brussels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your message ! We're sorry for the inconvenience our renovation works may have caused you. It should be finished soon :) We wish you the best within the HI community ! Agathe

94%

The dining room/kitchen is great, good variety for breakfast(breakfast is included). The staff is very friendly, and helpful as well. This hostel is conveniently located, maybe a 10 minute walk to the Grand Pleis. There is a big enclosed gate at the entrance to the property, so security is not an issue at all. The hostel can sell you a voucher for taxis also, so that makes it easy to get to the airport when departing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your comment ! We're glad you liked our organic breakfast. We're 15 minutes walk from the city-center. We wish you the best within the HI community :) Agathe

83%

location isn't amazing but over all a good hostel. Not a party hostel. Staff are lovely

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We're happy you liked your stay in our hostel :) The hostel is 15 minutes walk from the city-center. We wish you the best within the HI community. Best regards, Agathe

69%

Terrible wifi that you need to keep logging into constantly while you are actually using the internet. Other than that not.too bad a place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Renovation works affect our wifi sometimes. It now working well on all our ground floor. We wish you to live great moments within the HI community ! :) Best regards, Agathe

91%

The staff are friendly and there are one bar with good beers with good prices. The locations it´s good and near to one subway station. Clean and organized.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your good comment ! We're really happy you liked our selection of belgian beers, and we also serve home-made food. We wish you the best within the HI community :) Agathe

74%

We only stayed for one night and were quite annoyed by the sensor-mediated bathroom light. It would often turn off while we were in the midst of doing something in the bathroom. There were also renovations going on, so it meant that the place was dustier and noisier than it probably usually is. The wi-fi was only available in the lobby, so that was slightly inconvenient. The room was quite small, but clean and sufficient. Within walking distance to the main tourist sights of Brussels.


91%

Great hostel, rooms are amazing, in room sink and shower. Lockers need to be a bit bigger. Staff were friendly and helpful. In hostel bar had great music and great staff and cheap food and drinks :D the place is 2min walk from metro and 10min walk from city centre perfect location!! Definitely going back :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for leaving us such a good comment !! We're so happy you liked our hostel ! We're waiting for you next time you travel to Bruxelles :) We wish you the best, Agathe

100%

Everthing you would want in a hostel


94%

I loved this hostel. The location is good, easy to get to the centre. The atmosphere is great here and the staff are really helpful. They have computer access, a luggage room as well as smaller lockers in the rooms - you need a lock for these. The hostel was clean which is always good. The breakfast was amazing - such a range in different food and drinks - can't believe it was free! Overall I loved this place and will definitely be going back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi dear, Thanks so much for your amazing review of our hostel, hope we can see you again soon!!! Cheers, Mattia

57%

I stayed at this hostel a year ago, and liked it so much I came back. I was extremely disappointed this time around. The building is under construction; it happens, I get that. However, to charge the price they did for an entire floor to be sharing ONE toilet was ridiculous to me. There was no toilet paper by 2:00am, and there werent staff available to ask for more. If a hostel is in the condition it is in now (wires hanging from ceilings, ceilings exposed, etc) they need to charge less.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thank you for your comments we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience we are doing some works in the hostel so that we can offer a better service in the near future best regards phil

83%

Nice and big hostel, great atmoshphere. If you are looking for a quiet place for rest and a good value for money this is the place! Easy location by underground. Staff is nice and friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thanks for your nice comments we're 15 minutes walk from downtown city center all the best within the HI circle regards phil

83%

Great place but sleeping was difficult as the noise from the bar area was super loud past even 1am!

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thanks for the good comments we're sorry for the noise at night, we'll try to be quieter in the future hope to welcome you again best regards phil

83%

The hostel was in a decent location with a good atmosphere. There was only internet in the lobby which made it difficult to do work. There was also an issue with the toilet, there was no toilet paper in the restroom, I went down to the lobby to ask for some but they did not supply it until the following afternoon.


86%

We would like to appreciate mainly breakfasts. This hostel knows how look a real breakfast for backpackers;).


100%

Great Hostel but twin room was too hot.


83%

great hostel, clean, easy to find, staff are helpful, tours are available, good way to meet people if travelling alone


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Brussels Hostels

Please give us your feedback