NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Gîte d'Etape - Youth Hostel Jacques Brel Reviews

Rue de la Sablonnière 30, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1354 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The room had a shower, but no toilet. The sign on the door said the one toilet on that floor was inoperable and to go to another floor. Room needs more electrical outlets, preferably one or two per bed. The remodelling construction is not complete in the sleeping areas. This will be a fine hostel when it is finished, but it is not yet finished. The bar is nice, breakfast was satisfactory. AND, please oil the door hinges and locks!


A pleasant place to stay with something happening each night we were there.


The hostel was great! (my only issues were with the construction that is going on - which I was informed prior to booking so I knew I was gonna deal with it. It was unfortunate that the works would start so early but, that being said, if you are considering a place to stay in Brussels, please do consider this place) The staff was friendly, the room was very spacious and clean. The access to the building is through a card which makes me feel good, the bar is very reasonably priced. Once


The hostel is located a little further away from the Grand Place so it's a little bit of a walk. It's a clean hostel and I felt safe leaving my things there. The staff is willing to help you and figure out taxis and your way around Brussels. The bar at night is a nice touch but there weren't many people there so it can be a little difficult to meet other travelers. I missed the breakfast, but I heard it's absolutely great and it's free!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we're glad you enjoyed your stay even though the bar was kind of empty by the time you were there ( it's usually very busy ! ) we're 15 minutes walk from downtown city center and we're also famous with our "all you can eat" breakfast, best in town ! we hope you'll give us an other try all the best within the HI circle cheers phil


The hostel was a little out by itself but we made it there okay within 15 min walking from Gare du Nord. Reception was very nice and thoughtful, offering us free maps of Bruges when we told them we were heading there. Breakfast was great- actually bummed that we left too early on our second day to eat there again. Only wish that there was a toilet in the ensuite bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
g'day, thanks a lot for your comment, we're glad you had a great time ! as you said, we're pretty central, only 15 minutes from downtown city center: yes, that's where you'll find the best waffles and pralines ! our breakfast is famous among backpackers : it's almost 100% biological ! as you may have noticed, we are actually renovating some rooms so we'll continue to improve our services best regards and bon voyage within the Hostelling International community cheers phil


Location is excellent. Right next to the central train/bus station and the Cathedral. The staff were not very friendly and the atmosphere was lacking but It had large common areas and the bed was comfortable with a reading light and a power socket. Overall the place was nice and clean. It's not the best place to meet people if you are a solo traveler or looking to party.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I am really sorry my colleagues and me were not really friendly, we try to do our best to give a good service but if we didn't look so friendly, we want really to apologize for it. I those days you stayed in Brussels there was a big business meeting and we had plenty of groups and not so much backpackers to hang out for party. Brussels have real different public, that changes everyday. Hope to see you again in order to prove our friendliness! Thanks so much for the commentary,


wont recommend it at least you have to save lots of money. inconvenient location with impolite staff


Great hostel! Friendly and helpful staff, free wifi, clean, big room, great free breakfast. Location wasn't the closest to city center, but still walking distance. It has a great bar with cheap drinks, patio, and common room with ping pong. Easy to make friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thanks for your notes ;-) !!! and thank you again for your comments, you've said it all ! best of all within the HI community cheers phil


They did not have enough towels. The place was dirty, the Staff are not polite, the wifi just works in the big hall. The room was old and dirty. The only good thing is that they offer breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thank you for taking some time to leave a comment we are sorry you didn't have a good stay, you can be sure we take your remarks into account, so we can improve our services. by the way, we are renovating a few rooms so we'll have brand new rooms to propose best regards phil


Nice little hostel, walking distance to the main attractions. Very nice breakfast. On the downside stuff could be bit more helpful and cleanless of the bathroom should definitely improve! Still it's good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello , Thank you for your great comments and notes . Indeed we are located in a 15 minuts walking distance from the city center , with a lot of transports nearby the hostel . We are very happy you enjoyed our BIO breakfast , we only use Belgium product to offer you the best food we can find. We take into account your remark by report has the cleanliness of the bathrooms. We informed the person in charge of cleaning so that he deals with this problem. Best regards , Claire


Just one problem - I had problems to get my food out of the fridge in the kitchen on the day I left - since the check out time is 12 o'clock and it is not possible to open the kitchen before 12. The staff at the reception desk was very helpful and friendly, so they helped me to solve the problem. But it could be one thing to improve, because usually you need to store your food in the fridge even during the last night of your stay in the hostel. Apart form that I loved to stay at your hostel :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello we thank you very much for your comment and notes !! the guest kitchen is open from 12 to 10 pm and the day you leave your key don't open the kitchen in the morning !! you did well by asking the reception a kitchen key . we wish you the best with the Hostelling International hostels around regards phil


Hotel location is not far from the city centre just some 15min walking ! And good staff and helpful too

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello ! Thanks for your comment :) We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us ! Have a nice trip within HI hostels Cheers, Agathe

View all Brussels Hostels

Please give us your feedback