Hostelworld.com

Gîte d'Etape - Youth Hostel Jacques Brel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,751 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,751 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Gîte d'Etape - Youth Hostel Jacques Brel Located at Rue de la Sablonnière 30, , Brussels.
Gîte d'Etape - Youth Hostel Jacques Brel
Belgium
Brussels 1000 Rue de la Sablonnière 30
84% 1751
50.8517455 4.3670225
Gîte d'Etape - Youth Hostel Jacques Brel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Apr 2016
8.0

Good location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
8.9

I stayed only one night in this hostel and also skipped the breakfast so my comment is really limited. The location is pretty good when coming from the city airport; I don't know if there were some deviations on the route but I got on the bus number 272 (going to "Brussel Noord") and got off at the stop near Botanique, 5 minutes walk and you are in the hostel. Price of the bus ticket is 3 euro. The 6-bed room was clean and warm. The bathroom in the room has 2 sink and a shower. I recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
8.3

A good choice if you are looking for a clean, quiet, comfortable Hostel not too far from tourists areas / center of the city. The staff is helpful if you ask for anything, but will not suggest anything if you don't ask. Always very friendly and kind! The hostel may be a little impersonal overall, everyone seems to be minding the own business without mingling much. The kitchen is opened only from noon to 10pm, and there is a lockout of the room from noon to 3pm. You have to plan around that

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.1

Very nice hostel! The staff was very kind. The tourist places are close (walking distance). Good breakfast!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hi there thanks for your review and complments we do all we can for our guests best regards phil

27th Mar 2016
10.0

One of the best hostel I have visited

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

g'day thanks mate cheers phil

  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Mar 2016
8.6

Except the fact we couldn't use wifi in our room and the bathroom was a bit dirty, it was very comfortable place to stay. ESPECIALLY the breakfast was gorgeous. Full of organic cheeze and bread. One drink at the bar was included, which was also nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2016
7.1

Okay for a night but I can't say I would want to stay longer. Didn't really seem like a youth hostel given that half the people were well over 50. Wifi only works downstairs in the lobby, so no wifi in the rooms. There is a shower in the rooms but you have to go out into the hall for the toilets which was odd. The rooms were quite barren and seemed like they hadn't been updated in a few decades. The staff I briefly interacted with were nice enough. The included breakfast was good as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your feedback on the hostel. It is true that we welcome everyone whatever the age but age is just a number :) We're glad you enjoyed our fresh products served during the breakfast. Cheers, Dylan

  • KirstenDF
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
4th Mar 2016
6.6

When we arrived we were told our room would be ready in 30 minutes. An hour and a half later it finally was. Room looked like a hospital. Stained walls and gross dirty floor. Expensive for what it was. Decent location, good breakfast. Self catering was okay but no oven?? Cheap drinks at the bar. Would not stay again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very sorry you had to wait for your room but it is cleaned between 12 and 3pm. We're glad you liked our organic breakfast and we hope you're tried our belgian beers at the bar ! Kind Regards, Dylan.

19th Feb 2016
8.9

It's a good hostel, good location, room was really good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

g'day, thanks for your positive feedback, good to read your comments ! we hope to see you again cheers phil

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2016
8.9

Dorm room door (124) was creaky, and the toilets occasionally had a strange smell. But the staff are really welcoming and friendly. Especially Sekoe and Antonio, the bar atmosphere was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thanks for leaving a comment we're glad to hear about your positive feedback concerning the staff we've passed the information concerning room 124 to the technical team and we can inform we're curently working on the smell problem best regards phil

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.