X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Gîte d'Etape - Youth Hostel Jacques Brel Reviews

Rue de la Sablonnière 30, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1393 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The hostel was great! (my only issues were with the construction that is going on - which I was informed prior to booking so I knew I was gonna deal with it. It was unfortunate that the works would start so early but, that being said, if you are considering a place to stay in Brussels, please do consider this place) The staff was friendly, the room was very spacious and clean. The access to the building is through a card which makes me feel good, the bar is very reasonably priced. Once

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello ! Thanks for your nice comment :) We're really happy you liked our hostel ! Xe're doing our best to deal with renovation-works, and we apologize for the inconvenience. You can come back when it finished, to try our brand new rooms ! We wish you the best within the HI community. Agathe

77%

The hostel is located a little further away from the Grand Place so it's a little bit of a walk. It's a clean hostel and I felt safe leaving my things there. The staff is willing to help you and figure out taxis and your way around Brussels. The bar at night is a nice touch but there weren't many people there so it can be a little difficult to meet other travelers. I missed the breakfast, but I heard it's absolutely great and it's free!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we're glad you enjoyed your stay even though the bar was kind of empty by the time you were there ( it's usually very busy ! ) we're 15 minutes walk from downtown city center and we're also famous with our "all you can eat" breakfast, best in town ! we hope you'll give us an other try all the best within the HI circle cheers phil

86%

The hostel was a little out by itself but we made it there okay within 15 min walking from Gare du Nord. Reception was very nice and thoughtful, offering us free maps of Bruges when we told them we were heading there. Breakfast was great- actually bummed that we left too early on our second day to eat there again. Only wish that there was a toilet in the ensuite bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
g'day, thanks a lot for your comment, we're glad you had a great time ! as you said, we're pretty central, only 15 minutes from downtown city center: yes, that's where you'll find the best waffles and pralines ! our breakfast is famous among backpackers : it's almost 100% biological ! as you may have noticed, we are actually renovating some rooms so we'll continue to improve our services best regards and bon voyage within the Hostelling International community cheers phil

83%

Location is excellent. Right next to the central train/bus station and the Cathedral. The staff were not very friendly and the atmosphere was lacking but It had large common areas and the bed was comfortable with a reading light and a power socket. Overall the place was nice and clean. It's not the best place to meet people if you are a solo traveler or looking to party.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I am really sorry my colleagues and me were not really friendly, we try to do our best to give a good service but if we didn't look so friendly, we want really to apologize for it. I those days you stayed in Brussels there was a big business meeting and we had plenty of groups and not so much backpackers to hang out for party. Brussels have real different public, that changes everyday. Hope to see you again in order to prove our friendliness! Thanks so much for the commentary,

60%

wont recommend it at least you have to save lots of money. inconvenient location with impolite staff


97%

Great hostel! Friendly and helpful staff, free wifi, clean, big room, great free breakfast. Location wasn't the closest to city center, but still walking distance. It has a great bar with cheap drinks, patio, and common room with ping pong. Easy to make friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thanks for your notes ;-) !!! and thank you again for your comments, you've said it all ! best of all within the HI community cheers phil

51%

They did not have enough towels. The place was dirty, the Staff are not polite, the wifi just works in the big hall. The room was old and dirty. The only good thing is that they offer breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thank you for taking some time to leave a comment we are sorry you didn't have a good stay, you can be sure we take your remarks into account, so we can improve our services. by the way, we are renovating a few rooms so we'll have brand new rooms to propose best regards phil

74%

Nice little hostel, walking distance to the main attractions. Very nice breakfast. On the downside stuff could be bit more helpful and cleanless of the bathroom should definitely improve! Still it's good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello , Thank you for your great comments and notes . Indeed we are located in a 15 minuts walking distance from the city center , with a lot of transports nearby the hostel . We are very happy you enjoyed our BIO breakfast , we only use Belgium product to offer you the best food we can find. We take into account your remark by report has the cleanliness of the bathrooms. We informed the person in charge of cleaning so that he deals with this problem. Best regards , Claire

1 2 Next » last »
(28 results)


View all Brussels Hostels

Please give us your feedback