X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Gîte d'Etape - Youth Hostel Jacques Brel Reviews

Rue de la Sablonnière 30, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1720 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Only complaint is there is no WiFi in the berooms. You must go downstairs in order to use it, which is annoying when trying to plan things with internet. Nice that breakfast is included. I had nice view rom my room.

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thanks for your comments we're planning wifi in all hostels regards phil

60%

Decent hostel. Area seemed just slightly sketchy. Wifi only in lobby, not rooms. Men's bathroom smelled Hostel bar near the lobby seemed pretty cool, and beers were pretty cheap.


100%

Was a really clean hostel with an awesome atmosphere. The staff were friendly and the facilities were really good however there was no oven. The wifi always worked and was fast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
good evening thank you for you nice comments we'll take good note of your suggestion concerning an oven regards phil

89%

One dirty bath mat left in the bathroom - my only fault, otherwise an excellent stay :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello well thank you for your comments we were happy to welcome you bon voyage regards phil

94%

The included breakfast was incredible, we could find varieties of bread, juices and coffee. I had a private double bedroom, which was the best value for money I could find in Hostelworld.com. The only thing that wasn't excelent was the location, because you have to walk for about 20min to get at the city centre (Grand Place). But there are many options of restaurants nearby and also the main train/bus station is a 10min walk away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello we're proud of our breakfast all our guests are amazed ! we're 15 minutes walk from the grand place bon voyage regards phil

86%

It is very safe and easy to get tourist spots. The staffs are very kind and generate harmonic and happy atmosphere. Food is good and cost effective.

Owner Comment (Hide)
gday thanks for your positive vibrations we're glad you had a good time at the brel hi hostel best of all cheers phil

60%

We booked a twin room with ensuite yet for the money we paid we got very little. The room itself was nice enough! Bathroom however had no hand soap and when I asked reception, the guy laughed and told me they sold bars of soap for €1.50 or to use soap in the shared toilets across the halls. Absolutely disgusting for a hostel not to provide such a necessity and diabolical for the money we had paid to have our own bathroom. Wifi was also Rubbish and only available downstairs. Very disappointed!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Jodie, thank you very much for the comment, we always need a feedback from our guests. We are thinking about giving soap to our guests, but we have to find the budget to do that. You had a en suite room without paying extra charges, and for 58 Eur per night. Maybe you could find a hotel with all amenities you need, but I am not sure you would find it in Brussels with that price. In spite of the inconvenient I hope you passed an amazing weekend in Brussels. Cheers, Mattia

80%

Free breakfast in the morning - breads, jams, hard boiled eggs, etc. Free computer use downstairs. Wifi doesn't work in room. There's a decent sized game room. Really early check out is possible (we left at 4:30am).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your comment, we're happy you liked our great organic buffet breakfast ! We have free wifi on groundfloor and free computers are at your disposal. In plus of our game-room, you can play board-games, quizz and have a karaoke in our bar ! It's open everyday from 7pm. We wish you the best within the HI community :) Agathe

80%

Cons: The lockers in the rooms are small so we had to put our backpacks in the luggage room in the basement. The room had a bathroom only with the shower and the toilet is common to the whole floor. Pros: The breakfast is really great. From the hostel to the city center is a 15 min walk so is not that far. They also have a kitchen with everything you need but during my stay I didn't see no one using it. Be prepared to see a lot of teenagers around 15-17 years old.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for taking time to leave us a comment ! All our dormitories have a private shower and skin. Small dorms and double rooms have also toilets. We're happy you liked our organic breakfast :) Sometimes we have teens, sometimes older or younger people ... it depends ! We wish you the best within the HI community. Agathe

74%

I was quite pleased with my double ensuite room. The included breakfast made the stay an even better value. Glad I booked at the hostel instead of a hotel that probably would have been more expensive but not any nicer.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks for this nice comment, we're happy you liked our organic breakfast ! We're doing our best to give our hostel a nice atmosphere :) We wish you the best within the HI community. Agathe

57%

It was very crowded with Young noisy school childerens, we had a private room and we expected it to be located somewhere far from the Group rooms for youth. The walls were so thin that we found it very annoying when they even talk. The toilet and showere were located outside the room which was not mentioned at the booking time.Our room was located in a place with almost no access to the wifi. In general these three negative points make us not to consider this hostel again for 56 Euro/ night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Merci for the comment, it is always useful to know how our guests passed their stay here. We are sorry the group was crowded during your stay. Unfortunately it was impossible for us to locate you far from the group being huge with people in whole hostel. Concerning the toilets, rooms always have sinks and showers en suite, some of them have to share the toilets with another room, we are trying to specify it on the site, but it takes time to arrange it with the site).

89%

Honestly have no complaints about this hostel. Guys at reception were awesome, they gave us advice about places to eat and we had a great experience! Rooms and toilets were clean, facilities were really nice and everyone was very kind to us. Definitely visiting this place again if we ever go back to Brussels! Thanks guys!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for the positive review. We really do strive to give a pleasant & fun experience and having awesome guests makes our job easier! :) Spread the word! Cheers, Virginie

100%

Great place and gteat people, very kind and polite

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your comment, we are glad you loved your stay at our hostel!!! hope to see you again at J BREL youth hostel! Cheers, Mattia

94%

Amazing place, staff is very polite, real nice people. There was a little noisy at night, but hey, its a youth hostel right? I was not really bothered with it but i thought i should share.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your comment, it is always good to receive this kind of compliments!!! Cheers Mattia

89%

Only stayed here for one night but the hostel was very big and welcoming and the location good, a 10-15 minute walk to the action. I was a little thrown off because it is called a youth hostel yet there were seniors walking around and children running around in the courtyard, so the atmosphere was a little weird. Other than that very nice hostel, would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thanks a lot ! we're glad you enjoyed youe stay and hope to see you again regards phil

97%

The hostel was fantastic! It was a bit farther from the center than other hostels, but it was still less than a 15-20 minute walk to the Gran Place. The free breakfast was not extravagant, but it was still good. The bed was surprisingly comfy and provided a good night's sleep. Everything was clean, even the communal toilets.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello thanks for your comments and for such positive feedback bon voyage regards phil

94%

All the receptionist were extremely helpful! Hostel facilities were excellent. Everything is so well organised and extremely big!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the awesome comment, it makes us proud of our job!!! Hope to see you again in our hostel, Cheers, Mattia

89%

Really nice hostel in a good location. Good value for money with helpful staff. The bedcovers weren't very clean, but that was the only negative point

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your comment! We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. Concerning the bed covers, please come at the reception and we will change immediately, sometimes during high attendance some bed covers escape to the cleaning control team :D!!! Hope to see you again! Cheers, Mattia

66%

When I arrived there were 3 staff at the desk. One was busy with a customer, however the other two were just sitting on their computers and kept looking at me. Later in the evening when I wanted to ask some questions as not everything had been covered earlier, the girl on reception was really rude and made it seem like everything was an effort. Also, reception is not 24/7, so if you have to check out before 8 am you literally throw your key through the security screen. Would not come back


77%

Very clean hostel with a decent location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment. Concerning the location we are uptown, just 10 minutes walking from Royal Square and also the Grand' Place and if you don't want to walk we are 3 minutes from the metro, tramway and bus station :D Hope to see you again! Cheers Mattia

(56 results)


View all Brussels Hostels

Please give us your feedback