Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Glasgow Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 974 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 974 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

Perfect hostel to stay in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
9.7

In a great location right beside the park and near Byers Road. Lovely period building - I had a comfortable private room with ensuite shower. Self-catering kitchen had good facilities so I was able to cater for my particular dietary needs. Great value. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
3.7

Wifi only in common room. 25 min walk to city. No vibe

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
9.7

The only downside to this hostel is the limited access to WiFi. But, it's far from a problem, really because the lounge is lovely and warm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.0

Really reasonable place to stay! Beds are small but comfortable the bathrooms are clean, the common areas are nice and clean and the staff are friendly. Easy 10-15min walk into the city centre as well. Only downside is the lack of wifi in the rooms and the lack of power points in the rooms but you can work around it and there's ample space in the lounge to sit with your computer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
8.6

WiFi was only available in the lounge and had to be signed into every hour or so. Clean rooms with comfy beds, en-suite bathroom and shower shared between 6 people was also clean. It did get quite warm in the smallish room and we couldn't open any of the windows. Great location right at Kelvingrove Park, and a 20ish minute walk of 10 minute bus to the city center. Huge self-catering kitchen with good dishes and food storage space.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
10th Jan 2017
9.7

Great hostel, just a little bit far from the city center but I would definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jan 2017
8.3

Great place! My only concern would be the internet. It was only available in one room. Having it all over the hostel would have made the place perfect :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Dec 2016
7.7

A good, but not a great, hostel. The staff are great and the hostel is clean, secure and in a good location. They also have a very good, fully-equipped kitchen. However, there are some issues. The Wi-Fi only works in the lounge downstairs. There is also a lack of power outlets in the rooms and the bedside lamps don't seem to work. There is no elevator, which is annoying if you're on the third floor like I was. The interior of the hostel is generally a little outdated an could use a revamp.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
6.9

Hostel is located about a fifteen minute walk from a subway stop, on a scenic, quiet hill. Lots of lovely houses around but no bars restaurants or the like in the immediate vicinity. Staff were friendly. Hostel feels dated and needs refurbishment, and had a musty smell throughout. Did not have a fun youth hostel vibe I'm normally accustomed to. And 94 steps from the lower level to our room (we counted) - not for the faint of heart! Worst bit is the lack of wifi and charging spots in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.