Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Glasgow Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Sep 2017
8.9

My second time staying at the hostel, I had again a good experience. Staff friendly and welcoming, clean rooms, showers and toilets. Just keep in mind there is no lift so be prepared to carry your luggage up to the stairs (as I did). The building is very impressive, it's a historical house, up to a nice hill. The SEC is about 25 minutes walk from there or a short taxi ride. The city centre, train station and coach station is about 15-20 min walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Sep 2017
9.1

A very beautiful building and great location if you wanna visit the museums in Glasgow. It is also close to the university and above a little hill which gives you a great view over the city. The room was very spacious and two separate bathrooms and toilets for an 8 bed room were amazing. My friend and I had a great time here and would come back. The building is the nicest I stayed in on my trip and looks like the house in 101 Dalmatians.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
9.1

The hostel is in a refurbished hotel building, the building itself is a little dated but beautiful. The furniture is very comfortable and each room has its own bathroom and shower. One consequence with the building is the wifi doesn't reach all the rooms (I was on 1st floor and couldn't get it). Atmosphere is very relaxed, the lounge area was very quiet and it felt like I was in a library. My sleep was undistrubed. Would recommend this for anyone looking for a nice stay but not if you party.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2017
8.9

Nice and clean hostel with great facilities. The location of the hostel is near a little park which is awesome, but really far from the city center

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2017
8.9

The hostel is far from anything, even the closest grocer is a ten minute walk. It's so massive and not too social. People treat the common area like a library for some reason. The staff were good facilities clean though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2017
9.4

Very nice, well-situated hostel. The women's dorm was on the top floor (third of tall floors) with no lift. A built-in stairmaster! Easy walk to Kellengrove Art Museum.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2017
8.6

Nice big hostel with two common areas and a big kitchen. My only complaint is the fact that the wifi was not reaching my room, and that there weren't individual charging outlets on every bed, but a single power bar for the whole room, which makes it inconvenient to charge your phone at night while wanting it close to you to wake up to your alarm without waking everybody else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Aug 2017
8.0

Good facilities, just a shame about location. Difficult to get in and out of the city centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2017
8.3

Really nice hostel, great to have a locker available right next to the bed. Location is nice, beautiful building right at the park and lots of hip bars of West End right around the corner. Very easy to find too. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Facitities are great except for the fact that there is no drinking water from the taps in the rooms, but probably because it's tank-water as they are built-in facilities. Drinking water was ofcourse available in the common kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2017
6.9

The shower door was falling over in my dorm room. I didn't really spend too much time here, but that was the only thing that I really noticed, good or bad. :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×