Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Guest House TaiwanMex

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 509 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 509 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jan 2017
8.6

Great location near MRT Zhongshan, the owner very nice and warm, tiny room but clean and I can sleep well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
6.6

I was quite disappointed as I just stayed in another hostel in Taipei. The place looks rather shady and the staff was not very nice. There were no blankets at the place so I decided to ask the receptionist/landlord about it; he tried to locate one for me, but when he couldn't, he rudely suggested that I call the landlady since it's not his "job" (It was a minor/insignificant issue but it left an impression nonetheless). The rooms also lacked proper ventilation and was unclean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
8.0

TaiwanMex had been around for awhile, and is a popular choice. The location and the price are very good. Close to the MOCA and a short walk to Taipei Main station, if a central location is what's important for you, TaiwanMex is a good fit. The owner and his wife are the primary staff. They are constantly going back and forth between locations. There are times it can be a pain to get ahold of someone to check-in. Also, I had a problem getting someone to buzz me in, which was a pain.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Nov 2016
10.0

Very nice to go downtown! Nice location, cheap, good for backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2016
9.7

Perfect location and good value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
7.1

Cheap, but worth it! 2 person rooms were a nice change, but everything's pretty small. Super sweet staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
8.6

Locaction is highly convienience, closly to MRT just 50 metres walk. They give me extra family room without additional charge. Best location with budget money, no addional price for weekend. Staff is friendly, helpful to pick up at MRT on rainy night. Thank you. I will back to stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Kagenmi
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
10.0

Safe and clean hostel conveniently located very close to Taipei Main Station. An entrance to the underground mall is nearby which connects directly to the station. Do keep the hostel's phone number on hand when checking in though, because someone may not always be there to buzz you in at the gate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
5.4

I recommand you spend 2more dolloars and choose another hostels. Actually, Staff is so kind and location is also perfect and cheap, But Sanitary was too bad and you can't take a hot shower. Actually, the location that is pointed at the google map is diffrent with real location, If you arrived that hostel, then you can nobody at that hostel and you have to call to the manager to pick you up.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.