Hostelworld.com

Heart of Gold Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3,617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3,617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
Heart of Gold Hostel Located at Johannisstr. 11, , Berlin.
Heart of Gold Hostel
Germany
Berlin 10117 Johannisstr. 11
85% 3617
52.5245639 13.3914971
Heart of Gold Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th May 2016
10.0

Great hostel, breakfast was very good value for €5, I would recommend staying here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th May 2016
8.3

The hostel staff were very helpful and easy going. Location of the hostel is excellent, with a short walk for most major landmarks. Very clean and simple.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th May 2016
8.0

This is a huge hostel with a nice bar and outdoor courtyard. We had a six bed dorm and never had to wait to use the shared bathrooms across the hall. Great showers, heaps of space! They don't assign beds so you end up across the room from your friend. Good lockers, you can use their padlocks for a bond. Tiny kitchen on the 5th floor. Location is good, 20 min walk to major spots. 12pm checkout is great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th May 2016
7.1

Stayed for almost a week. The location was good in terms of being in the middle of things but was not in an area with much to go out to around it. The staff were not that friendly and didnt give much advice. Unfortunately the patio closed early and the smoking room was always stale. Also strange that it doubled as the laundry room. Breakfast was expensive but ok. Rooms were nice though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th May 2016
8.0

Great hostel, staff were friendly and helpful and bar served as a good place to meet people. Rooms each bed had own light and outlet. Sometimes it was difficult to get into a bathroom as there was only a couple on our floor but you didn't have to wait long. Rooms could have done with better curtains.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
6.9

Perfect location, poor atmosphere, dirty bathrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
8.6

An alright hostel. My main complaint is that it felt like a hotel to me. I'm traveling solo, so meeting other travelers is important to me. The common area here is a bar. I would have rather have been able to spend my time in a living room, or something. Other than that, it was fine: clean, reasonably priced, etc.. The 'Hitchhiker's Guide to The Galaxy' theme is basically nonexistent. That wasn't the draw of the hostel for me, but heads up anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
8.6

Centrally located, nice hostel with its own bar & beer garten. Very good sanitary facilities, though not that many, the kitchen is located on a different floor (not so convenient). Nice pizzeria around the corner, very well located with friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
7.1

Is not too bad..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
9.4

This is my second stay and Heart of Gold continues to deliver. Even in the Mega Dorm where I stayed (several massive rooms housing a combined 42 people) I felt safe and secure, and wasn't fretting over my stuff. The bar has a great atmosphere, very homely and inviting. Location is fantastic as well, short walk from Friedrichstrasse and Museum Island. Couldn't recommend more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.