Hostelworld.com

Heart of Gold Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 4453 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 4453 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.7

This hostel was perfectly located near the train station that you can get to from both main airports. There are lot of cafes, pubs, restaurants and attractions nearby. Everything you'd like to see is walking distance, or an easy train route away. The staff was nice and it felt very safe. For the lockers make sure you bring a big enough pad lock because their locks are fussy and our small locks didn't actually work. The main room was busy in the evenings which is good for solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
8.6

Great hostel! Centrally located, helpful staff memebers, clean, and inviting!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback :) We're very happy to hear you enjoyed the Heart of Gold Hostel!

10th Feb 2017
9.4

A truly great hostel, offering most of the pluses - and very few of the minuses - that one might expect from lower priced accommodations. The staff where wonderful and attentive, the rooms clean and spacious, and my fellow travellers largely a delight. All the staff seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs, and were actually helpful and enthused when interacting with guests, which is not always the case elsewhere (here's looking at you, London).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.6

Lovely hostel, walking distance from the Reichstag building and the Hackescher Markt sides of town, very clean and provide breakfast (€5 extra) and free towels, even locks for the lockers if you've forgotten yours (€10 deposit). Have to pay €5 deposit at the start which you get back when you check out, some artwork in the room was a bit odd but overall very nice. Bathrooms cleaned regularly and fully functioning kitchen

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review :) We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the Heart of Gold Hostel and hope to see you back here sometime soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
8.9

We had a nice stay for our short weekend trip to Berlin :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We're very happy we were able to provide you with a nice experience :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
8.0

Heart of Gold hostel is extremely conveniently located in the center of Berlin within easy walking distance of many of the main highlights of the city. While it had more of a party feel than I would have liked, especially since I was staying there on a business trip, it was very competitively priced and offered what I needed for my weeklong stay in teh city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you found what you needed at the Heart of Gold Hostel :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
9.1

My first hostel and it was great 👌🏻

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wohoo we are so happy to have given you a great first hostel experience! We hope that you will have many others and that you will come back and stay with us again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Jan 2017
8.0

Amazing location, but it's not so sociable if you're staying on your own. The megadorm is hassle though, I wouldn't stay in that again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Jan 2017
8.9

Great hostel with very good vibe. Try to get a room with an ensuite because there are not many showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review :) We're glad you enjoyed your time at the Heart of Gold Hostel!

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

The best hostel in Berlin, nice staff, so helpful, good atmosphere, i will be back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're very happy to hear you think the Heart of Gold Hostel is the best in Berlin :D We can't wait to host you again :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.