Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart of Gold Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3,933 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3,933 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
Heart of Gold Hostel Located at Johannisstr. 11, , Berlin.
Heart of Gold Hostel
Germany
Berlin 10117 Johannisstr. 11
86% 3933
52.5245639 13.3914971
Heart of Gold Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
6.0

Unless your main concern is partying through the night, and less about getting quality sleep... Otherwise do NOT book a bed with the 21 bedder. Perhaps it's the people that ruined it for me - it had some of the rudest and most inconsiderate young travellers I ever met. At 3am in the morning, they were talking loudly and without constraint coming back from the club. The doors to the huge room are constantly open and there's a "lounge" right next to it where people are drinking. Couldn't s

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • leighmartin2491
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
9.4

Really loved my stay here, the whole place was spotless and the beds are really comfy. The only problem was the lockers are not that secure as they can be opened even with a padlock on (you need to make sure you bring a large padlock so it works properly!) overall though it was a great place to stay, would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • santiagobd
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.7

Great location to stay in Berlin, lovely stuff, great atmosphere, i would stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • vickyman98
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.1

Has to be the best in Berlin! The whole hostel Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy themed and has a lovely atmosphere. The staff are really friendly and there are loads of little touches around the place that make the hostel stand out, sunglasses to borrow, travellers money pot etc. My only complaint is that the shower head in our private room did not stay attached to the wall. Loved our stay here though and if we come back to Berlin, we will be coming to this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
18th Aug 2016
7.7

Had a good stay here. Hard to be in a good location in Berlin as it's so spread out but this was fairly close to the major attractions. Stayed in the 42 bed dorm which was split into three rooms. We happened to get a room with just 10 beds in it (turn left when you enter) which was brilliant. Would stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Aug 2016
10.0

UNREAL. Loved this hostel from the moment I walked in. Everything is great, staff, atmosphere, facilities, everything. Berlin can be expensive so I thought it was good value, and it's always worth it when you genuinely feel comfortable in your hostel. Great for meeting people, excellent social space. Cooking facilities were important for me and the kitchen was better than my own one at home! If I ever go back to Berlin I'll stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
9.4

Stayed in the mega dorm wasn't actually that bad. Good bar in the hostel with cheap beer easy to meet people easy to get to most areas. Would def stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
7.7

Pretty average hostel down the board, but I enjoyed my time there. The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy theme is subtle enough that you won't question anything unless you know what's going on; it caught me off guard and it's hilarious. Fairly comfortable bed and friendly staff. Pretty good location. I'd recommend it, but there are better hostels as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • VPergolesi
  • Argentina, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.9

The athmosfere is great, really friendly staff and excellent location. The bathrooms could be better and also they were a bit dirty. Defintly I recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • julicalabria
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
6.9

You cannot bring your own food to the hostel because there's a bar in there (you can have your lunch at the kitchen in the 5th floor, which only have one table and is super small). The common areas are amazing and they're really comfortable. The rooms are big and luminous, the problem is that the beds make noises every time you touch them, and they aren't comfortable at all. Also, there's no big locker in the rooms but they have small ones. Bathroom is great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.