Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart of Gold Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 4715 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 4715 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
6.6

My sheets were dirty and the showers are awful. Not a lot going on in terms of activities or tours so hard to meet people solo traveling. Location was ok I did a lot if walking though. As a whole the stay was ok but I was glad to leave.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th May 2017
6.6

Good times bad times. Employees are absolutely great. Management can sometimes* be important to determine company culture. Great at hiring but the manager seemed grumpy. Whenever he was there he was a bit rude and exclusive about the house guitar being used... Word is is that the owner hardly comes around anymore... after just ~16 years of business he seems to have checked out of the building. He now has other people to work and make his investments grow for him Never met him though maybe cool

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
10.0

Staff was AMAZING, beyond helpful with tips and tricks of staying in Berlin and very sociable as well. Never felt like I was talking to "the people at the front desk" they felt like friends, fantastic atmosphere and location, definitely the place I'll stay at if and when I visit Berlin again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
5.7

Rooms and bathrooms are beautiful and clean. There is a big courtyard where you can smoke, eat and drink. The staff were awful. Whenever I had questions for them they seemed aggravated and inconvenienced. There's continental breakfast but you have to pay 5 euros each time. Which is ridiculous because all you get is corn flakes and bread. The location isn't great if you want to experience the culture of the city. Far away from everything other than touristy stuff (Brandenburg gate, etc)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
7.7

Easy to get to. Good location. Breakfast was not the best. Free walking tour was amazing! Beds super comfy!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th May 2017
7.4

They didn't have a washing machine which meant we had to find a laundrette which was annoying! Also, the kitchen didn't open until 9 which when we had an early train to catch we had to ask the staff to open it. It was a bit restricting

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2017
8.0

None of my things got stolen! Very happy about that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th May 2017
9.4

Stayed in Heart of gold 1 night. The vibe in the dorms is more like a hotel, rooms divided in small amounts of people which was nice, super clean and modern, nice bathrooms and big lockers. However the lounge/bar area is just like a pub, with pool, smoking room, a little biergarten and a large tv, really fun and good for meeting people. Overall good location and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2017
7.7

Clean and good location but there was no atmosphere, staff didn't interact with guests and the only thing to do there was watch tv or pay money for the pool table. Good place to stay unless you want to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
9.7

Great place. One of the best hostels I've stayed at. The bar was great. Only complaint is that you cannot bring your own alcohol and there is no laundry. But everything else was perfect

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.