Hostelworld.com

Heart of Gold Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3,720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3,720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
Heart of Gold Hostel Located at Johannisstr. 11, , Berlin.
Heart of Gold Hostel
Germany
Berlin 10117 Johannisstr. 11
85% 3720
52.5245639 13.3914971
Heart of Gold Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
7.4

Loved how easy it was to get around to the attractions in Berlin. The staff was friendly and helpful. We booked a room in a 42 bed dorm and we expected some noise but with the night quiet policy we thought it would be ok. Our first night we were kept awake by a group getting ready to go on the pub crawl-they were extremely rude and didn't care. The second night we moved to another part of the dorm and it was much better. Berlin is hot in the summer, no ac or fans made the rooms uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.4

Cool atmosphere, very comfortable. Solid.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jun 2016
7.7

Great central hostel location easy to get to all the landmarks. Rooms were large and comfortable beds squeak like crazy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
8.9

Good hostel. Stayed for 2 nights in an 8 person dorm. Beds were good and the provided sheets and pillows were good. Can't bring alcohol but they have cheap drinks (2 euro) at the bar). I did have a major complaint though: The first night people came back from the bars SCREAMING in the courtyard around 3AM. They yelled for about an hour straight (and I mean yelled) with no word from the reception. I even yelled down to attempt to shut them up to no avail.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.9

This was our first stop while interrailing around Europe. Everything was really clean and the rooms were light and spacious. The staff were great at helping with anything such as trains and finding supermarkets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.6

This place seriously needs to invest in some air conditioning

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
8.0

Not enough bathrooms per floor since the place is huge. Aside from that nice hostel. Staff were friendly, very nice about leaving bags in lockers if you get there early, cool lobby with tv and pool table. 7 person room was good and big enough. Decent location near an sbahn.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
9.7

I was in the mega dorm, which means there were a lot of beds and the probability of snorers was very high.The staff was super friendly and the hostel had a great atmosphere. It was around the corner from the U-Bahn station, so I had no problems getting anywhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
5.7

Hostel was subpar. The beds were ok. The Bathrooms were always soaked with water like there wasn't any proper drainage so getting in and out of them was a breeze. The lockers looked like you could just jimmy them open even it you had a lock on it. It had a bar but didn't really have a homey feel about it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
9.4

I didn't spend much time in the Hostel itself, but the bed was clean, the locker was big enough for my bag and the showers were warm. Also the location was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.