Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart of Gold Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 4532 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 4532 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2017
6.9

Before booking I read mixed reviews; every one seemed to contradict. Here is the absolute reality of this hostel. It DOES smell in SOME rooms, the smell is septic and near at least 1 toilet. Chances are you won't get this room and will be fine, it's a huge place. We moved room because the staff are awesome. The vibe is mixed, high proportion of lonely single guys, but it is buzzing. Everything else about this place is stock standard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • brodier
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2017
8.6

The atmosphere in the bar area was really good (and the free tea/coffee all day). Beds were super squeaky and you'll probably have to wait for a shower at some point

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • GaryWright94
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
9.4

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Heart of Gold hostel. It was actually my second visit within a year and I recommended it to two of my friends who also stated they would definitely return. We arrived late, about three hours later than we originally had said but it wasn't an issue because of the 24 hour reception which was very helpful. The bedrooms were basic but very comfortable to live in and the lockers were very spacious to store bigger backpacks in securely. Overall great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you came back to us and that you and your friends enjoyed your stays!! Hope to see you another time this year ;) Cheers!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Mar 2017
9.4

Loved the place from the beginning as in my jetlagged state i had booked my first night a day prior to getting to the hostel but the staff was kind enough to fix that mistake and move it forward to the following day for no charge. Terrific lobby with a great atmosphere and chill vibe. The best dorm rooms/ bed I have stayed at. High ceilings with a huge window and lovely view. Overall a terrific stay in a the heart of Berlin.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
7.7

Very nice facilities, clean and bright rooms. Feels more like a hotel than a hostel though, not a great atmosphere for meeting people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.6

Overall, this hostel worked out great. The location was really good and central to a lot of bus and tram stops and walking distance to some good restaurants. The lockers were great, and they have locks to rent with just a 10 euro deposit. However, the staff was very unfriendly toward us from the very beginning of our stay. Another issue was that there were no outlets next to our beds, and it was also pretty dark in the room in the evening. The 42 bed mega room was not as scary as it sounded!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.9

Such a great location, really friendly staff, secure comfy room and super clean. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.9

Really nice place. Good location, only a short walk from Freidrichstrasse station. Free tea and coffee available all day in the bar. Staff very friendly. 42 bed dorm is split down into 3 separate rooms so limits potential for noise

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
7.1

A great location (close to train and walking distance to many sights) and friendly staff. security was alright as you need a key card to enter elevator and room but the lockers in the room are not very big and could not fit my bag. It should also be noted you need a fairly thick lock in order to lock the lockers properly. If you want a decent place in a good location this is for you. However rooms and bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner, nothing major though. the 5€ breakfast is not worth it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Heart of Gold Hostel. We appreciate your feedback as we are always trying to improve our guests' experiences. We hope to see you back here some time soon to provide you with an even better stay :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Mar 2017
9.7

Great place to stay except someone threw out all my labelled food and placed the rest in the 'free' container.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.