X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Heart of Gold Hostel Reviews

Johannisstr. 11, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2349 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Despite the fact that the Wifi is really bad and there's none in the rooms, this is the BEST hostel I've EVER stayed in. There's a HUGE sitting area downstairs with a pool table and beer for sale where you can hang out, but the rooms and halls are super quiet (at least our two rooms were). Elevators to the rooms are super helpful, staff are super accommodating, location is near to some cool stuff as well as Friedrichstrasse S-Bahn station. And everything is super clean!


97%

This was one of the best hostels we stayed at during our 3 week trip around Europe. The facilities are really great and clean and the rooms are very nice. The bar downstairs and other common areas were very social settings. One thing to note, the rooms are above the main courtyard so it can get a bit loud at night, but other than that, great stay!


80%

It had a good vibe and was generally a good place to stay. They had most things you needed and had all the maps, suggestions to go, etc. All over the lounge. Main issues were that there was only wifi in the lounge and it lagged. If there were several people here it was nearly impossible to connect. There is a deposit to use the kitchen.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Brilliant hostel. single beds in a large dorm. Comfortable. locker space. free coffee, wifi, large outside area. reasonable bar open all the time. pool table, plenty place to lounge. good music. thoroughly recommend.


94%

Nice location, friendly and helpful staff and an amazing atmosphere in the living room. Big and clean bedroom and the breakfast 'all you can eat' is fine for the 4€ you pay. There is a portuguese worker which was cool for us. The only thing I would change is the number of toilets and showers.


91%

one of the most friendliest hostels iv stayed at during my euro trip. the staff were always available to help me out or just to have a talk. the hostel had an awesome common room and comfy beds! would reccomend to anyone looking for a friendly hostel with good vibes to stay at the heart of gold hostel!

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

we and our children had a very plesaent stay in hostel!

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Really nice hostel overall. The bar is cheap (€2.50 for 0.5l of beer) and gets really busy at night so is a nice place to chill. The wifi wasn't great, didn't work in the rooms at all and when lots of people were using it in the bar it was very slow - but there are computers available for €0.50 per half hour (or free - the bar staff let us off paying) so not really a problem at all. Location was really central and close to public transport links. I definitely recommend this hostel!


63%

We stayed at the hostel for 2 nights and it was okay. BUT!! In our 8 bed mixed dorm the walls were extremely dirty - something red (food? drinks?) had splashed up on the walls and it was not clean at all! And there were also hand prints! Very discusting!! And the Wifi did not work properly in the room. But other than that the hostel was fine for two nights.


94%

Heart of Gold was the best hostel we stayed at whilst interrailing. The beds and bathrooms were clean, the staff were incredibly helpful, prime location and overall it was fantastic value for money- especially the optional breakfast for 4 euros. I would recommend it to anyone staying in Berlin.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything you need, nothing less, for great price.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is nice. Simple vibe with a bar and a billlard (but a baby foot is missing ;) Rooms and sanataries are clean and the staff is friendly. The location is good.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

everything was nice, just few things 1. when u check later than 11 you wont get ur deposit back...i thing its not fair. In other hostels its different 2. pubcrawl left without 8-9 people. They promised us a time, then they left earlier 3. would be better to organize things and have a 'group' feeling inside hostel


77%

Amazing location, comfy beds, big and bright rooms, good showers although only 2 for approx 25 people although only ever had to await about 2 mins. Pretty clean. No kitchen. Curtains not sufficiently large for window so not ideal for light sleepers. Smoking room door open = non smoking room smelled like smoke. Internet is terrible. Can only access in the common area (downstairs) and very slow and often impossible to connect to. 5/6 computers available but have to pay 50cents per 30mins.


83%

Our room - 102 - was SO COLD!

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It was a good hostel, very central. The only thing that is a bit stupid is that there are not enough toilets. If you want to go to the toilet, you almost don't have the chance to because they are located at the showers. Also the doors are pretty annoying because the cards don't work well. Don't put the cards next to your phone because it will deactivate the card.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Had the best week of my life in this amazing city and hostel, everything a backpacker could want from a hostel. Will be back if i return to berlin anytime soon!


69%

Close to the stelae Jewish memorial and Brandenburg gate. Rooms were safe and clean, the outside area was good to meet people and was a nice place to chill out with a drink from the resaonable priced bar. The staff were unfriendly though, and were not helpful when i asked for advice or directions, i felt they assumed everyone should know Berlin already or that people were in Berlin only to party and they couldnt give any advice on culture. Not a bad hostel really, but could have been better.


60%

Overall it was an okay hostel, it's big though. Seemed to be people downstairs to meet and the staff was nice. Wifi only works downstairs in the lobby. If you want to sleep at night, request your room not be near the courtyard. They said quiet hours, but the courtyard was loud until 3am. They don't change the sheets and require you to bring them down with you at checkout.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location. Decent priced beer. However they shouldn't promote "free wifi" as it creates expectations that it actually works. Kind of worked in the lobby but they desperately need to increase their bandwidth. As I found booking my next journey extremely hard with it cutting out every second minute. Good rooms but they have signs over the doors and windows warning you not to open them. Bit hard when it's peak summer. Beds were pretty uncomfortable. Despite these frustrations a good hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback