Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart of Gold Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 4,383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 4,383 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Heart of Gold Hostel Located at Johannisstr. 11, , Berlin.
Heart of Gold Hostel
Germany
Berlin 10117 Johannisstr. 11
86% 4383
52.5245639 13.3914971
Heart of Gold Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kivanccetin
  • Turkey, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
10.0

My best hostel in the europe. Atmosphere of lobby was wonderful. Staff are helpful and they are warmblooded. Don't Panic and book.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're very happy to hear we're your favourite hostel :D Thank you for your review, we can't wait to host you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jan 2017
7.7

There's a rule against bringing your own alcohol to the hostel and drinking in your room. This should be stated on this site when booking a room. The staff were very helpful and wonderful in general. The room was basic but fine for a hostel. No complaints about the cleanliness of the room but the kitchen and some washrooms weren't always clean. This is not the staff's fault, but the guests', who were rather rowdy when we were there. Sleep was impossible on our second night even in a private room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you had a hard time sleeping - our reception is staffed 24hours, so you can always come to reception if something like this happens. Our staff always tries to make sure the room area is quiet and we apologize if this didn't happen on your first night. We hope you still enjoyed your stay at the Heart of Gold Hostel and hope to be able to host you again sometime soon :)

9th Jan 2017
9.7

A solid hostel right behind Meninger but looks to have a lot more personality. Very edgy vibe and plays cool music with an actual bar area. I stayed in a 10 bed dorm which is huge! Other hostels can turn it into a 14-16 bed if they're stingy with space but not this one! Clean and spacious accommodations and shower. The elevator broke during my stay there which sucks since I am on the 4th floor but nothing too bad. Breakfast for 5 euros is rather expensive for me. Will recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We're very happy to hear you had a good time at the Heart of Gold Hostel and apologize for the lift breaking :( We hope to see you back here sometime soon!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.6

Great hostel, very friendly staff, cheap bar, great location. Not enough bathrooms, but that wasn't really a problem. Lockers in room was a big plus. Free linen and towels were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review :) We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Heart of Gold Hostel!

  • Hey_Stephy
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
8.6

Only complaint is that the kitchen was quite small with limited seating and on the 5th floor. There's an elevator but while we were there it was out of order. A bit of a funny smell in the bathrooms but other than that it was clean, in a good location, a great hang out area at the bar and by reception, friendly and super helpful staff. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Jaelberry8089
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Good Location, great wifi, this hostel vibe is more the darkside, emo theme from the music to the art. Not really a happy theme but if you are looking to just relax or reflect on life its a great place to sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! Indeed, we do want people to reflect on the meaning of Life, the Universe and Everything :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
10.0

Had a great time here. There is a bar downstairs which is a good place to meet people and chill out. I would recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
6.9

Hostel staff aren't particularly friendly. Hostel bills you for everything- especially overpriced drinks. Better places to go in Berlin.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your time and apologize if our staff did not make you feel welcome, as we work hard to make sure every guest feels at home at the Heart of Gold Hostel.

  • erinbarnett2
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.4

We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm and the rooms were really spacious and clean. My only complaint is that the beds are reaaaaally squeaky and the mattresses are quite thin but otherwise it was really good. Also, the showers and toilet are joined and there's no shower doors so you had to lock the entire bathroom door which meant that there wasn't really enough toilet facilities at all times but again, it wasn't a huge problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review :) We really appreciate your feedback, as we are always trying to improve the experience our guests have at the Heart of Gold!

31st Dec 2016
8.6

Very clean, warm, great staff, and great location. Will stay here again in the future.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! We can't wait to have you back at the Heart of Gold Hostel! :D

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.