Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Heart of Gold Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 4,252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 4,252 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Heart of Gold Hostel Located at Johannisstr. 11, , Berlin.
Heart of Gold Hostel
Germany
Berlin 10117 Johannisstr. 11
86% 4252
52.5245639 13.3914971
Heart of Gold Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Nov 2016
6.9

Great location,very clean, helpful front desk, all too good to be true, yes. The noise level at this place was absurd the 5 days I was there. A Brit I met in the lounge was drinking himself drunk so he could sleep, I left sleep deprived. There are large groups of Spanish speakers who just seem to take over the place and the staff does not enforce any type of noise control past 10 pm, you wouldn't even of trying to sleep before midnight, wooden floors amplifie shoes and luggage being rolled.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
10.0

The experience at Heart of Gold Hostel in Berlin was great! The location was perfect, it is easily reachable and good located, compared to the attractions of the city. The way the hostel is organized really impressed me and me and my sister felt really comfortable during our stay. Thank you for everything! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
9.7

I enjoyed my 5 night stay here. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean and had enough space. The location was pretty good, close to shops, train and walking distance to most sights. Got a bit noisy downstairs at times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tahliakite
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.6

very clean, kitchen had all necessary facilities for making a sunday roast! staying in the mega dorm was a bit noisy, but what can you expect. I felt very comfortable as a solo traveller and it's right in the shopping precinct of Berlin and close to Alexander Platz and other tourist spots!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Vicky93
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
9.7

Quite possibly the best hostel I've ever been to, met some awesome people, and had a bloody brilliant time. That bar is dangerous though. x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • madelinekh
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Nov 2016
8.0

Overall a really good hostel. So much security if you're staying in the other building, they have to buzz you in and then you have to use your key card twice. Good location pretty much walking distance from everything. Bar had a nice atmosphere and was a good place for everyone to hang out. Staff were nice if not a little unhelpful and dismissive. Beds were comfy, bathrooms were clean etc etc - would stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Nov 2016
5.7

Little atmosphere there. Not the best place to meet people as the bar area is usually pretty empty, or it's full of groups that come to the hostel. Staff are just plain rude or make you feel like you're intruding, maybe with the exception of 1 or 2 people that served me at the bar. Cheap bar but it's more like a hostel common room than a bar, so it would be cheaper if guests were allowed to bring their own alcohol (which they're not, but people did it anyway). All in all it was OK.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
7.4

We stayed here twice. The first time was not good. Kitchen was closed for renovation (fair enough) but they didn't tell us which irritated me as we had already grocery shopped. When it was reopened it was closed at busy times for cleaning. I was not impressed. Staff was rude and the lady with the dark brown hair should not work in customer service. Second time was much better so maybe just hit and miss. Also, if given the choice do an 8man room over a 7, it was nicer and bigger.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
9.1

Good location. Close to underground and train options. Walkable to Brandenburg Tor, Richstag and Museum Island. Staff are friendly. Clean place. The only drawback was that mega-dorm beds lack power outlets which is a basic necessity nowadays. Wifi was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Nov 2016
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay in that hostel. Very affordable, huge rooms, nice quite private bathrooms. Great 5euro breakfast option. Close walking distance from main attractions. Helpful staff. I recommend it to anyone without doubts! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.