Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Himeji 588 Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jul 2017
8.0

The Hostel was very well situated and easy to find. Close to Himeji Castle and walking distance from stores and restaurants. Staff was friendly but initially rubbed us the wrong way by nearly insisting we pay for our stay with "small bills". While I can appreciate that they're a small biz that only accept cash, travellers don't always have a wide range of bills readily available. They did give us the private room at no extra cost which was very nice of them. Overall, good place for one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Jul 2017
8.9

I stayed for one night. It was very close to himeji castle and shopping place, so you could get by anywhere easily. Recommend to take a bus from himeji station to the hostel or waking would be like 15 mins or so. It was hot in the dorms and took awhile to cool down. the staff were very accommodating and friendly. They have small locker that would not fit backpacks, so i would put it beside my bed with me. Mixed shower and washrooms. Other than that no issues.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Jul 2017
8.6

Lovely little homely guest house in a great location. Very close to Himeji Castle. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
8.6

The recent reviews on here are not in keeping with our experience. We were kind of dreading going because of them but it's a good place. The room is clean, the staff were pleasant with us and the location is great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th May 2017
5.7

Although one member of staff was friendly, the rest of the staff were either only OK, or rude. Upon arrival (I was a couple of hours early for check in) I already felt unwelcome! Warning the hostel is closed for 6hrs in the middle of the day for cleaning and it wasn't that clean when I went. Also the kitchen is only for staff with only a microwave and kettle available for guests and not enough items of cutlery for everyone. Very disappointing and the worst hostel of the 7 that I went to in Japan

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd May 2017
5.7

1.We didnt recieve an email telling us how to get in 2. Heard them talking of the people they cancelled on during golden week, and chuckled on how they might get banned from the App 3.This place can fit like 20+ people and there are only 2 forks 2 knives 2 spoons and no tea towels. 4. Came down in the morning and the front door was wide open. 5. Bins were over flowing in the morning. 6. Stairs are super noisy 7. Could not get out of this hostel fast enough

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2017
6.9

Like most hostels, we had to pay in cash as soon as we arrived (which is reasonable) but we were then told that they don't have any change for our cash.... which is RIDICULOUS. I was even more furious the next morning, when I saw another staff member pull out a change box when dealing with another guest. Also, although we booked 4 beds in the all female dorm, they had to put one of us in the mixed dorm because apparently they "overbooked". On top of all that, the staff just weren't very friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Apr 2017
7.4

Very close to Himeji castle and close to the train station too. Didn't see any laundry services or security boxes. Staff were good, beds are kind of like capsule style, quite cozy but not super private as the separator is a thin ply wood barrier half way and then curtain for the top half.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Apr 2017
8.9

Very cosy place with a warm host, great for meeting other travellers passing through Himeiji! The dorm beds do feel a tad stuffy so we upgraded to the private room (since it was empty for the night) which was great! Comes with tatami mats as well as a little balcony space on the outside.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.6

The staff were all very helpful and friendly. If you want to have a chat about travel or politics or whatever downstairs is the place to be. There are small lockers available. Showers were fine but toilets were a bit stinky. Location is great as it is pretty much straight down from the station and walking (or riding) diatance to the castle and koko-en garden. I stayed an extra night and most people only stay one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.