Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Himeji 588 Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd May 2017
5.7

1.We didnt recieve an email telling us how to get in 2. Heard them talking of the people they cancelled on during golden week, and chuckled on how they might get banned from the App 3.This place can fit like 20+ people and there are only 2 forks 2 knives 2 spoons and no tea towels. 4. Came down in the morning and the front door was wide open. 5. Bins were over flowing in the morning. 6. Stairs are super noisy 7. Could not get out of this hostel fast enough

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Apr 2017
7.4

Very close to Himeji castle and close to the train station too. Didn't see any laundry services or security boxes. Staff were good, beds are kind of like capsule style, quite cozy but not super private as the separator is a thin ply wood barrier half way and then curtain for the top half.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Apr 2017
8.9

Very cosy place with a warm host, great for meeting other travellers passing through Himeiji! The dorm beds do feel a tad stuffy so we upgraded to the private room (since it was empty for the night) which was great! Comes with tatami mats as well as a little balcony space on the outside.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.6

The staff were all very helpful and friendly. If you want to have a chat about travel or politics or whatever downstairs is the place to be. There are small lockers available. Showers were fine but toilets were a bit stinky. Location is great as it is pretty much straight down from the station and walking (or riding) diatance to the castle and koko-en garden. I stayed an extra night and most people only stay one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2017
7.4

I only stayed in the hostel for one night, it was fairly basic but in a great location super close the castle, walking distance from statoin. The coffee shop called Pamela's across the road had fab food and coffee, if you drink coffee i recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
9.1

There were some wifi issues that i experienced, but overall the accommodations were fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Mar 2017
9.1

Very pleasant hostel with a location no more than five minutes from the castle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.7

It was fine for us staying one night -our main issue was that it was closer during the day when we wanted to drop off our bags. This was a big inconvenience and wasn't written on their page that we could see. They should have alternatives where we can keep big bags- the ones they suggested only held small bags. But apart from that was comfy and fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Dec 2016
6.0

I was really looking forward to this hostel, but was kind of let down. The overall facilities were normal for a hostel, but the staff wasn't friendly or helpful at all. The first floor is very cold in the morning, so we tried to turn on the kotatsu, only to find that there was no plug. An hour later, the staff comes in to start work and brings the plug from behind the counter and hops in it. It felt like she was ready to get rid of us the moment we arrived. Not sure if I'd stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.