Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Himeji 588 Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
Himeji 588 Guesthouse Located at 68 Honmachi, Himejishi, , Himeji.
Himeji 588 Guesthouse
Japan
Himeji 6700012 68 Honmachi, Himejishi
85% 271
34.8331709 134.6931244
Himeji 588 Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jul 2016
9.1

Clean and comfortable, but a little more bare-bones than some Japanese hostels. The location is great and the staff were very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
6.0

It was probably fine in general, but compared to a lot of Japanese hostels it wasn't so great. The bathrooms were weird, the AC didn't really work (which is awful in Japanese summers) and the beds didn't have sheets. It's fine if you just want somewhere cheap to stay, though, probably

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
9.4

A very small and cosy guesthouse in an old Japanese house in walking distance to the Himeji-jo and the JR station. The staff was amazingly friendly and welcoming!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
4.9

No air conditioning, no dryer, two toilets (one outside). Stayed one night and planned to sightsee after checking out. Staff demanded that we pick up our bags no later than 3pm. 3 no. staff gave us the wrong information regarding bus to Mount Shosha. Wasted over an hour, then with early bag pick up restrictions we did not get to Mount Shosha which requires over 3 hours to explore. A wasted trip to Himeji thanks to an unflexible hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Jun 2016
7.7

Good hostel, but the only hostel i've known to kick you out at 10 in the morning for cleaning. Also got there at 2 in the afternoon after leaving my last place earlier than expected, and it was closed until 4pm, had to ring the staff to tell me the code to let me in and even then all i could do was drop my bags off and leave. Location was good, right next to himeji castle, and about 10 minutes away from the station. Staff were friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
9.7

This hostel was absolutely amazing. It's so close to Himeji Castle, so location is perfect. The staff were so helpful in letting me know where the nearest supermarkets and restaurants were. We even had a takoyaki party on my last night, and I learned how to make takoyaki! They were delicious, in case you were wondering. It was very clean, and they actually close up the place from 10am to 4pm to clean, so that would make sense. The only thing is that they do not have a kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
8.9

Super-friendly staff, right next to the castle and in walking distance from the railway station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Starrzan
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
9th May 2016
10.0

Great location, with Himeji Castle very close, just down the road. The staff members are friendly and helpful, and all facilities are catered for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd May 2016
6.9

Not the best hostel we had on our trip. It was a bit cramped, and not the greatest luxury. But it was OK, and served its purpose.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
7.4

Really enjoyed our stay here. Quite a boho, artisan hostel which was unique. The beds were alright though the top bunks divisions were half wood/curtain which lacked privacy. Also with the main light on there was no protection from the brightness and a cloth covering the top of the bed would be much needed. Furthermore, our experience was dampened due to many of the other guests (mostly Japanese) not understanding that waking at 6 am and rummaging through their bags is most annoying. So no sleep

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.