X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hollywood and Highland Hostel and Hotel Reviews

70381/2 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

61%

Rating
324 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 57%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Been visiting and staying at this location for several years and it has actually improved. The Hostel is cleaner, staff friendlier and the value is about the best one could get in Hollywood.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


26%

Looks like you are in a ghetto. The staff will remind you that you made a big mistake, and now you pay for it.


20%

The manager a black guy who is drunk every evening. Keeps increasing rate and derogates/blames Hostels World to be responsible of rates misquotes and mismanagment. The truth is they have no idea of what they are doing. Anyone with a room and six bunkers doesnt become a dorm provider. Do yourselves a favor, dont book here. Stay sonewhere else as Hollywood Boulevard can be seen within few hours. Not much to explore.


26%

The African-American manager opresses his staff and in turn the staff mistreats. Who gave them the license to be in hospitality business.


29%

Hostels like these make the concept of hostels a failure.


71%

Where do I start?! I wouldn't go there again! I wanted to stay in a hostel to meet travelers from around the world and...however it felt like a place for local low income people and...


80%

We enjoyed our stay here. Made the most of the fantastic location and nearby amenities. Would recommend groups of 5/6 to this hostel to book out entire rooms for security purposes. Otherwise great value for money!

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Too cold inside the Room, bad Windows!! Room and bathroom Very clean. Bed not comfortable Very good location Nice and helpful workers

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

It`'s a very good location and the money you pay to stay there is definitely low when compared to other hostels. But the facilities are very very poor and it's not clean at all.


66%

I didn't like that I had to make my own bed. Also, I could never check out because there was nobody at the reception when I left.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This place was great! It was the BEST location for people travelling. I would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Super nice people, really helpful! Location is perfect.

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

Great location, friendly staff. Rooms should have heating for days as hot as the last weekend , we were sweating all night long.


63%

When we checked out of the hostel on 14th September, the member of staff was quite rude and direct wth us. There are better ways to wak with your guests. Otherwise the stadd were fine and pretty friendly. The security isn't so good, the front door opens onto hollywood boulevard and is always open drng the day and we had a key for our room but could access it without the key. There are some small lockers available to use t store valuables. Average breakfast provided of bread with pb&j.


69%

Not that bad as in another reviews. And across the street is shopping mall where you can park for 8$ per day but If you stay there for 4 days and than you "lose" the parking ticket you will pay only for a lost ticket 8$. Just my experince may be different at your time.


57%

Perfect location, but there is no security at all. Can't smoke anywhere inside the hostel and are forced out onto the street in the middle of the night at the mercy of Hollywoods nightcrawlers. Bathrooms are only in the rooms no communal one and not the cleanest.


37%

Weid staff, dirty and very old kitchen and bathrooms. The worst hostel I ever been. Only the owner is a funny and polite guy

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Great location but the room was tiny for six people, not to mention very very warm with only a pathetic fan and tiny window for any kind of air. Beds felt like you were sleeping at sea - very rocky and some were very squeaky. The staff were unhelpful and not particularly welcoming, although did allow a refund for a member of our party who was unable to make it until the following evening. Everything was a bit run down and grubby, and there was a stale smell throughout the hostel.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel in a great location, staff very helpful. Groceries store below and opposite, everything located conviently

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Looks shabby--chipping paint, rusty/creaky beds/floors, few outlets & only half of them work, flat pillows, no AC only fan that is still stuffy and they make you keep the windows open to the outside. Security is iffy--they offer lockers in a common area, but you must provide a lock. The opening of the hostel onto the street immediately leads up to a long flight of stairs, (not secure if traveling alone with multiple bags as you have to leave one bag in the street while you haul the other up)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(248 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback