Hostelworld.com

Hostal Candelaria

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
Hostal Candelaria Located at Calle Candelaria 170, , San Pedro de Atacama.
Hostal Candelaria
Chile
San Pedro de Atacama El Loa 8340518 Calle Candelaria 170
84% 418
-22.9038822 -68.2017577
Hostal Candelaria
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Apr 2016
9.7

Candelaria is a great hostel. The rooms are nice and very clean. The staff is great and incredibly accommodating. Breakfasts were delicious. The setup of the hostel is also really great and there's a lot of outdoor space with hammocks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.7

A group of 9 of us stayed in Hostel Candelaria for 4 days. Located a 10min walk into the centre of town. Superb breakfast which varies everyday! Very clean, hot showers (always!), good communal areas (hammocks) and a well supplied kitchen. Miriam (host) is lovely! Very helpful and kindly gave us discounted rooms when our trip to Uyuni was cancelled last minute (however, she does not speak English and she does not arrange tours) I would strongly recommend! A fuller review also on tripadvisor

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
8.0

Hostel is 10 minute walk from the central square - an easy walk which goes by an open air vegetable market. We stayed in a 3 bed room - beds were comfortable, room was pleasant and had lockers to place valuables. Miriam, who runs the hostel, does not speak English, but she is helpful nevertheless - she made calls for us and helped us in anyway she could. The 2 bathrooms for the hostel were adequate with decent water pressure and hot water. Kitchen was adequate. Not a very social place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
8.3

Pretty good hostel, but not a good place to meet people. Owners are nice but do not speak any English which was hard for us. Kitchen is good, overall it's a nice place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2016
8.9

Rustic but everything you need. Great patio with hammocks and tables. Staff was super nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2016
8.0

ok location, about a 10-15 min walk from town center. good breakfast. friendly & helpful owner. a negative: we had a room with a window to the street, and a few nights there were loud music and people outside which were easily heard. overall, a good value.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2016
7.7

Good hostel but I didn't love it. It is a clean, safe option with a good breakfast. Other than in the mornings, I didn't really see the staff around to be able to ask any questions. Very quiet here without much personality. Two bathrooms for everyone to share which seemed fine, not sure how many beds total. A 15 minute walk to the central part of San Pedro. The three bed private room does not have wifi reaching it so you have to sit outside to use wifi if needed. No indoor common area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2016
6.0

Very lose door lock. Door could only be opened from the inside with enormous difficulties. Reported to staff. No action. Don't speak English. No room service. Walking distance to village about 20 minutes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Jan 2016
9.4

+ lovely accomodation in the midst of the desert - very calm and good access to the city (10 min of walking) + we had a private 3 bedroom - very nice and clean with lockers provided + showers and bathroom excellent - warm water at all times and always clean + kitchen that can be used for own cooking with all the things necessary + amazing breakfast (scrambled eggs, fresh bread, smoothie etc.) - cats and dogs in the premises - can smell after pee - they do not go into the rooms though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2016
9.7

Great place! If I ever go back to Atacama, I'll definitely stay there again. The owner, Miriam, is super helpful and charismatic. I stayed in a private bedroom with my boyfriend and it was very clean, comfortable and peaceful. Shared bathroom is also very clean and so is the kitchen. I wish I could have stayed longer to really appreciate the place, cause its area is very calm and pleasant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.