Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Candelaria

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
Hostal Candelaria Located at Calle Candelaria 170, , San Pedro de Atacama.
Hostal Candelaria
Chile
San Pedro de Atacama El Loa 8340518 Calle Candelaria 170
90% 474
-22.9038822 -68.2017577
Hostal Candelaria
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Jan 2017
10.0

Hostal Candelaria is in the perfect part of San Pedro de Atacama - slightly out of town. Once you get there, you'll know what I mean... It's constantly packed with tourists. Fortunately, this hostel is a brief walk away which gives a buffer to the activities and also provides peaceful, beautiful views of the desert. We thoroughly loved our stay here - very clean and comfortable, with nice kitchen facilities and ample breakfasts. You won't regret being away from the congestion of the square.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.1

Miriam was friendly and welcoming. She doesn't speak english but was willing to work through everything slowly till we understood. The hostal is great, with hammocks, sweet dogs, and an awesome atmosphere. Breakfast was varied and more b&b than the usual hostal fare. The bed was super comfy and the hostal was quiet at night allowing for a good nights sleep. The walk into town is about 10 minutes which was ok, but with the heat and poor lighting at night could annoy some people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
7.7

The host could not speak any English but was friendly and we were able to communicate with our slight knowledge of Spanish. The hostel is about a 10 minute walk from town which didn't bother us but some people may prefer to stay closer to the action. Nice shower and beds. Wifi didn't work in our bedroom but worked outside in the common area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel and staff in San Pedro de Atacama!. They were very quick with preparing our room even though we showed up early and couldn't be friendlier! The atmosphere is very relaxed and the courtyard area is super chilled out and nice. It's about a ten minute walk from town, but that is honestly better so that you don't have a million tourists wandering by your window every night. Highly, highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
9.7

Loved it! The hostel is a little far from city center which is good and bad. Is good because it is really quiet and you can rest in peace. Is bad because you have to go to city center every day to do something, but that is a 10 minute walk. This is a place for people who want to rest and not to party! There are a lot of bars in the city center region and if you are looking for a party, a bar or you are going there to meet new people, this is not the place for you. The owners are awesome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
5.7

It was not clear on booking that I had booked a double room with no bathroom. Dissapointed to realise that was the case especially given price. Our room was tiny. The shared toilet was shared with several other rooms so much waiting to use facilities. Also too far out if town. Plus point was decent breakfast but on second morning we had to go 15 minutes before breakfast started at 0800. They would not accommodate an early breakfast which was ridiculous.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ustedes venían del salar de Uyuni. Y usted estaba super mal educada, llego con una cara y le parecía todo mal. Y dijo que había arrendado una habitación matrimonial con baño privado, lo cual no era verdad, se le mostró su reservación y era bien claro que habia arrendado una habitación matrimonial con baño compartido.Su pareja era bíen educado el dijo que le parecia bien, usted gritaba, pero se quedo. Se alojo dos noches, el primer día se le dio desayuno, el segundo día no porque ustedes salian muy temprano, pero se le dio una colación en vez del desayuno , para llevar . La cual usted no la nombra, Siempre fuimos amables con usted, claro que usted ni siquiera nos contestaba el saludo, que pena que no se sintió bien en la Hostal. Le recomendamos a futuro leer bíen lo que esta reservando. Atentamente HOSTAL CANDELARIA.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
9.1

Quiet hostel about 10-15mins walk from the centre of the town. Good kitchen and nice breakfast included. Friendly and helpful staff. There for a week and would happily have stayed longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
9.7

Very friendly hostess (only speaks spanisch). Good breakfast with a Mango smoothie. Nice dogs and free wifi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
9.7

The hostel was our home away from home for three nights. It wasn't too far from the town, and we definitely felt safe walking there at night. Loved the hammocks, and of course, the staff! The room itself was great and clean as were the shared showers. We would definitely stay at Candelaria again! Great place and value. -- Muchísimas gracias! Fue un placer conocerle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Oct 2016
9.4

Pros: quiet, clean, comfortable hostel with kind service by host Miriam. Great for a good night's sleep and rest after a full day touring the desert. Could be improved: wifi wasnt good inside room 3,had to step outside for better signal (this could be a nuisance in winter); kitchen could be better equipped; breakfast is yummy but due to schedule we were only able to enjoy it 2 out of 7 days (tours begin earlier than hostel's breakfast hours).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.