Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Candelaria

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 500 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 500 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd May 2017
9.1

We enjoyed our stay at this hostel. The short walk out of town was no problem and adds to the tranquility of this hostel. Not a party hostel but perfect for couples or for someone looking to escape for a few days. Ample hammocks if that's your thing. The breakfast was good and the owner went out of her way to give us a breakfast take away bag when we had to check out in the early morning. Has cooking facilities which seemed to be rare in San Pedro. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
9.7

We loved Hostal Candelaria! If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing place, with hammocks, shade, and privacy, this little oasis is a perfect fit! It's a pleasant 10 minute walk outside of the downtown Caracoles Street, which we found to be a big asset as it was quiet and peaceful. The kitchen was great, and the local fruit/vegetable stand is 2 blocks away. I wouldn't call this a social hostel where you go to meet travelers or party (for that I'd go to Caracoles St.), but for peace, it's perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
7.7

The room was clean how ever a working lamp and a fan would have been nice. the location was ok how ever the grounds need attention due to the odour from the dogs. Breakfast should be optional.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Mar 2017
7.7

Great place for couples. Bit out of town, but the walk is easy and doesn't take long. The breakfast is the best we'd had in South America! Would defs stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
7.7

Shared toilets could be cleaner & soap and toilet paper replaced straight away. Room was nice, but we found it too warm. When we opened the window we had mosquitos etc. which buzzed around my ears & unfortunately I had bites on my face in the morning. We were told no mosquitos in San Pedro but there definitely were! Breakfast and staff were really good - v little eng but so nice and helpful. Location is fine if you can walk 10-15mins in the heat. It was v dark at night so bring a torch

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
5th Mar 2017
9.1

We had a fantastic time at this hostel. But here are some facts, perfect for couples not a hostel more like a BnB. Breakfast is pretty standard to most hostels (slightly better). Place has really nice Calm and relaxed vibe. About a 10 min walk from town but it's flat so it's an easy walk . Supermarket 500m up the road. Staff spoke only Spanish but would help and be very patient with our Spanish. Wifi only works close to reception area. The room we stayed kept warm at night and cool during day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
8.9

We had a very relaxing stay at Hostel Candelaria. It has some of the best shade in town. Kitchen was well equipped. Breakfast was tasty and filling. The pups were loving but barked a lot (never at night). Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.7

Candelaria was one of our favorite stops in six months of South American travel. It is a bit off the beaten path, but well worth it for a quiet nights sleep and outstanding breakfast. The host is extremely generous and purchased our cab to the bus station as a gift the morning we departed. We couldn't have asked for a better experience in San Pedro de Atacama.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
8.6

The place had a great location as in it was quiet, a 5 minute walk from where all the tour buses drop you off after the day, and we were always one of the first people to be picked up. Although the place was really relatively clean and had decent facilities, the wifi did not work very well and I think it was a bit over priced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
5.4

My room had no ventilation --no window that could be opened, nor any other way to get fresh air than opening the door. I had difficulty getting a towel. The cats and dogs were charming, but the whole place smelled of Kitty Litter. Staff was often nowhere to be found, especially in the evening. They were polite and friendly when you could find them. Breakfast was good, but slow.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.