Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostal Candelaria

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 492 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Mar 2017
7.7

Shared toilets could be cleaner & soap and toilet paper replaced straight away. Room was nice, but we found it too warm. When we opened the window we had mosquitos etc. which buzzed around my ears & unfortunately I had bites on my face in the morning. We were told no mosquitos in San Pedro but there definitely were! Breakfast and staff were really good - v little eng but so nice and helpful. Location is fine if you can walk 10-15mins in the heat. It was v dark at night so bring a torch

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Mar 2017
9.1

We had a fantastic time at this hostel. But here are some facts, perfect for couples not a hostel more like a BnB. Breakfast is pretty standard to most hostels (slightly better). Place has really nice Calm and relaxed vibe. About a 10 min walk from town but it's flat so it's an easy walk . Supermarket 500m up the road. Staff spoke only Spanish but would help and be very patient with our Spanish. Wifi only works close to reception area. The room we stayed kept warm at night and cool during day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
8.9

We had a very relaxing stay at Hostel Candelaria. It has some of the best shade in town. Kitchen was well equipped. Breakfast was tasty and filling. The pups were loving but barked a lot (never at night). Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.7

Candelaria was one of our favorite stops in six months of South American travel. It is a bit off the beaten path, but well worth it for a quiet nights sleep and outstanding breakfast. The host is extremely generous and purchased our cab to the bus station as a gift the morning we departed. We couldn't have asked for a better experience in San Pedro de Atacama.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
8.6

The place had a great location as in it was quiet, a 5 minute walk from where all the tour buses drop you off after the day, and we were always one of the first people to be picked up. Although the place was really relatively clean and had decent facilities, the wifi did not work very well and I think it was a bit over priced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
5.4

My room had no ventilation --no window that could be opened, nor any other way to get fresh air than opening the door. I had difficulty getting a towel. The cats and dogs were charming, but the whole place smelled of Kitty Litter. Staff was often nowhere to be found, especially in the evening. They were polite and friendly when you could find them. Breakfast was good, but slow.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
9.7

Couldn't fault the hostel or the lovely family that run this little oasis of cool peace and tranquility amid the roasting desert. Yes the location is a little out from the centre of town (10mins walk) which is a bit of an effort with a heavy bag, but it is worth it for the quiet and clear skies that that little separation affords, that and the best free hostel brekki I've ever had! A great wee hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
7.7

The room was always clean and cozy. At night it was very cold outside, but the room was still warm. Staff was nice and gave us some valueable tips, when we arrived. However, we had to pay the IVA tax. I think most of the hostels in Chile doesn't know that foreign tourists doesn't have to pay this tax. That represents 19¨% of the amount paid to the hostels! The bathroom had a strange smell, although it was cleaned every day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
10.0

Hostal Candelaria is in the perfect part of San Pedro de Atacama - slightly out of town. Once you get there, you'll know what I mean... It's constantly packed with tourists. Fortunately, this hostel is a brief walk away which gives a buffer to the activities and also provides peaceful, beautiful views of the desert. We thoroughly loved our stay here - very clean and comfortable, with nice kitchen facilities and ample breakfasts. You won't regret being away from the congestion of the square.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.1

Miriam was friendly and welcoming. She doesn't speak english but was willing to work through everything slowly till we understood. The hostal is great, with hammocks, sweet dogs, and an awesome atmosphere. Breakfast was varied and more b&b than the usual hostal fare. The bed was super comfy and the hostal was quiet at night allowing for a good nights sleep. The walk into town is about 10 minutes which was ok, but with the heat and poor lighting at night could annoy some people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.