X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Alessandro Palace & Bar Reviews

Via Vicenza 42, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
4625 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

hostel was nice, which i can recommend, the staff was friendly all the time. and the location was perfect as it was very near at the train station. i originally booked for 1 night but end up staying for 3 as they have aactivities every night and it was fun. they also have hostel tours which they gave to me a discount. breakfast is 4 euros. if i will be in rome i will stay again here

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

good location in Rome


97%

very pleasant stay, the guys at the front desk very friendly. good beds and rooms clean. fun at night the bar downstairs, not expensive drinks. the wifi is okay connection, even in rom. merci

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good hostel to stay at. The staff is very nice and easy to work with. The place is very clean. The wifi worked on and off in the rooms but there is a computer you can use in the lobby. Only thing is be careful if you do the pub crawl, they take you to a club far away and if you don't know how to get home you have to take a taxi. They try and tell bus directions to get back, but at that point we were all still confused.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I have been to this hostel more than 4 times, and every time the stay is better than the last. The best staff member there of course is Nas. He is always ready to help you with a smile on his face. Then of course there is Tara and Mike. Mike makes the best cocktails EVER! There are not enough words to describe the quality of the staff here! They all go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. Nas, Tara, Mike, Carlo, CJ, Ian, Nicco, Alessio, and Andrèi are all great! A

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel. Recommended


77%

Good for meeting people and partying. Rooms were pretty clean, bathrooms was weird as it didn't have a true division other than a curtain between the toilet and you. Close to train station which was really nice, easy to get everywhere from here because the bus station is a 5 min walk. Wifi was pretty good, can't say much about their breakfast though.


100%

great hostel to party in big rooms and friendly staff always willing to help.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Really nice hostel. Bit expensive but in a good location. Breakfast cost four euro but you can eat and eat and eat. Oh man though, those beds. So comfy we slept like babies. Also the staff was very accommodating towards us when we continued to check out, change our minds and then check back in. Definitely recommend.


97%

This is so far the best Hostel I have stayed at! It is within 5 mins walking distance of Termini station (Rome's main Transport hub). This Hostel caters to the needs of both lone travellers and those in large groups. I found it v clean & it's great for meeting people. There's an event lined up every night. Has a bar downstairs and also a roof-top terrace which is great for hanging out during the summer. Negatives - 4 Euros for an avg. breakfast and wireless was on/off. Overall I defo recommend !


66%

staff were generally pretty rude and unhelpful which is a shame when it's your first time in a new city and don't know there area - at least act excited that someone want's to experience Rome. Other than that rooms were pretty clean (I did hear a rumour of bed bugs in another room) bar was pretty quiet the nights I was there but beers were cheap(ish) breakfast was good, toast, cereal, fruit all you need really. A little expensive for what you et but would stay again


86%

Really good If I back there will stay againg


100%

smooth stay, very convenient location 3 blocks from train station. the party they organize was great, and if you book in advance they offer discounts. all the staffs are friendly, they provide detailed information how to get around the city. comfy beds, and the room get clean everyday.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Found the place to be very clean, modern and quiet. Great location.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

this is 1 of the best hostel ive been, well run. friendly staff, they even print my boarding pass for free. the tours they offer is great + discounts! the party is okay and fun. clean room. well done guys!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Staying here was a great choice. It is close to the Termini train and metro station and a good walk from most of the sites. The reception is open 24 hours which is so helpful and the staff are all awesome and very accommodating. It is kind of a "party" hostel with a fun bar and rooftop parties but even if you aren't the partying type, it is still a nice place to meet people and have a clean, nice room/bed to stay in. I definitely would stay here again if i return to Rome.


89%

I got moved to the building that's not attached to the main bar, etc so that was kind of unfortunate. Wifi wasn't the best but it was a nice place to stay


74%

My room was in another building, which is quite inconvenient. It took the staff a couple of days to change towels and get rid of the annoying clogged drain in the shower, but at least they did it! Beds are too small for me (1,90m or 6'3") and quite short too, so I always hit my head when getting up. They are also a bit noisy. Lockers are great! Breakfast is not bad... Internet terminal is free, which is great!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Everything was average but the cleanliness, we saw the same rubish in a corner during the three days of our stay. In adition, the luggage room was stinking like rotten food. Despite it is near termini and another subway station, the surroundings are kind of lonely to walk in the night. There is no individual light for the beds so you must turn the main one or struggle with a flashlight (if you have one).

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your feedback, regarding the rubbish in your room we have been assured by the cleaners that it was part of the belongings of one of your room mates who had been there for several days before you. we apologize for any smell in the luggage room, we regularly clean it as many guest use it to dump anything and everything they do not want to take away with them. with regards to the lights we will try to resolve this matter. thank you and we hope to see you again.

97%

decent hostel, friendly & helpful staffs,. rooms cleaned everyday, breakfast is not included but ok for the price. wifi works in the room, roof party is perfect, cheap cocktails! overall it was great stay!

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(230 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback