Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Esperanza

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 111 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jul 2017
6.6

Didn't love this hostel... anyone could walk in the front door and the dorms are right beside the door (one is before the reception desk even). Staff were not friendly. Kitchen was dirty. Bathroom was dirty. Top bunks had no side bars and felt quite dangerous. Pros were that there were lockers and free water. Location was great right by the beach. It was noisy at night (at least on the weekend when we stayed) from nearby parties.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
2.0

It was not specified that there is a cat at the hostel, and one of us was allergic.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2017
8.9

Great value for the money - super cheap and you get breakfast included and an amazing location, plus good security. Could have more bathrooms but I've noticed that trend in a lot of Central American hostels. Came for Sunday Funday and definitely do not regret having a place just far away enough from all the partying to come back to. They're still super close to everything and you get a great view of the beach!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ashleyduk
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2017
6.0

You get what you paid for. Stayed one night and the next morning we moved to another hostel because we didn't like it. Bathrooms weren't clean, the dorm room was wide open to the front, staff was so loud at 6am. They didn't care about their guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Jun 2017
8.0

Nice location close to the beach. Good breakfast of gallo pinto, eggs and fruit. There's a nice courtyard with comfy chairs and hammocks. Bathroom could have been cleaned more often, but a really enjoyable stay overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
7.4

It was a great central location in San Juan and a cheap price for a private room. There were lots of mosquitos in my room, and when I mentioned this to the staff, they just shrugged and said sorry. I completely accept some locations have bugs - but this was extreme for the SJDS and Nica. No mos net and 20 bites in one night. I also got woken up at 7am by building works at the hostel - again the staff just shrugged. Included breakfast ok. Filtered water available. Overall, an ok one night stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th May 2017
8.3

Great location, great breakfast, nice staff. Lacked common area, and bathrooms. But overall we had a good stay, staff was helpful setting up day trips

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th May 2017
9.1

Perfect for one night stop over

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Super neat place -- location good lots of vendors of sorts-- feels kinda like Venice beach California:) the whole brah thing felt like I were home-- staff cool and helpful-- restaurant attached cool-- wifi came in and out but other than that -- A+ Esperanza 💚👌🏽🌍🐟

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
10.0

Yes. We loved Esperanza. Lots of open space and places to sit or hammock in the central courtyard. Perfect location. Staff was really nice and very helpful. Great breakfast including fruit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.