Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Esperanza

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 96 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 96 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Jun 2017
8.0

Nice location close to the beach. Good breakfast of gallo pinto, eggs and fruit. There's a nice courtyard with comfy chairs and hammocks. Bathroom could have been cleaned more often, but a really enjoyable stay overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
7.4

It was a great central location in San Juan and a cheap price for a private room. There were lots of mosquitos in my room, and when I mentioned this to the staff, they just shrugged and said sorry. I completely accept some locations have bugs - but this was extreme for the SJDS and Nica. No mos net and 20 bites in one night. I also got woken up at 7am by building works at the hostel - again the staff just shrugged. Included breakfast ok. Filtered water available. Overall, an ok one night stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th May 2017
8.3

Great location, great breakfast, nice staff. Lacked common area, and bathrooms. But overall we had a good stay, staff was helpful setting up day trips

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th May 2017
9.1

Perfect for one night stop over

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Super neat place -- location good lots of vendors of sorts-- feels kinda like Venice beach California:) the whole brah thing felt like I were home-- staff cool and helpful-- restaurant attached cool-- wifi came in and out but other than that -- A+ Esperanza 💚👌🏽🌍🐟

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
10.0

Yes. We loved Esperanza. Lots of open space and places to sit or hammock in the central courtyard. Perfect location. Staff was really nice and very helpful. Great breakfast including fruit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
8.6

My dorm had shower curtains instead of doors for the bathrooms so not very ideal. Breakfast was awesome, nice courtyard, 30 second walk to the beach. Stayed in a private dorm another night and it was perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
5.7

We stayed at this hostel over New Years Eve and have booked 3 beds in advantage. When we came there, they told us they would just have 2 beds, the one alightly bigger so that 2 persons could sleep in there. We paid 25$ each per night and were welcomed in a typical cheap looking hostel. I mean everything you needed was there abd worked but thats really as good as it gets

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.