Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Helvetia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
8.9

A really nice, clean and rather quiet hostel located close to the old town. The facilities are all very clean and the staff was super friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Aug 2017
6.9

This hostel is for all but there should be more thought into it, in reality it was a very uncomfortable stay. The hostel should implement an age limit for the young and old, to prevent 19 year old girls being placed in a room of men of 70+ and organise rooms according to age. We also shared our room with 2 homeless men, which was just as uncomfortable. I excpect the standard reply about not discriminating anyone, but in reality how the policy is carried out doesn't work and needs to be reviewed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comment. That is true that we do not have age limits That is what we are actually proud of. However, I am sorry that you felt uncomfortable and I can understand it. That is a pitty you did not ask a receptionist to try to change a room for you. We cannot plan it in advance but we always do our best to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible. PS As for the "homeless" people, there is no chance we accommostaed them. I am sorry to say this straightly but that happens there are some guests who don't use a bathroom too often.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2017
8.9

Solid hostel! Would always recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. Welcome to us again!

10th Aug 2017
8.9

Great location, and felt really safe having a key to the room and a code to get into the building. There's a box in the room with a lock to put valuables but you won't fit your whole suitcase in there. Only thing is it was a little outdated but that's okay! The kitchen was helpful to save money and cook food myself!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback! Lockers are big, but if your bag doesn't fit in, you can always keep in locker most importent things, and ampty suitcase we can lock in luggage storage. Welcome to us again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.1

Lovely clean hostel with individual big lockers under each bed. Bathrooms were super clean and showers were good! Common room/kitchen was nice and quirky, even if the kitchen was on the small side. Location is good, close to the centres of old and new town. Atmosphere was good, everyone was friendly, and staff helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
8.9

It's a pretty decent place for the money. Breakfast is super basic and everything is nearby. The laundry isn't good to do here though. They charge a whole lot and the dryer takes 3-4 hours but nothing actually gets dry. Other than that though it was a nice place but not a great place to meet others as a solo traveler

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2017
9.7

Perfect hostel if you want somewhere safe, clean, and quiet! Thanks for a great stay! Hopefully I can return in the future :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Jul 2017
8.0

was my second time there. its just a simple, clean hostel. everything seems to be quite calm. so a good "homebase" for exploring the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback! :) Welcome to us again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.7

Very welcoming staff& always felt comfortable. The photography around the hostel was really cool &I the common room was really good for socialising. The room was really nice& always felt safe as we had locks for our doors and the lockers to put valuables. Great location, could walk to the old town in 20 mins. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback! :) Welcome to us again!

10th Jul 2017
10.0

Hostel Helvetia was probably the nicest and most welcoming hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were great, quiet in the evening, and very convenient location (positioned right between and within walking distance of the old town and the newer area). I would highly recommend it, and will hopefully return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback! :) Welcome to us again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×