X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Villa Vento Surf Reviews

Marbella, Calle 47, Casa 7, Panama City, Panama

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
729 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Second stay here. Like it a lot.


100%

I went to Villa Vento after only reading good reviews about the hostel, and I couldn't agree with them more. The owner, Daniel, and the staff are genuinely nice people and super helpful. I went to Panama for a month with no plans, and they gave me great recommendations that ultimately led to an incredible overall trip in Panama. I enjoyed the proximity to the Cinta Costera path with incredible views of the city, where I'd run as often as possible. Cool pool, sweet pancakes, good lounging.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel is located in Centrum of the city, around 40minutes by the walk from the Casco Viejo. I really enjoyed the place, its clear, with good facilitated kitchen, nice lounge area and swimming pool. Everybody is friendly and the place has great atmosphere. Definitely recommended it!


80%

Stayed 02-06 July, had a great time. Location is a little sleepy (mainly a business area), but there are some cafes near by, a corner store literally around the corner, and an abundance of taxis a short walk down the street. Staff was friendly, respectful, and accessible. My main complaint was a lack of atmosphere at the hostel (it was a bit too "chill") and a lack of events. Only one night did a staff member organize a hostel-wide trip to a nearby club. Then again, some may prefer this.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • dca05
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello sorry you thought they wasnt enough atmospehre in the hostel but sometimes we have no control over this its depends on the guests we do a free rum night every saturday

100%

Brilliant hostel with a really lovely chilled and friendly vibe. Loads of sofas and places to relax, and the pool is a definite plus!


74%

The owner is a really nice guy. I also stayed at the sister hostel in Santa Catalina. Location is good for the business district, can get bus to the old town just down the road. Air conditioning only on between 9pm and 9am in the bedrooms. Only 2 bathrooms for all guests but overly a big issue as it is a smaller hostel. Hostel arranged good secure transport to the airport for me. Unfortunately the common area isn't air conditioned which would be nice due to the humidity in Panama.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi thanks for the review just to make clear that we have five bathrooms in the hostel

100%

Super helpful staff, safe, clean, great resources, and fun!! Plenty of space to lounge, clean pool, plus the cafe is top notch!

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Not much in the surrounding area but it's a short taxi or about an hour walk to casco viejo along the water front/av balboa. Pancake batter and coffee provided in the mornings which was good. There is also a pool and lots of sofas. Beers are $1!


100%

Villa Vento was awesome, we had a great stay here! The rooms are clean and have a/c, there's a pancake breakfast and the best coffee we've had so far this trip. Chill vibes and the pool is an added bonus! We'll definitely be back!


66%

This hostel was very much a party hostel. There was a pool, fire pit, and large lounge area. Stayed here for 1 night in May 2015. Rooms were air conditioned, but it was WAY TOO COLD at night. I wore sweaters and had to get up in the middle of the night to turn of the A/C. Kitchen and bathrooms were not that clean. Did meet some great people here!


100%

I have stayed in numerous hostels in Panama city, villa vento is by far the most comfortable, clean and most professional hostel I have been to. Breakfast and coffee in the mornings were perfect. The owner is a legend and the staff are more than happy to help with information and transfers from the hostel.. A real safe, fun vibe, after a night or two at the hostel you feel like a part of the family! Definitely will stay next time I'm in the city.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24


89%

Great hostel, excellent staff. Many thanks to Stephen, cool and professional


77%

Good place to discover Panama City!


100%

Best hostel in the city !

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice place to stay in a safe neighbourhood. Pool is excellent, rooms and facilities were clean, kitchen well equipped and lots of infrmation on what o Do in Panama City and around. Recommend it.


100%

Great location! Helpful staff! Friendly travelers!

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel! Nearby everything that you need (busstops, malls, food courts, markets, etc.) and in a really good neighbourhood. Staff more than friednly and helpful. The plase was always clean. The bathroom as well. My only thing was tthe breakfast, was just selfmade pancakes and coffee, nothing more. Super recommend it and i would stay here again!


86%

Nice pleasant place, great location among the high rise banking district, all the super hotels around.... it is mainly the American shops and the malls.... but at the end of the road is an excellent local food place that the bankers get a cheap lunch in! Pool is lovely to cool off in, and sleeping is great with the ice cold a/c!


94%

Great Hostel! Relaxing atmosphere, nice staff, good location and .. the best thing: the pool!! If we come again, only to Villa Vento Surf!!

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I've been travelling all through Central America and it's one of the best hostels I've stayed in on all levels. There other hostel in Morillo is amazing and right on the beach surrounded by coconut trees and good waves.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Panama City Hostels

Please give us your feedback