X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Baron Reviews

1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
154 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

1. High privacy in the room and good facilities in the room 2. There is a bug in the room on the second night that we stayed 3. The staff is not very concentrated when he does the check-in. He just keeps talking on phone without introducing the facilities or wifi or whatever provided by the hotel


46%

Staff was unfriendly, Room and bed super small, you could hear your Neighbours easily

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good: Room big enough for the money. Heating fine (but noisy), hot water, good shower; cleaning staff was wonderful and earned every tip. Shampoo, soap, etc, from Bath and Body Works. Bad: I was given the first room in the first floor. You could hear all the noise from the bar. I'm used to sleeping through noise, so it was ok for me, but some else could hate it. Some one tried to enter my room at 3 am, twice, different days. Told the staff. Nothing happened. Had to jam the door with a chair.

  • 6th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

It needs to be made clear that this hotel is on top of a bar. Very loud at night.

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This is a friendly, clean, and great value place to stay. The atmosphere is warm and the location is incredible. I would highly recommend it to anyone. We were attending a conference in the nearby Fairmont - a beautiful place, but our conference rate for rooms was over $250/night. At the Baron, I got a room for $70 per night and got to stroll by a park on the short walk (10 mins) to my conference. Made my Fitbit and my expense account very happy!


97%

Very comfortable stay, thanks.

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

This inexpensive hotel is good value for money and a good choice for backpackers looking for a little privacy if travelling as a couple or small group. The location was within reasonable walking distance to the main areas of interest and nearby supermarkets. The staff were professional and courteous and were helpful in refunding a tax discrepancy added to my bill on hostelworld. The rooms were clean and immaculate and the beds very comfortable. The AC was a God send. We would stay again.


74%

Breakfast was really poor, and we have ordered a twin bed, which apparently doesn't exist ?! You should update your offer on the website then.. The bar downstairs is very cool though, and there seems not to be a lot of ok-price hotels in the area so that's good. Next to some bars and restaurants, as well of the metro.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Staff was incredibly friendly. Downstairs there is a bar with amazing beer and cider both local and international. Our room was clean and cozy. The walk to the mall isn't too far but if you're tired the metro is very nearby. Excellent value!


100%

Had a wonderful stay here! The location is great and the rooms are very clean. The bar underneath serves great food with a brilliant selection of beers from across the world. Would definitely stay here again!


91%

Great and quite fancy looking place! Good value for money and in a really nice area filled with cool restaurants and quite a few cool bookshops. There's a metro v near but even walking you can get to the national mall in about 20-30mins depending on how fast you walk.


86%

The staff was very helpful in assisting us in storing things in the cooler and handling our repeated taking of things in-and-out of the cooler. At a price of about $85 a night (including the DC tax) for a nice clean room in Dupont Circle, it is hard to imagine a better deal can be found in DC. Note that there is an elevator, but you must push it open manually.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It was worth the money we paid. The room was spotless clean. Breakfast was good and the staff was excellent. The only bad thing was poor internet signal in our room.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall, the location is great, walking distance to everything. in downtown DC and very convenient if you want to take the metro. The room we stayed in was average, fairly small, the bed was slightly uncomfortable and I was surprised they had a window air conditioner. It was a good deal for the location but not if you plan on spending more than just nights in the hotel room.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location. Elevator was broken so we climbed three flights of stairs everyday... Good exercise! Clean rooms, good price, very friendly staff.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Exactly what I expected for such a great price. The room was cozy, but it was clean and well-kept. The restaurant in the hotel is great and has an excellent beer selection. Front-desk staff could have been a little friendlier, they were not rude or mean, just not entirely welcoming.


80%

Great location in a safe neighborhood (Probably because of it's location near some embassies) with the nearest underground subway at about 10m walk. .Excellent value for money - the room was spacious, clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable.


89%

Great stay and perfekt location!

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Very nice and modern bathroom


89%

Surprisingly good hotel! Clean, near the metro and in a really nice little area. Definitely recommend.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(70 results)


View all Washington DC Hotels

Please give us your feedback