X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hotel Colorado Playa del Carmen Reviews

Calle 4 nte. between 20 y 25 Av. Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
220 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

great staff, very nice

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

I have now been to this hotel two years in a row and plan to return again next year. I truly enjoy both families that own and operate this establisment. The families work one month on, one month off. Depending on when you travel will dictate which family you will meet during your stay. Cord, Cybil, Jaqueline and Sammy are wonderful hosts and I like staying the last week of one month and the first week of a second month so I get to enjoy both families. Enjoy this great place !

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The breakfast could have been better for the price we paid for the private room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As we do not provide breakfast: Is it possible that you gave us a review which belongs to another place where you stayed also?

94%

Tucked down 4th street, away from the hustle and bustle of 5th avenue, but only a short walk from the action, this hostel is clean, well equipped and with helpful, friendly staff. Our room had a kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. The aircon was really appreciated. We enjoyed the access to adventure parks and Cozumel from Playa Del Carmen and the hostel is close to collectivos bus services too.


83%

We were very happy with our stay at Hotel Colorado. The room was good and we enjoyed our time on the upper deck. Just a short walk to the beach, restaurants etc. We liked that there was a locked gate at all times going into the hotel that you would open with your own key. We would stay there again!

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The WIFI is not working very well. There is no bell at the entry. So difficulty to call the staff to open the door when we arrive the first time.


83%

Arrived after a very unpleasant flight & the woman who checked us in was lovely. Basic rooms, but on a great street with it's own bars and restaurants. Very short and easy walk from 5th Ave and the ADO Bus terminal. Walmart and other stores within walking distance too. Sitting on the terrace on the top floor enjoying a cold drink is lovely. It's perfect for budget travellers who want to be close but not in the noisy/touristy part of town all the time. Fridge was great, shower nice & big.

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean and colourful, tucked away on a street about 5 minutes from the beach. The staff were very helpful and knowledgable about cheap places to eat or to visit! Security was good as they have a metal gate that they give you a key to. Some rooms have a terrace outside or a kitchenette! Was a great experience would definitely visit again.


97%

Very nice place in Playa, good location, near both of ADO bus stations, main street and shopping area, but green and not noisy. There is a relaxation area on the top floor. Very good for stay in Playa.

  • 26th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The hotel is at 10min walking from the beach. Very quite during the night.


91%

Loved the colourful courtyard!


100%

I appreciated the helpfulness of the owners, who gave me good advice on places to visit around (cenotes), local transport (colectivos) and suggested a good restaurant in the area, mostly crowded by locals. I warmly recommend this hotel/hostel

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The room was very nice,frig & hot plate worked. Cleaned almost every day. Jackie gave me a real good deal even though one of my friends couldn't go. I'll go there again,the next time I hit town.


86%

Very good value for money. Very clean, and quiet. Helpful staff. Well-designed rooms.


89%

The staff are lovely and more than willing to give you advice on touristy things to do, Jaqueline especially was really helpful and friendly, so thank you! The location is a wee bit far from the beach, but still walking distance and close to the supermarket. The hotel has a really nice garden, it has a table where you can sit and have coffee or whatever. The rooms are impeccably clean, which is a priority for us, with comfy beds and good sheets. The only thing was the towels, they are a bit old!

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hotel is very pretty, and very well run. The rooms are exceptionally clean, hot water was never a problem, and the bed was excellent! Such a nice quiet location, but close to everything. The bus station, all the good mexican restaurants like HC Monterrey and Fogon's on 30th, also Manne's Beirgarten, a great bar on a rainy night! (or any night for that matter). This is close enough to the beach without all the 5th Avenue craziness. I really enjoyed everything about this nice place.

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

great place to stay for the cost! Kord and Cybil the owners are great people clean and well maintained rooms safe also you cant go wrong

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Playa del Carmen Hostels

Please give us your feedback