Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Iguana Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2017
9.4

Really enjoyed my time there, staff was very nice and helpful, breakfast delicious, and atmosphere very welcoming. Perfect to meet people. Quiet at night, no loud music or party animals. In the new house, all beds are comfy single (no bunks) and that's a real + ! Who likes to sleep on the top bed ? Beautiful views of the mountains from the garden. I'll definitely stay there again when I go back to San Cristobal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
10.0

Iguana hostel is just cool and chilled place, very good located, with friendly staff and good vibe. It was my third stay there and it gets better and better. Now they open second part of the hostel which have very nice garden and great view. If you wanna enjoy your stay in San Cris just stay in Iguana!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
9.4

Lovely people & lovely place! Great location close to the center of San Cris and feels very secure. It's super easy to make friends and have a great time. The view from the rooftop is gorgeous :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jun 2017
6.6

Nice place in a decent spot. Place is abit old and could use some doing up and the bar they have there isn't serviceable and not much of a party atmosphere however would recommend as a good place to stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
9.1

Nice staff and people. There were mostly only spanish-speaking people when I was staying there though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • constantinoceryx8380
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th May 2017
9.7

I was suggested to stay at Iguana by a French friend who gave me the following description: The atmosphere of the place is terrific, the staff is really cool and you will feel like home. I was supposed to stay in San Cristobal for 3 nights and ended up staying for 10 days! If you want a cozy stay amongst new friends, this is the place to be!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th May 2017
10.0

Yet another hostel that I felt I was staying at a friend's house. Facilities wise, I loved that there are many bathrooms and all kept generally clean & breakfast with options every day! But I owe my good time here to the staff, hands down! Sure there's a little language barrier but with a smile on your face, basic Spanish (or slow English hehe) and a little mimic everybody can feel at home with these guys! Downside: the music is never loud enough for th party animal that lives in me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
6.9

Pros: good location, not too central but 10mins walk max to zocalo main square. decent breakfast, eggs or pancakes alternate days. Bed good, easy sleep. Cons: Bit of an Argentine/latino clique going on with the staff and volunteers. Somedays if the rest of the travellers are cool you will have a good atmosphere...otherwise you may not feel wellcome in the clique. Overall ok but atmosphere due to the clique really lets this hostel down.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • AngelicaGoodman91
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th May 2017
9.7

Such a good hostel. Great vibes, friendly/hilarious staff. Hearty breakfasts. May have to wait to use the showers as there is only a few!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
9.1

Lovely chilled vibe, staff were nice. Only stayed for one night but it was one of the nicest places we stayed in. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.