X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Iguana Hostel Reviews

Calle Chiapa de Corzo 16, Barrio el Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
130 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Such an awesome place with a great vibe. The staff is amazing and super helpful with anything, and the city itself was so hard to leave. The breakfasts are also really legit.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really loved this place. A great location for getting to know San cristobal. Very easy to meet other travellers as really good social space and lots of hammocks. All in all thumbs up!!!

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel is great if you want to meet people. There are so many areas to hang out in and there were always people meeting for breakfast or beers up on the balcony. Rudy the owner was also the best. He was really friendly and helpful for getting around and doing stuff in SC. He also hung out with the guests so it felt like he was another traveller staying there. A very fun and welcoming hostel! Would definitely stay again.


100%

Honestly don't have a negative thing to say about this hostel. Such an amazing owner who genuinely cares about the guests and a very communal vibe, the location is perfect. San cristobal is such an amazing city, and made even better by this hostel.


97%

This was my third stay at the Iguana; I can't seem to stay away. This time was even better than the last. There is a new tv room which is great for hanging out and watching movies inside on cold nights. And the staff is as dedicated and fun as ever--as well as the auxiliary cast of characters that always seems to drop by with food or music to share. I want to say thanks to everyone who made my stay magical: Sabrina, Nicholas, Daisy, Alex, Freesia, Rosa, Han, Valentine, Tom, and Rudy!


97%

I had such a wonderful time at the Iguana Hostel!! The hostel is located close to the stunning food-market and it takes as well just 5 minutes to go to the central park. The staff is amazing,they are like family! I think the most beautiful about this hostel is the amtosphere! so many times we cooked together and always everybody is invited to eat,even when they just arrived 5 minutes ago. for sure,it's not the cheapest hostel,but the breakfeast is included and it's one of the best I ever had!!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing hostel, staff were very inormative and freidnly and cooked amazing free breakfasts :), would definatly reccomend


97%

The Iguana was one of the best hostels I stayed at in Mexico. The facilities were clean, the staff were not just friendly but actively tried to engage in with the guests. It's in a perfect location, only a few minutes walk to most of the sights in the city as well as the markets. Breakfast is made every morning by the staff and everything we had was both delicious and abundant. The atmosphere at the Iguana is second to none, anyone who wants to have a good time should stay here.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic stay. A real home away from home, really comfortable and relaxed.


100%

I had a wonderful stay at Iguana Hostel. The location is perfect, close to everything in town. Iguana Hostel is clean and comfortable. Lots of common areas to hang out with other guests, lots of hammocks, and a great kitchen. It is easy to get to know everyone. Iguana Hostel feels like a family.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The best word to describe iguana is home. I traveled trough whole Central America and never found a Place where i felt so comfortable. The best thing about iguana is that it atrackts the Most lovely People from all over the world. If you are looking for a Place to chill, it is Perfect for you. If you love to Party, You will love it, too! Every Night there is sth going on, You will cook together, just chill On the roof or make a Fire in the Garden. Wonderful staff, best owner ever. I Fell in love

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Iguana Hostel is a very comfortable and friendly place. It is a great hostel to meet people from around the world. The hostel itself has many places to relax and share your travel stories, including an outdoor patio with tables and sofas, a cozy TV room lined with pillows and filled with many movies and a computer, and the yard lined with half a dozen hammocks. The staff and owner are sweet and very helpful. The free breakfast in the morning is always delicious. Iguana is a great place to stay!


80%

Pretty good hostel with a really nice staff. We booked some tours from the hostels who turned out pretty good. The dorms in my opinion are too big, but we stayed one night in a private room which was great. The showers and toilet are great and clean. There is no socializing happening in this hostel thought, so for people who are looking to meet people, it's not such a great place. Moreover, I think the breakfast wasn't that impressive.


100%

i really am satisfied with this hostel. Rudy and Monika are very friendly and humorous owners! i could stay here like home and have such a great time with ppl come together. it's good to have a party with friends! i think whoever gonna stay in iguana, the plan will be changed definitely! long staying, and more friends in your life! Thanks iguana!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Dngerous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Iguana is such a special place in San Cristobal, with a great friendly vibe. Rudy, the owner, is such a sweet and caring person, and it felt like I was staying at a friend's house, rather than a hostel. The breakfasts are awesome, the showers are hot, and the location is perfect, just up the street from both the artisan and fruit markets. Also, the kitchen is pretty big, and there's a bbq, which makes for lots of fun community dinners...I love iguana.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

2 showers in the hole hostel is not enough.. Staff really friendly... Breakfast was good... Didn't like too much the atmosphere..

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all San Cristobal de las Casas Hostels

Please give us your feedback