Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Iguana Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
Iguana Hostel Located at Calle Chiapa de Corzo 16, Barrio el Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas.
Iguana Hostel
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas Chiapas 29220 Calle Chiapa de Corzo 16, Barrio el Cerrillo
90% 329
16.7417672 -92.6360074
Iguana Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • shannonodelia
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
10.0

LOVE IGUANA! Had an amazing time. Awesome staff. They had just built a awesome new bar. Had bonefires at night where everyone hung out! Fun party hostel but most people go to the bars around midnight, lots of places to go. Close to EVERYTHING! I stayed for 8 days and wish I stayed longer. Met tons of awesome people, lots of new friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
10.0

The stuff was extremely friendly and helpful. Always happy to give recommendations and show me nice places around whenever they had time. I felt like at home in iguana. Never felt lonely. The hostel is a perfect place for a single traveler. It was really comfortable and clean. They provide few blankets so there is no way to be cold. There is a new open bar outside in the garden and a fire to warm up during the cold nights and terrace to enjoy amzing breakfast. i will highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
10.0

I had an incredible time at Hostel Iguana. The people really make this place, fantastic party atmosphere and the staff really go the extra mile. I loved every minute of my stay at Hostel Iguana and I'll definitely be going back. The location was absolutely perfect, right in the centre of town near the market (so vibrant!). The other guests were awesome and we had some great nights out along the way. The new hostel bar is a great way to discover Pox too! I'm missing the place already!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.6

A really nice hostel where to stay at and where to meet travelers. There are some things that could be improved, but in general it's ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
9.1

A nice place to stay and great people tend the place. Hot showers available and the value for money is awesome. They should kill the music at midnight (like they do) but let the guests be quiet with the bonfire still on so we can chat for more time. Apart from that, all great! Maby fix downstairs shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
10.0

Iguana Hostel is just a short walk away from the city centre and definitely has every feature a great hostel should have. The beds are comfortable (brand new mattresses), staff is super nice, breakfast is amazing and just an overall cool atmosphere. A new lounge area/bar/fireplace had just been opened while I was staying there, which turned out to be just the perfect place to chill out during both day and night time. Loved my time here!”

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Dec 2016
7.4

I am confused to how this place has such high reviews. There are only 2 showers between the whole hostel. The kitchen area is great and clean, but my room was disgusting. The place has alot of unused space which I think could have lots of potential. Needs a bit of a tidy up and upgrade. Staff was awesome though, and cooked me a delicious breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • pimbolyn2734
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Dec 2016
6.3

Iguana is in desperate need of a clean up & investment in maintenance. The operators are focusing on building a bar when they should be removing all the rubbish on the property, replacing malfunctioning shower heads, a toilet seat in one of the bathrooms (there isnt 1) & actually attempting to clean up the kitchen & woollen bed covers. Iguana could be much better, I'm at a loss as to why it has a 9.1 rating. In the meantime there are much better options in San Cristobal.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2016
8.6

est of this hostel is the Staff, they are really coll guys willing to help and socialize most of the time. In general is a good hostel with an amazing breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2016
6.9

I was a bit disappointed with this hostel after reading so many positive reviews. While the staff members and owner are lovely, the hostel itself left a lot to be desired. I also thought it was a bit unfair that very loud construction work was being carried out from 7am right outside my room every day yet there was no mention of this before hand.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.