Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Iguana Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
Iguana Hostel Located at Calle Chiapa de Corzo 16, Barrio el Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas.
Iguana Hostel
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas Chiapas 29220 Calle Chiapa de Corzo 16, Barrio el Cerrillo
90% 291
16.7417672 -92.6360074
Iguana Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Sep 2016
10.0

We had such a great stay at iguana :) the staff were super helpful & friendly, with lots of info about the city and further travels. The free walking tour was incredible, run by the owner who shared his local knowledge of the city and historical information. After the tour the culture continued as we sat in afew local bars, enjoyed a cheap vino in the busy streets of the city. The rooms are spacious & clean and everything felt very safe. Home cooked breakfast in the morning is amazing!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
10.0

I enjoyed my stay in Iguana hostel so much! my favourite hostel ever. Staff were very friendly. Comfortable beds in the dorm. Many entertaining things to do in the hostel including BBK and walking tours. I definitely recomend Antony tour to Chamula and Zinacantan. It was a great walking tour. The location is close to markets and the center. Good showers and bathroom facilities, great breakfast. 100% recomend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Aug 2016
10.0

I love this place - really friendly, helpful staff and a great atmosphere. You should definitely do Antony's walking tour of the villages if you stay here, it's excellent. But they need to sort the wifi out, as it only works intermittently. Other than that, fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.3

My partner and I had an enjoyable 2 night stay, in a private room, at Iguana. The breakfasts are delicious and varied and you cannot go past Antony's tour to Chamula and Zinacantan (the highlight of our stay!) Definitely recommended for a short term stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Aug 2016
9.1

Previous reviews gave me the impression Iguana was somewhat a party hostel, but don't be fooled by this. It definitely isn't! Silence by 11pm with no where to hang out other then your bed.. Good showers and bathroom facilities, great breakfast that changes daily.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
9.4

Thanks for a great few days. Staff were very helpful and pleasant, nice chilled out atmosphere and situated close to everything you need in San cristobal. 100% recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jul 2016
9.7

Lovely decorated Hostel in the heart of San Cristobal :) We stayed just two nights there, but we've made good friends and ate an delicious bbq in the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.0

Great hostel for a solo traveler to meet people. They have a female dorm which is always nice if you don't feel like being with the boys. Fresh made breakfast each morning consisting of Mexican or international meal plus fruit. Shower options could be better, only 2 showers that were part of a full bathroom. So I found myself waiting if someone chose to use them for their morning toilet run… Staff was super helpful and informative about transportation options in the region.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • manueltowers
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

Great people, best part of it is that the hostel runned by the actual guest, the airline messed up on my flight so I had to cancel one day and had no problems at all, o just wish there would of been more people to hang around with!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
10.0

With out a doubt the best hostel ever!!!! Make you feel right at home include you in everything that is going on The best breakfast(cooked for you) eggs French toast ect... Have made friends I will keep and I was elder by decades and made no difference to them or guests that stay there😁😁😁😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.