X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Indigo on Otres Reviews

Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
144 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

We loved our time at Indigo! As it was peak season, we were only able to stay for one night during our time at Otres, but we kept coming back every day for breakfast, which was delicious and great value. Very comfortable stay and lovely staff!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for coming so often Yvonne !

91%

We booked a room for one day and finally stay 3 more days. Good location, beautiful landscape, directly on the beach. Perfect to take a breath and relax. The rooms are clean, the shared bathroom is quite sandy but not dirty. Got to try the night bbq at the restaurant. And the owners are wonderful and lovely people, always talking care of your well being. Would definitely recommand this place which is a good opportunity for the quality and the price !

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello girls, thank you for coming and good luck for your studies and everything else!!

66%

Shared bathrooms were filthy. rooms where on the beach which was nice. Good overpriced and not very good. left after one night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello We are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Cleanliness is a big point on our beach, but as you know, you're in Cambodia, and you are on the beach. The water from the tap is yellow (brown sometimes) andit's quite hard to keep the bathrooms perfectly clean - we clean as good as we can, and it at least 6 times a day.

94%

Very nice location, carefully decorated, helpful and superfriendly staff, great atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was a real pleasure to have you at Indigo See you next time :)

100%

By far the stand out of my holiday (more like a holiday within a holiday)!! The staff were super friendly and would go out of their way for you, nothing was ever a problem. The food and drinks were of a high standard and quite reasonably priced and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. I'd like to say a big thank you to everyone at indigo and hope to see you all again soon.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is amazing! Didn't ever want to leave, do not come to Sihannoukville/Otres without staying! Awesome staff, location, beach, music, food and atmosphere.... They have it all! Thank you for a wonderful time 😊


60%

Food better value for money at other resorts on the beach. Only two toilets for whole resort, often queues. Dogs really nice but very loud all through the night making it hard to sleep.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We didn't want to leave. A brilliant place right on the beach. We ate all our meals here, they were delicious. Excellent staff, couldn't recommend highly enough. Be prepared to extend your stay!


91%

First, any of the poor reviews, these people are not in the right mindset. You are on a beach, it will be sandy. You are at a hostel, not a hotel. This place is great! All the rooms are private with large beds. You get a lock for your door and a cabinet in your room. Bar with restaurant (not the best) 20 second walk from your room. Restrooms are not clean, but not dirty. Lots of people to mingle with and you can walk to any of the other bars/ restaurants on the beach.


89%

Lovely and peaceful place right at the beach. friendly staff and very helpful.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The guys that run the place Vicky and Will are both lovely, very friendly and helpful. There have been some renovations going on and everything is new and shiny. Lovely dogs, especially Flipflop. Good for night time security. I had an awesome stay.


97%

We enjoyed staying here to much that we extended our stay by 3 weeks. Will and Vicky are wonderful hosts and full of helpful advice for things to do in the area. Amazing location on the beach and far away from the noise and chaos at Serendipity Beach

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Otres is paradise and Indigo is a beautiful slice of it. The staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. Nailed every recommendation they gave us about the area. We would walk out the bungalow front door in the morning onto the soft sand with the ocean just steps away. Unreal value.


94%

Vicky and Will are great hosts! The location is amazing and the atmosphere is relaxing and friendly. Stay at Indigo if you're not a princess and like a great time with relaxed people.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff was better than we have seen in ages! So friendly and willing to help you make the best trip possible, with no pressure to do anything. Good music choices too!

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

There are really no words to describe this place... I mean, just the Otres beach itself is amazing, but to have the privilege of waking up to the sight of sea just a few metres away, listening to evergreen songs and cheerful chattering outside your bungalow, is pure heaven. There is also nice, amusing and very helpful staff that helps you make sure nothing gets in the way of your dream holiday.


91%

Great stay at Indigo! I originally booked for 2 nights but ended up staying 4 and then booking again after returning from the islands. We didn't want to leave! The bungalows are cute and cozy. Such a treat to be right on the beach. The staff is great. Super friendly and helpful. They are doing some painting/minor renos that are giving the place a nice face lift. I will be staying here again when I return to Cambodia! Thank you!


89%

Security dogs are very peaceful (no random barking) until the suspect anything is wrong. Even accompanied my girlfriend to the toilet in the middle of the night, standing guard in front of the door. Obviously sand gets everywhere but you are provided with a broom to brush out your room. Padlocks are provided for each bungalow and safety lock box inside. Shared toilets and shower rooms not that good. Dirty. Wear flip flops in shower. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location/view unreal.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. The toilets are cleaned each morning but the water we use comes directly from the well and over time has marked the tiles in the bathroom. We are reviewing the cleaning products and procedures we use so that we can try and resolve this.

60%

Security being a padlock and padlocked side table wasn't ideal. Our toothpaste was attacked by a rat or some other animal we never caught. The beach is beautiful but utterly drowning in locals offering massages and bracelets, the 'private beach' is further along the beach. The food at the hostel was fairly overpriced, and there should be more bathrooms for the amount of guests. It's a nice enough place, but location isn't everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We have asked all beach vendors not to sell in the bar area and are asking them to not be so persistent. We have also asked them not to sell to people whilst they that are eating on the beach. The lock boxes provided are wooden drawers with padlocks that are bolted to the floor so that they cannot be moved. We have had no thefts from the property in over a year.

89%

If you are looking to head to Otres beach to make the most of a chill, this destination is perfect with whitty


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Sihanoukville Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback